Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

--amadeus-- you my friend are in the well

• 05-03-2009 4:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭

As one of the gentlemen amongst us I am placing you in the well rather than lobbing you in :) As someone who has set a new pb in every Marathon he has ran I am sure you could only have done so by learning about yourself and adapting your approach each time. One of those men who listens... hmmm

So posse, he is gunning for sub 3, Mods with aplomb and drives a classic yellow sports car.... its --amadeus-- :D

If you could only have one, pick running or martial arts?
    What is the next likely goal once sub 3 is ticked off?
    Who do you admire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Hi Amadeus,

Do you find MA helps your discipline with your running? What type do you train in?

Is there a race in the back of your mind that you really want to do over the next few years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

You said that you're very first Marathon in Dublin, was one of the hardest you have ran. If you were in the same position again all those years ago, what additional piece of training would you have incorporated into your schedule?

Also

What's the average air speed of an unladen swallow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Do you have a long term goal outside of breaking 3 e.g. if you break 3 where will you go from there? do you have a long term barrier or would you eventually move up to ultras?

Your obviously doing more training now than you did for your first marathon but do you find it harder or easier now to stick to your training program?

In general do you find the training harder or easier than when you did your first marathon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Oh boy...**rubs hands**

You'll knock off the sub 3 in a month, so what other pb would you like in 2009?

Any regrets in ascending to the mod level?

There's a Strawberry Shortcake/Ben 10 convention in Limerick that clashes with your last LSR before Rotterdam. What gives?

21 miles into Rotterdam, legs are hurting, your mind starts to calculate pace for a 3:05 finish: to which buttcheek (right or left) would you like my my size 12 Brooks Adrenaline's to impact?

24 miles into a marathon, you pass a training buddy who you've never beat before. He's suffering bad from cramps, do you offer encouragement and help him get running again, or sneak by unnoticed on the outside, finishing the rest of the race with a look of glee? (Not that I've ever done that myself, purely hypothetical:D)

Ever wake up in a Dutch port town very hungover, but very, very, happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

forgive my ignorance of Matial Arts..
    But do you ever say
    "don`t kick me i`m doin 18 miles in the mornin!" ?? :D:D
    Whats the strangest thing you`ve seen while out on a run?
    Whats your maths like at 20 miles?
    How much do you have to knock off for a sub 3?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

MCOS wrote: »
    As one of the gentlemen amongst us I am placing you in the well rather than lobbing you in :) As someone who has set a new pb in every Marathon he has ran I am sure you could only have done so by learning about yourself and adapting your approach each time. One of those men who listens... hmmm

A thread about me? just me and no one but? I get to talk about myslef and how fab I am and you all listen?? Oh boy oh boy oh boy :D

And I'm not sure herself would agree on the bit in bold, but anyway, enough about me, lets talk about me...
    If you could only have one, pick running or martial arts?

I do them for different reasons. The kids do MA so I took it up to give a bit of support and to encourage Mrs A who joined at the same time. The particular class I do though there is a bit of machismo and herself dropped out. I do enjoy it a lot and get a lot of benifit from it but I always consider it cross training - great for flexibility, strength, explosive power. But if I have to do MA or a run I always do the run and I do scale back a bit in the weeks before a race. So it would be running (and I hope they never see this cos they would beat the head off me for saying that!)

What is the next likely goal once sub 3 is ticked off?

[Rampant ego alert] It depends how far under 3 I go. I tend to work in 15 minute chunks, so after I ran 3:44 I targeted a 3:30. Sub 3 may happen in Rotterdam or it may not - that we'll see on teh day - but I am pretty sure it'll happen this year. And after that it'll be a 2:45 target as the ultimate goal but possibly broken over a few races (so first 2:55, then 2:50, etc)

Who do you admire?

Ahhh now I'll go all schmaltzy....

Most of teh people on here actually. The likes of you, DP and Woddle for your enthusiasm, optimism and commitment. RF, Stupid Private, Tingle, Enduro for thier natural talent. HM for being the single most determined person I have ever met, overcoming some pretty hefty challenges and still being a dam nice person. And all the people who go out and run even though it's not easy - the 6 hour marathon guys, the ones who dream of a sub 60 minute 10k or even of being able to run a mile without stopping. As someone who quits hobbies if I get the feeling I won't be among the best that kind of guts really impresses me.

Odysseus wrote: »
    Hi Amadeus,

Do you find MA helps your discipline with your running? What type do you train in?

Is there a race in the back of your mind that you really want to do over the next few years?

