Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clubs and Socs Awards 2009

• 07-03-2009 11:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭

So, with the awards in 4 weeks time, who's your money on to win what?

If anyone knows the award titles, let us know so we can decide who deserves what. All i know is that theres a:

Best New Society
    Best Website
    Best Event

What else is there?

I'd bet on Snowboard Soc for Best Event again, with their trip to france.
    Best Website...not so sure. Havent looked at many.
    Best New Society...Airsoft!!! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Katniss everMean

Best soc: drama again maybe.
    Best site: redbrick.
    Best new: paintball
    Best poster:
    Top Five:
    Best Fresher:
    Most improved: that could be hard not sure who would go for it. I know filmsoc is.

Top Five: each soc nominates a person they think is great basically, five places.
    Best Freshers: nominate active fresher that done alot for the soc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

From the attachment in the email:

Best Society
    Most Improved Society
    Best New Society
    Best Society Event
    Best Poster
    Best Website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

Best Society - No idea
    Most improved - MPS
    Best new - Paintball
    Best event - RENT/Drama
    Best website - Redbrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Best Poster for GameSoc! The PRO has some mad skillz. /bias

As for Best Society, wouldn't mind seeing a Society that hasn't won before get it this year. I'd say Drama could be a shoe in since they are consistently great, but would be nice to see them awarding a society who haven't won top prize before for their efforts, if they are deserving of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

robby^5 wrote: »
    Best Poster for GameSoc! The PRO has some mad skillz. /bias

As for Best Society, wouldn't mind seeing a Society that hasn't won before get it this year. I'd say Drama could be a shoe in since they are consistently great, but would be nice to see them awarding a society who haven't won top prize before for their efforts, if they are deserving of course.

Drama have a very good chance of winning as they are a great society but i would also think that the love should be shared this year. There must be another society worthy of holding the title of Best Society.

Oh and GamesSoc for Best Poster. PRO Rocked! \m/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 thebubbleboy

Best Society: Dance Soc
    Most Improved: MPS
    Best New: Japanese Society
    Best Event: Fashion Show/RENT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭public_enemy

Dance Soc are my tip for Best Soc this year. Drama are a perennial favourite for it, but they seem to swap between winning Best Soc and Best Event every year and they certainly are putting a huge amount of effort into RENT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

Model UN for most improved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 boomboom

Best Society - Dance or Drama
    Most improved - MPS
    Best new - Japanese Soc
    Best event - Rent by Drama
    Best website - The College View

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 CitizenGeek

I think the Japanese Soc should definitely win in the "Best New Soc" category. It's very active, well organised and a lot of fun. They also organise support for Japanese language students by introducing them to Japanese exchange students in conversations classes that are run every week. Every week, there are photos in Campus from the various events the society puts on. So, yeah, Japsoc ftw!

Also, does anyone know how to get tickets for this?

Best event?

Either the awards are very predictable or ye can see into the future...Rent only started today...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭irish_boy90

Best Society
    Most Improved Society - strange things (for existing this year:pac:)
    Best New Society
    Best Society Event - redbrick
    Best Poster - gamesoc (posters are always aweosme)
    Best Website

Each club or soc gets one ticket, plus one ticket for any member nominated for first 5 or best fresher award. There are always tons of clubs and socs that don't bother going to the awards, so more tickets can be acquired from them or from the SPC if they're not collected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

What date is this on on?

And the handball club for best club :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cy_Revenant

I think the Japanese Soc should definitely win in the "Best New Soc" category. It's very active, well organised and a lot of fun. They also organise support for Japanese language students by introducing them to Japanese exchange students in conversations classes that are run every week. Every week, there are photos in Campus from the various events the society puts on. So, yeah, Japsoc ftw!

Japanese Society is not new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

Best Society Event - redbrick

Out of curiosity, which event? :) (not that there's a chance of it against RENT or the fashion show, I don't think we even tried to go for best event for anything)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cy_Revenant

Best Society: GamesSoc
    Most Improved Society: Japanese Soc
    Best New Society: Were there any?
    Best Society Event: EirtaKon (AMS)
    Best Poster: ?
    Best Website: ?

Japanese Society is ineligible for best new, as it is not. I don't know about last year, but the year before they took membership and had a table on Clubs and Socs day.

They weren't new then either. Their existence was an obstacle in the formation of AMS. [/Recent-DCU-Society-History]

c
    Airsoft?

Best Society: Redbrick
    Most Improved Society: Filmsoc
    Best New Society: Airsoft?
    Best Society Event:
    Best Poster: GamesSoc
    Best Website: Karting Soc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭MonaghanPenguin

Best Society: Poker
    Most Improved Soc: Dance
    Best Club: Rugby
    Best New Soc: Paintball
    Best Soc Event: Dance Intervarsities
    Best Soc Website: College View

the individuals are very open this year, well as always.

Japanese Soc are definitely most improved imo, I had never even heard of them before this year and now they're everywhere, fair play to them.

Boards' very own Strange Things

Strange Things isn't a new society, it's been around for years. It went dormant for a while and has re-emerged this year thus making it a contender for most improved not best new society.

The only new society I can think of is Airsoft, people have mentioned Paintball but it's not a new soc either, it was setup 4 years ago (i was secretary lol) did one paintball trip and was inactive until now.

Although the SPC might have different criteria to be eligible for best new soc. Being inactive for so long could mean they're considered new again in the eyes of the awards, but they're not really new :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

Technically Art weren't a new soc last year....

my predictions
    Best Society: Poker Soc
    Best Event: Rent
    Most Improved: Dance soc or MPS
    Best Website: College View
    Best Poster: Art Soc(Arts week one)
    Best New Society: Japanese

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

a soc is dead if their is no activity in their bank account in 18 months. Art and paintball both went through new society procedures so they are eligible for the award.

When will the tickets for the awards be available does anyone know?

It's great that more people will be able to go this year, as in previous year's there really has been an "exclusive" feel to the event.

I was quite heavily involved in a few socs last year but wasn't on a committee and I felt quite intimidated asking committee members if there were any spare tickets, especially as we all know that often regular club/soc members can actually be more active in a club/soc than committee members.

Hopefully the fact that loads more people will be going this year will help to undermine the exclusive element of the awards that I have come across. (I can only speak for myself on this one)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 [DCU] Mark

Tickets will be available on Monday, 3 per soc I think and you get 1 per nomination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Korvuss

when are the nominations out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭goodgodholmes

Hey all, just wondering, as it was in the Mahony last year, does anyone know how the afters are gonna work this year? I mean the Theatre doesn't exactly open up a wealth of boogieing opportunities...

Unless your on the stage:p

Im pretty sure they're using upstairs in the Helix as a dancefloor(like they did with the rag ball)

boomboom wrote: »
    When will the tickets for the awards be available does anyone know?

It's great that more people will be able to go this year, as in previous year's there really has been an "exclusive" feel to the event.

I was quite heavily involved in a few socs last year but wasn't on a committee and I felt quite intimidated asking committee members if there were any spare tickets, especially as we all know that often regular club/soc members can actually be more active in a club/soc than committee members.

Hopefully the fact that loads more people will be going this year will help to undermine the exclusive element of the awards that I have come across. (I can only speak for myself on this one)

Most of the people who get tickets are committee members since there are very few tickets available and committee members want to be there if the society is recognised and since these are the people running the society, they would want to be there to accept any awards.

It's a small event (comparatively) so I wouldnt expect there to be many free tickets at all, 3 per society will still probably all go to committee members. I think what you perceive to be exclusivity is simply due to the awards being quite a small event when compared to say The Clubs and Socs ball, there simply arent tickets to go around.

robby^5 wrote: »
    I think what you perceive to be exclusivity is simply due to the awards being quite a small event when compared to say The Clubs and Socs ball, there simply arent tickets to go around.

But what I'm saying is why isn't it a larger event? In most clubs and societies non-committee members can often be a strong force in what makes the club or soc successful. As was reported in the college view, the event should be bigger this year and thus more inclusive. I'm hoping this will happen.

I feel that the "exclusivity" element also comes from the fact that the vast majority of students will not hear anything concrete about tickets until tomorrow morning in the Allsoc email, by which time many of the tickets will be gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Scattery

boomboom wrote: »
    But what I'm saying is why isn't it a larger event? In most clubs and societies non-committee members can often be a strong force in what makes the club or soc successful. As was reported in the college view, the event should be bigger this year and thus more inclusive. I'm hoping this will happen.

It's a good point - why isn't it bigger? Surely if it really is all about clubs and societies, more than three members of each club or society should be given the chance to go. Because as it stands, if you are just a ordinary member without a committee position, you stand no chance of going along no matter how involved you are...

Scattery wrote: »
    It's a good point - why isn't it bigger? Surely if it really is all about clubs and societies, more than three members of each club or society should be given the chance to go. Because as it stands, if you are just a ordinary member without a committee position, you stand no chance of going along no matter how involved you are...

Our two individual nominee's aren't on the committee. There'll be one committee member going out of three (I think/hope)

Cliste wrote: »
    Our two individual nominee's aren't on the committee. There'll be one committee member going out of three (I think/hope)

Well that's something good to hear - I know with the society I'm involved with, because of how big we are - it can only really be society members. Maybe for the awards bigger societies should get more tickets. It seems a tad unfair, one would think, that Labour and Drama both get only three tickets...

