Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting insured on a hearse?

• 05-03-2009 7:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭

hello lads just got an idea to buy a hearse, I have my eye on this one. She's a 2.5 litre. I tried to get an online quote from quinn but was unable to. It will be my first car, im only on a provisanal and im 20 but considering its only 2 seats would the insurance be cheap?
    Anyone have an idea how much it would cost to insure it and any other good insurance websites? cheers lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Not sure about the insurance, but what are you going to do with the hearse ?.

It'd make a fairly nice car-van ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

You could make a living just driving through the background in some RSA safety adverts :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Just thought it would be a cool idea, great for a few nixers. I can haul around my tool box in the back of it and if someone dies and can put them in for only a few quid. Also it would be so funny becasue im in fas, just arrive in someday with a black 2.5 rear wheel drive hearse:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Plug wrote: »
    Just thought it would be a cool idea, great for a few nixers. I can haul around my tool box in the back of it and if someone dies and can put them in for only a few quid. Also it would be so funny becasue im in fas, just arrive in someday with a black 2.5 rear wheel drive hearse:D

Nice idea, even if it is unconventional!!!:p
    I'd imagine you could insure something likr that as a commercial????:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Nice idea, even if it is unconventional!!!:p
    I'd imagine you could insure something likr that as a commercial????:confused:

Lol under 'own goods'

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Lump a turbo on to it and make it a drifting car :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

please say how it will work out :D.

Please park it in a front! So all hope will abondon humanity :D

It has an nct till jan 2010 so I prusume it is classed as a car and not a van etc. If I could get it insured for less than 2k that would be grand I'd get a loan in the morning, at the rate things are going i could get that hearse for 1800 quid and not the 2300 as stated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

It'd be handy for festivals too.

I could also buy a second hand coffin maybe:D
    jesus these insurance crouds are arseholes, can't get a quote on the net anywere, better get on the blower tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I could also buy a second hand coffin maybe:D
    jesus these insurance crouds are arseholes, can't get a quote on the net anywere, better get on the blower tomorrow.

Well imagine it from their point of view.....a 20 year old looking to get insured on a 2.5l car. Now granted its a hearse, and no Focus ST, but I reckon it would be possible, but at a heavy price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

Would be funny to see a hearse overtaking you aswell. Plus shopping would be brilliant,might be a bit hard to park in your local tesco though... But - Mother and child parking is made for cars like that ! :P :P :P :P :P :P

Fizman wrote: »
    Well imagine it from their point of view.....a 20 year old looking to get insured on a 2.5l car. Now granted its a hearse, and no Focus ST, but I reckon it would be possible, but at a heavy price.
    The value of the car is only about 2 grand so it might not be too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

Completely off topic & no word of a lie but a number of years back I was overetaken by a hearse on the N7 Glanmire bypass heading southbound at the bottom of the hill past the flyover. He must have been in a hurry as I am sure he was doing over 100mph. Moving too quick to tell if he had a passenger. To say I was surprised is an understatement! If I did not have a full car of co-witnesses no one would have believed me. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

She's a 2.5 litre.

About a decade ago when I had a provisional licence I couldn't get a insured on a 1.5 litre car. Just cos it's a hearse doesn't mean it can't go fast !

My guess is that if you get a quote at all, it'll be expensive.
    Either based on the size of the engine, or if you try insuring it as a commercial vehicle.

Not even sure how you could disguise it as a hearse... eg. fit in 2/4 more seats in the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Quinn Direct are DYING to insure folks like you! :D:D:D

The premium might be a bit stiff though! :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

Darragh29 wrote: »

Shaaaaaaame!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭AsphaltRisin'

KTRIC wrote: »
    Not sure about the insurance, but what are you going to do with the hearse ?.

It'd make a fairly nice car-van ;)

i was just about to suggest the van idea. You'll get insured on it as a van. all you need is some plywood on the floor of it put in well and the rear windows tinted very dark.

just a little side note about the granada hearse there, it wouldnt be a 2.5, engines for those weree 2.0, 2.4 v6, 2.8 v6 and 2.9 v6. there was a 2.5 diesel available but theyd never build a herse back then with that rattly old diesel. if that granada really is 2.5 then it's had the engine swapped for somethin esle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭alo1587

Darragh29 wrote: »

Surely the OP can get someBODY to insure it?

Sorry, I just couldn't resist:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

i was just about to suggest the van idea. You'll get insured on it as a van. all you need is some plywood on the floor of it put in well and the rear windows tinted very dark.

Its already floored in far nicer wood than ply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

hello lads just got an idea to buy a hearse, I have my eye on this one. She's a 2.5 litre. I tried to get an online quote from quinn but was unable to. It will be my first car, im only on a provisanal and im 20 but considering its only 2 seats would the insurance be cheap?
    Anyone have an idea how much it would cost to insure it and any other good insurance websites? cheers lads

State of that, I wouldn't be seen dead in it...

alo1587 wrote: »
    Surely the OP can get someBODY to insure it?

Sorry, I just couldn't resist:D
    State of that, I wouldn't be seen dead in it...

OP, I'd say that car will give you nothing but grief!

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

McSpud wrote: »
    Completely off topic & no word of a lie but a number of years back I was overetaken by a hearse on the N7 Glanmire bypass heading southbound at the bottom of the hill past the flyover. He must have been in a hurry as I am sure he was doing over 100mph. Moving too quick to tell if he had a passenger. To say I was surprised is an understatement! If I did not have a full car of co-witnesses no one would have believed me. :eek:

In the some US stats funeral processions have escorts, they can speed and ignore red lights. Better then over here where the whole world has to stop for a procession barely above crawling pace.
    It has an nct till jan 2010 so I prusume it is classed as a car and not a van etc. If I could get it insured for less than 2k that would be grand I'd get a loan in the morning, at the rate things are going i could get that hearse for 1800 quid and not the 2300 as stated.

The fact that it's a 19 year old custom 2.5l car may be an issue and the fact you are only 1 year older then it on a permit won't help. Don't forget that if you get 3 refusals the 1st company has to quote you, but they don't have to be nice.

I'm going to tell them I use it to haul around my tool box etc, its only got 2 seats bla bla bla. I never heard about if I get 3 refusals the 1st company has to quote me, how exactly does that work?
    cheers for the help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭martydunf

I'm going to tell them I use it to haul around my tool box etc, its only got 2 seats bla bla bla. I never heard about if I get 3 refusals the 1st company has to quote me, how exactly does that work?
    cheers for the help.

you have to get a letter off the other insurance companies explaining that they refused to quote you and go back to original insurer and they have to quote you but bear in mind that it can be any figure imaginable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Furkin_Bastage

A Hearse!

Imagine the amount of speakers you could fit in it!!

Nice big mattress in the back, what girl wouldn't be impressed to Death. :)

I can see it now, a pimped hearse
    Image4_3.jpg

Im going try with quinn, I suppose there the cheapest or are they any cheaper crouds, who do ye recommend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    Lump a turbo on to it and make it a drifting car :D
    http://www.autocar.co.uk/VideosWallpapers/Videos.aspx?AR=236739&Page=5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

To escape vrt if importing a hearse, you have to be a registered undertaker so by that line of thinking, A hearse isnt a hearse until it is used for undertaking purposes therefore what you are insuring is a 1990 coachbuilt granada which in your case will be used for overtaking purposes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭RLJ

Just thought it would be a cool idea, great for a few nixers. I can haul around my tool box in the back of it and if someone dies and can put them in for only a few quid.
    bring shovel you can bury them too
    Also it would be so funny becasue im in fas, just arrive in someday with a black 2.5 rear wheel drive hearse:D
    if your in fas then you are right with a hearse cos the FAS management are all dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

mickdw wrote: »
    A hearse isnt a hearse until it is used for undertaking purposes

Indeed using the hard shoulder is a handy for avoiding lengthy queues :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

did you get any quotes plug?

You'd be making a grave mistake goin near this motor OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Haha... I've heard there are a cue of people dying to get into it, must be dead fast:rolleyes:

How sad am I... LOL

Didn't some of those Granada's have a cosworth engine, 2.9V6 was it not? Limited slip diff and you'll be flying it :D

I think you are mad OP, I wouldn't be able for it haha:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Years ago a friend of mine had bought an old early 80's hearse in order to strip a few engine parts out of it for his own car. However, he had a date with a girl in Limerick and didn't have time to transfer the parts, so he took the hearse instead. Having no sense of humour, she wouldn't get into it. So he drove back to Galway and went out to meet his friends in the pub. After the pub, they decided to go for chips, and they all piled into the hearse. One of them fell asleep in the back, so they laid him out in the back with a pint glass between his hands and went for their food. They arrived back to the hearse to find it surrounded by a crowd, with 2 gardai standing there trying to figure out what to do about what they thought was a bad practical joke involving an uncovered corpse!!! Oddly enough, the registration on the hearse was something along the lines of "666DIE". I think it was a Peugeot.

Another friends father had a Zepher hearse with a V6 engine in it for a while. It used to leave tyre marks on the road if he floored it to overtake people!

And then we have the old chestnut about this guy getting a cab at the airport. About half way into the city he tapped the driver on the shoulder, and the driver paniced and ran into a lamppost. Thankfully neither were hurt, but while they were waiting for the Gardai to arrive the guy asked the driver why he was so jumpy. The guy said it was only his first day driving a taxi; for the previous 20 years he had been driving a hearse, where he didn't have much interaction with his passengers!

A bit of an update. Insurance is way too high, €2800-€3000. F that:( Told them it was going to be used as a van as well but no luck, anyway...

off topic but one of the lads in the house were I live replaced his car horn with a truck horn. absolutely comical:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

A bit of an update. Insurance is way too high, €2800-€3000. F that:( Told them it was going to be used as a van as well but no luck, anyway...

off topic but one of the lads in the house were I live replaced his car horn with a truck horn. absolutely comical:D

Friend of mine from Brazil told me that they have truck horns on their pedal bikes LOL!

Ha thats what Im going to have to do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

when i got insured on my first car at 21 it cost me €3200 on a 10 year old audi A4 1.9tdi, id expect u would be paying around that aswell

edit: didnt see the OP's update

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭BJC

You have to look at commercial insurance only, other than that you're under 25 with a prov. license looking to be insured on a 2.5l car. My guesstimation is about 3,800 - 4,500 if you don't get commercial.