I train in Tang Soo Do which is a form of Korean Karate / Taekwondo. I don't know about helping with discipline but I do think it helps for all the reasons above. On a kind of mental level I don't think it hurts either. You learn to focus, learn patience that kind of thing. It's also a good way of getting a double training day in without really thinking of it as a double day.

It might be easier to list the races I don't want to do! The Addo Elephant Run. The MdS. Polar Marathon, Everest Marathon, Medoc, The Sahara Marathon, The Gobi Desert run are all targets and that's just off the top of my head!

They'll all have to wait till I've finished chasing times though.

Roddy23 wrote: »
    You said that you're very first Marathon in Dublin, was one of the hardest you have ran. If you were in the same position again all those years ago, what additional piece of training would you have incorporated into your schedule?

I stand over that - I've run faster since but I've never worked harder or put in greater effort.

But in classical TV Movie style lets have a flashback~~~

It's 2005 and a slightly younger but still dashingly handsome Amadeus is sitting at a PC pondering life's inpoderables. Everyone else is in bed and he is on the internet (stop it you filthy minded heathens!). Now young Amadeus has always fancied himself as being a cut above, fitness wise. It's late June and he's been maintaining his fitness by running.

In fact from January he has run exactly 7 times, each one a 3 miler and averaging between 9 and 9:30 per mile. Man is he in good shape.

So he googles and for various personal reasons he enters the Dublin Marathon online. He is sent a marathon training plan and jumps in at whatever week it was (12 - 14 weeks out or whatever it was). The first couple of runs are easy enough but that Friday his first ever LSR was a 12 miler that took 2:16 to complete and almost killed him!

He toed the line in Dublin with everything predicting a 4:25 finish but at the last minute switched to a sub 4 target. I'm sure you can guess what happened! 4:23 finish time in the end...

So what would I add to my plan? Patience and realism. Patience to not leap blindly into a marathon plan but to build into it. Realism that if everything says Target a then to go target a - 30 mins isn't brave, it's stupid!

Roddy23 wrote: »
    What's the average air speed of an unladen swallow?

Ahhh the classic question!

Assuming you mean teh European Swallow? My figures estimate 10 m/sec. Based on the published formula from Graham K. Taylor et al. which shows that as a rule of thumb, the speed of a flying animal is roughly 3 times frequency times amplitude (U ≈ 3fA).

So:

U ≈ 3fA
    f ≈ 15 (beats per second)*
    A ≈ 0.22 (meters per beat)*
    U ≈ 3*15*0.22 ≈ 9.9

... to estimate that the airspeed velocity of an unladen European Swallow is 10 meters per second.

*In the interests of brevity trust me on these numbers ;)

Babybing wrote: »
    Your obviously doing more training now than you did for your first marathon but do you find it harder or easier now to stick to your training program?

Much the same - I am the worlds most unmotivated runner - I am notorious for skipping training and I pretty much never complete every session in any given weeks training :o
    In general do you find the training harder or easier than when you did your first marathon?

No contest - far, far easier. Over time your body gets used to the demands - I ran an 18 mile "predator" run last week. 6 miles @ 7:30ish, 6 miles @ 7:15ish and 6 miles between 6:50 and 7:00. Average speed was 7:17/mile (I think). I was in significantly better condition after that than after the 12 miler I talked about before. I know new runners might not believe it but you'll be amazed at the progress you can make if you stick with it. I mean if I can go from 12 miles at an average of 11:20+ to 18 at 7:17 then - tbh - anyone can.

Oh boy...**rubs hands**

You'll knock off the sub 3 in a month, so what other pb would you like in 2009?

I haven't met DP yet but (for all you 80s throwbacks) here is who he reminds me of:

mr_motivator.jpg

(Mr Motivator from morning TV :D)

Anyway I will knock off sub 3 this year and to avoid an argument we'll assume that is in Rotterdam. Beyond that I haven't really thought. I don't race often so my PBs are a bit out of kilter - I've run one 5k in 20:3x and a 10 miler in 67:xx so they need puling into line (I've beaten the 10 time in training since, for example). My proper 10k PB is also badly out of line in 42:xx. So going sub 40 in 10k (and beating MCOS's time!) would be one, maybe do a half. Marathons are the big thing though so 2 more PBs this year and a time that starts with a 2 would do me nicely.

Any regrets in ascending to the mod level?

Not sure it's an ascension! The coke and hookers are virtual, which was a bitter disappointment :mad:

I am actually really proud of this forum - we have a pretty big readership in the context of Irish running and we (along with the excellent RunIreland) are one of the 1st places people here look to for running advice and opinions. I'm not sure how much credit myself, HM and Tingle can take for that though - the strength of here is the community.

I do find that I am more serious and straight laced in my posting now than I was before, I banter less. I also bite my tounge more, rather than wading in to controversial stuff with all guns blazing I try to get everyone to see some middle ground. But lets be honest this place is easy to Mod - I've never banned anyone, for example. The one thing that did annoy me was when we were recently threatened with legal action by a jumped up self important moron. They were going to sue HM and myself for some things that were posted on here. It didn't bother me but it upset HM and that annoyed me a great deal (please don't speculate on who that was btw!)
    There's a Strawberry Shortcake/Ben 10 convention in Limerick that clashes with your last LSR before Rotterdam. What gives?

Tragically I won't be able to make Rotterdam, pressing other engagement...!
    21 miles into Rotterdam, legs are hurting, your mind starts to calculate pace for a 3:05 finish: to which buttcheek (right or left) would you like my my size 12 Brooks Adrenaline's to impact?

:eek: The Sasquatch runs among us! I mean, size 12??
    24 miles into a marathon, you pass a training buddy who you've never beat before. He's suffering bad from cramps, do you offer encouragement and help him get running again, or sneak by unnoticed on the outside, finishing the rest of the race with a look of glee? (Not that I've ever done that myself, purely hypothetical:D)

I always try and encourage runners in the last few miles who are suffering but it's a fine line between being a cheerleader and being a condacending twat. In a situation like that it would depend on how well I was running - if I was on for a PB then I think I'd yell something to them but I wouldn't stop :o
    Ever wake up in a Dutch port town very hungover, but very, very, happy?

I was in Amsterdam with teh boys and teh morning after that visit to teh Banana Bar (man that was an eyeopener!) I was very hungover but fairly happy till I looked over the balcony and saw my roommate wearing nothing but boxers and with his budda belly spilling onto his lap as he had his early morning cigarette. Good feelings drained away pretty dam quick!

Magnet wrote: »
    forgive my ignorance of Matial Arts..
    But do you ever say
    "don`t kick me i`m doin 18 miles in the mornin!" ?? :D:D

Nope, because that would guarantee a wallop or two!

The Master used to run marathons (in fact he ran Boston) so he knows the score and I normally tell him when I have a marathon coming up and I have the nod to sit out anything where I might pick up a knock, sparring being the obvious one. i also tend to skip the last class or two prior to a marathon just in case I catch a pad badly or whatever. I have had to skip runs because of knocks and bangs but generally it's all ok.
    Whats the strangest thing you`ve seen while out on a run?

Probably the two ladies in teh Paris marathon who went to the top of a tall grass bank and - in full view of the thousands of runners - dropped thier pants and peed. Why the top of teh bank? Why not go over teh other side???
    Whats your maths like at 20 miles?
    Much the same as my maths when not running - pretty diabolical! My mates joke that I count "1,2,3,lots" and that's not far from the truth...
    How much do you have to knock off for a sub 3?

11 and a bit - I ran Dublin in 3:11:xx so it's a pretty big chunk. But I went from 3:25 in Berlin 07 to 3:15 in Rotterdam 08 so it can be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

mr_motivator.jpg

So going sub 40 in 10k (and beating MCOS's time!) would be one,

You doing plassey? And ahem.. my Marathon is 3'27, you are in sub 3 shape... so no less than handing me my ass in a 10k from your sir :P I'll try not to make it too easy for you though! LOL

mr_motivator.jpgI mean if I can go from 12 miles at an average of 11:20+ to 18 at 7:17 then - tbh - anyone can.

QFT, 100% agree.. you just need to believe in yourself. The body has an amazing capacity to adapt to new challenges :)

You doing plassey? And ahem.. my Marathon is 3'27, you are in sub 3 shape... so no less than handing me my ass in a 10k from your sir :P I'll try not to make it too easy for you though! LOL

QFT, 100% agree.. you just need to believe in yourself. The body has an amazing capacity to adapt to new challenges :)

Wow, you *really* like that Mr Motivator pic - I may need to have a quiet word with your better half!

I will do Plassey - I can't find any alternatives. You doing it?

*mystical, far away look in eyes*

People want rapid results and rapid progress. Initial progress can be quite quick but after that it gets harder and harder to make improvements. Weeks and months and years of consistent training will ring anyone (no matter who they are) to a respectable level, IMO. The question comes back to if people are willing to put in that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Plassey? As sure as this cap is pink I am :D

Motivator.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Hi Amadeus,
    Very impressive improvements that you have shown. Fair play to you.