Labour

We have a Labour society? I've never heard of them doing anything...

It comes down to how the club is run - if there's a bunch of selfish gombeens in power (As with most of the clubs) then nobody'll see those tickets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Slurmsy

We have a Labour society? I've never heard of them doing anything...

There's like five of them.

Slurmsy wrote: »
    There's like five of them.

Have a look in Campus to see them most weeks.

In previous years, each society got their one ticket PLUS one ticket for each nominated person. That should mean you'll have 5 tickets this year, not just 3.

I imagine the reason that it isn't bigger is because it's entirely paid for by SPC funds and the tickets are given out for free. If it were a bigger event, it would end up costing DCU students a hell of a lot more money.

Getting more tickets isn't exactly hard anyway. Every club and society gets three this year, but how many clubs and socs actually attend the awards? It's mostly just those who get nominated that turn up, so plenty of people don't claim their tickets at all, leaving a large number to be taken by the societies that want them most. If you're not on a committee and you really want to go, ask the SPC on Tuesday as they may well have some spares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Katniss everMean

The SPC isn't that rich :) the way its working this year is that three tickets to go the soc / club, tickets to nominated people, these tickets are for the dinner, but (I could be wrong) anyone can go to the helix. The only other way to afford to have anyone that wanted to go go, would be to sell tickets, which I don't think anyone would want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭lil_cain

Angelkat7 wrote: »
    The SPC isn't that rich :) the way its working this year is that three tickets to go the soc / club, tickets to nominated people, these tickets are for the dinner, but (I could be wrong) anyone can go to the helix. The only other way to afford to have anyone that wanted to go go, would be to sell tickets, which I don't think anyone would want.
    No. Only nominees get to go to the dinner. We increased the number for the awards themselves by decreasing the number going to the dinner this year.

Clubs and Socs awards this year.. WHERE IS THE BUZZ?!? lol. Societies I'm involved in aren't nominated for anything so maybe that's why I'm not feeling it but is anyone else excited? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭dramabob

Very much so!

...and I graduated last month! It's hard not to be excited about the Clubs & Socs Awards - it's invariably such a good night out :)

I work for DIT now and was at their Socs Awards last week (they have separate Clubs Awards) in the Burlington, and twas a very good night indeed - a different vibe to the DCU ones tho - there tends to be a lot of North Side vs. South Side slagging going on... good craic tho!

As for predictions, I dunno - I've been off-campus for too long to know who's doing what well and who isn't. Either way, I'll see the winners at BICS next week - I'm judging for DIT :D

Anyhoo, bring it on - see y'all tomorrow night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

I know the winners.. i know the winners :P

I'd be very suprised if you didn't!

Really looking forward to tonight, whether we win or not!:D

...and the results are in!

Best Soc: Games Soc
    Most Improved: Dance Soc
    Best New: Japanese Soc
    Best Event: RENT, DCU Drama

First 5:

Alan Keegan, Comic Soc
    Melanie Farrell, Style Soc
    Declan Traynor, DCU Debate
    Max Rantz-McDonald, E&S
    Eimear Fitzmaurice, Juggle Soc

Best Fresher: Jackie Fox, Art Soc

A great night all round, woop!

EDIT: I'll let someone more familiar with DCU's clubs post who won what in that respect...

dramabob wrote: »
    ...and the results are in!

Best Soc: Games Soc
    Most Improved: Dance Soc
    Best New: Japanese Soc
    Best Event: RENT, DCU Drama

First 5:

Alan Keegan, Comic Soc
    Melanie Farrell, Style Soc
    Declan Traynor, DCU Debate
    Max Rantz-McDonald, E&S
    Eimear Fitzmaurice, Juggle Soc

Best Fresher: Jackie Fox, Art Soc

A great night all round, woop!
    Is there club awards for the same categories aswell?

Similar, but different.

They have a separate award for Best Event and Best Performance (or at least did this year).

They don't have a Best New Club, unless there are sufficient amounts of new clubs to be taken into consideration AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

w00t! Go'wan Games Soc! Delighted to see them finally get the award, the soc have been going from strength to strength in recent years and it's great to see some of the same lads are still on the committee and finally getting the credit they deserve. :D

gizmo wrote: »
    w00t! Go'wan Games Soc! Delighted to see them finally get the award, the soc have been going from strength to strength in recent years and it's great to see some of the same lads are still on the committee and finally getting the credit they deserve. :D

This is most definitely you're award too! It's been said many times tonight, this award was 3 years in the making.

Fantastic evening, this has really meant a lot to us at GamesSoc.

Best Club was Mens' Rugby
    Most Improved was Womens' Rugby
    Best Sporting Performance was Ladies' GAA for their O'Connor Cup win.

Can't remember who won anything else!