Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honestly amazed..

• 18-03-2009 12:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭

I was on the bus into town today for the oul festivities, sun shining and was in grand form. Cue a few rowdy teenagers down the back of the bus. This is how the conversation went with one girl on the phone to her friend:
    "Alreeet wer uuuuu? Im on da bus der in a minut"
    Blah blah
    Whaaa..roit...ill meet ya at the river...eh ..da liffey...yeh the liffey thas wha its called innit the big river near the spiral?"
    Blah
    Blah
    "Ah jaysus is thats too far roight...see ya at the spiral so bud in ten"!

Actually burst out laughing as i couldnt believe the ignorance of the girl not knowing if she was correct about the name of the Liffey and naming the Spire the Spiral! What is being taught or learnt for that matter in our schools? Unbelieveable!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

maybe they were meeting DJ Spiral?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

I know, I was talking to someone the other day who didn't know the difference between the word 'cue' and 'queue'. Can you believe that shit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Hrm... if only Boards had some type of forum specifically for Dublin and its environs. *Stroking chin*

Why should the national curriculum include the distance from the Spire to the Liffey? Not much good to someone in Monaghan or Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

I used to work with a woman who would say "I love Nestlé chocolate" except she pronounced it to rhyme with vessel. How the f can you not have heard the word Nestlé; it used to be sung the Milky Bar ad ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

00112984 wrote: »
    Hrm... if only Boards had some type of forum specifically for Dublin and its environs. *Stroking chin*

Why should the national curriculum include the distance from the Spire to the Liffey? Not much good to someone in Monaghan or Cork.

Being in Monaghan or Cork isn't much good for them either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

I know, I was talking to someone the other day who didn't know the difference between the word 'cue' and 'queue'. Can you believe that shit?

Is it you? The OP got it right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

OP, believe it or not but there are literally millions of very dumb people living in this country right now who are oblivious to anything in the world that doesn't directly effect the minutaie of their pointless little lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

I can't tell the difference between butter and I can't believe it's not butter :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    OP, believe it or not but there are literally millions of very dumb people living in this country right now who are oblivious to anything in the world that doesn't directly effect the minutaie of their pointless little lives.

A lot of them are on the dole at the moment........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I can't tell the difference between butter and I can't believe it's not butter :(

Nor can they.....it's why they can't believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Donny5 wrote: »

She sure did.
    /those thanks are snookered now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

anniehoo wrote: »
    I was on the bus into town today for the oul festivities, sun shining and was in grand form. Cue a few rowdy teenagers down the back of the bus. This is how the conversation went with one girl on the phone to her friend:
    Blah blah
    Whaaa..roit...ill meet ya at the river...eh ..da liffey...yeh the liffey thas wha its called innit the big river near the spiral?"
    Blah
    Blah

Actually burst out laughing as i couldnt believe the ignorance of the girl not knowing if she was correct about the name of the Liffey and naming the Spire the Spiral! What is being taught or learnt for that matter in our schools? Unbelieveable!:rolleyes:

She probably watches Fair Sh*tty, Eastenders, corrie and Emmerdale. Then watches anything with Simon Gowell, where ye have to text/ ring, to vote, spending £'s. The dregs of society, that's all.

Idiocracy, the movie, has some valid points. watch it for a laugh, and a scare. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

My mother thinks Argos is a plural word, in other words Argo's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

So when she needs a new iron or whatever she goes down to the local Argo?

Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

She sure did.
    /those thanks are snookered now.

nah, I'm still thanking that post

Brilliant.

Yep, good ol Argo, he'll sort you out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Saibh wrote: »
    nah, I'm still thanking that post

I knew i shouldnt have questioned my semi drunken grammar! So i can definitely post "WHO THE FECK doesnt know the name of the Liffey?now"

/Monaghonians/Corkonians need not apply..er reply :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

I knew i shouldnt have questioned my semi drunken grammar! So i can definitely post "WHO THE FECK doesnt know the name of the Liffey?now"

/Monaghonians/Corkonians need not apply..er reply :D

I wasn't talking about your post

Saibh wrote: »
    I wasn't talking about your post
    Thats ok then carry on :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭ronivek

I don't think anyone should ever be surprised by what our learned friends who populate the upper back seating areas of buses come out with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭road_2_damascus

I was on the bus into town today for the oul festivities, sun shining and was in grand form. Queue a few rowdy teenagers down the back of the bus. This is how the conversation went with one girl on the phone to her friend:
    Blah blah
    Blah
    Blah

Ok, Im not from Dublin, but I knew for years that there is a tunnel going under the Phoenix Park that the Guinness brewery used to use to send kegs up to Castleknock, via mini rail link.. the tunnel still exists... I was listening to Gerry Ryan a few years back, and discovered that he didnt even know that it was there... I have many other examples from living in Dublin over the years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

No.
    She got it wrong.
    /Bangs head on desk in disbelief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

00112984 wrote: »

Please don't inflict the hole that is Dublin on the rest of the country

classic.. so gonna steal it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I was on the bus into town today for the oul festivities, sun shining and was in grand form. Queue a few rowdy teenagers down the back of the bus. This is how the conversation went with one girl on the phone to her friend:
    Blah blah
    Blah
    Blah

Could you let us know what bus route this happened on ?

I am dying to know. lol

Probably the one where the drivers draw straws and the one with the shortest gets to drive the bus! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭Big Wave

No she didn't. It should be "cue" - the OP said "queue". You're both wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Big Wave wrote: »
    No she didn't. It should be "cue" - the OP said "queue". You're both wrong.

I think it was cue and the op edited it after reading the other post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Jumpy wrote: »
    Yep. She was initially correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Ok, Im not from Dublin, but I knew for years that there is a tunnel going under the Phoenix Park that the Guinness brewery used to use to send kegs up to Castleknock, via mini rail link.. the tunnel still exists... I was listening to Gerry Ryan a few years back, and discovered that he didnt even know that it was there... I have many other examples from living in Dublin over the years

I remember Gerry not realising that there were train tracks along side of Croke Park as well.

Underground tunnels are common in most cities. It is not uncommon for people in this modern day to not be aware of them though as they are not in use.

I grew up next to 'Ford City' in Chicago where airplane engines were produced in WWII. They were then shipped underground to Midway Airport (@1.5 miles) as a safety precaution (don't ask me how German/Japanese bombers were going to get so far inland

There were also coal tunnels under the city centre of Chicago (The Loop) that would bring coal directly to the boilers of the skyskapers of the day. They had been out of use until someone pierced one under the Chicago River causing the 'Great Chicago Flood' in 1992 which nearly took down the entire city centre.

I beleive that a few US cities have 'old' subway lines that have been pretty much forgotten about.

Now, the spire is one thing, but not knowing what the Liffey is in Dublin ?

That's really sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

An if there's no Argo's in the area is that an argonaut?

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    An if there's no Argo's in the area is that an argonaut?

Take a bow son, take a bow :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

Terry wrote: »
    Yep. She was initially correct.

Right, so let's see what we're arguing over here. I don't know what she originally had, but cue is the correct word here. Your own links support this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Look on the bright side. You got a lovely, warm moment of superiority for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

latenia wrote: »
    I used to work with a woman who would say "I love Nestlé chocolate" except she pronounced it to rhyme with vessel. How the f can you not have heard the word Nestlé; it used to be sung the Milky Bar ad ffs.

I'm fairly sure that when I was a child the ad said "Nessel's Milky Bar" it's probably on YouTube somewhere.

just sayin' is all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Sitting in town yesterday near ChristChurch I was amazed by how many people with thick Dublin accents stopped me to ask me which way was TempleBar.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Sitting in town yesterday near ChristChurch I was amazed by how many people with thick Dublin accents stopped me to ask me which way was TempleBar.

More pertinently, why would Dublin people want to go there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

stovelid wrote: »
    More pertinently, why would Dublin people want to go there?

Touche.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

I often wonder what the La coc sportif wearing big hooped earing proxide blonde,heavily made up girls do be saying these days,maybe they've invented there own language,'Here come erre,will ya stop she said that and I was scarrlet,pure mad it was,the dirtbird,she onwly a wet yoke,oh my god inanyways'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

This wasn't on a 13 or 13A was it?

I remember that route was inflicted on us poor DCU students.. it was possible to get high from the second smoke on those routes on your way home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I was on the bus into town today for the oul festivities,

Ah boards.ie, where "town" equals Dublin

You do realise the Liffey flows through other towns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Why are people amazed that stupid people ride on our public transport systems?

mikemac wrote: »
    Ah boards.ie, where "town" equals Dublin

'Town' shouldn't equal Dublin. It's a city. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Berty wrote: »
    Why are people amazed that stupid people ride on our public transport systems?

I'm amazed stupid people figured out how public transport works.

I am dying to know. lol
    39 from blanchardstown
    mikemac wrote: »
    You do realise the Liffey flows through other towns?
    Yep i do...and??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

You should not cast your stones jerryhandbag. Your mother is less wrong than you - she just misunderstood. You, however, purport to know better. "Argo's" is not the plural form of the word, it is the possessive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

I've a good one from a few years back but it wasn't on public transport.

I was in Dunne's on Talbot Street, and put some ginger in the shopping basket along with a few other things.

When I got to the check out the young one looked at it, picked it up and then looked at me as if I had a piece of gick in my basket and it was an accident. "Wat's Dah?" ... "It's ginger" I says. She furiously starts flipping through her little guide book at the side of the cash register. "Wah does dah begin weh?" .. I was so tempted to say "A mammy ginger and a daddy ginger who love each other very much..." Fell out of the shop laughin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Jumpy wrote: »

Ok.

First of all it was 'queue' - wrong, as I pointed out.

Then it was ninja-edited to say 'cue' - correct

Cue :pac: people berating me for being an idiot as the OP 'used the correct word'

Then edited back to say 'queue' - thanks annihoo :) so people would understand what the hell I was talking about in my post.

Now it seems to be edited back to 'cue' which is of course correct.

EDIT: I of course deserve this kind of hassle and misunderstanding for being a pedantic arsehole.

/wanders out of the thread rubbing glasses with cardigan