Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking in public

• 06-03-2009 10:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭

Shame it's so frowned upon here. It'd be nice to hop on the Luas home/walk home and just have a nice cold beer.

Never going to happen though, is it? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Doesn't stop most people.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

No, thank god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Nah. I'm wiating for some wanker in the Dáil to suggest drinking should be banned in pubs. Sounds stupid? Well look at everything else they've done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

My college days are sadly over, but I always liked walking downtown after a party with a cold beer in hand.

<edit>
    And one in the back pocket :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Nordwind

No, thank god.

Works well in other countries. Maybe I should replace other with better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Get yourself some drink, but be classy and put it in a brown paper bag, also grow a really long beard and wet yourself frequently.

See, for every problem there is a solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Nordwind wrote: »
    Shame it's so frowned upon here. It'd be nice to hop on the Luas home/walk home and just have a nice cold beer.

The 1st step is admitting you have a problem...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

2nd is enjoying it till its frowned upon :)

Rarely drink. That's my problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Substitute Red Line Luas for Luas, and Dutch Gold for nice cold beer and your dream is out there, waiting for you.

This is what happens when you come back from Deutschland :(

Cheer up, Nordwind. We have to drink our beer in private, but at least our kids won't be conscripted into the Fourth Reich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

ah buses upstairs are grand for having a can on the way into town! Wouldn't probably bother on the Luas - journeys a bit too short, you would have to swallow the can fairly sharpish :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

In general it doesn't bother me but it is nice on the few sunny and warm days we have to head to a park and relax in the sun with a couple of beers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I find it more intimidating in this country to see people on a bus/train/whatever drinking than in countries where it's allowed. Maybe because other countries I've been to don't have the reputation we have. Also, most of the time the people I see drinking on public transport are scumbags who would easily start on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Personally I think it's rather loutish and I can't help but think negatively about someone drinking in public.

You can drink in the pub, nightclub and at home. There's absolutely no need for you to drink in public. It looks bad and sets a bad example to our kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

If people drank responsibly in public then there'd be no problem.

Can't wait for the mayhem this Patrick's Day :(

Personally I think it's rather loutish and I can't help but think negatively about someone drinking in public.

You can drink in the pub, nightclub and at home. There's absolutely no need for you to drink in public. It looks bad and sets a bad example to our kids.

Not quite sure how it sets a bad example to our kids. Think it'd be better for them to see people in suits drinking responsibly than some knackers with cans. I've seen it in other countries, countries ahead of us, and I think their kids are doing just fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

The reason it looks loutish is that the kids who are drinking in public places in this country are holding/carrying a lot of alcohol and are drinking in order to get pissed.

Whenever I'm in Berlin, I see 18/19 year olds on the U-bahn drinking, but they're only carrying one bottle. You stand in a supermarket and you see people go in to buy ONE beer to have for the walk to wherever they're going.

I firmly believe that because there are so many restrictions vis a vis opening hours and places to buy alcohol in this country, it brings out the child in us and makes us want it even more than if we had access to it all the time.

I also believe that if 24-hour off licences and pubs were introduced in this country that there would be mayhem for a while i.e. perhaps a few years, but that the next generation would be like "meh" and not be too bothered about going out and getting pissed.

Take the youth on the continent. You don't see them on the piss carrying cans and cans of cider around the streets. Even with hash in the Netherlands, very few young people smoke it.

It's because they're so readily available that teenagers there aren't bothered about making the offy in time to buy 6 bottles of buckfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

It would be great, many countries allow it but have VERY strict litter laws... Would only work if we introduced hefty fines for it...

Problem 1: We would piss and moan about the fines.

Problem 2: We would dispute the fines clogging up an already ****ed court system.

Problem 3: I don't think the Irish public would be responsible enough for it to work...

Oh yes and lets not forget about the drinking in public fines already in place... Haha it would actually have made more sense (and be more productive) to introduce fines for littering instead.

Silly silly government!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

What happens if you try and have a few beers in Stephens Green these days? Would you get kicked out? I remember doing it a few times about 10 years ago with a small group of people on a sunny day and there was no problem. Loads of people seemed to be doing it.

Quint wrote: »
    What happens if you try and have a few beers in Stephens Green these days? Would you get kicked out? I remember doing it a few times about 10 years ago with a small group of people on a sunny day and there was no problem. Loads of people seemed to be doing it.

100 euro fine and your drink taken off ya...

Zangetsu wrote: »

I bet it was McDowell and the anti-fun brigade that brought in that one. Thank god he's gone, he really would have banned drink in pubs as someone said before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

A lot of other cities/countries are cool about it. You can easily walk around Paris or Berlin with a bottle in your hand and no one will think twice about it.

The problem as I see it is that when you give an Irish person an alcoholic beverage they invariably overdo it and as a result turn into an anti-social idiot. If Irish people could drink alcohol responibly eg without
    a) puking b) pissing against walls c) shouting in an agressive manner or d) fighting then you would find there would suddenly be no problem with people walking around the street with a beer in their hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Another reason I love Berlin.
    kraggy wrote: »
    The reason it looks loutish is that the kids who are drinking in public places in this country are holding/carrying a lot of alcohol and are drinking in order to get pissed.

Whenever I'm in Berlin, I see 18/19 year olds on the U-bahn drinking, but they're only carrying one bottle. You stand in a supermarket and you see people go in to buy ONE beer to have for the walk to wherever they're going.

I firmly believe that because there are so many restrictions vis a vis opening hours and places to buy alcohol in this country, it brings out the child in us and makes us want it even more than if we had access to it all the time.

I also believe that if 24-hour off licences and pubs were introduced in this country that there would be mayhem for a while i.e. perhaps a few years, but that the next generation would be like "meh" and not be too bothered about going out and getting pissed.

