Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying guy on TTV...

• 05-03-2009 5:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭

Anyone else despise this fella?! I have to endure the idiot before watching simpsons and he does my head in:mad:

Apparantly RTE are gonna cut costs and I hope hes the first to go!

Aidan Power did a good job before tho, dunno why he left...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭paddyb125

Even though the only time I have to listen to him is before I watch the simpsons I still think he's a tool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

I find making use of the "mute" function on the remote helps immensley. He's nice to look at but horribe to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

He just spouted the urban legend that daddy long legs have poison but no means to bite people with...its complete bull**** and shows what an idiot he is!:mad:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crane_fly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Liam McCormack is the guys name I think and he really is a massive tosser. He does a lot of the voice over work for promos as well, you get the sense he's in love with his own voice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Leaderbored

A broadcaster from the Rick O Shea school of :
    speakingveryquickly puttinggapsin thewrong places, draggingoutwords aaaaaand inflecting ironically at.the.end.of.his.sentences.

He's responsible for the most terrible promos Rté have made in the last year.

Highlights include the "ironically" voiced "this is nightlive" promo, the shouty "Film on 2" promo, and the downright embarrassing "scouser" promo for Jason Macateer's appearance on Anonymous, which is currently running.

I've posted in the past about hearing his bloody annoying voice 4 times in one ad break one night. I don't think it's because of his talent, I think it's because he's cheap.

Shh him Rté. Please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

A broadcaster from the Rick O Shea school of :
    speakingveryquickly puttinggapsin thewrong places, draggingoutwords aaaaaand inflecting ironically at.the.end.of.his.sentences.

He's responsible for the most terrible promos Rté have made in the last year.

Highlights include the "ironically" voiced "this is nightlive" promo, the shouty "Film on 2" promo, and the downright embarrassing "scouser" promo for Jason Macateer's appearance on Anonymous, which is currently running.

I've posted in the past about hearing his bloody annoying voice 4 times in one ad break one night. I don't think it's because of his talent, I think it's because he's cheap.

Shh him Rté. Please.

I couldn't have put it better myself. My gawd, will they ever replace him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭coffey-16

Anyone else despise this fella?! I have to endure the idiot before watching simpsons and he does my head in:mad:

Apparantly RTE are gonna cut costs and I hope hes the first to go!

Aidan Power did a good job before tho, dunno why he left...

Aidan Power was too good for us....

Hes moved to bigger and better things:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭An tSaoi

kerry4sam wrote: »
    I couldn't have put it better myself. My gawd, will they ever replace him!

He's the Irish equivalent of that guy that Channel 4 always use. Not the Big Brother guy mind you, I mean the T4 ironic voice-over guy with the exagerrated accent and mannerisms. You know, the one who advises you to switch your "telly box" over to E4 for all the latest whatever. He uses deliberatley anachronistic phrases. I think he may even have shown up on screen in some promo with an old 70's porn 'tache. God he irritetes me.

They both do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭Disease Ridden

Aye, that chap smacks of the ghey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 fiesta09

completely agreed, when he is interviewing someone is too bust trying to hear the sound of his own voice then letting someone speak.its meant to be a show for young people and all it is showing them bad manners in presenting, this positions should strongly be reviewed by RTE.
    Emma that presents with Socky is also extremely annoying but at lesast she has manners when talking to people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

whatever about the presenter of ttv, the guy that really grinds my gears is his guest that comes on once a week updating us on bands/gigs around the country. hes got a northern accent, presuming belfast.
    he speaks way too fast, and speaks too loud, id love to tell him that he has a mike so theres no flippin need to shout like!
    and he thinks hes funny..he isnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

I really really cannot stand this guy either. He comes across as so utterly arrogant and, ugh, just an absolute tosser. I mute the TV or switch the channel whenever he's on. Don't know why RTE can't see how downright awful he is. Plus he's crap.

im doing my first marathon this year, can anyone reccommend the best brand of trainers to get, im using nike but finding them very heavy, would i be better with aiscs or adidias, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

fiesta09 wrote: »
    im doing my first marathon this year, can anyone reccommend the best brand of trainers to get, im using nike but finding them very heavy, would i be better with aiscs or adidias, thanks

Aiscs rock, but you might have a better response posting on the marathon forum:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Guess what? And this may spoil things for everyone hence the spoiler tags but AFAIK
    He happen's to be head of RTÉ's Young People's Department

Brilliant, that is brilliant. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Be innovative. Make your own and sell them to Dragon's Den! Ha, HA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

Without getting the TTV reference I assumed it was this guy we were talking about, and lo and behold, it is!

Knob jockey!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Eddie_1980

Does anyone remember when he grew that huge handlebar moustache last year?

What a twit!

Eddie_1980 wrote: »
    Does anyone remember when he grew that huge handlebar moustache last year?

What a twit!

That was for charity. Movember, for men's health.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Eddie_1980

Elmo wrote: »
    That was for charity. Movember, for men's health.

I know. Good on him for doing it, but it was revolting to look at. I'd switch and then put RTE 2 back on once Home And Away started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭2fivers

I don't like him because I find his annoying speech patterns grating, his attitude brusque and condescending and his general "too cool for this" attitude to be terribly annoying. (It's Rte kids telly, for god's sake. Ryan Seacrest & Carson Daly are not crapping themselves. The only people who know who you are are people waiting for you to shut up so the Simpsons can start. )

However, I must say that I think his facial hair matters little to his presentation abilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭UnderpantsGnome

I also dislike the voice of the woman who comes on to do "Showbiz Gossip" on (I think) Tuesdays. Can't stand her accent. She seems nice enough though.

The Simpsons tends to start at 18:06/18:07 instead of the scheduled 18:00.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

I want to punch him in his 'crap lousy face'.

haha cheers, thought i had it posted as a new thread, then i saw it going under annoying ttv guy, new to boards...you prob guessed that! how do i start a new thread??? do i just pick a topic and take it from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

So on TTV you have the following

The main gimp i.e. the guy being discussed ^
    That Sarah something? Shes fricking hot,hate the accent though!
    That gay guy that talks random ****e about celebrities!
    The scrawny Donegal that does sport,yawn.
    And last but not least the old guy with the goatee that does film reviews(waay too old for TTV,to be honest!)

Not a great selection really

I say bring back Aiden and that Jackie one for sport! And get rid of the rest of em'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

Guess what? And this may spoil things for everyone hence the spoiler tags but AFAIK

LOL - not even close to being true.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 irelandtvreview

No Hes not elmo, i know the guy.

That was how Tuberity introduced him on one of his radio show :eek: lies. Lies.

No Hes not elmo, i know the guy.

Please let him know he is over exposed on RTÉ TWO, and to cut down on the number of voiceovers he is doing.

Hell yes. Please do.

On a related note, there also seems to be little communication between the people in Rte who handle programme sponsorship and the people who inflict these awful Liam McCormack voiced promos upon us -

The latest opus to feature his voice is a vaguely sexist little parable about how a "silly woman" missed the latest CSI because she went shopping, and as a result, is now clueless about forensic evidence.

The moral of the tale turns out to be - Dont go to the shops to buy provisions, stay in and watch Rte instead.

So far, so insulting to the intelligence, however the final amusing twist is that this season, CSI on Rté is sponsored by....... Costcutters supermarkets.

Im sure they're thrilled that Rte are taking their cash, then telling people not to go to the shops. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 constipatinator

I like him as a presenter. He's funny and has a laugh with his guests/co=presenters. How can all of you be so annoyed at a person who is on for a few minutes every half hour or so? Calm down lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Leaderbored

How can all of you be so annoyed at a person who is on for a few minutes every half hour or so? Calm down lol.

1. Because he's very annoying
    2. Because it's not just the fact that he does the whole "I'm too cool" vocal tic thing between programmes for a few minutes every half hour or so that annoys people, it's the fact that thanks to voice over thriftiness at Montrose, his grating tones are completely inescapable if you're an Rté viewer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I also find him to be quite sexist. He often talks about women in derogatory ways and pigenoholes men into this macho steretype. Not good for the youth that are watching.
    They have one token female on the programme who is some Irish model and he just focuses on how hot she is.

I find him quite disgusting to watch and usually change the channel between home and Away and The Simpsons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

panda100 wrote: »
    I also find him to be quite sexist. He often talks about women in derogatory ways and pigenoholes men into this macho steretype. Not good for the youth that are watching.
    They have one token female on the programme who is some Irish model and he just focuses on how hot she is.

I find him quite disgusting to watch and usually change the channel between home and Away and The Simpsons.

God, you seem like a great laugh.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

panda100 wrote: »

Talk to Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

I like him as a presenter. He's funny and has a laugh with his guests/co=presenters. How can all of you be so annoyed at a person who is on for a few minutes every half hour or so? Calm down lol.

You're him arent you?! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Bondvillain

2fivers wrote: »
    On a related note, there also seems to be little communication between the people in Rte who handle programme sponsorship and the people who inflict these awful Liam McCormack voiced promos upon us -

The latest opus to feature his voice is a vaguely sexist little parable about how a "silly woman" missed the latest CSI because she went shopping, and as a result, is now clueless about forensic evidence.

The moral of the tale turns out to be - Dont go to the shops to buy provisions, stay in and watch Rte instead.

So far, so insulting to the intelligence, however the final amusing twist is that this season, CSI on Rté is sponsored by....... Costcutters supermarkets.

I Noticed that the other night. Not only is the voice over delivered in the usual condescending hipster tone, but the advertisement itself is bloody stupid.

Wonder if Costcutters have seen it? :cool:

I Noticed that the other night. Not only is the voice over delivered in the usual condescending hipster tone, but the advertisement itself is bloody stupid.

Wonder if Costcutters have seen it? :cool:

I'd say they produced it by the looks of it. Its cheap and ****e. LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Flyguyfly

I personally think that TTV has totally lost it's magic. I used to always watch it when Aidan was on. I only sceamed out loud when that annoying hag Molly was on. Did she ever let anyone finish a sentence?

I much preferred the other people they had on each day. I miss the girl who did the movies, the sexy sports guy with the braces and that cool music guy who totally disappeared. At least he was smart and funny.

The new crowd are hopeless. There is a clear feeling that the producers want to go with a T4 vibe and have tried to be cool but unfortunately unless your guests are naturally funny, it lookslike it's trying too hard. I have a feeling the producers are trying desperately to be too cool for school and obviously they think Liam and co are cool. Newsflash! They're not!

TTV NEEDS A FACELIFT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 wolfgang123

He's in this. It's quite funny

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBUcddKh5sY

I guess "funny" is subjective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I didn't know so many other people hate him too. he wrecks my head.

And WTF was up with the whole Paul Blart Mall Cop thing on TTV the other day,where he raced greyhounds?? It made my eyes bleed.

Cut TTV in my opinion.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

What is the average age of the posters in this thread? I don't like the git either but then I'm in my 30's so I'm not in the age bracket that he is targeting which is fair enough. (I only lash it on to watch old (ie. GOOD) Simpsons) However, talking to my nephew who is 16 I asked him his opinion. I thought it reeked of Poochy TV (Y'know, "Funky" yoof camera angles, people too old spouting slightly dated slang etc) and he finished my sentence, agreed completely.

So the thing I want to know is what his target market thinks about him?

What is the average age of the posters in this thread? I don't like the git either but then I'm in my 30's so I'm not in the age bracket that he is targeting which is fair enough. (I only lash it on to watch old (ie. GOOD) Simpsons) However, talking to my nephew who is 16 I asked him his opinion. I thought it reeked of Poochy TV (Y'know, "Funky" yoof camera angles, people too old spouting slightly dated slang etc) and he finished my sentence, agreed completely.

So the thing I want to know is what his target market thinks about him?

Himself or the Girls from Expose :) They worship him.

Both shows suffer from "we are so Fing cooling like omg"!

RTÉ/TV3 don't understand the meaning of not talking down to their audience.

If you are enjoying your job as a presenter it should show e.g. T4 presenters or even when Ray D'Arcy presented The Den.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Himself or the Girls from Expose :) They worship him.

Both shows suffer from "we are so Fing cooling like omg"!

RTÉ/TV3 don't understand the meaning of not talking down to their audience.

If you are enjoying your job as a presenter it should show e.g. T4 presenters or even when Ray D'Arcy presented The Den.

Oh thank GOD I only caught about 3 mins of that expose thing. I wanted to claw my ears off listening to them and promptly switched the box off. Is there ANYTHING as embarassing as seeing people who are too old trying to be down with the "Yoof" of today. And as an auld fecker I speak about myself too. I'm thinking here of that Westwood guy from Pimp my ride UK. Too old, too english and to white to be trying xibit speak :)

No, I was just wondering what the 12-15 year bracket thinks about the ttv show/presenter (I'm assuming that's the target demographic)

From what I remember of being that age, I always found it wrong do try to be yoof cool.

C4s Priory with Zoey Ball, the viewers are viewers no matter the demographic.

Do not treat your audience as yoof or oldies

Daytime on 3 => "For the old people"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Whos the blonde that comes on it sometimes, total skanger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

BolBill wrote: »
    Whos the blonde that comes on it sometimes, total skanger.

Cant stand the sight and sound for her. She was a Miss Ireland winner apparently, so I can only assume it was the year they experimented with blind and deaf judges!