Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should RTE axe Tubridy and Gerry Ryan?

• 07-03-2009 10:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭

Ryan Tubridy and Gerry Ryan still won't accept a pay cut on their massively overinflated, astronomical wage packets - link

In my opinion Gerry Ryan is smug, irritating, arrogant and his voice has a higher cringe factor than fingernails on a blackboard..... Anyone could sit in that chair ordering buns from PAs and noisily slurping their tea on fcuking microphone over the airwaves. His constant insincere, hypocritical recession mantras are also very insulting to anyone who is having real difficulties at this time.

As for Tubridy - Who the hell is making that wannabe 'intellectual' use all of those big words that he almost can - but cannot quite handle? More often than not his questioning/comments really do seem to take a route that he just 'knows' provides an opportunity to mix in a word that he has recently discovered and almost understands - just because he wants to be seen to be using it.....

Why not promote some new, fresh homegrown talent and let these two idiots slurp tea and randomly quote the dictionary at home in their own kitchens where we don't have to be listening to them......

Axe them to fcuk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Raiser wrote: »
    Ryan Tubridy and Gerry Ryan still won't accept a pay cut on their massively overinflated, astronomical wage packets - link

In my opinion Gerry Ryan is smug, irritating, arrogant and his voice has a higher cringe factor than fingernails on a blackboard..... Anyone could sit in that chair ordering buns from PAs and noisily slurping their tea on fcuking microphone over the airwaves. His constant insincere, hypocritical recession mantras are also very insulting to anyone who is having real difficulties at this time.

As for Tubridy - Who the hell is making that wannabe 'intellectual' use all of those big words that he almost can - but cannot quite handle? More often than not his questioning/comments really do seem to take a route that he just 'knows' provides an opportunity to mix in a word that he has recently discovered and almost understands - just because he wants to be seen to be using it.....

Why not promote some new, fresh homegrown talent and let these two idiots slurp tea and randomly quote the dictionary at home in their own kitchens where we don't have to be listening to them......
    Never listen either of them. Don't pay the licence so not to bothered that my money is being wasted on them TBH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭meldrew

Get rid of the two of them they'd be no loss , they're both past their sell by date , the way Tubriddy talks you'd think he was an oul fella so let him retire and read his books in his ivory tower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Id like to know what "Legal reason" tubridy is using to dodge this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

The only way to actually do anything is to not listen to them on mass. The problem is many of the people who like them will still tune in. If the voice of public opinion was loud enough it would have an effect but people just won't commit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Gadfly

I used to listen to Tubridy, but stopped recently. I could never stand pirate Ryan.

Who else would have them anyway?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Make the two gombeens has beens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Fair play to them i think. They have necks like a jockeys bollix and they should take what they can. I know I wouldnt turn down that kind of money.
    The problem as i see it is that RTE management need to row a pair of balls. For fecks sake, where would these guys go if they left RTE, its not like TV3 would pay them that kind of money and they arent known outside Ireland. Its not like the BBC would happily give them a job in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Krieg wrote: »

Maybe he was on a contract.
    Now RTE want to break it and get a 10% reduction. And Tubridy wants to keep the deal he signed

Just an idea, unless you his solicitor it's hard to know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

He is a smart man who can surely afford even smarter contract lawyers. If RTE has a contract with him for his services for an agreed amount of pay then it is very hard to break that contract.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭TheVan

I had assumed that Tubridy's problem is that he is paying alimony or something to his ex-wife / support for his child which is calculated as a percentage of his income and he is not allowed take a voluntary pay-cut.

Maybe its not but he has offered to donate 10% of his income to charity so I don't think its the Gerry Ryan "I'm not reducing my pay" argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm willing to dig out the national broadcaster for patriotism's sake here.. I can snort like a bloodhound in heat, patronize old ladies and read tabloid headlines for a few hours every morning. I'm willing to wear a prosthetic quadruple chin and belly for public appearances as well.

And furthermore, I can do it all for 100k a year.

