Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Pyjama brigade" - excellent letter in the Irish TImes

• 19-03-2009 10:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭

Madam, – Why are more and more of our young and not-so-young women wandering from their homes in their pyjamas? They look like the bewildered.

Has the task of getting dressed become too arduous? When I was a child I used to like lounging around in my pyjamas, but I had to get dressed to go out and do things. It was part of growing up.

Are we moving from extended adolescence into some extended infancy? Can someone’s range of activities be so restricted that they can all be accomplished without recourse to a trouser or a skirt? Is the nation giving up and taking to its bed?

It is a shame to think that many lives are lived by people with so little ambition that they can be accomplished in the clothes of the unconscious.

Mná na hÉireann, get dressed. You look a right state. – Yours, etc,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Tax on pj's should sort that out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

She's only just spotted this? She should read boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

to be fair most of them wear their "goin out" pyjamas to go to the shops.....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Sleipnir wrote: »
    Madam, – Why are more and more of our young and not-so-young women wandering from their homes in their pyjamas? They look like the bewildered.

Has the task of getting dressed become too arduous?

Nope. They're just knackers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Step 1. Read AH.
    Step 2. Learn to rite prupper.
    Step 3. Write to boring newspaper and get published in the 'boring section of boring people' section.
    Step 4. Profit on AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

LouOB wrote: »
    Tax on pj's should sort that out

Tax on scumbags as a whole would sort out the economy.

There are more horses asses than horses around these days.

mike65 wrote: »
    She's only just spotted this? She should read boards.ie

Some Ireland folk might not frequent the pj areas of Dublin much
    So it may come as a suprise if they see someone in work with a matching pair of penny's finest dayglo pink pj's with fluffy bunnies - staying seasonal of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Hey! If a woman wants to wear pyjamas to the shops, she should have the right! It's a free country!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Scum.
    I think the whole idea is sending two fingers to people who have to get dressed for work of a morning.
    I dont see why shopping centres arent banning them on the basis that i probably couldnt walk in in my y-fronts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Karoma wrote: »
    Step 4. Profit on AH.

Are you suggesting I wrote it? Ah, no.....

As a mate pointed out;
    "I wonder how many of the pyjama brigade read the Irish Times though"

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Hey! If a woman wants to wear pyjamas to the shops, she should have the right! It's a free country!

Yes, free to be lazy and scrounge off the taxpayer. That's what they meant by "Freedom" alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I think a law should be brought in to tackle this skanger activity. If found more than 20 yards from your house in pyjamas' without a plausible reason, an automatic 10 year sentence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Why is it only the female of the species that does this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

Cos grown men don't usually wear jimjams? :P

You'd look funny buying a pint of milk in your boxers

We could do 'sponsor a scumbag day' ala Gok Wan
    Step 1 - wake up am and wash
    Step 2 - dress with lights on
    Step 3 - leave the 'gear' at home and actively look for gainful employment

all the while someone is holding your hand
    might be needed as most of these people were not thought properly by their parents
    and mostly dont know how to 'function' in a civilised society - so hence they just stick to what they know err other scum

Think people about the film Trading Places
    Its very plausable they could be our next Taoiseach

The blokes have thier own uniform..manky tracksuits tucked into thier socks and a baseball cap at a 45 degree angle on thier heads.
    Oh yeah,and the bandy-legged walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

real men don't wear pyjamas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Loveless

Degsy wrote: »
    Scum. I think the whole idea is sending two fingers to people who have to get dressed for work of a morning.

I think subconsciously that's part of the reason they do it.. It's like "we're so kept that we don't have to work during the day like everyone else."

The blokes have thier own uniform..manky tracksuits tucked into thier socks and a baseball cap at a 45 degree angle on thier heads.

You forgot to mention having both hands down the front of said tracksuit trying to locate their tackle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Yes, free to be lazy and scrounge off the taxpayer. That's what they meant by "Freedom" alright.

Seperate issue! If they're sponging off the dole, completely agree. But if they work nights and pay taxes, who gives a ****?! If they were hot women and walked around in thong bikinis, believe me, a lot more people would be in favour..

But if they work nights and pay taxes

Thats a good one.They work nights and walk the streets by day in thier sleeping atire.
    LOL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

You do realise that men's pyjamas come with a viewing hole at the front that doesn't include a zip (unless you've got the cool old spiderman type PJs ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Yes, they are entitled to go out like that!

/shudder

inforfun wrote: »
    Yes, they are entitled to go out like that!

/shudder

I'm afraid so. The fashion-police are a figment of your imagination!

But if they work nights and pay taxes, who gives a ****?!

I'm going to go against the general consensus here and suggest that probably *most* of them don't work nights and are just on scratcher. Controversial I know but I'm going with my gut!
    If they were hot women and walked around in thong bikinis, believe me, a lot more people would be in favour..

but.....they're not. They're fat, ugly knackers.

I'm afraid so. The fashion-police are a figment of your imagination!

This isnt about fashion.
    This is about being too slovenly and rude to dress appropriatly in public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

I called to my neighbour's house yesterday and she opened the door in her pyjamas. I thought "funny place to have a door"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The pyjamas aren't the issue, per se.

Attractive ladies with (preferably cut-off) pyjamas would be a welcome addition to our city streets.

It's just that it only ever seems to be munters sporting them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Pennys is at fault here with soooo many different kinds of Pyjamas. My OH and I are going on holidays soon and NEEDS, apparently, to buy two new sets for some unknown reason.

EDIT Fvck, what about pyjamas on fat birds with Ugg boots or just fat birds in ugg boots??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Pal wrote: »
    I called to my neighbour's house yesterday and she opened the door in her pyjamas. I thought "funny place to have a door"

GTFO :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Has the task of getting dressed become too arduous? When I was a child I used to like lounging around in my pyjamas, but I had to get dressed to go out and do things. It was part of growing up.

Are we moving from extended adolescence into some extended infancy? Can someone’s range of activities be so restricted that they can all be accomplished without recourse to a trouser or a skirt? Is the nation giving up and taking to its bed?

It is a shame to think that many lives are lived by people with so little ambition that they can be accomplished in the clothes of the unconscious.

Mná na hÉireann, get dressed. You look a right state. – Yours, etc,
    I really don't get why the author of that letter gives enough of a sh1t to write to The Irish Times and to order "Mná na hÉireann" to get dressed because they look a right state. I mean, clearly, they'll do as she says... :rolleyes:
    At the same time, the pyjama-wearing thing is a pretty spot-on symbol of underclass Ireland.
    I agree. Those women tend to be scumbags popping out sprog after sprog - I think there are slightly more important things to be concerned about in relation to them, e.g. their poor children.
    I dont see why shopping centres arent banning them on the basis that i probably couldnt walk in in my y-fronts.
    Well it would probably be deemed indecent exposure. Fundamentally, there is nothing actually wrong with going round in your pyjamas - it's just people object to it because of who the wearers tend to be. Fair enough objecting to them - some of them are serious lowlives. But pyjama-wearing would tend to be fairly low down on the list of stuff they're guilty of. It does teach their kids laziness and a lack of boundaries all right though, but along with loads of other stuff - e.g. claiming benefits and not bothering with work, not cooking decent food (just heading to the chipper), lounging around all day, drinking/going to the pub whenever... etc. God, it's depressing.
    If they're sponging off the dole, completely agree. But if they work nights and pay taxes, who gives a ****?!
    That's rather naive Ikky...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Im telling you. If they sold this in Pennys they would buy them and then we, normal clothes wearing folk, would have the last laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

I think it's great that they do it.

It makes the scum of our society instantly recognisable, they wear uniforms to distinguish themselves from people who actually have productive lives.

Dudess wrote: »

I agree. Those women tend to be scumbags popping out sprog after sprog - I think there are slightly more important things to be concerned about in relation to them, e.g. their poor children.

The poor bloody kids havnt got a chance.
    How can they learn anything in school when they're not being fed properly,verbally abused,beaten and neglected at home?
    The way some of these shiitbags talk to thier kids in PUBLIC would make a docker blush and this is during the kids' formative years...how can a teacher ask them to behave in class if they're used to nothing but misery,abuse and domestic upheaval?
    It amazes me that you need a licence to own a dog yet any piece of filth can have a kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

This isnt about fashion.
    This is about being too slovenly and rude to dress appropriatly in public.

Really, REALLY?

Because unless there is a special brand of pyjamas that means they're walking around with their flaps hanging out then they are hardly rude.

I find plenty of clothes that people wear objectionable for a variety of reasons, but i'd never be as facepalmingly arrogant to assume my personal taste is the barometer of appropriateness.

Even if we assume everything else you say is true, as in rah-rah-rah-dolescum-rah-rah-rah-people-who-aren't-me-huur then surely there are more pressing matters of concern than what they choose to wear to the shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

crazy..... because on the other end of things you have another bunch of indivduals instantly recognisable by there 4 piece suites and pot bellies and these individuals ahve done far worse thigns to our society than these pj wearing folk....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

The kind of people who go out in their pyjamas don't read the Irish Times, so it was a wasted letter.

She would have been better served writing to the Oirish Mirror or the Oirish Star, these are the kind of newspapers these people read.

I would have said The Metro or the Heddild AM, but they don't be up that early.

But, perhaps the Evening Heddild would have been a decent option too.

How can they learn anything in school when they're not being fed properly,verbally abused,beaten and neglected at home?
    The way some of these shiitbags talk to thier kids in PUBLIC would make a docker blush and this is during the kids' formative years...how can a teacher ask them to behave in class if they're used to nothing but misery,abuse and domestic upheaval?
    It amazes me that you need a licence to own a dog yet any piece of filth can have a kid.

Ah cmon Degsy, you have more imagination than to trot out that tired old line, I'm dissapointed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Unfortunately the parents were probably once poor bloody kids that didn't get a chance as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

But those kids will turn out to be like their mothers and fathers, and yet if I commented it's because of their upbringing, I'd be called a "bleeding heart" etc. I know excuses only go so far, there's such a thing as responsibility for oneself, I wouldn't give two hoots about their background if they mugged my gran/stole and wrote off my car etc, but it's not incorrect or "right on" to say a scumbag is probably a scumbag because of his/her upbringing (not always but highly likely).
    You need a licence to own a ****ing TV. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭starflake

that's very true.... i wonder why this is... is it from leggin it over high walls from the age of 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Do away with goth type clothing as well. 10 year prison sentences. I hate pj's as much as the next person (in bed or in the shop) but if you're that bothered by it I feel sorry for you.

Also, do away with long hair. Damn hippies and their uniforms.

@ Degsy: If you go out without combing your hair, are you being rude?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭limericklady87

So so true.

Tbh, i reckon about 99% of the pyjama gang wont ever see that letter in the indo..she should have sent it to the sun. :rolleyes:

It really sets a terrible example for their children and shows a lack of self-respect..like just put on a tracksuit pants ..its a step up.

Controversial but f**k it, even most of the travellers manage to get dressed..its just the scummers that seem to do this.

starflake wrote: »
    that's very true.... i wonder why this is... is it from leggin it over high walls from the age of 2?

Inadequat calcium combinned with learning to walk before the bones have formed properly.It makes the legs bow outwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

The problem isn't the pyjamas, it's the people in them. They could go up to the shops for their morning fags & copy of the mirror wearing a business suit and they'd still have enough tell-tale signs off them to leave you thinking "f-cking scum" .... and you'd be right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭polishpaddy

must be a dublin thing ive not seen it anywhere else...

You see some of these monsters with multiple children and it begs the question "How did somebody get aroused enough to have sex with that?"
    It boggles the mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

You see some of these monsters with multiple children and it begs the question "How did somebody get aroused enough to have sex with that?"
    It boggles the mind.

Probably reminded them of their mother. Scratch that, probably *was* their mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

It boggles the mind.

gear,coke and viagra are a lethal cocktail.

Just say no kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

And what about those emo kids with the arse of their skinny jeans hanging down past their knees?? ****wits, noone wants to see your skids :mad: