Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you keep protection?

• 12-03-2009 9:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭

Not the rubber kind, but the intruder deterant kind.
    Lying in bed the other night I was thinking what if somebody broke in, what could I do to defend myself. Im a biggish bloke and could handle myself physicly but these knackers that brake into homes usually carry hammers, knifes etc. I know a friend that keeps a batton close by and another who has his snooker cue ''just in case'' neither have experianced a brake in but dont take chances.

So what is your protection of choice?

A good solid alarm system?
    A hurley?
    A panic room?
    A set of Swords you bought on your holidays in Spain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Portcullis. Let's see them get through that shít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

There is nothing more humourous the people who feel, for no real reason other than having a weapon, that the could deal with a break in.

By bringing a weapon into any situation you simply give the intruders reason to use there's. Most robberies don't end in murders you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

A ceremonial dagger.

So deathly sharp, the last time I used it, it slid right through and shattered the plate into bits.

I used it on a cake by the way. Sorry to disappoint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

When I lived in Dublin I had a pick axe handle within reach at night. They're nice and light and only cost about 6 or 7 Euro in Woodies. And because they're also long you can get a good auld wack out of them without getting to close to the intruder. Never had to use it , but came close.

Living in Munich now, break-ins are unheard of here but I still have a nice airgun and a some pepper spray. It wouldn't kill someone just put them in a whole world of pain. Then I'd kick the bollox off them :D

KTRIC wrote: »
    When I lived in Dublin I had a pick axe handle within reach at night. They're nice and light and only cost about 6 or 7 Euro in Woodies. And because they're also long you can get a good auld wack out of them without getting to close to the intruder. Never had to use it , but came close.

Not really the best choice of weapon for some indoor fighting though, is it?

The swing arc is huge, you commit way too much to your swing, which is also telegraphed and a single long step brings the intruder from being struck range to completely ineffective impacts.

A good knife wielding thief leaves you trying to get your insides back on the inside any day. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I have a good alarm. If they get through that then i also have hairspray beside my bed. Yes i know this may do feck all but in my head its gonna blind them while i run out the room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Kiera wrote: »
    I have a good alarm. If they get through that then i also have hairspray beside my bed. Yes i know this may do feck all but in my head its gonna blind them while i run out the room.

Hairspray + lighter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I have a decent sized wardrobe that I could easily lock myself into if the need arose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

my fella sleeps with a baseball bat beside the bed.

recently, our next door neighbours, who fix up cars and sell them on, had someone come back to them, with another car full of big patched dudes. we're in a non-smoking flat, so my fella was gone out for a smoke and is seeing all this happening. comes back in and tells me that there's a chance things could kick off, he'll be keeping an eye on it.

i assume he means in case he's to ring the cops...

find out a couple of hours later (it all worked out ok) that he'd brought the baseball bat into the kitchen and intended to rush out with it in case of a brawl.

stovelid wrote: »
    I have a decent sized wardrobe that I could easily lock myself into if the need arose.

Careful man, if you start seeing snow you're in Narnia.

Dragan wrote: »
    Not really the best choice of weapon for some indoor fighting though, is it?

The swing arc is huge, you commit way too much to your swing, which is also telegraphed and a single long step brings the intruder from being struck range to completely ineffective impacts.

A good knife wielding thief leaves you trying to get your insides back on the inside any day. :pac:

I realise that you can't swing it like a baseball bat from the shoulder indoors. But I did manage to find the best solution for swinging it indoors through trial and error.

Any weapon is useless if you don't know how to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

Get a dog. A lot of would be burglars would be put off by a lot of barking.
    Doesn't have to be a big dog just a loud one....provided you like dogs and have the time for them ofc :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

2 sawn off shotguns
    my german shepard
    a good alarm system
    2 10 inch blades
    and various collections of small firearms.
    and the number of a man to dispose of bodies at short notice and without a trace...
    a passport and a sum of cash...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Most robberies don't end in murders you know.

Don't want some wanker robbing my stuff though! It's finding a nice balance, something that won't kill them but will hurt them enough to run like fook.

So, i sleep with a fork under my pillow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

I keep a witch in a bag under my bed.
    If I have a breakin, I drag her out and get her to turn the intruder into a frog, which I then throw out the window onto a spikey railing down below.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Narnia is closed due to the economic downturn :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

I have a hammer near my bed & a brown belt in kenpo & near enough to the bed a big stick. that's about it really :) (well there is that press of knives in the room from when I was a collector as a teen - oh yeahhhh)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

stovelid wrote: »

Sounds like someone likes it in the closet. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Yes, I keep two hired goons beside my bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I don't need a weapon I have a black belt in Keno.

I realise that you can't swing it like a baseball bat from the shoulder indoors. But I did manage to find the best solution for swinging it indoors through trial and error.

Any weapon is useless if you don't know how to use it.

Best way to use a baseball bat inside it to jab with it, like it's a spear, into the body of your attacker. This allows you to keep the reach advantage and not telegraph your attack.

