Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I buy a new car

• 19-03-2009 11:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

I had planned to buy a new car this year, but my friends are advising me against it. I mentioned it to my next door neighbour yesterday and he got really annoyed with me - it seems he lost his job last week but I didn't know.

The thing about it is that I have been doing really well over the last couple of years and I have been planning this since before the economy went wallop. My budget is €90k but my friends say given how bad things are I'll get grief driving an expensive 09 car. Should I put it off until next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

If you have the money and can afford it, buy the car.. its not your fault that people are loosing their jobs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Aitchdee wrote: »
    . My budget is €90k but my friends say given how bad things are I'll get grief driving an expensive 09 car. Should I put it off until next year?

If you really want to buy a new car then go ahead its your money/life. I would only suggest that you cut the buggest to half like around €40,000 and if you already have a car then i presume you ar trading that in as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

€90k????

Really?
    If you want to buy a new car, do you have to spend all of the 90k? Around the €65k mark will get you a brand new 3.0d Jag XF Premium Luxury.

If your worried about people being jealous and giving you grief, look at something that wont cost you 90k. Something understated, not flash and loud. I certainly wouldnt see a problem with anyone driving an 09 car, especially a luxury one.

What kind of car are you looking at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

People will probably be spiteful but that thats life and it seems like the more expensive the car, the more spite you get. If you can get over it then get yourself a bargain. No reason not to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Do what you want! It's your cash...........but remember, you'll probably lose 50% + in depreciation the second they screw number plates on it.

But hey!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭felim

F*ck the begrudgers. More power to you if you can afford it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

You'd get an M5 second hand for that money! Seriously, buy what you want, and feck the begruders, but I would urge caution, the economy is very shaky at the moment, and you can get some great deals around the place. Why not buy something for 60-70k, and keeo the other 20-30k in case the worst happens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

If you were clever enough to build up a piggy bank worth 90k, you should be clever enough to know what and what not to do with it and not have to rely on the "advice" of an internet forum :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

The ironic thing about people giving you grief over this is that if you buy the car, you're doing the economy a favor! It could literally save someone's job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Buy an BMW X5 and piss everybody off :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

If people constantly give out this advice and have this aura over the recession we will NEVER get out of it.
    If you have a secure job with no risk of loosing it then this recession hasnt really affected you...

If you taking out a loan though id really put alot of thought into the car and MAKE SURE you will defo not be fired soon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

All depends on what your priorities are. Personally, car would be up near the top of the list for me. Would not buy new though, let some other sucker suffer the depreciation and get yourself a bargain.

To hell with other people, if you've worked for it, enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

remember, you'll probably lose 50% + in depreciation the second they screw number plates on it.

So 50 times better than bank shares as an investment, then.

OP, I lost my job myself, but I don't see why that should influence your choice of cars. Go for it, and post pictures! 90K, let's see, are you a Merc CLS or a Porsche Cayman type?

A Citroen C6? Holy God, 86K for a Citroen??

...........but remember, you'll probably lose 50% + in depreciation the second they screw number plates on it.

But hey!

Dont listen to this... It is not true, There is no car that looses 50% in depriciation in the first few months!

Hogzy wrote: »
    There is no car that looses 50% in depriciation in the first few months!

How about this one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Aitchdee

I got the 90k by deferring bonuses for the last three years. It's a new company and we were financially encouraged to defer them, so it's not like I actually saved the money

I was thinking of an X5, but tempted by the thought of a second hand Massrerati

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

peasant wrote: »
    If you were clever enough to build up a piggy bank worth 90k, you should be clever enough to know what and what not to do with it and not have to rely on the "advice" of an internet forum :D
    Smells a bit funny, doesn't it?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

dude what sort of job pays 30K bonuses a year??

are you looking for people to support you in spending money, to make you feel better or suggestions on cars to buy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,753 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

tempted by the thought of a second hand Massrerati

cool :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭mumblin deaf ro

How about buying a car for €70K and hiring your neighbour to drive you around for €20K?

Just kidding.

If I were you, my concern would not be whether people would begrudge me (they will) but whether I would need to spend €90K to get a car I love. There are great bargains out there, so if I were you I wouldn't spend €90k just because that was the amount of the bonus I'd accumulated.

Good luck with your car shopping.

PS: I have a 2006 Focus TDCi going for €85K if you're interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Aitchdee

Games develolpment pays 30k bonuses a year I was interested to hear what sort of reaction I would get to driving a car like this. It's funny but a year ago it seems the bigger and more expensive the car you bought the better, now it seems that the poorer you are the better it is. I just don't want to have to justify myself every time I pull into a car park.

I was also looking for some advise on what I should buy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

Well what floats your boat other than the price tag?

Speed, acceleration, comfort, luxury, gadgets, looks, handling, courntry of orgin????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

I just don't want to have to justify myself every time I pull into a car park.

Then don't. You owe nobody an explanation for anything.

M5 or M6 :P

robtri wrote: »
    dude what sort of job pays 30K bonuses a year??

Not really on topic for a motors forum, that question.

If I had 90K, I'd buy something sensible and something completely bonkers too, like a 1960s Mustang or a Jensen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I'd agree with Mumblin. Just because you have 90k to spend, doesnt mean you need to spend it all.

What kind of car are you looking for?

If it was me, i'd be looking at something like these.

Jag XF SV8 -
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1074978

BMW M5 -
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1349232

Merc CLS 55 -
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1275464

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I just don't want to have to justify myself every time I pull into a car park.

Get something like a 2008 M5, or an S6. To the ordinary joe on the road, they're just a normal 5 Series, or A6, but to those in the know, they're incredible. You wouldn't regret it, especially as those cars have done most of their depreciation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Anan1 wrote: »
    Smells a bit funny, doesn't it?;)

yepp, all that's missing is the smell of chips to go with the other whiff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Games develolpment pays 30k bonuses a year I was interested to hear what sort of reaction I would get to driving a car like this. It's funny but a year ago it seems the bigger and more expensive the car you bought the better, now it seems that the poorer you are the better it is. I just don't want to have to justify myself every time I pull into a car park.

fair play to you....my opinion is screw what other people think, you worked hard and earned your money, why shouldn't you get something nice, if it was me I would have this bad boy.....
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Aston-Martin/DB9/200908191864570/advert

no-image-large.gif

or this
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Porsche/911/Turbo/200849191078367/advert

no-image-large.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

No fair play to you, if you have the money spend it on what you want. The choice would be huge right now.

Depends on what you want or looking for out of the car.

If your a troll coming on to see if you'd get a reaction failing so far

People are loosing there jobs but if you think you are secure they what does it matter to you.
    It may seem selfish but why should your neighbour matter if you have the money to do something you want.

What about a quattroporte?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭rocknchef

you want salt and vinegar:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Prefect_1998

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Nice bonus, congrats!

Its really a question only you can answer OP. If you are happy spending that much money on something recreational that may haemorrhage value and has a limited resale market then go for it. Personally, I'd be spending 20K max on an older, "daily driveable" classic car in an effort to offset depreciation and maybe catch admiration rather than begrudgery (I dont really give a **K tho TBH). Then I'd look look for an entrepreneur to invest the rest with. Unless you have a net worth of well over 1mil million, I think even 40K is too much to spend on a car, but thats my feelings on it.

By all means, reward yourself and get a fun car, but invest the rest, there's money to be made out there, opportunities are disguised as hard work as they say. Three more years of bonuses + return on your investment means you would be in very good shape

Best of luck.

Zube wrote: »
    How about this one?

Dead link!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭mumblin deaf ro

PS: if you do buy a very expensive car, don't forget to keep a lot of money by for tax, insurance and maintenance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

Nissan GT-R?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

Asking myself that very question of late, however not to the same level. I would say yes ,if you want it ,can afford it ,go for it. Get a nice new Q7 or M5 for the kind of money. Never mind what anyone else thinks, if they had it they would love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭cancan

Simple solution is to buy a nissan gtr.
    (http://www.carzone.ie/search/Nissan/Skyline/GTR/200840190264977/advert)

You'll have basically the fastest car money can buy, and your neighbour will be happy because he thinks you bought a Nissan, so he can be happy in his begrudging misery!

Posh brands are so last year :)

And in ten years, I'll still be worth 50% of what you paid for it if this old one is anything to go by...

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Nissan/Skyline/2.6-R34-/200840190251184/advert

Plus, if you are in game development, you'll know the GTR is the only option, and fellow geeks will respect you no end...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭UhOh

Hogzy wrote: »
    If people constantly give out this advice and have this aura over the recession we will NEVER get out of it.
    If you have a secure job with no risk of loosing it then this recession hasnt really affected you...

If you taking out a loan though id really put alot of thought into the car and MAKE SURE you will defo not be fired soon...

totally agree, I'm in the same boat (although not spending anything near 90k), new car should be here in about 6 weeks, have a secure job yet my folks & my girlfriends folks are flipping out saying I must be crazy with the recession blah blah blah....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭joeperry

Theres no need to spend 90k on a car, In reality you could have a hell of a car for half that.

Last year i was out for a drive in an Audi R8 and the price tag new was 180k but no way did it feel 176k better than my 10 year old 5 series :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

My budget is €90k but my friends say given how bad things are I'll get grief driving an expensive 09 car.

Don't you get a state car with your job Minister? :pac: :p

Seriously though do whatever you want. The only reason I would hold off myself is the security of my job.

Maybe you could get a "I paid 30k VRT to the state finances" sticker to ease any guilty feelings...

joeperry wrote: »
    Theres no need to spend 90k on a car

Absolutely.

And Ireland used to support twice its current population when we all lived on spuds and the odd mug of milk.

And then they all died, and I bet they were sorry they never owned a Porsche.

Mind you, OP, you need an X5 like everyone else does: not at all. Buy a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,753 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Zube wrote: »
    Mind you, OP, you need an X5 like everyone else does: not at all.

+1, get the Masser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

How about going to the Uk and getting even more for your money.

Best not spending it all on a car keep back a good few grand maybe 30-40k and save it somewhere for a while just in case;).

Seriously 60k might buy you an A8
    3.0 TDI quattro V6 233PS 6-speed tiptronic £51,775.00 new or http://usedcars.audi.co.uk/carview.aspx?id=502017471

Big car goes quite fast and looks great.

3.0 TDI

I don't think you're really entering into the spirit of this. You want him to buy a diesel? So he can save a few bob on fuel? With his 90K? :eek: