Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Khan V Barrera

• 09-03-2009 6:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Just wondering does anybody know what time the actual fight is scheduled to start at on Saturday?

So are people going to fork out on this one?

I think I will purely because MAB is one of my favourite boxers of all time but I hate spending that sort of money to see a Khan fight:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

I will, its a competitive fight in my opinion-even though i feel mab is going to destroy khan!

not sure what time but i'd guess at about 10!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

PPV on Sky begins at 2100hrs.

I would imagine that Khan would be in the ring
    at about 2200 or 2230hrs

Hey, you might not like Khan; but he is definitely
    an exciting fighter. He is entertainment and now with
    his confirmed glass chin, it's a case of will he or won't he.

Paul, he has to destroy Khan or be destroyed.
    He is not winning this over the distance; not fast enough, busy enough or big enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I think khan could hammer him. He's lightweight but will almost certainly end up as a welter. MAB looks much smaller and i think he's very nearly past it. Khan training with pacman for the build up to the oscar fight was pretty interesting, If freddie roach didn't think he could beat MAB i doubt they would ever have made the fight in the first place. Sure, he has a glass jaw but he has youth, speed and power too. Maybe some tough sparring hardened him up a bit.

Everyone was raving about Kiko last year and a few people said dunne had a glass chin, but dunne has come through a few wars since and Kiko looked pretty dire against munroe twice. I'd back Khan. Mind you i could be very very wrong, even a spent MAB is still a tough little fkr, but i dont think he brought his power up the weights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Sugerraysarah

I hate to admit it , but I have to go with Khan 0n this one ,as much as I dont rate him or even like him , I think he will out box his way to a points decision or he may even win by TKO

Khan will be so powered up for this fight that I think he will explode all over barrea , I think the fact thats its pretty much Khan last chance will make him fight like a lion

Marco has no other choice but to try and knock him out ASAP

Khan is simply too big and fast for him , so I cant see Marco out boxing him

my heart says marco , but my head says Khan , ,

Cant wait for this fight , will have to get some decent wine in and physically drag a few of the girls around to the house to watch this one

ooooo saturday I have no idea what to wear for post fight drinks in town doh !!!!!

PS Khan does that have suspect chin , so Marco just simply will have to knock him out early ,
    cheers sarah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,374 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Barrera might be in decline but he's tough and can take punch. I think Barrera will be behind on points but is still good enough to cause Khan problems and eventually his shots will put Khan in serious trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭akindoc

Anybody picking Khan is basically saying that barrera is not going to land ONE clean flush punch to Khans head. Because if Barrera lands ONE, he is probably the best finisher in boxing once he has his man really hurt.

He has a great chin, and its not too long ago that he had, in my opinion, the best pound for pound fighter JMM on the deck (although he clearly lost that fight).

Barrera will dismantle Khan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

I think MAB will have to take some punishment himself. He is not fast enough to keep up with kahn ro keep him at bay all the time, and I think its been overlooked that kahn doesnt let guys off the hook either. Kahn is a big lightweight, MAB was never the biggest superfeather and hasnt fought a meaningul fight at the weight yet.

akindoc wrote: »
    Anybody picking Khan is basically saying that barrera is not going to land ONE clean flush punch to Khans head. Because if Barrera lands ONE, he is probably the best finisher in boxing once he has his man really hurt.

He has a great chin, and its not too long ago that he had, in my opinion, the best pound for pound fighter JMM on the deck (although he clearly lost that fight).

Barrera will dismantle Khan.
    Hey, I think Marco will land clean and flush; but I don't think he does
    the trick. Look, Khan's chin is defo' suspect, but he has risen
    from the canvas to beat all. Bredis is a very heavy
    handed guy who landed dynamite on Khan, and Bredis
    was also a 'bigger' man and naturally bigger and harder hitting
    than Barerra.

If Barrera was natural lightweight or above, then YES, I feel he
    could do the trick; but the fact that he is past peak, smaller and not
    as fast will not see him do the trick. Just my take!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭akindoc

walshb wrote: »
    Hey, I think Marco will land clean and flush; but I don't think he does
    the trick. Look, Khan's chin is defo' suspect, but he has risen
    from the canvas to beat all. Bredis is a very heavy
    handed guy who landed dynamite on Khan, and Bredis
    was also a 'bigger' man and naturally bigger and harder hitting
    than Barerra.

If Barrera was natural lightweight or above, then YES, I feel he
    could do the trick; but the fact that he is past peak, smaller and not
    as fast will not see him do the trick. Just my take!

I watched Barreras last few fights and he looks pretty good.

Don't forget that Khan was put down by Limmond (all over the shop) and hurt by a JAB from prescott. his chin is absolutely terrible and if Barerra touches it, Khans gonna go in my opinion. Barerra won't just by throwing one punch either and the power punches he does throw he throws with maximum power.

Khan is in trouble here because Barrera looks VERY good to me in his past few fights and is more skilled, can TAKE punishment better and has a very good defense. He's not just going to sit on the outside getting jabbed and outboxed all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

I hate to admit it , but I have to go with Khan 0n this one ,as much as I dont rate him or even like him , I think he will out box his way to a points decision or he may even win by TKO

Khan will be so powered up for this fight that I think he will explode all over barrea , I think the fact thats its pretty much Khan last chance will make him fight like a lion

Marco has no other choice but to try and knock him out ASAP

Khan is simply too big and fast for him , so I cant see Marco out boxing him

my heart says marco , but my head says Khan , ,

Cant wait for this fight , will have to get some decent wine in and physically drag a few of the girls around to the house to watch this one

ooooo saturday I have no idea what to wear for post fight drinks in town doh !!!!!

PS Khan does that have suspect chin , so Marco just simply will have to knock him out early ,
    cheers sarah

Doesn't matter. barrera is as tough as f ucking nails so it won't matter how pumped up Khan is, he won't rock. He is naturally bigger but I think the old dog will have too many tricks for him. Looking forward to it though. Hopefully it's shown in North America.

akindoc wrote: »
    I watched Barreras last few fights and he looks pretty good.

Don't forget that Khan was put down by Limmond (all over the shop) and hurt by a JAB from prescott. his chin is absolutely terrible and if Barerra touches it, Khans gonna go in my opinion. Barerra won't just by throwing one punch either and the power punches he does throw he throws with maximum power.

Khan is in trouble here because Barrera looks VERY good to me in his past few fights and is more skilled, can TAKE punishment better and has a very good defense. He's not just going to sit on the outside getting jabbed and outboxed all night.

akin, don't get me wrong; I will be on the edge of
    my seat watching this and Kahn getting wiped
    will not in any way be a shock. I just hope and believe
    he can weather any MAB storm and come back to take
    the smaller man out. I do hope Kahn wins. MAB has
    had his time and Khan is a very very exciting
    fighter and the sport needs an exciting and aggressive man.

Damn shame abou the chin; but, maybe, I say maybe, maturity and
    experience and years will help this cause

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭polishpaddy

Khan will win this with his jab and footwork simple as that.
    Khan wins on points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

I'll be at the weigh in tomorrow morning - I'll try and get some footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

I'll be at the weigh in tomorrow morning - I'll try and get some footage.

You lucky git............would love to see barrera in person............am goin mad i never sorted out a ticket for this fight :o

MBC wrote: »
    You lucky git............would love to see barrera in person............am goin mad i never sorted out a ticket for this fight :o

i'm not going to the fight - I might not even get the PPV - thats a first. Just sick of Khant and his shiite talk.

But yeah I'm lookin forward to seeing MAB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

I think MAB at 5/2 to K/O Khan is a great bet.

I give you MARCO ANTONIO BARRERA!!!!! Viva Mexico!!!!

3351040593_6b8f18d833.jpg?v=0
    3351866680_653864f774.jpg?v=0
    3351867056_0bc3acf5f3.jpg?v=0
    3351867562_577bd8028b.jpg?v=0
    3351042865_17b4e8c4f1.jpg?v=0
    3351869104_55f1dbd8da.jpg?v=0
    3351869480_ccb961dbd8.jpg?v=0

Cool pics. id love to be going to that fight. Mainly for a chance to see MAB really as Im sure he wont be over this side of the world in action too often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Great pic's!
    i'd also love to have seen the man in person-what a legend, i hate to see legends losing so hope he mills khan!

plus khan will never last at high level due to his poor chin, he'll threathen but wont hang with the big boys over any period of time..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

Nice pics. MAB was on the button and Khan was 1/2 lb under.
    The pics from BBC show an extremely lean and ripped Khan.
    Almost too ripped and lean.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/boxing/default.stm

This bout is such a make or break fight for Amir. He really has to win.
    I don't see much else on the world scene if he cannot
    beat a blown up feather who is clearly past his best.

MAB is still a threat and can win, it's just, if he does, then Khan
    should call it a day. I hope Khan wins and wins in rd 8. Make
    some bloody money.

MAB looks like a blown up feather too. No real definition or tone and he
    must be three inches shorter. I would say Khan will be close
    to 147lbs come fight night when he rehydrtaes.

It's a fight I am soooo looking forward to. I love MAB, but he has
    had his day and I want to see if Khan can make it to the top, sussy
    chin and all!

For the sake of boxing, a Khan win is needed

Nice pics. MAB was on the button and Khan was 1/2 lb under.
    The pics from BBC show an extremely lean and ripped Khan.
    Almost too ripped and lean.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/boxing/default.stm

This bout is such a make or break fight for Amir. He really has to win.
    I don't see much else on the world scene if he cannot
    beat a blown up feather who is clearly past his best.

MAB is still a threat and can win, it's just, if he does, then Khan
    should call it a day. I hope Khan wins and wins in rd 8. Make
    some bloody money.

MAB looks like a blown up feather too. No real definition or tone and he
    must be three inches shorter. I would say Khan will be close
    to 147lbs come fight night when he rehydrtaes.

It's a fight I am soooo looking forward to. I love MAB, but he has
    had his day and I want to see if Khan can make it to the top, sussy
    chin and all!

For the sake of boxing, a Barrera win is needed

fixed that for ya! x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭spongeman

No point in sitting on the fence.........

I was very surprised when I heard this match being made. Ok MAB is 35 but he is way too experienced for Amir. How could one fight with Fagan prepare him for this??

I would advise a look at the odds on the early rounds for Bsrrera. Rounds 1-3 are 12/1 with PP.

Yeah Khan is big and strong and tall, but so is Audley Harrison.

Marco has a few good years in him yet. If Khan had been put in with another no-hoper Sky couldnt have gone box office. They have squeezed one last payday out of him.

I d'ont think I will be eating my hat.

spongeman wrote: »
    No point in sitting on the fence.........

I was very surprised when I heard this match being made. Ok MAB is 35 but he is way too experienced for Amir. How could one fight with Fagan prepare him for this??

I would advise a look at the odds on the early rounds for Bsrrera. Rounds 1-3 are 12/1 with PP.

Yeah Khan is big and strong and tall, but so is Audley Harrison.

Marco has a few good years in him yet. If Khan had been put in with another no-hoper Sky couldnt have gone box office. They have squeezed one last payday out of him.

I d'ont think I will be eating my hat.

I have no problem with anyone picking MAB, as he can pull this off. I don't think he will, however, I have a sneaky suspicion if MAB fails, all those who picked him will make the excuse that MAB was past his best. In other words, they will use the same reason why I and others are saying Khan wins:)

BTW, the Harrisson-Khan comparison is well off. Audley is a bag of **** at heavy. Khan has a hell of alot going for him. His chin is the only real weakness. He has all te tools and size and power to do well

What I don't want to hear should Khan win, and win well, is that in his heyday MAB would have beaten Khan.

How that is a given I don't know, as MAB at
    his best was a 122-126 lb fighter and Khan is still a few years
    before his peak and he's a lightweight who I believe will move to
    140 lbs very soon, should he progress

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭Geiger

I'm no Khan fan, though I have a feeling he can win this one. Although not always particularly effective, his speed and swarms of punches are eye catching and add up the points. I hope I'm wrong but this could be the night where Barrera is made to look old.

I would agree that if Khan won (which has no chance at all of happening) people could say MAB is over the hill.

Its like a lamb to the slaughter. Bookies here I come!

I have no problem with anyone picking MAB, as he can pull this off. I don't think he will, however, I have a sneaky suspicion if MAB fails, all those who picked him will make the excuse that MAB was past his best. In other words, they will use the same reason why I and others are saying Khan wins:)

BTW, the Harrisson-Khan comparison is well off. Audley is a bag of **** at heavy. Khan has a hell of alot going for him. His chin is the only real weakness. He has all te tools and size and power to do well

spongeman wrote: »
    I would agree that if Khan won (which has no chance at all of happening) people could say MAB is over the hill.

Its like a lamb to the slaughter. Bookies here I come!

Wow, you really are confident, ahell of a lot more confident in MAB winning
    than I am in Khan winning.

I hope you'll be posting after the bout to either gloat or to beg forgiveness:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Batesy

I think he's already put a big bet on Barrera and is on here trying to convince himself it's a dead cert. :D

For the record I'm going for a Barrera win within the 1st half of the fight. Gonna have a few quid on it too. I think it's a real 50/50 bout.

Can't wait to watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

I hope Barrera repeats his demolition job that he carried out on that annoying little git, Prince Naseem, and puts Khan on his bum quickly.....?

Barrera inside 3 rounds, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Doubs

I reckon Barrera will destroy him, I'll be suprised if it goes beyond 4 rounds.

I will come back and beg forgiveness.........No problem there.

Yes I have a few quid on MAB - but if I thought it was 50/50 I wouldnt do it.

What do ye think of Dunnes chances next week?

I would be nervous about putting cash on him.

Is it those knockouts that both he and Khan suffered got me thinking in a certain way?

Dunne will be KO'd next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

No need to fork out any money for pay-per-view boxing, just get yourself a "dodgy box" and you'll get them all for free.

I agree, don't like to say thou Dunne will get knocked out next week.

GiftofGab wrote: »
    No need to fork out any money for pay-per-view boxing, just get yourself a "dodgy box" and you'll get them all for free.

I agree, don't like to say thou Dunne will get knocked out next week.

Don't get me wrong, I would like to see Dunne do well but I just feel he will never be a World class boxer for much the same reasons as Khan.

They're both talented fighters and have a lot of the attributes to be admired but if you can't take a punch you'll be found out eventually.

The not so dapper Don

3351048551_ef46e66d78.jpg?v=0

Enzo in awesome shape

3351872468_5197629335.jpg?v=0

what a Khan't

3351867984_0f27c22733.jpg?v=0

Cookie monster

3351039825_9324966d78.jpg?v=0

decent crowd

3351035421_a2c23042fc.jpg?v=0

Smigga

3351048981_8e7b38e1d5.jpg?v=0

Matthew Hall v Bradley Pryce

3351873574_719189db49.jpg?v=0

Khan

3351042485_0cb39f9050.jpg?v=0

Nicky Cook

3351039071_3647a2850b.jpg?v=0

Roman Martinez

3351863882_e4e304b869.jpg?v=0

i've uploaded the videos of the weigh in

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O5SzG0FfiIQ&feature=channel_page

Big mac looked in good shape alright. Hopefully he can take his man out. Although I think he is somewhat of a dark horse. He has a few decent wins, his ony loss was early in his career against a fighter who turned out to be very decent. He was inactive from late 2005- early 2008, 13 of his 17 fights have been 4 and 6 rounders, so his 30% knockout record may not be the best indication of his KO power especially in this fight.

However, Enzo looks in top form and will look for another demolition job! He said he has sparred with the best, and against all kinds but I bet no-one will havwe tried to take his head off like Enzo will!!!

Was that you "woohooing" MABs entrance?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 murpheile

lads apologies if I'm going off topic a little, but I promised a mate I'd meet him for a drink tonight in Dublin and don't want to miss the Kahn fight, anyone know a good pub for the boxing where you'd be able to watch it? I'm thinking maybe O'Neills on suffolk street I remember watching a Mccloskey fight Tontchev and Duddy-Eastman in there before and it was quite good lots of accessible TVs with it on, if anyone knows any other good spot it would greatly appreciated. Thanks.

BTW I see Paddy Power have reduced MAB to win by KO or TKO from 5/2 to 2/1, sickened I was telling everyone that was the bet they should be doing and only put it on myself this morning so got the shorter odds.

Was that you "woohooing" MABs entrance?:D

:o

murpheile wrote: »
    lads apologies if I'm going off topic a little, but I promised a mate I'd meet him for a drink tonight in Dublin and don't want to miss the Kahn fight, anyone know a good pub for the boxing where you'd be able to watch it? I'm thinking maybe O'Neills on suffolk street I remember watching a Mccloskey fight Tontchev and Duddy-Eastman in there before and it was quite good lots of accessible TVs with it on, if anyone knows any other good spot it would greatly appreciated. Thanks.

BTW I see Paddy Power have reduced MAB to win by KO or TKO from 5/2 to 2/1, sickened I was telling everyone that was the bet they should be doing and only put it on myself this morning so got the shorter odds.

I put a tenner on MAB and 30 on Cook to win. Not because I have a strong feeling either way but because I think they are even fights and that the odds were decent.