Take the youth on the continent. You don't see them on the piss carrying cans and cans of cider around the streets. Even with hash in the Netherlands, very few young people smoke it.

It's because they're so readily available that teenagers there aren't bothered about making the offy in time to buy 6 bottles of buckfast.

connundrum wrote: »
    If people drank responsibly in public then there'd be no problem.

Can't wait for the mayhem this Patrick's Day :(

Only found out that it was legal to drink on the underground in London after fecking Boris banned a few months ago.
    Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    A lot of other cities/countries are cool about it. You can easily walk around Paris or Berlin with a bottle in your hand and no one will think twice about it.

The problem as I see it is that when you give an Irish person an alcoholic beverage they invariably overdo it and as a result turn into an anti-social idiot. If Irish people could drink alcohol responibly eg without
    a) puking b) pissing against walls c) shouting in an agressive manner or d) fighting then you would find there would suddenly be no problem with people walking around the street with a beer in their hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭jimmyneo1

Yeah Boris banned it last Summer, people seem to be sticking to the law as well from what I've seen.
    Was one hell of a party on the Circle line on the last night though. :D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/in_pictures/7430133.stm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Anyone who drinks a can of beer on a luas/bus/train is a lout. End of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

Yup happened to me once! :o

Needless to say I learnt my lesson ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Highsider wrote: »

Does that include the driver?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I've had a few beers in Phoenix Park while playing football before. Didnt seem loutish or antisocial or whatever. It was a hot day, we were outside, and it was a few cold drinks. Sounds good to me.

While on the Luas, I always find that a one-litre lucozade bottle filled with cider adequately quenches a chap's thirst without drawing misinformed lout comparisons from the Legion of Mary brigade. A sports bag with a sweaty towel peeking out may also be used as an additional accessory for the amateur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Theres small cans of jim beam and coke for sale in the off licenses,they look like just normal cans of coke,the odd day the way home from work,Id buy two and have a swig,nobodies the wiser

I've been stopped a few time over the last week or two by a rent-a-cop security "person" while drinking a can of Monster energy because they thought it was a can of guinness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Problem 3: I don't think the Irish public would be responsible enough for it to work...

Bingo.
    Highsider wrote: »

What about the U-bahn?

The difference between the continent and Ireland is where you're drinking it, versus why you're drinking it.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Katniss everMean

Drinking on public transport and on streets drives me mad, mostly for the fact that its usually very drink teenagers, that end up getting sick down the back of the bus, and causing trouble. Outside on the canal on a warm day would be nice :)

Angelkat7 wrote: »
    Drinking on public transport and on streets drives me made, mostly for the fact that its usually very drink teenagers, that end up getting sick down the back of the bus, and causing trouble. Outside on the canal on a warm would be nice :)

Have you been drinking? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

RaverRo808 wrote: »
    Theres small cans of jim beam and coke for sale in the off licenses,they look like just normal cans of coke,the odd day the way home from work,Id buy two and have a swig,nobodies the wiser
    They're something ridiculous like 3 quid though aren't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Katniss everMean

Have you been drinking? :p

Extremely groggy kat is extremely groggy!

Sean_K wrote: »
    They're something ridiculous like 3 quid though aren't they?

Yeah, the naggen of JD and bottle of coke is much better value. Those cans are pricey. Do they even use real coca-cola?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

You'd just get alco's begging at bus/tram stops looking for the double whammy of drink and/or money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So, we've gone from trying to convince people we're not alcoholics to sharing methods of hiding booze on public transport...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    So, we've gone from trying to convince people we're not alcoholics to sharing methods of hiding booze on public transport...

People are starting to open up in this thread :P

So how about it, those of you that think people are loats for drinking in public, ya's actually have an emergency nagan in you pocket for work dont yas? Don't lie! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Yeah, the naggen of JD and bottle of coke is much better value. Those cans are pricey. Do they even use real coca-cola?

You should have asked if they use real whisky!

I'm currently looking for a Geek or Zombie related hip-flask
    People are starting to open up in this thread :P

So how about it, those of you that think people are loats for drinking in public, ya's actually have an emergency nagan in you pocket for work dont yas? Don't lie! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I did that for years.
    Technically you werent supposed to do it but as long as you werent raising merry hell the keepers didnt mind too much.
    Some days i feel like doing it now just to see what would happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

They section off a part of Shop Street during the Galway Races and allow people to wonder from pub to pub with their drink (as long as its not glass), its a great laugh. Although if they serve u a pint of Guinness in a glass and u want to leave the pub u gotta pour it into a plastic glass...its rough.

Its pretty cool but i guess it should never become the norm as we drink too much anyway and we'd literally take the piss out of the situation. Imagine if you were allowed to drink on the streets then after the night club is closed youd have droves upon droves of people drinking till 4 or 5 in the morning on the streets causing all sorts of havoc.

We are not a mature enough nation when it comes to drinking, it never should become easier for us to drink because we drink too much already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Its allowed here in Germany. A decent bottle of beer will set you back the princely sum of 65c , whereas a bottle of Coke is just over double that.

I know what I'd choose. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Hazys wrote: »
    We are not a mature enough nation when it comes to drinking, it never should become easier for us to drink because we drink too much already.
    Seems to me that things get worse every time the rules get stricter.

Maybe the government should try something new. Clearly the present tactic is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭RKDus

Puddleduck wrote: »
    Get yourself some drink, but be classy and put it in a brown paper bag, also grow a really long beard and wet yourself frequently.

See, for every problem there is a solution.

Well three out of four isn't bad, and I'll have the beard in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

For you, ze drinking in public is over