Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst Phrase on boards?

• 18-03-2009 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭

For me it has to be the one and only "yore ma".
    I just imagine the poster sitting in glee at his/her pc at home delighted at their wit and intelligence while the rest of the boardies I'm sure thinks "god..what a fcukin gob****e..can't even think of something smart to say.."
    I think every poster that posts this should be banned from here on in.

guaranteed some fcukin eejit will say "yore ma" in this thread ".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

"yore ma" and "+1" should be site banable.

Edit: Also "I for one welcome our <insert group here> overlords" and any 4chan memes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

"Either everything's funny, or nothing is."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭norwegianwood

'teh' really annoys me-it just ain't funny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

The "another mod on a power trip" phrase is terribly annoying. Stop trolling/being a jerk/posting spam or porn and you won't get banned. K thanks, stfu!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Ass wrote: »

Edit: Also "I for one welcome our <insert group here> overlords" and any 4chan memes.

damn u :)

as you can see from the nearly invisible writing above i was pretty sure some sharp wit :rolleyes: would say it. :pac:

damn u :)

as you can see from the nearly invisible writing above i was pretty sure some sharp wit :rolleyes: would say it. :pac:

wasnt that what you were complainig about in the first place? no pleasing some people!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭UnderpantsGnome

Phase 1: Figure out worst phrase on Boards

Phase 2: ???

Phase 3: Profit!!!

Yeah, that's pretty terrible too. People generally don't understand the context it was originally intended to be used in.

These catchphrases are not uniquely terrible on boards.ie. They're terrible when used anywhere, on any website at any point in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

"Banned for a week"... I hate those feckers who say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

+1:pac:

+1:pac:
    Kindly gtfo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Fail.

Can't ****ing stand it. Yeah real funny man, never heard anyone crack that one out before.. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pipsqueak

In the motors forum you hear a lot of " Your car is only worth what someone is prepared to pay for it"" WTF?? My 08 535d M sport is worth 60grand!! Get ta f**k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

'teh' really annoys me-it just ain't funny!
    To be fair, it could just be a typing error! But I dont get why anyone would find it funny.
    "yore ma" is definitely one of the more irritating phrases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

Also, I hate the phrase : "Worst"

Seems to be thrown around too much here. Wrost this and worst that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Seriously how many people just don't get that at this stage use of it is it ironic and sardonic.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

You know what I hate? Not a phrase particularly, but when posters you know for years suddenly go and have their name changed by an all-seeing hidden higher power.
    I want my f*cking name back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

This always reminds me of the good old days of /.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

FTW - It took me a while to figure out what the **** it meant, originally thinking there were loads of pot smokers on boards looking to free the weed!

Aodan83 wrote: »
    To be fair, it could just be a typing error! But I dont get why anyone would find it funny.

yeah sometimes it probably is, but a lot of the time people say it to try to be funny...and fail i might add....

"Fail" and "epic fail" sucks too.
    Sucks liks failsauce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

You know what I hate? Not a phrase particularly, but when posters you know for years suddenly go and have their name changed by an all-seeing hidden higher power.

What was your old name dr.sucks.bollocko?! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

the ironing is delicious

I didn't know what it meant for a long while and now that I do know, it's still pointless.

I for one welcome our new overlords

And the mods are the worst offenders! Usually used when a new mod is appointed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Seriously how many people just don't get that at this stage use of it is it ironic and sardonic.
    Thousands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Lol lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Gobshites saying "X much?", where X can be angry/bitter/confused/etc.

Also, "/facepalm" is now worn out completely but it still serves a useful function as a kind of stupidity filter, signaling that any post containing it should be ignored. People posting the ascii art of Picard facepalming should be shot dead as well.

Agamemnon wrote: »
    Gobshites saying "X much?", where X can be angry/bitter/confused/etc.

Also, "/facepalm" is now worn out completely but it still serves a useful function as a kind of stupidity filter, signaling that any post containing it should be ignored. People posting the ascii art of Picard facepalming should be shot dead as well.

Yeah I hate that too.

So...
    You wanna shoot yourself or have me do it?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

atari as a option in a poll. What is it all about. Its not funny at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Yeah I hate that too.

So...
    You wanna shoot yourself or have me do it?
    That was one of the last official uses before it wore out. \o/ That post was probably the straw that broke the camel's back. But shoot me anyway, it turns me on. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

seanybiker wrote: »
    atari as a option in a poll. What is it all about. Its not funny at all.

Indeed. I've started a few polls here and you always have someone moans about the Atari Jaguar option being missing.

I don't understand the tradition, I don't particularly want to learn and it won't be in any poll I start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

" :rolleyes: "

serves no function except to annoy the recipient whilst similtaneously identifying the composer as a total dipshít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

http://wiki.boards.ie/wiki/Atari_Jaguar
    An ancient games console that some boardsies are pretty fond of.
    Usually the I don't care option in a poll. In one poll long, long ago about favourite games consoles, someone complained that there was no Atari Jaguar option and someone else disdainfully replied "Atari Jaguar?! Atari Jaguar is other" and so it began.
    It is now an offically a legend of the boards.ie due to this poll.
    This is has also been immortalised as a gathering card.

tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

FYP - rarely fails to cause aggro.

deadhead13 wrote: »
    FYP - regularly fails

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

tbh

"End of" - ugh. Whenever anyone says "End of", I wince.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

deadhead13 wrote: »
    FYP - rarely fails to cause aggro.

Any acronym used anywhere drives me insane!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

IBTL sucks donkey balls and is blatant post whoring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Teh.
    Fail.
    I....overlords.

I do use acronyms though. They're convenient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

IMO or IMHO.

Could someone explain to me what this abbreviation means? I see it in several posts but havnt a clue what people are posting at times.

In my opinion / in my honest opinion I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭PlayGirl

tech2 wrote: »
    IMO or IMHO.

Could someone explain to me what this abbreviation means? I see it in several posts but havnt a clue what people are posting at times.

In my opinion.. In my honest opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

tbh

flyswatter wrote: »
    tbh

Once you get to know him he's lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

RTFFAQ
    tech2 wrote: »
    IMO or IMHO.

in my honest opinion I believe.

Always thought the 'H' was for humble. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

"PC" and "bleeding-heart". Mainly because the poster who uses them never has any idea what the mean (if anything).

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

The ironing (for irony) has gone a bit stale of late.

jasonorr wrote: »
    Any acronym used anywhere drives me insane!

:eek::eek::eek: No!!
    I have to disagree, I love acronyms.

I would go as far as to say Aconyms FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

stovelid wrote: »
    The ironing (for irony) has gone a bit stale of late.

My mrs swears by Febreze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

:eek::eek::eek: No!!
    I have to disagree, I love acronyms.

I would go as far as to say Aconyms FTW!

Yes! They just drive me insane, every other day (probably an exaggeration) I have to look up some new acronym or some old one I couldn't be bothered to remember! I often wondered if people used acronyms in public until I actually heard somebody say lol!!! Ridiculous!