Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First race question

• 17-03-2009 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭

Hi everyone,

I have a bit of a silly/basic question. I started running just after Christmas when Santa brought me an IPod and Nike+ sensor. As a motivational tool, I signed up for the great Ireland run and I received my pack the other day. It obviously came with a race number and I was wondering what the best way of attaching that to myself is. I noticed that there are holes on each corner and considered threading some twine through it to hang it around my neck and tie around my waist but wondered whether that would start to chafe. Can anyone tell me how they do it?

Also, according to my IPod, I've got my 10k time down to just under 47 mins and I'm hoping to run a sub 45 minute race. The information pack says I should join the group with the time I think I'll run. So, for my starting position, would people suggest I try to place myself at the back of the 35-45 minute group or towards the front of the 45-55 minute group. I have absolutely no idea how this works but presume there are markers at the start with gaps where the different groups gather.

Thanks - and apologies for the extremely basic questions :o

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Safety pins for the race number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 robgordon

Yep - safety pins will stop it flapping about.

That's a solid 10k time as well considering you've just started - fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

bozman wrote: »
    Hi everyone,

Also, according to my IPod, I've got my 10k time down to just under 47 mins and I'm hoping to run a sub 45 minute race. The information pack says I should join the group with the time I think I'll run. So, for my starting position, would people suggest I try to place myself at the back of the 35-45 minute group or towards the front of the 45-55 minute group. I have absolutely no idea how this works but presume there are markers at the start with gaps where the different groups gather.

Thanks - and apologies for the extremely basic questions :o

If you are hoping to run sub 45 min, go to the middle or back of the 35-45 min group. Unfortunately there will probably be no gaps between the groups or marshalling in this race - there was not last year - and you will still have to dodge some walkers and runners with buggies but at least you will be with many others running at the same pace who will pull you along. I was in the same position last year and went sub 45.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭bozman

Thanks for that - I did consider that but wondered whether it might just tear off with safety pins.
    robgordon wrote: »
    That's a solid 10k time as well considering you've just started - fair play.

Thank you. Hopefully it's not just that my Nike+ is way off :eek: - I have driven my main training route though and it's pretty accurate.

I wasn't really sure what was a decent time. I'm running on my own and sometimes don't realise when I've dropped my pace but if I speed up too much I get tired quickly and my later km's are quite slow. I think in a race I'll be able to use the people in front of me as targets to keep my pace up (at least that's my plan).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭gmurran

If you live in or near Dublin give the course a go some weekend before the race. That way you wont be shocked and will find it easier on the day. If you cant make the park set your nike+ timer to stopwatch and use a site like mapmyrun.com to figure out your distance.

You should get yourself a Forerunner.

I have the Garmin 405. Costs a few quid, but if you're serious about it it's a must buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

robgordon wrote: »
    I have the Garmin 405. Costs a few quid, but if you're serious about it it's a must buy.

uhm... no.

uhm... no.

Just an opinion dude.

I'm not sure what the Nike+ does in fairness, so that might already do it for a fraction of the price. I find the 405 great since I got it - slightly tricky to start using though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

uhm... no.

I have one myself, but its defo not a must. I think if I had one last year i would have given up running.. Run and enjoy running don't focus on times and over analysis . Times will come in the end (I hope).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,549 ✭✭✭plodder

In my experience people don't pay too much attention to signs showing actual target times at the start. It sounds like you'll finish in the top 30% or thereabouts. So, that's where I'd aim to start. The problem with the Phoenix park is if you start too far back, you could find it difficult to get up to speed in the first few km.

plodder wrote: »
    In my experience people don't pay too much attention to signs showing actual target times at the start. It sounds like you'll finish in the top 30% or thereabouts. So, that's where I'd aim to start. The problem with the Phoenix park is if you start too far back, you could find it difficult to get up to speed in the first few km.

Actually in this race a time of 45 mins would get you in the top 10% of the 5000 or so finishers !!

See link for last year's results - select the right race and leave all categories empty to see all finishers...

http://secure.greatrun.org/results/quickresults.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭bozman

Thanks for all the tips everyone. I hadn't really considered that there'd be a lack of space to run although now that I think of it, whenever I've seen the great North run on tv, it does appear to be a bit of a sea of people! I certainly wasn't expecting to trip over buggies :eek: - maybe I should strap my daughter in for a bit of fresh air :D

I'm not certain how Nike+ works but I suspect it's a bit like a fancy pedometer that, based on my height, calculates an average stride distance. It has given me a couple of different readings for the same 7.5k run I do but they are within a few hundred meters and the biggest difference was on a very wet & windy day when my stride might have been a little shorter :confused:

I was getting the IPod anyhow and the sensor was only €30 extra so I got it for the craic. The main benefit I find it gives me more of an incentive to run as I can upload my stats onto the nikeplus website where it shows my total distance, avg time, best 5k/10k, etc... and I can join challenges etc... - it's a bit gimicky but so far it has done the trick and kept me getting out there on those cold winter nights.

I'm not certain how Nike+ works but I suspect it's a bit like a fancy pedometer that, based on my height, calculates an average stride distance. It has given me a couple of different readings for the same 7.5k run I do but they are within a few hundred meters and the biggest difference was on a very wet & windy day when my stride might have been a little shorter :confused:

I was getting the IPod anyhow and the sensor was only €30 extra so I got it for the craic. The main benefit I find it gives me more of an incentive to run as I can upload my stats onto the nikeplus website where it shows my total distance, avg time, best 5k/10k, etc... and I can join challenges etc... - it's a bit gimicky but so far it has done the trick and kept me getting out there on those cold winter nights.

The Nike+ is just a fancy pedometer (accelerometer) but at only €30 a reasonable buy. If you want to use it regularly, I found it helps to calibrate it on one of your medium paced runs but there will be differences on faster and slower runs.

I got one last year and was a bit disappointed with the accuracy, especially for races so now I just use it for long runs.

But if it gets you out, you can't argue. When I get my bankers bonus, I'll buy a Garmin.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,549 ✭✭✭plodder

dna_leri wrote: »
    Actually in this race a time of 45 mins would get you in the top 10% of the 5000 or so finishers !!

See link for last year's results - select the right race and leave all categories empty to see all finishers...

http://secure.greatrun.org/results/quickresults.php
    Interesting. All the more reason to start close to the front. My rule of thumb is to start among people who are wearing the same amount of gear as me. ie. ahead of the woolly hat brigade but well behind the whippets in the singlets :D