Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mobile Broadband or Firewalls please help

• 14-03-2009 1:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

I`ve just changed over to O2 mobile broadband , finding it grand except one site i always use is taking hours if at all to get in to www.igb.ie its the greyhound site in case you`re interested haha.It`s working fine in work so obviously no probs with the site. Rang O2 and they said it must be my firewall which is Norton 360. Have I done something to the firewall by accident - it was flying last week when i was on wireless

Thanks a million

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,757 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

stevieg123 wrote: »
    I`ve just changed over to O2 mobile broadband , finding it grand except one site i always use is taking hours if at all to get in to www.igb.ie its the greyhound site in case you`re interested haha.It`s working fine in work so obviously no probs with the site. Rang O2 and they said it must be my firewall which is Norton 360. Have I done something to the firewall by accident - it was flying last week when i was on wireless

Thanks a million

Ping igb.ie and see what it returns. Peform a tracert to it as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 stevieg123

Hi Spear

Thanx for reply - how do i ping or do a tracert - complete novice at this sorry

Thanx 4 ur patience

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,757 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

Hi Spear

Thanx for reply - how do i ping or do a tracert - complete novice at this sorry

Thanx 4 ur patience

Open a command prompt and type "ping www.igb.ie" and "tracert www.igb.ie" and copy the results here.

Hi Spear

How do i open a command prompt - is that the microsoft window in the bottom left hand corner

Hi Spear

How do i open a command prompt - is that the microsoft window in the bottom left hand corner

Start -> run -> type "cmd" and hit return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭M450

Must be the site, I got 100% loss sending 4 packets.
    BTW I'm using O2 aswel.

M450 wrote: »
    Must be the site, I got 100% loss sending 4 packets.
    BTW I'm using O2 aswel.

http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/www.igb.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭keystone

All good for me - not on 02

It may be a DNS issue on O2's side, unlikely though.

At the command prompt, type ipconfig /flushdns and then ipconfig /registerdns.

Google delete Internet cache and do that also.

It may help but I'd be surprised.

Sounds like an O2 issue.

all i`m getting is request timed out . this site is grand all day in work not that i`m on it mind ya haha - any ideas ??

now sent 4 lost 4 - would this be the ISP by any chance

all i`m getting is request timed out . this site is grand all day in work not that i`m on it mind ya haha - any ideas ??

The timeouts aren't worrying, what IP address does is show it resolving to?

Spear wrote: »
    Haha good site, never heard of it before.

Spear wrote: »
    The timeouts aren't worrying, what IP address does is show it resolving to?
    www.igb.ie - 159.134.94.71

Hi Spear

Tried that link but its just hangin

www.igb.ie - 159.134.94.71

That's the right address for it, and I can access it fine. A tracert would be good at this point.

Here's the output of trace route until it times out:

Tracing route to www.igb.ie [159.134.94.71]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 168 ms 141 ms 196 ms 172.16.252.2
    2 601 ms 181 ms 160 ms 172.16.252.1
    3 619 ms 338 ms 238 ms 172.16.252.34
    4 558 ms 498 ms 438 ms 83.245.126.53
    5 740 ms 279 ms 216 ms 83.71.115.80
    6 571 ms 361 ms 179 ms eircom-hosting-services-ce-ge2-0.edge1.cwm.dubli
    n.eircom.net [159.134.120.34]
    7 756 ms 419 ms 181 ms 159.134.95.6
    8 * * * Request timed out.

M450

see what you`re on about now - jaysus lads told ya i was a novice - if ya want to know anything bout greyhounds just ask lol

Here's the output of trace route until it times out:

1 168 ms 141 ms 196 ms 172.16.252.2
    2 601 ms 181 ms 160 ms 172.16.252.1
    3 619 ms 338 ms 238 ms 172.16.252.34
    4 558 ms 498 ms 438 ms 83.245.126.53
    5 740 ms 279 ms 216 ms 83.71.115.80
    6 571 ms 361 ms 179 ms eircom-hosting-services-ce-ge2-0.edge1.cwm.dubli
    7 756 ms 419 ms 181 ms 159.134.95.6

Odd, you're getting through to the Eircom network just fine. Nothing on the O2 side is blocking anything. Just to make sure, you're using www.igb.ie in your browser, not simply igb.ie?

stevieg I've never pinged anything before and never even heard of tracert, but at least I know how to open the command prompt... haha!