Gerry who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

Tubridys great!

if we're axe-ing two people it should be gerry ryan and pat kenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭dixierip

In these difficult times they are not endearing themselves with the public.
    As much as Mr Dunphy annoys me, Clever move on his part, "doing his bit for the country"
    As for the two Ryans- RTE Reap what they so. Why builld their egos and pay them inflated salaries in what is basically a monopolised market.
    If there salaries where halved, where could they go?
    What is worse about the smug G Ryan is that behind it all I'd imagine he believe RTE aren't paying him enough.
    How many of his books actually sold - 4???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

stovelid wrote: »
    I'm willing to dig out the national broadcaster for patriotism's sake here.. I can snort like a bloodhound in heat, patronize old ladies and read tabloid headlines for a few hours every morning. I'm willing to wear a prosthetic quadruple chin and belly for pubic appearances as well.

And furthermore, I can do it all for 100k a year.

Gerry who?

[Nerdy Chortle]***[/Nerdy Chortle] I have ostensibly observed several scintillating wry witticisms in your fiendishly frivolous post my good Sir and dear fellow. Would you timidly traipse with tepid trepidation on a poignant point such as this penultimate postulate post? [chuckles at own wit]***[/chuckles at own wit]

Well I'm the natural choice for Whine Tubridy's job methinks......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Don't forget Joe Duffy.

Champion of consumer affairs for the uneducated.

"Give me what i want or i'll ring Joe Duffy!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

They are doing their public reputation no favours with this stubbornness. It's staggering to think two public service broadcasters can be so out of touch with reality, how can anyone listen to them covering a story on the economic downturn (a stretch with Ryan, granted) and not want to punch their pompous heads in?
    RTE obviously signed these contracts when the high times were rolling and though it would last forever. They should issue Phats & Small with an ultimatum, pay cut or out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

dixierip wrote: »
    What is worse about the smug G Ryan is that behind it all I'd imagine he believe RTE aren't paying him enough.
    How many of his books actually sold - 4???

I think he's already said in his book that he's underpaid, he's only sold something like 8000 books (who would read that, seriously). I can't understand why anyone would listen to that gob****e now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭bluecell99

Raiser wrote: »

well sdaid;could'nt agree more.

Two fools so far removed from reality and full of their own self importance,it's sickening to think of the money they are on.I want to vomit even thinking of these prats and their disgusting arrogance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ball ox

Champion of consumer affairs for the uneducated.

Ha, well said

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I suspect it might have something to do with signed agreements made with his ex-wife and specific laid out payments agreed to and then signed by both parties.
    That said, lawyers being the money grabbing, terrible slow working bunch they are, should be able to adjust any contracts to take account change of financial earnings. If they haven't already included such risings and falling in earning into financial agreements, they should be sacked for incompetence and lack of foresight in the first place.

I agree, the two tight-fisted cnuts should be sacked!
    (As well as every TD who still has refused to take their cuts also - and there is LOADS!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Apparently Tubridy is a cousin of Dave McSavage. For that reason alone he should be punished in some way.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

sack them both and bring back gaybo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Iamhere

Sack them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

I think we should all dial into their radio shows, then when we get through, give them a hard time about lecturing on the state of the economy while they won't do their bit to help

fecking hypocrites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

its to do with his seperation from his wife and the money he has to pay her each month - she is entitled to a certain amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

tubridy should take a pay cut, like most of the ***** on RTE. Kenny should be out on his ear the ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

Tubber is the most irritating wee man I've ever come across. They even have him commentating on rugby now. I'm an Irish tax payer, he has to go. Gerry's okay just about, but if he won't take a pay cut, then axe time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Baybay

I don't mind Gerry Ryan quite so much as Colm & JimJim. Their "act" might have been mildly amusing in it's first few weeks but is now beyond stale.

Tubridy and Kenny have long had their day and imo none of their wages are justified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Ever see an old photo of James Joyce? - one of our few genuises - head down, unable to look at the camera, lacks confidence.
    Ever see a photo of Gerry Ryan? - eyes squinted, lips pursed, head up - with a look of his own self importance. TOSSER.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 79 ✭✭strettie

As a someone who regularly listened to G Ryan my anger with him has increased over the last few weeks and I have made the decision to not listen anymore. From the week he complained about having to pay for his morning cup of coffee in RTE every week has highlighted how far from peoples reality he currently is. Has anyone else found it ironic to here public service employees ringing him up to complain about fat cats. Hello you are talking to one.