What level are you at in Tang Soo Do. Do you compete (sparring or kata/forms)? How are your kids getting on with the MA? Do any of the kids run? Is your progression in Tang Soo Do as impressive as that on the road?

Much the same - I am the worlds most unmotivated runner - I am notorious for skipping training and I pretty much never complete every session in any given weeks training :o

Given the improvements you have made (very impressive!) do you ever wonder if you have a talent for the sport and what you could achieve if you were really motivated and dedicated much more of yourself to it?

Also you never answered my other Q (not saying it was intentional;)) "Do you have a long term goal outside of breaking 3 e.g. if you break 3 where will you go from there? do you have a long term barrier or would you eventually move up to ultras? "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Can I skip all the blurb about how inspirational you are, great improvements, wonderful motivator and the level head of boards blah blah blah and launch straight into the questions?

Do you ever wonder, what would have happened to your talent if you had spent less time in the Warwick and more in Dangan?*

If one of your kids turns out to be a handy runner, gets offered a scholarship to a good US college but will have no room for social life after study and training, would you let them take it? (assuming you get any say by that stage)

What is your best veggie recipe? (and when are you having us all around to taste it?)

What's your take on the idea that we all have 10 years of improvement (or 10000 miles) when we take up running before the effects of age start to outweigh the gains from improved conditioning?

What are your top 5 pieces of kit?

If you were to choose playlists for Odysseus, Zuppylurk and I for the desert jaunt, what would you select? Ditto movies for our ipods.

How would you describe your accent?

*NUIG/UCG nigthclub which A frequented, UCG playing fields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

Paula Radcliffe has pulled out of the London Marathon with a broken toe. She is 35 years old. Do you think she will win the next Olympic Marathon?

Do you have a hero in athletics?

If not do you have one in any other sport?

pgibbo wrote: »
    Hi Amadeus,
    Very impressive improvements that you have shown. Fair play to you.

What level are you at in Tang Soo Do. Do you compete (sparring or kata/forms)? How are your kids getting on with the MA? Do any of the kids run? Is your progression in Tang Soo Do as impressive as that on the road?

I'm pretty much brand new to TSD, only been training for about a year. I'm currently Yellow but hope / expect to grade to Purple this month. That said I train with teh advanced class so know all the kata through to Green and most of the one steps. But teh Master of teh Dojo is quite traditional - you need to have regular attendance over a set period or you don't go forward for grading no matter how well you know your stuff. Which is frustrating but I understand. Don't compete yet but expect to in a year or so.

Kids getting on well - eldest is Purple and the youngest has only just started to go (it used to clash with ballet!), they are 5 & 7 & get a real kick out of it - at this stage it's just fun.

Neither child runs although the eldest has walked a 10k and the youngest has done teh last 3 Limerick mini marathons (with progressively less time on my shoulders each time ;) ) If they show an interest great but I won't push it.

And my progress in TSD is not at all impressive - my spinning and jump kicks score very low on the grace-o-meter!

Given the improvements you have made (very impressive!) do you ever wonder if you have a talent for the sport and what you could achieve if you were really motivated and dedicated much more of yourself to it?

I have no illusions about my talent! I have good bio-mechanics. I am naturally light and I seem to have a decent CV system. Add them up and you have the basis for someone who will be able to train without an undue risk of injury and gain good benefit from that training. But thats not the same as talent, the "X" factor. I've been left standing by runners who have it and no amount of training will ever give it to me. So no, I don't wonder about that.
    Also you never answered my other Q (not saying it was intentional;)) "Do you have a long term goal outside of breaking 3 e.g. if you break 3 where will you go from there? do you have a long term barrier or would you eventually move up to ultras? "

Sorry, it's old age :o

I don't have a specific time target in mind. I plan to keep running marathons until I plateau or go backwards (I know the first time i try and fail to set a PB I'll be devastated!). At what time & speed that will happen I have no idea - it could be now, it could be in a dozen races.

Once I slow down I'll move up the distances and into Adventure races. You never know I might even learn to swim so that I can show HM how to really do an IM :D

Can I skip all the blurb about how inspirational you are, great improvements, wonderful motivator and the level head of boards blah blah blah and launch straight into the questions?

You forgot the bit about devastatingly handsome, irresistable to women, etc... :D
    Do you ever wonder, what would have happened to your talent if you had spent less time in the Warwick and more in Dangan?*

There was far more talent in the Warwick than there was in Dangan!

But - no, not really. UCG was all about a naive and wide eyed Donegal boy becoming a slightly less naive and slightly less wide eyed Donegal man. The closest I got to sport was breaking into Terryland park so we could have a kickabout. And like I said I don't think of myself as a vast and undiscovered athletic talent so I'm sure UCG Athletics Club survived teh loss. Besides, I did a bit of boxing in school so if I had done anything it would have been that.
    If one of your kids turns out to be a handy runner, gets offered a scholarship to a good US college but will have no room for social life after study and training, would you let them take it? (assuming you get any say by that stage)

They don't listen to me now - why will they listen then?? The kids already have careers picked out (honest) - the eldest wants to be a barrister and the youngest is going to be "The Boss Surgeon"! They are both quite sharp academically (proud parent or hat) so they'll probably have to pay a bit more attention at college than I ever did but I would still encourage them to go out and live a bit, Uni should be about life learning not just academic learning, IMO.
    What is your best veggie recipe? (and when are you having us all around to taste it?)

I make a mean veggie casserole :) Chick peas, quorn pieces, soup mix, leek, carrot, onion and whatever else takes your fancy. Boil up loads of spuds and teh vegs. Fry teh onions and leek, add water and teh soup mix, cooked veg (try and use teh water the veg was boiled in to catch the water soluble vits). Add mexican spice mix, veggie worcester sauce, hot sauce (I use Jamaican hot pepper sauce but any will do). Then a few dollops of brown sauce and veggie gravy to thicken. Bung the 3/4 boiled spuds on top, put into a casserole dish, cover and bake on a low heat for as long as you can (add water as needed to stop it drying out). Brilliant low fat winter warmer food :) And it's mine and NOT for sharing!
    What's your take on the idea that we all have 10 years of improvement (or 10000 miles) when we take up running before the effects of age start to outweigh the gains from improved conditioning?

Never heard 10 years before - 3 or 4 yes but never 10. I think that it depends, tbh. There is a point of diminishing returns and you need to always be improving your training (quality and volume) to make improvements. I can't see the average person being able to maintain that sort of step up for that long. That said I've been running for 4 years and haven't peaked yet, I think you've been going for a few more and haven't so there may be something to it.
    What are your top 5 pieces of kit?

Despite being a geeky nerd I'm not *that* into fancy kit, honest!

I can't run without the latest Asics 21xx series runners. Started out with 2110's and am now on 2140s and they are consistently excellent. Garmin Forerunner 305 made a huge difference because of the ability to accurately track speed and distance, especially for speed sessions. Beyond that I don't really have anything - I often run in cotton t-shirts, I have three pairs of shorts but only 2 are "proper" running shorts. I only have 1 pair of technical socks - the rest are those white cotton "5 for a fiver" sports socks. So for kit, I'm not your man :(
    If you were to choose playlists for Odysseus, Zuppylurk and I for the desert jaunt, what would you select? Ditto movies for our ipods.

Thats serious and needs serious thought, I'll get back to you :)
    How would you describe your accent?

The same as the rest of me - either "distinctive, exotic and intoxicating" or "mongrolized, common and downright cheap"!

cfitz wrote: »
    Paula Radcliffe has pulled out of the London Marathon with a broken toe. She is 35 years old. Do you think she will win the next Olympic Marathon?

Never bet against her but no. Age is less of an issue at the marathon than at shorter distances but she has already been the dominant force in womens marathoning for what now; 8-10 years? I can't see her maintaining that dominance for another 4. Sonya says in her biography once the pack sense weakness you're sunk. And while myself and PR have as much in common as the lads having a Sunday kick about have in common with Stevie Gerrard I do think that self confidence is important and she won't maintain her winning streak until 2012. But then, home crowd...

Do you have a hero in athletics?

If not do you have one in any other sport?

Got to be Haile. Amazing athlete and amazing man. Emil Zapotek.

Outside athletics - Ali, Kenny Dalglish. Bob Paisley, Bill Shankley. Barry McGuigan. Michael Schumacher.

Can't think of many current people - maybe Valentino Rossi, def Jamie Carragher, possibly Torres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

I haven't met DP yet but (for all you 80s throwbacks) here is who he reminds me of:

mr_motivator.jpg

(Mr Motivator from morning TV :D)

Ha! Thats great, I love that guy. Although when god was doling out the solemn and puritan white gene, he gave me plenty extra, but I'll admit its a fantasy of mine to dress up in a tight leotard and shake my bits in front of millions of sweaty women. Hup! :D