The site opens fine for me in a browser, albeit slowly. It's just the ping that fails completely.

stevieg I've never pinged anything before and never even heard of tracert, but at least I know how to open the command prompt... haha!

The site opens fine for me in a browser, albeit slowly. It's just the ping that fails completely.

The ping failing isn't an issue, no-ones obliged to respond to ping requests, and many sites won't so as to cut off a potential avenue for denial of service attacks.

StevieG123, can you show me the output of ping and tracert from your machine then, if it's working for M450.

On a different note, the latency on your connection is abysmal.

What do you do Spear, as in profession? Or is this just a hobby/common sense?

well lads

It will open eventually but it takes absolutely ages - then tryin to go in farther is a nightmare - try checking results - its workin grand in work and was grand until i got the mobile - but every other site theres no bother

I`m stumped lads

Spear wrote:

On a different note, the latency on your connection is abysmal.

My O2 has been running on EDGE for the past hour, bloody annoying!

What do you do Spear, as in profession? Or is this just a hobby/common sense?

Sorry, you've lost me there.

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\birdy74>"ping www.igb.ie"
    '"ping www.igb.ie"' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    C:\Users\birdy74>"pingwww.igb.ie"
    '"pingwww.igb.ie"' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    C:\Users\birdy74>"ping www.rte.ie"
    '"ping www.rte.ie"' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    C:\Users\birdy74>ping www.rte.ie
    Pinging www.rte.ie [89.207.56.140] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 89.207.56.140: bytes=32 time=336ms TTL=59
    Reply from 89.207.56.140: bytes=32 time=283ms TTL=59
    Reply from 89.207.56.140: bytes=32 time=254ms TTL=59
    Reply from 89.207.56.140: bytes=32 time=306ms TTL=59
    Ping statistics for 89.207.56.140:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 254ms, Maximum = 336ms, Average = 294ms
    C:\Users\birdy74>ping www.igb.ie
    Pinging www.igb.ie [159.134.94.71] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 159.134.94.71:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    C:\Users\birdy74>

well lads

It will open eventually but it takes absolutely ages - then tryin to go in farther is a nightmare - try checking results - its workin grand in work and was grand until i got the mobile - but every other site theres no bother

I`m stumped lads

Something different then, run "nslookup www.igb.ie" in a command prompt and show the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭keystone

Spear is spot on...latency is chronic....surprised it didn't fail earlier.
    I still think its a DNS issue or more likely its justs a bad connection....i.e. signal

Hi spear

Is that what you were looking for or is there more

Hi spear

Is that what you were looking for or is there more

You're getting the right address for the site at least. Can you perform the tracert mentioned previously as well?

I was just wondering if you were working in some area of computer networks... I'm studying computer engineering myself.

output from nslookup [url]www.igb.ie:[/url]

Server: dns1.o2.ie
    Address: 62.40.32.33

Non-authoritative answer:
    Name: www.igb.ie
    Address: 159.134.94.71

I was just wondering if you were working in some area of computer networks... I'm studying computer engineering myself.

output from nslookup [url]www.igb.ie:[/url]

Server: dns1.o2.ie

I'll answer by PM.

C:\Users\birdy74>"tracert www.igb.ie"
    '"tracert www.igb.ie"' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    C:\Users\birdy74>tracert www.igb.ie
    1 544 ms 387 ms 439 ms 172.16.252.2
    2 367 ms 409 ms 449 ms 172.16.252.1
    3 388 ms 409 ms 409 ms 172.16.252.34
    4 338 ms 419 ms 409 ms 83.245.126.53
    5 331 ms 479 ms 439 ms 83.71.115.15
    6 393 ms 469 ms 419 ms eircom-hosting-services-ce-ge2-0.edge1.cwm.dubli
    7 334 ms 449 ms 398 ms 159.134.95.6
    9 * * * Request timed out.
    10 * * * Request timed out.
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 * * * Request timed out.
    13 *

13 *

Again, terrible latency, but you are still getting through to the Eircom network where it's hosted okay. Could you also show the results of the nslookup also mentioned before?

13 *

13 *

Please run "nslookup www.igb.ie" in a command prompt. You don't need the quotation marks.