Aim for the body because it's much harder for someone to move their body out of line that their head, which is relatively easy. Jab hard, not like a pussy, you want to get them enough to make them flinch, duck back or even hit the deck. If they hit the ground then direct downward swings, nice and hard, till you get tired. Doesn't really matter where you are connecting, a baseball bat in the leg will most likely snap it.

You can effectively pound someone flat if you put enough time in.

The only downside to the spear attack with a baseball bat is they COULD grab it, so be speedy and quick. Ideally, one if not both hands of the attacker will be full, which will cost them. If they do get a hold of the bat, then come in over or under the line of it with strikes to the face of the nuts.

Then pick the bat back up and wail on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

I just keep my damp towel beside my bed, any intruders would cower before my towel whipping dominance, hone to perfection from 5 years intensive training!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Lu Tze wrote: »
    I just keep my damp towel beside my bed, any intruders would cower before my towel whipping dominance, hone to perfection from 5 years intensive training!
    some people like being whipped though, you wouldn't want a kinky intruder tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭PeterLT

ShooterSF wrote: »

What if intruder has second dan black belt in Karate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

PeterLT wrote: »
    You could choke him with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

Having protection is all well and good if is 1vs1.

My parents arrived home to see a car in the driveway and
    a few seconds later 4 masked guys leaving the house!!:eek:

My mother ran to the neighbours to get help while in the mean time
    my father tried to run over a couple of them with the car.

They took MY hurley's from the shed and proceeded to smash the
    car windscreen of the car until my father backed off. They got away.

But say for a second they didn't get away and he managed to pin
    1 of them and they all got caught and went to prison, where do you
    think would be the first place they would be going to burn down once
    they got out???!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

I keep a shotgun and am prepared to fight to the death in the event my personal belongings, family or property are threatened. If somebody threatens me I am prepared to kill them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Doesn't make him a good Keno player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

We have 2 kittens that would tear any intruder to shreds (I hope).

That's easy, you just leave while he is doing his Kata.

Best way to use a baseball bat inside it to jab with it, like it's a spear, into the body of your attacker. This allows you to keep the reach advantage and not telegraph your attack.

Thats what I had in mind, seemed the most sensible option.

Thanks ;)

I point my shotgun to the door, attaching wire to the handle and trigger... In case he'll break through back door I connect electricity to it.

For my car I put special seat cover for a night that's full of treble fishing hooks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

I was thinking about getting something when I get my new momo bike. Was thinking baseball bat but then thought nah... Stamp collection ftw. I'll bore the thief's into submission... :D

True.

Aslan would be in the house robbing stuff, but.

Sweep the leg, of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

I have the stereo on stand-by ready to drop this sucka and scare the ****e out of them. It also helps if you confront them naked :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

Are you people trolling? Where do y'all live? South Central? El Salvador? I've lived in my fair share of dodgy places over the years including some hellholes on the Northside and not once did I feel the need to keep a weapon in the house. Here's some advice-stand up, turn off Sky News, turn on the lights, open the curtains and take a deep breath.

Are you people trolling?

Nope, but clearly you have no ****ing clue what this Forum is about?

AH = nonserious rubbish basically.:pac:

Nope, but clearly you have no ****ing clue what this Forum is about?

Fair point. But I guarantee that a lot of people posting on this topic are being deadly serious.

<<

>>

Living in Munich now, break-ins are unheard of here but I still have a nice airgun and a some pepper spray. It wouldn't kill someone just put them in a whole world of pain. Then I'd kick the bollox off them :D

You were saying Dragan?

Sketch, lads. Teacher's here.

It's better be ready now, than sorry later...

You were saying Dragan?

I replied to that post to better advise the poster how to utilise a baseball bat.

Or did you miss that one?

Just because someone is paranoid does not mean i cannot better equip them to deal with threats, be they real or imagined. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

I dont need a Gun mate I've got a Donk.....

But I guarantee that a lot of people posting on this topic are being deadly serious.

He is right lads, i do keep a damp towel beside my bed :(

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Just a point of note folks;

If you leave a weapon specifically around for the purpose of dealing with a burglar then what you do to said burglar is pre meditated.

If however you happen to stumble across your baseball bat/hurley/samurai sword on the way to see what's happening, then its not pre meditated.

This does not constitute legal advice, but i think you should be able to tell the difference in both scenarios.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

What?? I've been using this forum as a basis of how I talk to people IRL!!

Awww. Looks like I've touched a nerve with the kitchen knife wielding, Matrix loving, paranoia brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

ShooterSF wrote: »
    what good is that if your asleep and the crooks get in undetected and whack you?

Awww. Looks like I've touched a nerve with the kitchen knife wielding, Matrix loving, paranoia brigade.

I love matrices!

2x2

1 1
    1 2

5x5

1 2 5 4 1
    3 4 7 2 3
    1 8 2 4 3
    9 5 5 6 2
    5 2 7 6 3

Just two of my favouirites

And don't even get me started on Gaussian Elimination :cool: