Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it supposed to do that?

• 05-03-2009 3:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Ok.
    I've got a few problems here
    My girlfriend and I were talking.
    Surprisingly that is not the problem. :)
    She said something that made me wince.

It seems that,
    the foreskin is supposed to pull right back and expose the head, and this is
    supposed to be an important part of the whole sex process. Well, I winced because whenever the foreskin gets pulled back, its mega uncomfortable, I always thought its not supposed to do that. Shows you how repressed I am right. Is this true what she say? I'm kind of worried about it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Yea it is. I didnt realise this was the case myself till I was about 18/19. The foreskin should retract all the way back to expose the head. If it hurts when you try this it may be a case of a tight foreskin or phimoses (tight banjo string). I had a tight foreskin but through gentle stretching over time I am now able to pull it back without much pain and the first time I had sex my banj string snapped....it wasnt pleaseant! You may need an operation if this is the case for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Yep.

It seems lots of men, including myself have issues to varying degrees with foreskin and frenulum tightness. In my case, I can work around it but only with patience and some encouragement. For others, circumcision and other procedures are required. Read back along. There have been other threads recently...

I have had the same issue, but through pulling down it has eased up.

My problem is that when my penis under the foreskin rubs off anything its very uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

As a victim of baby mutilation I dont envy any of you :pac:

OP theres a wikipedia article, with diagrams (its either foreskin or circumcision) that should answer your questions. nsfw.

The foreskin protects the sensitive nerves of the glans (penis) so when retracted it is very receptive to touch - often too receptive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Mine doesn't go back by itself, but goes back quite easy and without pain. Bitta humpin and bumpin and all is as it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

lube it up, vasiline rocks, softens it make it a little plyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Be warned, vaseline is petrolium based and will dissolve plactics, plastics like latex for example...
    I only know because my airsoft guns are plastic
    >_>
    <_<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Loxosceles

You guys need to a) pull back to wash daily and b) masturbate more often. Like on a daily basis. Stretch that sucker. Because if you were raised to redirect those urges due to 'sin' (lol) and only end up doing it once every few weeks becasue you can't stand the pressure and have blueballs, and then don't get jiggy with the full-on up and down action, you won't have a suitably stretched foreskin. Fact.

Because the real risk is in having sex with your gf and you have cheese under it which, regardless of your sexual activity will always carry yeast, (and if you have any other partners it will carry everything). And no matter how devoted your gf is, giving her repeated yeast infections due to cheese particles under your sock will definitely p!ss her off eventually, especially since you'll be thinking the yeast infections are just an excuse not to shag. And then things will get septic when she thinks sex causes yeast infections and stops shagging full on, when the real culprit is bread dough smegma giving her an itch from hell.

Be nice to your woman. **** as often as you can and if she catches you, tell her why. It's better than Billy Connolly's spiders excuse and more practical.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Pretty spot on stuff from Loxosceles, esp about the regular "stretching". Hardly a trial for most men. ;) I would disagree about the always having yeast involved though. Unless you have a Candidiasis condition(thrush)and have been exposed to same that's not the case.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

your foreskin should be elastic enough to completely retract and expose the head of your penis without causing pain. If it doesn't have the necessary elasticity you may - may - have a condition called phimosis. If you were previously able to retract your foreskin and cannot now, then this phimisos may be indicative of a more serious condition like diabetes. Your best bet is to go to a doctor and discuss it, because this can cause you more problems down the line if left untreated.

Incidentally, if you want to use masturbation to try and help yourself, make sure you do it right - masturbating by, for example, humping pillows and cushions make actually make the condition worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

This is something that sorted itself out naturally for me. Once I started having sex on a regular basis it worked out fine for me. I did have a few moments of panic a couple of times afterwards when I thought my foreskin would never return to its original position :pac: but that passed too.

Have fun, enjoy learning how to get used to the sensation but for your own sake, take it slowly! No tugging the foreskin back with all your might! :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

tbh wrote: »
    Incidentally, if you want to use masturbation to try and help yourself, make sure you do it right - masturbating by, for example, humping pillows and cushions make actually make the condition worse.
    +1. It may sound mad, but I think boys would benefit from finding out early the right way how to masturbate. It would knock a lot of these issues on the head. How to do that is the thing though. It's probably the most stretchy skin on the human body, so unless you have an underlying condition like diabetes that TBH mentioned, where the scar tissue builds up, then I would reckon most cases of phimosis would clear up naturally with time and effort.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

This has come up on here a few times and I was worried myself as I NEVER pull my foreskin back for sex and enjoy it just as much. (I do to wash it however)

Also, I talked to some of my friends and asked them and they were pretty much 50/50. i.e. half of them do pull the foreskin back and half don't. I don't. Had never even heard of it til a couple of years ago.

I don't think it's right for other people to tell you that it's unusual for you not to pull your foreskin back for sexual purposes. Do what's comfortable for you.

NO point in pulling it back for sex if you're not going to enjoy it as a result.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Pretty spot on stuff from Loxosceles, esp about the regular "stretching". Hardly a trial for most men. ;) I would disagree about the always having yeast involved though. Unless you have a Candidiasis condition(thrush)and have been exposed to same that's not the case.

Actually a known section of the US population, 13%, are natural carriers of candida yeast who do not have an infection response. This is completely independent of sexuality, and a virgin could be a naturally immune candida carrier-male or female. But, it is also sexually transmissible. This means if a woman is a natural carrier and a man is not, the man is always getting thrush, and needs to wash after every sexual contact. If a man is a natural carrier, same for a woman but since she cannot wash internally, alteration of diet and regular use of condoms is completely necessary _if_ she is susceptible to infection.