C:\Users\birdy74>nlookups www.igb.ie
    'nlookups' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    C:\Users\birdy74>"nlookups www.igb.ie"
    '"nlookups www.igb.ie"' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    C:\Users\birdy74>nlookup www.igb.ie
    'nlookup' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    C:\Users\birdy74>nslookup www.igb.ie
    DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
    Server: UnKnown
    DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.

C:\Users\birdy74>nslookup www.igb.ie
    DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
    Server: UnKnown
    DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.

Looks like as a result of the latency some of your DNS lookups are getting lost. You may wish to go back to O2 support and raise a ticket with them to see if there's anything they can do about. Given the nature of the mobile networks, I suspect there isn't.

Hey Spear

Thanx a million , I`ll chance O2 tomorrow. Rest of ye lads thanx too but we have to admit here spear is the brains behind the operation haha ....

Hey Spear

Thanx a million , I`ll chance O2 tomorrow. Rest of ye lads thanx too but we have to admit here spear is the brains behind the operation haha ....

One other small possibility, could you run "netstat -na" in a command prompt. There may be a fair bit of output from this one.

C:\Users\birdy74>netstat na
    Displays protocol statistics and current TCP/IP network connections.
    NETSTAT [-a] [-b] [-e] [-f] [-n] [-o] [-p proto] [-r] [-s] [-t] [interval]
    -a Displays all connections and listening ports.
    -b Displays the executable involved in creating each connection or
    listening port. In some cases well-known executables host
    multiple independent components, and in these cases the
    sequence of components involved in creating the connection
    or listening port is displayed. In this case the executable
    name is in [] at the bottom, on top is the component it called,
    and so forth until TCP/IP was reached. Note that this option
    can be time-consuming and will fail unless you have sufficient
    permissions.
    -e Displays Ethernet statistics. This may be combined with the -s
    option.
    -f Displays Fully Qualified Domain Names (FQDN) for foreign
    addresses.
    -n Displays addresses and port numbers in numerical form.
    -o Displays the owning process ID associated with each connection.
    -p proto Shows connections for the protocol specified by proto; proto
    may be any of: TCP, UDP, TCPv6, or UDPv6. If used with the -s
    option to display per-protocol statistics, proto may be any of:
    IP, IPv6, ICMP, ICMPv6, TCP, TCPv6, UDP, or UDPv6.
    -r Displays the routing table.
    -s Displays per-protocol statistics. By default, statistics are
    shown for IP, IPv6, ICMP, ICMPv6, TCP, TCPv6, UDP, and UDPv6;
    the -p option may be used to specify a subset of the default.
    -t Displays the current connection offload state.
    interval Redisplays selected statistics, pausing interval seconds
    between each display. Press CTRL+C to stop redisplaying
    statistics. If omitted, netstat will print the current
    configuration information once.

C:\Users\birdy74>netstat na
    Displays protocol statistics and current TCP/IP network connections.
    NETSTAT [-a] [-b] [-e] [-f] [-n] [-o] [-p proto] [-r] [-s] [-t] [interval]

You missed the - from the -na switch at the end.

C:\Users\birdy74>netstat -na
    Active Connections
    Proto Local Address Foreign Address State
    TCP 0.0.0.0:135 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 0.0.0.0:445 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 0.0.0.0:5357 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 0.0.0.0:49152 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 0.0.0.0:49153 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 0.0.0.0:49154 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 0.0.0.0:49155 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 0.0.0.0:49156 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 89.204.251.188:139 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 89.204.251.188:49574 213.200.94.82:80 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 89.204.251.188:49663 74.125.39.19:80 CLOSE_WAIT
    TCP 89.204.251.188:49666 74.125.39.19:443 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 89.204.251.188:49869 209.85.227.99:80 CLOSE_WAIT
    TCP 89.204.251.188:49873 209.85.227.99:80 CLOSE_WAIT
    TCP 89.204.251.188:49903 209.85.227.99:80 CLOSE_WAIT
    TCP 89.204.251.188:49905 209.85.227.99:80 CLOSE_WAIT
    TCP 89.204.251.188:49907 209.85.227.99:80 CLOSE_WAIT
    TCP 89.204.251.188:49976 77.67.21.40:80 TIME_WAIT
    TCP 89.204.251.188:50001 64.34.110.181:80 TIME_WAIT
    TCP 89.204.251.188:50005 64.34.110.181:80 TIME_WAIT
    TCP 89.204.251.188:50010 64.34.110.182:80 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:4664 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 127.0.0.1:12025 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 127.0.0.1:12080 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 127.0.0.1:12080 127.0.0.1:49662 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:12080 127.0.0.1:49868 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:12080 127.0.0.1:49870 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:12080 127.0.0.1:49872 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:12080 127.0.0.1:49902 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:12080 127.0.0.1:49904 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:12080 127.0.0.1:49906 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:12080 127.0.0.1:50006 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:12110 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 127.0.0.1:12119 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 127.0.0.1:12143 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 127.0.0.1:25377 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 127.0.0.1:25377 127.0.0.1:49164 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49164 127.0.0.1:25377 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49662 127.0.0.1:12080 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49868 127.0.0.1:12080 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49870 127.0.0.1:12080 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49872 127.0.0.1:12080 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49902 127.0.0.1:12080 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49904 127.0.0.1:12080 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:49906 127.0.0.1:12080 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:50006 127.0.0.1:12080 ESTABLISHED
    TCP [::]:135 [::]:0 LISTENING
    TCP [::]:445 [::]:0 LISTENING
    TCP [::]:5357 [::]:0 LISTENING
    TCP [::]:49152 [::]:0 LISTENING
    TCP [::]:49153 [::]:0 LISTENING
    TCP [::]:49154 [::]:0 LISTENING
    TCP [::]:49155 [::]:0 LISTENING
    TCP [::]:49156 [::]:0 LISTENING
    UDP 0.0.0.0:123 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:500 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:3702 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:4500 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:5355 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:49643 *:*
    UDP 89.204.251.188:137 *:*
    UDP 89.204.251.188:138 *:*
    UDP 89.204.251.188:1900 *:*
    UDP 89.204.251.188:61237 *:*
    UDP 127.0.0.1:1900 *:*
    UDP 127.0.0.1:52146 *:*
    UDP 127.0.0.1:61238 *:*
    UDP [::]:123 *:*
    UDP [::]:500 *:*
    UDP [::]:3702 *:*
    UDP [::]:5355 *:*
    UDP [::]:49644 *:*
    UDP [::1]:1900 *:*
    UDP [::1]:61235 *:*
    UDP [fe80::1ccb:3795:a633:443%10]:1900 *:*
    UDP [fe80::1ccb:3795:a633:443%10]:61236 *:*
    UDP [fe80::6834:28f9:2b6:b1d0%12]:1900 *:*
    UDP [fe80::6834:28f9:2b6:b1d0%12]:61233 *:*
    UDP [fe80::9c59:bf9e:2813:644f%11]:1900 *:*
    UDP [fe80::9c59:bf9e:2813:644f%11]:61234 *:*
    UDP [fe80::a4d9:9f99:e50b:5974%18]:1900 *:*
    UDP [fe80::a4d9:9f99:e50b:5974%18]:61232 *:*

Hi Spear

Was on to O2 , they said no prob with the connection it must be some firewall on my PC. I tried the modem on a mates and he accessed igb no bother. Then uninstalled the Norton on mine and he installed avasta. still no joy - any ideas please ?

Hi Spear

Was on to O2 , they said no prob with the connection it must be some firewall on my PC. I tried the modem on a mates and he accessed igb no bother. Then uninstalled the Norton on mine and he installed avasta. still no joy - any ideas please ?

Are you using Avast anti-virus or webshield?

I`m nearly sure its the anti virus - theres a blue ball with an A on it at the bottom of the screen- when ya put the cursor over it it says Avast On Access Scanner 7 provider(s) 6 running. I`m prob wreckin your head mate so no probs if ya tell me to head off

Avast uses a local web proxy called Webshield, that's what has all those local connections on port 12080 on your machine. Try uninstall it (make a note of your serial if it's a paid for copy first).

checked a bit more it`s avast 4.8 anti virus

Try the uninstall then, it'll probably need a restart afterwards, so do so if it asks. It can be reinstalled afterwards if it's not interfering.

if i right click on the A blue ball i get a menu - on that theres a stop provider - this gives a webshield option - is this what I`m supposed to do ?