Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

county with the stingest people ?

• 13-03-2009 12:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭

Cavan has always being sterotyped as a county full of misers but i honestly have never come across a cavan person who was in any way thrifty

But when it comes to the rebels of cork ,to me they win hands down ,any cork guy or girl ive met would make scrooge look like mother theresa

i know there is stingy people all over the country but whats your take on which county has the most ??
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'd probably go with Cork too, if not the meanest feckers certainly the craftiest when it comes to money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Leitrim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

cork or dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Leitrim

Is ther anywhere near Tír na nÓg?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Horsefumbler

Wasp County.

I'm really quite pointless ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭endasmail

cavan people are the tightest
    common knowledge
    enough said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

endasmail wrote: »
    cavan people are the tightest
    common knowledge
    enough said

The Dubs are an awful lot worse my good man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭HAPPYGIRL

Dublin and Meath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭corkhero

cork.

some of my friends would sicken you with how mean they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'd say Cork as well, but they have to hide their money because Kerry's next door. When a Cork person shakes a Kerry person's hand - they always count their fingers afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

Tyrone people, they are the most miserly human beings I have ever come across absolute poverty and misery abounds.

Cork people are tight too but are sound enough in other ways, Cavan people are way over stereotyped tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

people in ireland are misers, could have fooled me, everywhere i look i see irish folks trying to outdo each other whether it cars or houses, saturday night spending money on booze like there is no tomorrow, flying aer lingus/ba/other airline because they don't like the much cheaper ryanairs service :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

rossie1977 wrote: »
    people in ireland are misers, could have fooled me, everywhere i look i see irish folks trying to outdo each other whether it cars or houses, saturday night spending money on booze like there is no tomorrow, flying aer lingus/ba/other airline because they don't like the much cheaper ryanairs service :rolleyes:

This is because
    a) Someone else is paying for it; or
    b) It's not being paid for at all; it's on credit.

There is no explanation for the Saturday nights-out - they just contradict all known laws of nature and stereotype. Example: someone who will refuse to pay a euro for a bar of chocolate will have no problem paying 20+ euro for a round of four drinks.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Definitely Cavan

Bastards would peel an orange in their pocket.

Cavan people aren't tight the are thrifty and enterprising.

Roscommons are the real tightwads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Cavan Cavan Cavan. They're really stingy, don't you know.

i'm from cork and have been told we're a tight bunch, i reckon we are just wiser and dont splash what we dont have. we complain about prices going up and rightly so, look how fast we become rip off republic because people were afraid to stand up because they would be called tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Cork. Killkenny people seem to be the least stingey from people ive met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭WEST

Of the people I know, there is one Cork fella that is the stingest I ever meet. Maybe that will change when I meet someone from Cavan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

As a barman of many years in three different irish owned places in the States and having to deal with every single county on the Island, I can honestly say that there is no one particular county that is worse than any other.

Every single one of you can claim a good few from each county as being pretty bad though.

Overall, the Irish (the ones that left) were very generous overall.

The rest of you begrudgers are a bunch miserable, stingy pricks :p j/k lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

As a barman of many years in three different irish owned places in the States and having to deal with every single county on the Island, I can honestly say that there is no one particular county that is worse than any other.

Every single one of you can claim a good few from each county as being pretty bad though.

Overall, the Irish (the ones that left) were very generous overall.

The rest of you begrudgers are a bunch miserable, stingy pricks :p j/k lol

And you're too mean to buy your own mule. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭jackdaw

I went to a school with a Cavan guy ... stingy F*cker he was ...

this was back in 1997 ... one day he loans we 2 quid ... that friday he comes up to me asking for it ... he was 2 quid short of the bus fare back to Cavan for the weekend .. I told him i hadn't got it but don't worry i'll have it on monday ... he went nuts ...saying " I'm gonna have to TAKE money out of my account now " !!

anyway we found out later he had about 1,200 irish pounds in his account,
    back in those days when you were a schoolboy .. you were loaded...

guy would drop a penny and it would hit him on the back of his neck ...

anyway now i live in Spain ... and you wouldn't BELIEVE what Catalans are like ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Its Dublin, everyone knows that. Has a silver lining though, it caused the invention of copper wire (2 Dublin fellas fighting over a penny :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

jackdaw wrote: »
    guy would drop a penny and it would hit him on the back of his neck ...
    cornbb wrote: »
    it caused the invention of copper wire (2 Dublin fellas fighting over a penny :p)

And just to round off the Billy Connolly stingy jokes, people from um... let's say Wicklow are so stingy they wake up in the middle of the night to see if they've lost any sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

jackdaw wrote: »

anyway now i live in Spain ... and you wouldn't BELIEVE what Catalans are like ...

completely agree with the spanish, i lived in the canaries for a few summers working in a bar.they are truely disgustingly tight.you dont go into a bar and haggle the price of a drink!

back to ireland id say people from louth/cavan/monaghan, the general NE.

as for not stingy, anyone i know from kildare seems to wipe their arse with fiftys.they do know their horseys so maybe its all the money theyve won on cheltenham! ive friends from kildare and they never see me or my mates stuck for cash.always pay it back of course but theyre great if your ever stuck for a 20/50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Monied people, from whatever county, are the stingiest.
    Dun Laoighaire/Rathdown being the worst offenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Terry wrote: »
    Monied people, from whatever county, are the stingiest.
    Dun Laoighaire/Rathdown being the worst offenders.

Hmmm, I wonder how they got monied???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

looks like its cork.

even though if it was for the rudest people in the country I think those in south county Dublin would win hands down. I've encountered travelers with more decency and manors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

is polish people a county???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

javaboy wrote: »
    And just to round off the Billy Connolly stingy jokes, people from um... let's say Wicklow are so stingy they wake up in the middle of the night to see if they've lost any sleep.

Posters in this thread and my da. Both could start a Billy Connolly jokes recycling plant, as neither have an ounce of original humour in their bodies. That's fairly stingy, would u not get your own jokes? Not like any of us have ever heard of BC anyway, eh?

Certain Dubs are the stingiest people in this country, out of necessity though, as they like the Dublin way of life (expensive) but are too shit/un-motivated to get jobs. I'm thinkin studenty hippy-ish cans-in-clubs type people. At the other end of the spectrum you've got your fúckin idiot Celtic tiger know-nothing babies pissing €150-200 up the wall in single nights at the weekend. Actually turns my stomach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Trang

im my experience....Carlow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Definitely Cavan

Bastards would peel an orange in their pocket.

Yeah. I heard from a corkonian that Cavanmen eat out of a drawer........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭lazernuts

absolutely Kerry people. ..but im from Cork tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

ejmaztec wrote: »
    And you're too mean to buy your own mule. :P

I've never bought a drink in me life.

I've rented thousands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

stevoman wrote: »
    is polish people a county???

Ya, them lads from county markeivicz...

god thats bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

pebbles21 wrote: »
    Cavan has always being sterotyped as a county full of misers but i honestly have never come across a cavan person who was in any way thrifty

But when it comes to the rebels of cork ,to me they win hands down ,any cork guy or girl ive met would make scrooge look like mother theresa

i know there is stingy people all over the country but whats your take on which county has the most ??

I'm going to go with what ever county the OP is from. Can't even fork out for capital letters and proper punctuation, tight-a**e!