Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public showers

• 08-03-2009 6:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I'm a 25yo male and I've never been to a gym in my life. I had massive problems with self image and I've more or less okay now but I want to lose some weight to help my nonexistant lovelife. Thing is. I hate the idea of public showers. Theres a good local gym but there isn't another for a long distance and I'm not at all well endowed along with other 'problems' and I know or was in school with a lot of the gym goers so Id be very self conscious. Are there usually cubicals too or will they all be open? I cant be the only one with this problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Most gyms have cubicle showers, either way though-people wont want to look at your pee wee and if they do you hardly think they'd go around talking about it do ya?

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Passenger

Nobody is making you shower in public. It's entirely at your discretion whether you shower in front of other blokes.

Generally the showering facilities differ from gym to gym. With most though you'll be afforded your own private space to shower (Cublical, Curtains, etc.). Best to check with the gym in question if they provide your desired showering facilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

depends on the gym. Im a member of two, one has a wide open communel shower where everyone sees everything and the other has individual cubicles. The newer gyms tend to have cubicles to shower. Im not too well endowed myself but sure f*ck it, its a grower not a shower and does the same job as everyone elses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

nobody is checking you out in a gym shower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

nobody will be bothered really but if your worried shower with shorts on

My serious apologies folks if my comment was a bit harsh. I have removed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭Teddi

Dont worry mate..

on the whole, men couldnt give a flying **** about how you look....

If it makes it any easier for you...go into the showers wearing swimming shorts...and wash in amongst it....sorted.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

If the gym is nearby you could always just jump in the car/walk home and shower at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

As a previous poster said: you don't have to shower in public, wait 'til you go home. Of course if you're going back to work or anywhere after then you'll have to.
    I choose not to as I find them very uncomfortable as far as after the shower it tends to be roasting in those changing rooms (my gym anyway) and you sweat when you're getting changed, what's the point?!

Besides, nobody will be really looking at you and even if they do they're not going to comment on it and don't generally care. And I can tell you I'm sure there'll be worse off than yourself! Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

OP, head along to the gym and ask for a tour. The staff will be delighted to show you everything there and answer questions, they're trying to get a sale after all.
    So you'll see if it's cubicles or not.

Tbh, grab a pair of runners, a weight set for under 150 euro in Argos and you can shower in your own home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭dny123456

The Carlisle has cubicles for showers in the mens. As does Jackie Skelly's in Park west and also city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Word about Gyms, have a buddy. Better if they are a fit buddy who wont quit on you but two outta shape buddies can spot for eachother and encourage eachother and thats very important. I only went to the Gym regularly for about 4 months as part of a school optional a few years back and it was so much more motivating to have one of my friends there to be a positive reinforcement.

Then my dad complained about the driving distance at 9am on a friday so I took up pitch and putt :(

Seriously OP, you might be hung like Shergar, you might be hung like mighty mouse, but what difference does it make?? The only person it matters to is you.

It may look small to you, but bear in mind the angle you look at it and the amount of penis' you have seen in the the flesh, which if your like me it isnt many!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I'm a 25yo male and I've never been to a gym in my life. I had massive problems with self image and I've more or less okay now but I want to lose some weight to help my nonexistant lovelife. Thing is. I hate the idea of public showers. Theres a good local gym but there isn't another for a long distance and I'm not at all well endowed along with other 'problems' and I know or was in school with a lot of the gym goers so Id be very self conscious. Are there usually cubicals too or will they all be open? I cant be the only one with this problem?

OP, I'm like yourself, I'm a member of a gym and to be honest, I'm not shy or introvert, I'm the life and soul of the party! But I am modest at the same time. I can't get my head around how come the gym that I go to, all the men in it, especially the auld boys that go to the gym, seem to be unable to go into the sauna or the steam room without their langers hanging out all over the place.

This personally makes me feel a bit uncomfortable. The gym I go to, the showers are like cubicles with sandblasted glass shower doors, they are not communal, and you have privacy when you are having a shower and I'm happy with that. I'm the same as yourself, I'm not into wandering around a changing room naked, that's not a fault on my part, it's just not me and a lot of the alpha male crap you see going on in gyms, that causes lads to saunter around a changing room, sauna and steam room completely naked with their langers hanging out all over the place, is just people trying to conform with a perceived norm. Be your own person and find a gym that suits you, not the other way around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Annie Bananie

As many other said, just walk/drive home and have a shower :)

I always walk home and have a shower at home. Not because Im shy in any way or have any trouble with public showers, just because its nicer to be home and I dont have to bring 2 sets of clothes with me. Also it lets me finish the "after sweat" and to unwind.

Pick a gym you like with good friendly atmosphere :) Have a look at the showers and if they are closed in like cubicals, then go ahead and shower and if not, just go home. And even if they are closed in, get used to the idea using them before you do. Dont put any pressure on yourself, going to the gym itself is a good ashievment!

Good luck! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭fasty

No one will be looking at you.

You see all sorts in the gym from the super fit to the really quite obese. I don't think "wow, what a fatso" when I see someone in the gym, I just think "fair play" and no one is fussed about the shower situation. Plus most have cubicles, so you could treat it like getting changed on the beach if you're concerned.

Also, nice one for deciding to get yourself in shape. Being fitter makes you look better but also feel waaaaaay better which will help when it comes to meeting and getting to know people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

just as a matter of interest why do you want to go to the gym?

The reason I ask is that as such if you are only starting off chances are you could make a good dent into feeling better about yourself without ever going to a gym, especially if you have hang up about going to one as it will mean you are giving all you can when you are on the gym floor.

Also and to be truthful the problems your body image are probably more down to dietary problems and looking at changing this will probably give you quicker results and better long term results as compared to hitting the gym.

Rather then hitting the gym there are plenty of other things you could due to initially bust up your fitness levels with the easiest of these being to start walking, i.e. on your lunch brake go for a 45 minute walk starting at a pace you are comfortable with and then building up, you could also try cycling, dancing or anything else that tickles your fancy.

But as I said earlier diet is going to be where the real pounds are lost so investing time in understanding how a good diet works and how you can incorporate that into a diet you will be able to stick to would be a much bigger priority if I was you. However what ever you decide start making small changes now

(that said buying a weight set for home would also be an idea to help try and build up your lean body mass thus making losing weight that bit easier but hey that just my opinion)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

MooseJam wrote: »
    nobody is checking you out in a gym shower

Not true! My gym (Jackie Skelly) has a very large number of gay guys working out there, and they most definitely check me out in the changing rooms! Can be a bit weird sometimes.

OP: Just shower at home.

I have to agree with "Joe Santa" and advise you to begin walking. Devise a plan like the walk at lunch hour or possibly just walking for an hour to purchase a newspaper after work. I joined a Gymn a few years ago because I was overweight (18 stone) and after 3 months had lost the motivation to go there. There was always an excuse to skip it.
    Then I changed my diet, give up sugar drinks and replace them with water, give up the spuds and eat brown rice, brown bread should be taken instead of white. Then I walked, evenings where I wanted to rent a DVD I walked a mile and back to the DVD store. Walked for half an hour at lunch times, and then I began to enjoy the walks and left the car behind more and more. It took about 9 months but I dropped from 18 stone to 13 stone. The only downside is the cost of replacing your oversized clothes.
    Keep your money in your pocket and try it yourself without a gymn. Be warned, you'll see no difference in weight for the first two or three months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭mbren

Just shower at home after you work out...

Do a lot of people go home to shower? I was thinking that the gym before work makes better sense for me. Are there more or less people there at that time?

I already walk 2.5 miles a day (when its not raining) and love it. Ive knocked my old dietary habits in the head and was never big into junk food anyway so i've began to lose weight noticably. Friends are noticing too. My metabolism is my big problem and I know over time I'll have to do more to stay ahead of it. When I was last on a health buzz, I lost loads of weight running every day and only stopped when I suffered an ankle ailment (which is still with me and may never fully go away). I'm not prepared to risk another summer washout where I remain overweight due to the weather. I'm planning a sun/ beach hol this year where I want to be trim enough to not have to suck it in every time I see a pretty lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Speaking as a woman here, it's usually more noticeable when someone is trying to hide themselves in the gym changing room. I often see women performing contortionist manouevers under towels rather than just changing and getting it done.

Well done on the weight loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭scorpioishere

AARRRGH wrote: »
    Not true! My gym (Jackie Skelly) has a very large number of gay guys working out there, and they most definitely check me out in the changing rooms! Can be a bit weird sometimes.

OP: Just shower at home.
    Totally agree with you. Lots of gay guys around in the gym and one of my gay friend told me that they actually have a gay website where they can advertise some cruising areas in ireland and some of these cruising areas are in the gym itself where gay and married bisexual men advertise for sex there. So better shower at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 underflowers

dudara wrote: »
    Speaking as a woman here, it's usually more noticeable when someone is trying to hide themselves in the gym changing room. I often see women performing contortionist manouevers under towels rather than just changing and getting it done.

Well done on the weight loss.

May be more noticeable but to be honest I prefer that! I hate seeing people just walking around completely naked at the pool/gym or letting their kids run around like that. It's so unnecessary and a bit disrespectful.

OP in my gym there's a unisex changing area with cublicles to change in and cubicle showers where people just shower in their swimming gear, men and women and it's completely normal. Even if you're not in the pool you can always throw on a pair of shorts and noone will look twice at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭black & white

Darragh29 wrote: »
    OP, I'm like yourself, I'm a member of a gym and to be honest, I'm not shy or introvert, I'm the life and soul of the party! But I am modest at the same time. I can't get my head around how come the gym that I go to, all the men in it, especially the auld boys that go to the gym, seem to be unable to go into the sauna or the steam room without their langers hanging out all over the place.

This personally makes me feel a bit uncomfortable. The gym I go to, the showers are like cubicles with sandblasted glass shower doors, they are not communal, and you have privacy when you are having a shower and I'm happy with that. I'm the same as yourself, I'm not into wandering around a changing room naked, that's not a fault on my part, it's just not me and a lot of the alpha male crap you see going on in gyms, that causes lads to saunter around a changing room, sauna and steam room completely naked with their langers hanging out all over the place, is just people trying to conform with a perceived norm. Be your own person and find a gym that suits you, not the other way around!

You should see one of the guys in the gym where I go. He comes in and spends 5 minutes in the sauna and 5 in the jacuzzi, back to the changing room and has a long shower. He comes out of the shower and spends another 5 minutes walking around drying his sphericals. Finally he stands in front of the mirror and uses the hairdryer ( stark naked ) to dry his hair, under his oxsters and his groin area.

To answer the OP, no one gives a flying one what size your package is and you will probably feel self conscious at first but after a few weeks you will find it easier to strip off. The more weight you lose and the more muscle you build up, the better you will feel about yourself. This will make it even easier to shower in front of others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

You should see one of the guys in the gym where I go. He comes in and spends 5 minutes in the sauna and 5 in the jacuzzi, back to the changing room and has a long shower. He comes out of the shower and spends another 5 minutes walking around drying his sphericals. Finally he stands in front of the mirror and uses the hairdryer ( stark naked ) to dry his hair, under his oxsters and his groin area.

sorry mate, didn't know I was disturbing you. I just like to make sure I'm nice and dry before the CKs go on... :pac:

Seriously though there seems to be a lot of negativity in this thread about nudity in gyms. Once poster going so far as to call it Alpha-male...

I'm no muscle-bound adonis, far from it, and I'm not hung like shergar, and in fact I can be a victim of the old post-swim shrinkage too, but really what's the big deal? We're all essentially the same, and nudity is not a crime, or anything to be ashamed of. As the OP said, it's about body image and the more we all cringe with fear and obsess about being nude, the harder it is to accept ourselves in that state.

I shower naked, then I dry myself and I don't give a sh1t what anyone else thinks. Nor do I care if there might be a gay man looking at me - so what?!

The real issue here is self-esteem and an over active concern for the opinion of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭black & white

I agree with you Milod, went on hols last year and decided to go to a clothing optional beach. Was VERY apprehensive and self conscious at first and thought the whole world was watching me. By the second day I didn't give a fiddlers, even when coming out of the sea ( it was the Atlantic and very, very cold ). I know I am not Shergarlike but it doesn't matter. No one really gives a S*it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭sendic

Fair play for trying to get in better shape, i'm in the same boat myself. No one is looking at you in the showers so don't worry about that. But do buy a cheap pair of rubber flip flops. Its VERY IMPORTANT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

OP no one is going to look at your mickey in the showers and no one is going to talk about you either. If it is a communal shower, just get in there, look everyone in the eye say hi and wash yerself. You aren't there for your weekly scrub after all :cool:

When you get out of the shower just grab your towel, wrap it round yerself and get dressed, no problem. As long as you aren't one of those blokes who stands in the middle of the changing room in the nip for 15 minutes talking to everyone who comes in no one will pay a blind bit of notice to you.

Personally I'd be mortified to get in the shower at the gym in my shorts. Its the man boobs I'm embarrassed by.