Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heroes S03E19 Shades of Grey

• 09-03-2009 10:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭

SPOILER WARNING:

From now on, this thread shall reveal details of the episode mentioned above. If you have not yet seen this episode, please do not move any further down the thread.

This episode shall air on:

ABC (US) - Mar 09th 2009
    RTÉ (IRL) -

If you are sure you have seen the episode as mentioned above (on the channels on those original airdates), you can move down further in order to discuss the episode.

Otherwise, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED - there shall be major plot details of the episode revealed and discussed below with no spoiler tags used!
    When Sylar comes face-to-face with his long lost father , the reunion proves to be what he least expected.

Elsewhere, after receiving a tip from "Rebel," Claire must decide if she will help her sworn enemy, Eric Doyle , evade capture.

Meanwhile, as "The Hunter" plans to uncover the Petrelli family's secrets and take control of Nathan's operation, Matt finds himself in the spotlight and on the verge of levelling Capitol Hill.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

It was ok, didn't blow my mnd or grip me...some nie little twistsat end end. Nathan exposed as a hero, jeez....i thought all along they knew he could fly?????

Claire gets more boring and irritating by the episode, remember in the first half of season one?...when everyone was about "save the cheerleader, save the world"...and it was great and she was actually interesting and you were interested in seeing how she ralated to the bigger plot?....so what happened?

What happened to the big overall story arch with smaller subplots that all connected, what happened to each week you'd watch and you'd get another piece of the puzzle, that each ep. furthered the plotline and it has a purpose and a direction, what happened Mr. Kring????

Planned out stories for 5-6 season you said, really?....load of cobblers, kill of everyone at the end of season one?....utter tosh!, Kring has sold out...he should follow the Skins model, kill everyone off and star again. Heroes is NOT about the characters, it's about something bigger...it's roots about and eclipse and powers manifesting has been lost. Herores should not be about keeping characters alive, it should be a bigger story arch, sorry for the rant....but the writers never had a clue past the last few eps. of season one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

What happened to the big overall story arch with smaller subplots that all connected, what happened to each week you'd watch and you'd get another piece of the puzzle, that each ep. furthered the plotline and it has a purpose and a direction, what happened Mr. Kring????

Planned out stories for 5-6 season you said, really?....load of cobblers, kill of everyone at the end of season one?....utter tosh!, Kring has sold out...he should follow the Skins model, kill everyone off and star again. Heroes is NOT about the characters, it's about something bigger...it's roots about and eclipse and powers manifesting has been lost. Herores should not be about keeping characters alive, it should be a bigger story arch, sorry for the rant....but the writers never had a clue past the last few eps. of season one.

Look, someone posts this little rant every week. Can we just leave it at that? We know what's going on with the show; we all watch it too. Refer to previous rants and clam up. And as for this:
    What happened to the big overall story arch with smaller subplots that all connected

That formula is set to rejoin the show next volume, according to Bryan Fuller.

Aaaaaaaaaaaanyway.

I liked the episode. Again, Sylar's parts were annoyingly boring. His father has the exact same power? Strange. Funny how daddy was gonna use a knife rather than telekinesis to slice open Sylar's head. Speaks volumes I guess. But yeah, the only way Daddy Gray can progress as a character is if he tries to track down Claire and steal her power. Been there, done that. Let's hope that's the last we see of him.

For the first time pretty much ever, I liked Nathan this episode. I like how it's all blown up in his face (as it was obviously gonna) and now he's gonna be hunted too. Where does this rank Noah in the chain of command? Hmm...

Baby Matt. Now there's a storyline! Looking forward to seeing Janice back, see if it'll stir **** up for Parkman.

Kinda wish there'd been some Peter action but very happy there was no Mohinder and only a little Hiro/Ando.

Think that's it for me for now. Hmm....

Next episode doesn't air in the US until 23rd cos there's a one week break for some reason. BUT it will hopefully be worth the wait, being that it's Bryan Fuller's "Cold Snap". Yaaaaaaaay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

This actually wasn't a bad episode. The stuff with Sylar and his father was good. John Glover is a great actor.

Danko and Nathan's plot moved along nicely.

Overall with perhaps the exception of Claire's stuff it was a good episode.

Also having Hiro back I could have done without,I actually forgot he was a part of the show because we havn't seen him in a few episodes and his last episode was some ridiculous story about stopping a wedding. At this stage he is not needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Well, I for one was not impressed with this episode. This show is getting flatter and more predictable by the episode. What are the talking points of this episode?
    Danko finds out Nathan can fly Shocker!
    Skyler and Daddy get to know each other chat in a boring type of way
    Barbie helps Doyle one of the most evil Heroes, why??
    Can't really think of anything significant apart from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

Well the recurring theme I saw in this episode was the hunter becomes the hunted.

For instance,
    Sylar and Daddy : Daddy became hunter and quickly became the hunted.
    Nathan : Was hunting and is now becoming the hunted.
    Doyle : Was being hunted but now with a new identity is free to hunt again.

Looks like Danko will have full control again if he survives his episode with Sylar.

I think Sylar will team up with Danko to catch and exterminate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

After an upturn last week I thought this weeks one was weak again, not as bad as it has been but still poor.

Danko: how many times has he said "How'd he get there so fast?"

He can fly you retard!!!!

Product placements for palm, HRG being the worst offender.

Parts of the episode were so obvious;

Claire eventually helping fat man
    Sylar's father turning on him
    Nathan being exposed

I have no doubt Micah will be rebel.

I'm guessing the only reason Nathan couldn't go back in and act like nothing happened is because the security camera had him being pushed out the window? Even so, couldn't he have got rid of the tapes with HRG's help. I mean Danko was fired...

Good parts of the episode;
    The scenes with Sylar and his father.
    Ma Petrelli meeting Danko.

Needs a poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Doubt it, Danko hates and kinda fears people with powers.Sylar, after the talk with his dad, may actually be about to do something instead of running away when he's found by agents.

I'm hoping that this Danko survives this encounter with Sylar, and sends all agents after him, and all other "heroes" are forgot about, and it becomes the Sylar show.

When Hiro and Ando came back at the end, the episode went down a grade.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

It's just getting more and more idiotic.

Sylar is evil, hes good, hes evil.

Nathan is bad, no hes not that bad, no now hes good again because hes hunted.

Hey lets approach the puppet master and give him a chance to control us...eh I mean give him a chance to surrender.

Hey yet again lets have a hero mistaken for an expected arrival who will never turn up (cook and babysitter).
    Hey lets hand over the baby to complete strangers.

Quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

I have to say, I do think it was the least **** episode in a while... But still pretty damn poor!
    Does Sylar have that power to change his appearance? It'd be pretty cool if he killed Danko and took over the operation or something...
    Remember yer wan in series 1 who had the power of persuasion? That was one cool power! Dunno why I thought of it there..

2/5 episode, after a string of 1/5s.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

doonothing wrote: »
    I have to say, I do think it was the least **** episode in a while... But still pretty damn poor!

Yeah I would agree with that. The best thing for me was the stuff with Sylar and his dad. I was hoping they wouldn't have the father take his power so I thought they handled that bit well. The rest of the show was pretty poor though. Nathan has become so lame, Parkman was his usual annoying self, Claire helping Doyle was head-scratching and the stuff at the end with Hiro and Ando wasn't all that amusing. Basically I felt the Sylar stuff made it somewhat passable.

Another thing that really bugs me - they need to stop Mohinder and his monologues. They f*cked his character up so much and as a result I can no longer stomach hearing him waffle on.

So yeah 2/5 would be my rating too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Ok so 5 mins in i get pissed off because the claire and whats his name scene was disappointing so i decide to make a list of the stuff wrong with the episode

1. how could parkman not use his power- on the plane whenever someone had their drugey ma gog removed they could use power instantly

2. i didn't like the scene with whats his name and Angela, could have been so much more, she wasent angela i know didnt seem like her charactor - should have had less emotion/smiling also small things like the way she sat/ate/drank didnt seem right to me. It just wasent a convincing scene

overall i thought it was a great episode although i didnt like the chaire story even with what his name in it. . Best episode since sylar cut claires head open - speaking of slyer i loved all his scenes although i was expecting the actor to be someone else (an actor i know from another show because i thought i recongised his voice and hib back was to the camera for a while)

Also loved the ending!

4/5

EDIT: read the rest of the replies

Great point its not so much whats was wrong with this episode but the series a hole, still hopefully we will start to see a real change, doubt this season will deal with what you have said but i hope season 4 has exectly what you have outlined above

Eh i diagree with the skins part i dont like the new charactors and have stopped watching because of them T

here is noting wrong with 1/2 the charactors in heroes, 1/2 of the decent ones just arnt written the way they where in season 1. I think there should be some cast rotation though, be nice to not know who will live/die - wouldnt it have been great it Nathan had died at the end of season 1?

All that said your right i wouldnt mind them having a red shirt lottery
    Look, someone posts this little rant every week. Can we just leave it at that? We know what's going on with the show; we all watch it too. Refer to previous rants and clam up

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59270934&postcount=11
    Sorry but i love the rants, get such a good laugh every week some of the stuff people post is priceless
    I liked the episode. Again, Sylar's parts were annoyingly boring.

Huh? What other sylar arts where boring - besides the amusing comments on boards i dont know why else i would watch this show in its current state.
    Where does this rank Noah in the chain of command? Hmm...

i should have thought of that, maybe i havn given this episode a propper thought i mpretty drunk but i did enjoy it, yet your making good points
    Baby Matt. Now there's a storyline! Looking forward to seeing Janice back, see if it'll stir **** up for Parkman.

oh - was she mats ex? from season 1? didnt she have an affair with some cop in the precint? it might not be his
    Next episode doesn't air in the US until 23rd cos there's a one week break for some reason. BUT it will hopefully be worth the wait, being that it's Bryan Fuller's "Cold Snap". Yaaaaaaaay.

i thought that was was weeks ep that he game back?

+ 1 on that he can have his all you can eat thingey although your man really has it in for anyone with a power and didnt seem to like the whole 1 of us one of them idea
    Does Sylar have that power to change his appearance? It'd be pretty cool if he killed Danko and took over the operation or something...
    Remember yer wan in series 1 who had the power of persuasion? That was one cool power! Dunno why I thought of it there..

2/5 episode, after a string of 1/5s.....

that power was that not the first power he took back st the start of season 2?

- Hmmm ill have to give this episode a 2nd viewing tomorrow anyway im off to watch east bound and down and big ban theroy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

User45701 wrote: »
    1. how could parkman not use his power- on the plane whenever someone had their drugey ma gog removed they could use power instantly

Watch last week's episode again!
    When they are in the back of the black van, on the way to the Capitol building, you'll see Danko jab Parkman in the arm with a syringe full of the drug, instead of sticking the yoke up his nose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

that power was that not the first power he took back st the start of season 2?

Possibly, I haven't a clue! *Googles* Yep, you're right..
    So, will Sylar "become" Danko and start production-line-power-stealing? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭el_tiddlero

same old show bashing, same old Claire bashing here.. same every week.. why do most of ye even bother watching/commenting..

I thought Claire and Doyle was an interesting mix. She hates him.. really hates him.. He made her mother shoot her ffs.. So it was a good combo in that he came to her looking for help (at Rebel's insistence..). She then had to decide whether she should help just those people with abilities that she likes/thinks are decent people, or whether to help everyone with an ability. She had to figure out if it was her place to judge who should be saved and who shouldn't. In the end, she decided that no matter who the person being hunted is, she should help them because, despite their moral differences, they are, in genetic terms, on the same team.

That's an important point. The notion of good v bad in terms of people with abilities is going to get tossed out the window. I know Sylar fans aren't going to like it, and those who accuse the show of "flip-flopping" characters either, but it is necessary that all those with abilities learn that they must survive this threat from the government and Danko first, and sort out their own moral differences later - that's what this episode gave us, a platform for them all to work together...

The reason Nathan didn't go back in and pretend nothing happened was that he knew his own exposure threatened Claire's safety.. He's not my favourite character by a long stretch, but the fact that he changes sides so often is more a result of the many conflicts that he's facing internally - i would have thought anyway. Tbh, if everyone was just on one side all the way through, then the show would be far, far worse than most of you seem to think it is anyhow..

Possibly, I haven't a clue! *Googles* Yep, you're right..
    So, will Sylar "become" Danko and start production-line-power-stealing? :)

Nope. Sylar kills Candice at the start of Vol. 2 but is unable to steal her power as his powers are not working due to being affected by the Shanti Virus. He doesn't regain his powers until Vol.2 Ch.11 "Powerless" and the only powers he regains are Intuitive Aptitude and Telekinesis. He can't disguise himself as anyone else.

oh - was she mats ex? from season 1? didnt she have an affair with some cop in the precint? it might not be his

Season One implies that it's defo his baby (even in FYG you know that it's his). Then in Season Two, he says that it wasn't his. Now we're finding out (just as in FYG), the kid's name is Matt Parkman Jr.... I'm no detective but I hired one to figure this whole mystery out for me and he reckons the kid is 70% likely to be Parkman's.

Thank god I hired this guy:

al8sk.jpg

Nope. Sylar kills Candice at the start of Vol. 2 but is unable to steal her power as his powers are not working due to being affected by the Shanti Virus. He doesn't regain his powers until Vol.2 Ch.11 "Powerless" and the only powers he regains are Intuitive Aptitude and Telekinesis. He can't disguise himself as anyone else.

But sylar just needs to understand how an abality works to mimic it, if he committed the inner "workings" of her brain to memory and all teh brains from before he got infected he should have all the powers he had before and maybe hers as well.

Kinda makes sense, sure. But fairly implausible as well (as opposed to the rest of the show? whatev...). Also, the writers confirmed in an interview back then that the only powers he retained after getting the cure were IA and Telekinesis. I thought he shoulda gotten everything back if he was getting TK but I guess they wanted to reset his powers... Hmm.....

hmm thsi show does a ****e job at explaing itself i mean there was NOTHING in this show that said he only got TK back , it does not even make any sense about how he can just get a single power back.

Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

I liked this episode, Sylar giving his father back hope and a thirst for life only to snatch it away at the last second was a nice touch. Not having Peter for the whole episode just made it even better.

Now that Nathan’s (Adrian Pasdar) ability has been revealed and he has lost control of his operation, he and Claire (Hayden Panettiere) go into hiding in Mexico. With Emile Danko (guest star Zeljko Ivanek) now in control of the government operation, his plan to destroy everyone with abilities is set into motion as he teams up with an unlikely partner. Meanwhile, Angela (Cristine Rose) and Peter (Milo Ventimiglia) seek refuge in a church and begin to mend their broken relationship. Kevin Alejandro also guest stars. Jack Coleman also stars.

Looks like its gonna get messy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Niall0

The best thing about this episode was the use of fleetwood macs the chain in sylars flashback, that was awesome.
    No mohinder also was a nice change, really annoying character.
    Sylars dad was really cool, that whole scene was really cool, with sylar walking out on daddy when he needed him. Liked the actor, suited the character well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

That was not this episode but it was great in the episode with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 woznoz

what i want to know if why do you see sylar at the end of this episode in danco's apartment. He leaves the stuffed rabbit he had made with his dad there on that table, then you see him hiding around the corner. Then episode 20 it mentions nothing about it. I was hoping sylar was going to kill danco or talk to him or something, but you dont see anything at all. So i say that they have secretly teamed up or sumthing, but then why would sylar team up with someone that has been hunting him, unless he plans to gains more powers.

This one has me stumped. Anyone else???? ideas??

Watch the next episode to find out? It's on tomorrow....