Unfortunately I think he feels justified in his stance by the increase in listenership recently.
    What took the biscuit for me was this week when 2 women had phoned in complaining about the prospect of more tax increases , one of the women among other ideas was saying it was time to get rid of the artists exemption, of course Ryan was again putting down the idea of getting rid of small items due to the large amount of money we need to raise through taxes.
    Of course he never mentioned that the Revenue had contacted him to make sure he made use of the atists exemption for his book ( as reported by Sunday Business Post) When is the last time the Revenue rang you to make sure you were availing of an allowance !!!!!!!!!
    It would also be interesting if some journalist followed up on the amount of freebies, upgrades and discounts some RTE people receive. There are some good stories out there

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Caoimhín wrote: »
    He is a smart man who can surely afford even smarter contract lawyers. If RTE has a contract with him for his services for an agreed amount of pay then it is very hard to break that contract.
    RTÉ should make it quite clear to Ryan Pat and Gerry that how they behave now will be taken in to account when it's time to renew contracts. And that there will be a six month break instead of renewing straight away.

All the need is someone with a little talent to take over their shows for a few weeks and give them a six month holiday and see who misses them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

RTÉ should make it quite clear to Ryan Pat and Gerry that how they behave now will be taken in to account when it's time to renew contracts. And that there will be a six month break instead of renewing straight away.

All the need is someone with a little talent to take over their shows for a few weeks and give them a six month holiday and see who misses them.

+1. Make it clear that when it comes to renewal, their salary will be 25% of what it is now. Let them go to another station instead. RTE as a publicly funded station doesn't have to have expensive stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Nolanger wrote: »
    Ever see an old photo of James Joyce? - one of our few genuises - head down, unable to look at the camera, lacks confidence.
    Ever see a photo of Gerry Ryan? - eyes squinted, lips pursed, head up - with a look of his own self importance. TOSSER.
    If you looked into a camera back then, it stole your soul. Joyce was too smart to fall for that trick.

strettie wrote: »
    As a someone who regularly listened to G Ryan my anger with him has increased over the last few weeks and I have made the decision to not listen anymore.
    And there you have it.

As long as they have listeners, they will stay on the air.

In other news, let's sack everyone who makes money so that we can sit at home in our own little bubble of self satisfaction, for we showed them rich people what's what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Hyndsy85

Axe them or at least when their contract are due to be renewed offer them a large reduction in wage.

There is no need for them to be on such a high wage. Where else could they go and get paid so highly. They need the RTE far more the the RTE needs them. Sure people may argue that they have large listenership but its not as if these two went that people would just stop listening to the radio or watching RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭MySelf56

If RTE slash their contracts, do RTE has to pay some compansation i belive ? any body knows how many years they are in contract with RTE??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

They are two bloated, egotistical, self absorbed assholes. The only 'entertainment' they provide is to themselves. It fcuking galls me that they get paid so much for providing so little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Kieo

yes!!!! sack em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Kieo wrote: »
    yes!!!! sack em

Lets get the lynch mob out and burn those sons o'bitches out of it!:D

RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

I'd keep them, they sum up everything about this country at the moment.

I hate the two of them, but the incessant bleating of 'someone else earns x, that's not economically viable anymore. I want them to have a paycut, so that I don't have to have one' is really getting worse.

Everyone wants someone else to lose out, but how many of you have offered to take a 10% paycut? They're on contracts, they don't have to take less money, and if you offered anyone the chance to take a 10% pay-cut or not, most people wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Fire them all and invest the money in Futurama style "head-in-jar" technology for Bill, Eamo and Gilsey. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I refuse to pay the License fee so i dont give a monkeys, its not my money there getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Sack G. Ryan, no loss. The show is stale. Mainly concerned with what happens in Dublin also. How does he manage to get to broadcast 15 hours per week? Basically people ringing in to drop their new business into conversation.
    While their at it Nicki Hayes and Rick O'Shea wouldn't be missed either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 sworderer

Get rid of Gerry Ryan, Tubridy and Dunphy. They add nothing and other presenters would give fresh, interesting and lively points of view to the shows. I am tired of these old, dull, overpaid, lazy fatcats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭Disease Ridden

I dont really like that Tubridy chap but I'd be a lot quicker to sack that pompous, arrogant, out-of-touch pile of shít Gerry Ryan.
    If I was the chap in RTE weilding the axe I'd aim it squarely between his eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

This economic climate has really brought out some wonderfully true colours to light.

No one was bothered to bring any of these issues to light during the jet set era of Ireland. Only now when we are faced with economic hardship which affects many of us, or people close to us, do we start to bitch and moan about anything we can find that seems unfair or unjust around us.

They should never have been on that kind of money to start with! But no one gave a **** because it didn't affect them at the time.

While our government holds the skeleton key to our demise, we ourselves are all accountable, because by and large we stood by and watched our economy spiral out of control over a prolonged period.

We moaned about it alright but, what did we do about it?

The problem here is not Gerry Ryan or Brian Tubridy.

They are merely a part of a polluted public sector that stems from a rotten government core.

The entire country is in need of drastic reformation but as long as the core is rotten, everything around it will invariably be affected.

These guys should all have stipulations in their contracts giving their employers the right to review their wages on a regular basis so that they reflect current economic conditions. Any employment provided either directly or indirectly through revenue raised by the government through the public should have such stipulations.

They all would have signed it back in the day and none of them would be in a position to challenge their contracts legally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭dazzerb

is there any data out here on how much ad revenue these shows bring in? Interesting to know if RTE makes a profit or loss on these shows. If the cost of the show plus these guys salaries is less than what they are bringing in on advertisements during then isn't that a good thing? If the shows are losing money then that is a different matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Those two **** should be ashamed of themselves - a 10% pay cut won't put them in the poorhouse. They'll hardly miss it. That twittering, deformed little gnome Turbidy and that tubby sack of shit Ryan badly need a reality check.

If they keep this up, they should be executed live on air in an Al-Qaeda-style beheading extravaganza. RTE should make it a pay-per-view event as well. During the depths of economic misery in the 80s, Irish people dug deep into their pockets to support Live Aid. I believe we would pay up again to support another noble cause in these recessionary times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭Disease Ridden

Samba wrote: »
    This economic climate has really brought out some wonderfully true colours to light.

No one was bothered to bring any of these issues to light during the jet set era of Ireland. Only now when we are faced with economic hardship which affects many of us, or people close to us, do we start to bitch and moan about anything we can find that seems unfair or unjust around us.

They should never have been on that kind of money to start with! But no one gave a **** because it didn't affect them at the time.

While our government holds the skeleton key to our demise, we ourselves are all accountable, because by and large we stood by and watched our economy spiral out of control over a prolonged period.

We moaned about it alright but, what did we do about it?

The problem here is not Gerry Ryan or Brian Tubridy.

They are merely a part of a polluted public sector that stems from a rotten government core.

The entire country is in need of drastic reformation but as long as the core is rotten, everything around it will invariably be affected.

These guys should all have stipulations in their contracts giving their employers the right to review their wages on a regular basis so that they reflect current economic conditions. Any employment provided either directly or indirectly through revenue raised by the government through the public should have such stipulations.

They all would have signed it back in the day and none of them would be in a position to challenge their contracts legally.

Jaysus, we've had hardship, famine, misery, repression and unemployment for virtually the whole modern history of this island. I for one am glad this country got to enjoy 15 years or so of artificial wealth and materialistic bliss. And you know what, you's all enjoyed it and didnt want it to stop, so stop slating it!! Maybe the only way for lots of people to be happy is for the economy to be in an extremely artificial state.
    And of course were only going to start looking around for people to slate when were in financial difficulty ourselves, surely thats obvious!