Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

advice on a scope for .17 hmr

• 16-03-2009 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭

lads im getn my first riffle soon a cz .17 hmr and i was going to put a nikko stirling 3 10 42 scope would that be suitable for hunting. has anybody any experince with this make of scope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Heard of a brand, can't for love nor money remember which one, that does a "Sweet 17". Apparently this yoke is designed with ballistics of the most common .17 ammo in mind.

If not; same advice as for any scope on any rifle : buy as good as you can afford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

These are well viewed I believe. That mag is probably good for your hunting requirements bit shaky on 10 though unless you rest it. Look at opticswarehouse in UK, good selection at good prices these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

Heard of a brand, can't for love nor money remember which one, that does a "Sweet 17". Apparently this yoke is designed with ballistics of the most common .17 ammo in mind.

If not; same advice as for any scope on any rifle : buy as good as you can afford.

here you go:D

http://www.impactguns.com/store/bsa_sweet17.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Stick with what you have got for the moment nothing wrong with a nikko have not had one personaly but iv heard good reports from lads over here and across the water to. Its grand for a 17 HMR, I have a hawke endurance 3-12x50 on my 17 HMR.

Stay away from the sweet 17 they are only gimmick. if you look at the forums from the U.S they get alot of bad press.