Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C'mon England!

• 14-03-2009 7:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭

So following today's results, should England beat France tomorrow, the 6 Nations will turn into a 2 horse race between Ireland and Wales.

If England beat France, France have no mathamatical chance of winning the tournament and Ireland have the luxury of being able to lose to Wales by 12 points or less to win the 6 Nations.

Of course a Grand Slam would be just fantastic a 6 Nations title is also great.

So in conclusion,

C'mon England stuff those frogs!:D

If England win, the french coach had better start running.

Players and coach will really get it from the French public if they loose tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Is it not 25 points?

Pos
    Team
    P
    W
    D
    L
    F
    A
    PD
    TF
    Pts

1 Ireland 4 4 0 0 104 58 46 10 8
    2 Wales 4 3 0 1 85 64 21 8 6
    3 France 3 2 0 1 64 59 5 5 4
    4 England 3 1 0 2 64 48 16 8 2
    5 Scotland 4 1 0 3 67 76 -9 4 2
    6 Italy 4 0 0 4 41 120 -79 1 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

timmywex wrote: »
    Is it not 25 points?

Pos
    Team
    P
    W
    D
    L
    F
    A
    PD
    TF
    Pts

Yes but if Wales win by 13 their points difference goes up and ours goes down. 26 point swing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Is it not 25 points?

Pos
    Team
    P
    W
    D
    L
    F
    A
    PD
    TF
    Pts

Well the points difference is currently 25. If Wales were to beat us next Saturday their points difference would go up while ours would go down. So we must lose by less than 12 points to maintain a positive points difference against the Welsh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭gearstick

Is it not 25 points?

no because if ireland lose by 13 points, their points difference will be 33, and wales' will be 34

and i honestly hope england don't beat france as that will give ireland a reason to be complacent, something they definitely don't need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

think we need to just concentrate on our own game and not worry about any one elses, the cushion would be nice, but would be so much nicer with the slam under our belts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

If Wales beat us by 10 we'd be gutted even if we were crowned 6N champs. Next week is all about the Grand Slam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

corny wrote: »
    If Wales beat us by 10 we'd be gutted even if we were crowned 6N champs. Next week is all about the Grand Slam.

Can't agree with that. We havn't won a championship since 1984. Sure I want us to win the slam - but ill be delighted if we win the championship.

I will be gutted if we lose the championship again to France on points difference - ill also be gutted if we lose to Wales by 13 points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 samhaydenjr

Wales score late try, putting them twelve points ahead - they miss the conversion and we all start celebrating only to realise that the try puts us one point behind France, who themselves scored a try four minutes into dead time against Italy earlier in the day - wow, I've watched Irish teams lose way too often - maybe I should take a leaf out of my own advice from another thread, where I recommended a sports psychologist for the Irish team, and get a sports fan psychologist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Hate to say it, but I reckon Les Rosbifs are going down alright.

Odds on France are skirting around evens on betfair-probably won't be the most thrilling of games though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

England to win...by 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,978 ✭✭✭✭phog

This match shoudn't be relevant, we should go out next week to win, this is not about a championship it's about a Grand Slam. A one point win next week and I'll be very happy.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

phog wrote: »
    this is not about a championship it's about a Grand Slam.

No it's not. A large % of boards members have never seen Ireland win the championship. We have never won the 6 Nations. The 'slam would be a bonus but hardly the end of the world is Wales beat us by less than 12.

Wales winning and France taking the title would be the end of the world :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackgold>>

I hope england get hammered.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I would like to think that the Irish set up is not interested in todays game as it has no bearing on them. Teams will be remembered by their achievements. this is our golden generation, nothing short of a grand slam will suffice. For a lot of players on the pitch it will round off successful careers. The Likes of the Bull And BOD deserve and have earned a right to get the holy grail at least once.

I expect an Irish win next week, It will be close and our lads will not be doing pitchside math to ensure a tournament by pt differance. IRELAND ALL THE WAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,978 ✭✭✭✭phog

Ponster wrote: »
    No it's not. A large % of boards members have never seen Ireland win the championship. We have never won the 6 Nations. The 'slam would be a bonus but hardly the end of the world is Wales beat us by less than 12.

Wales winning and France taking the title would be the end of the world :)

If Wales win they have more a chance of winning the championship than France (even if they win in Twickenham, which is very doubtful at this moment in time), so Ireland have to go out to win.

Ireland should play this game like the Pumas did against us in the WC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Engerland. Engerland, Engerland.......:D:D Thank you God!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

I feel nervous about next saturday already. Im just praying that 2001, 2003 and especially 2007 doesnt come back to haunt us. These were slams that we left after us. I would love to see Ireland trashing Wales like England did to France today as it would finish off the dream in the best way possible but that is very unlikely to happen. If the game is close towards the end and Ireland are winning they must make sure not to give away a late try. It would be heartbreak city for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

For a lot of players on the pitch it will round off successful careers. The Likes of the Bull And BOD deserve and have earned a right to get the holy grail at least once.

Agreed but would like to see ROG and Stringer added to that list as well, they have done alot for Irish rugby would love to see them achieving Grand Slam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Fear not fellow posters,

This Ireland team have success written all over them.

They're playing good.

They prepare good.

They're lead good.

They're managed good.

Championship should be won next week.

(Gatland shot himself in the foot with his selection for the Rome match - arrogance again his downfall...)