Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[poll] Northern Ireland Policy

• 09-03-2009 6:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭

I think it would be interesting to see peoples opinion on what NI's policy should be. Im using the same options as a NI Life and Times survey which was carried out in 2007.

This is just an opinion poll for the time that's in it and should not be considered serious in any way.

so

Do you think the long-term policy for Northern Ireland should be for it…

Do you think the long-term policy for Northern Ireland should be for it… 79 votes

to remain part of the United Kingdom with direct rule
    0% 0 votes
    to remain part of the United Kingdom with devolved government
    6% 5 votes
    or, to reunify with the rest of Ireland?
    26% 21 votes
    Independent state
    36% 29 votes
    Other answer
    22% 18 votes
    Don't know
    7% 6 votes

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I think it would be interesting to see peoples opinion on what NI's policy should be. Im using the same options as a NI Life and Times survey which was carried out in 2007.

This is just an opinion poll for the time that's in it and should not be considered serious in any way.

so

To Fuck off and die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Independent state.

My own belief is it should be part of the Republic but I think, with the way things are, everyone would be better off up there if they could sort things out on their own. No input from us or the UK.

Set it adrift like in the South Park episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

As long as my taxes don't have to rise to pay for it, I don't really care what happens it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

It's a cluster**** of unimaginable proportions, it can stay as the UK's problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Whatever they themselves wants to do I'll support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

We don't have the cash at the moment to run it, best the Brits hold on to it for another 20 years or so and in the meantime we can avail of cheap booze and groceries there to get us through these hard times :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

as much as id love to see ireland united it probably would just be too much hassle.i think if its peaceful, which up until the 2 soldiers being shot it generally was, then we should just leave it be.99% of people have moved on and i think in the north most people are content the way it is.im sure the nationalists would like it to be united but i dont think theyd want the hassle that would go with that coming about.

that being said, id say eventually someday it will be united.down through history countries always have been reunified.who knows, hopefully in my lifetime anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

Ultimately unification is best for Northern Ireland and the Republic. Putting aside historical reasons, we have two states currently on quite a small island. It makes social and economic sense to return to being one country. Partition has been an utter disaster.
    I am by no means ignoring the concerns of unionists, but going forward unification would be to everyone's benefit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Wouldn't it be grand if we all just got along? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Can't we all just get along?

I reckon they should just be made their own independant country but then that poses it's own problems ... do they have the resources to actually survive alone? What do the people up there want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Random wrote: »
    Can't we all just get along?

I reckon they should just be made their own independant country but then that poses it's own problems ... do they have the resources to actually survive alone? What do the people up there want?

I probably should have linked to the results of that poll. I Hope it doesn't influence your votes :pac:

http://www.ark.ac.uk/nilt/2007/Political_Attitudes/NIRELND2.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Elections of the people up there should influence what way its governed.

Not some silly poll which has a sample of 1179 people compared to an electorate of 1,142,547!!

What about co ownership? Pick your passport.
    Im sure it could work with some smart thinking.
    An exchange programme with Gardai and British police into the NI Police
    so that the police is made up of people from all over. (could even include the Auzzies and yank police. We should do this anyway. Get the best ideas from around the world.)

Then have no "British Army" up North replace it with a defence force. Again exchange soldiers from the UK and Ireland.

You totally isolate the terrorists on both sides doing this. The Loyalists see that people from the south are ok and the die hard dissidents have even less backing fighting an army/police force made up of Irish north and south.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I dont really care who governs it on a local, we're all part of a bigger Europe now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

If 60%+ ever vote yes in a reunification referendum then i'd be happy to go with it. Otherwise devolved government seems the best way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭NADA

800 ****in years , that right 800 years of those Brits...................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

They should stay part of the UK, with power to govern themselves. We cant afford to take them as part of the republic sadly. We wouldnt be able to pay for their healthcare, security and other things i am sure i can think of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

NADA wrote: »

It's been 800 years for 100 years now. Surely up to 900 years now! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

To Fuck off and die

Do you mean you'd like to see an end to the partition so that the entity Northern Ireland would cease to exist?

Or are you wishing death on the best part of 2 million people?

A united Ireland, LOL.

You need the people of Northern Ireland to be united first! It's one of the most divided communities on the planet that doesn't have a frontier* through it!

*unless you consider the "peace walls", frontiers.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

javaboy wrote: »
    Do you mean you'd like to see an end to the partition so that the entity Northern Ireland would cease to exist?

Either options good tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

javaboy wrote: »

i think he might have meant for them to dig a large trench along the border, attach a couple of tug boats to the 6 counties and drag it off into the north atlantic, so we can forget about it. I'm sick of listening to it, it and the recession... I wish they would both go away for good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I wouldn't bat an eyelid if it were carpet bombed into oblivion.

NI is just one massive burden, the Brits are currently carrying it and I never, ever want to see the Republic have to.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

dsmythy wrote: »
    It's been 800 years for 100 years now. Surely up to 900 years now! :pac:
    At the signal it will be 839 years 52 days and 12 hours

<beeep>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Stick it on ebay, the Chinese might buy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭Craft25

globalisation for the win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

At the signal it will be 839 years 52 days and 12 hours

<beeep>

FF managed the same opression in 10 years. :P

It's a cluster**** of unimaginable proportions, it can stay as the UK's problem.

lmao, that it is. No wonder, when there's such a huge difference of opinion in such a small place. The poll result here mirrors that. I wonder if there'll ever be real peace in NI given that fact. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

j1smithy wrote: »
    i think he might have meant for them to dig a large trench along the border, attach a couple of tug boats to the 6 counties and drag it off into the north atlantic, so we can forget about it. I'm sick of listening to it, it and the recession... I wish they would both go away for good.

And suddenly there is a reason to go to Monaghan - the beach!

Couldn't we keep Tyrone and Fermanagh though? I think most people there would be happy enough not to join the other 4 in the Arctic Circle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Federal setup ftw, although I'm not opposed to unification per-se - just to the economic and security headache. The absorption of all those Celtic and Rangers knobs with their human-reets whining would be a no-no, as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

biko wrote: »
    Whatever they themselves wants to do I'll support.

Tend to go with democracy myself too. Many Nationalists don't even want an United Ireland.

Anyway, them fupping Northerners, coming here, claiming our dole and fecking of back home. Their kids don't even live here, hell, they don't even live here.

Plus, they are eating our swans.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Atari Jaguar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

NADA wrote: »

Yeah, if only they stayed another 50 years, all our rail links and motorways would have been built.:D

K-9 wrote: »

Plus, they are eating our swans.

lolwut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Where's the option for "I couldn't care less" as most of the Irish people think..
    think most of us are far more worried about our jobs/homes etc than the north.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Actually I quite like the independent state idea

We'd have our own mini version of North Korea. It would become isolated, eventually paramilitaries would take over and run the place. so it would be a nice little hangout isolated from the EU and all that bull**** but under military rule with a 0 tolerance policy. twould be a great place for criminals to live and do business as long as they don't stir up any **** over there they'd be left alone.

every now and then they'd leave in a few companies from the republic and provide em with cheap labour which will keep us going through the recession. also it would bring in tourists who would go to ireland and then go to the north for a day or 2 to see a vastly different state, not just a smaller and more backward clone of england like this place is. but they wouldn't be able to hack it in the north for that long so they'd only go for 1 or 2 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

yet another shooting tonight....

lets hope these nutters don't wreck the peace process:(