Also, if someone has already had thrush, their immune system has a degree of resistance to it which can enable natural, air-carried yeasts on the skin to fester to a certain degree without developing candidiasis.

Diet is a huuuuuge factor when it comes to candida because of diet causing overproduction of grease and sugar in sweat, for the same reason it's a huge factor in acne breakouts. The Irish diet enables a massive section of the population to carry candida, monilia and other yeasts, besides the uncircumcised majority. Because of the large amount of sugar in chocolate, carbohydrates in potatoes and most importantly the consumption of yeast-fermented alcohol on a very common basis, the Irish body naturally sweats huge amounts of sugar. Because of the agrarian A blood type most Celts carry to cope with a higher-carb lifestyle, this is usually not a problem, and resistance to candida is far higher as a result.

So if you're Irish it's likely not to be nearly as much of a problem with an Irish partner, and won't be an issue, than to someone like me who is very sensitive to carbohydrates, has a hunter-gatherer O blood type, and catches a miserable case of candida just looking at a potential sex partner here in Ireland. Which is why I'm after myself with the scrubbie and dettol after any encounter regardless of how respectable he is.

Yay candida. Ugh, lol.

kraggy wrote: »

I don't think it's right for other people to tell you that it's unusual for you not to pull your foreskin back for sexual purposes. Do what's comfortable for you.

if it's painful, there's a problem. Kinda the point of pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

We are in grave danger of going off-topic here but just to point out:

Candida albicans (the main but not sole agent responsible for 'thrush') can be transmitted by sexual contact but is NOT a sexually transmitted infection. I'm just clarifying what Lox said, that's all. :)

As has been pointed out lots of people (men and women) are natural carriers of Candida but for the vast majority this will not result in infection of another person. For some individuals it may or may not depending on a variety of factors including whether the other person has a depressed immune system, is on antibiotics, is an IV drug user, has a condition that makes them susceptible to infection, is genetically susceptible to Candida etc.

Back to foreskins I suppose :)

Wibbs wrote: »
    +1. It may sound mad, but I think boys would benefit from finding out early the right way how to masturbate. It would knock a lot of these issues on the head. How to do that is the thing though. It's probably the most stretchy skin on the human body, so unless you have an underlying condition like diabetes that TBH mentioned, where the scar tissue builds up, then I would reckon most cases of phimosis would clear up naturally with time and effort.

What that would require is boys' sex education in Ireland that focuses on encouraging the healthy function of sex organs, which completely tosses out the window the concept that masturbation is in _any_ way wrong. Sexual health includes sexual attitudes and if phimosis has a psychological cause due to self-denial, then it should be taught that that masturbation is not only a-OK, and keeps your tackle in ship shape order, but helps relieve hostility due to testosterone-related tension (that's why athletes are required to be celibate before major games), bring down statistics of sexual assault and help young men postpone relationships until they feel more comfortable and mature.

Ye same problem myself pulled it back one day and was pretty sore and den found it pretty hard 2 pull it back up also was sore pulling it back up. Also my girlfriend pulled to hard last time and was pretty sore. We havent started having sex yet were both young and inexperienced. Just wondering is it necessary for sex if i pull back my foreskin, like when masturbating i usually dont pull it back. Is it best i start practising pulling it back and if i dont will it make sex really sore. Just a lil confused really.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Back to foreskins I suppose :)

That would be appreciated :)

also, not being able to roll it back when erect is one thing, but not being able to roll it back is medically very dangerous. It can lead to penis cancer, lads. Seriously.

TBH I think "very dangerous" is scaremongering. Penile cancer is a very rare disease to start with(outside of some African populations). Yes not being able to clean smegma from under the foreskin is thought to be one risk factor, others include HPV and smoking apparently. Circumcised men although at a much lower risk, can still get penile cancer.

I would agree that not being able to keep the area hygienically clean is not good. From a personal hygiene aspect if nothing else. Not being able to retract the foreskin does dull the sensitivity a lot too. Not being able to retract the foreskin easily could lead to pain on intercourse or even tearing. In cases where it gets stuck behnd the head when erect it can also cause damage. so if that ever happens where it gets really stuck and swelling occurs get to a doctor fast.

IMHO try gentle stretching over a few weeks when not erect. Then work up to gentle stretching when you are erect. Take your time and be patient. You're trying to undo years of it being unretractable. If that fails to get you anywhere, then approach a doctor. From what Ive gathered here and with a mate of mine many will go straight to the circumcision option. I would suggest asking them about steriodal creams which help thin the skin along with stretching. If they poo poo that, find a doctor that is at least open to the option. It's your body after all and a fully functional foreskin is there for a reason. I wouldn't have mine removed if I could at all avoid it. If that doesn't work or you then maybe circumcision is the way to go. Even there, there are other procedures that will reduce the tightness without getting the whole foreskin removed. Of course if you have a condition like diabetes, then full circumcision is the best option as TBH has pointed out.

yes Wibbs, you're right, fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭danh789

Also is it ok if the foreskin always stays down past the head and never comes up to cover the head?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

tbh wrote: »
    if it's painful, there's a problem. Kinda the point of pain.

You're missing my point.

Who says you have to pull your foreskin back for sex to enjoy it? If he or I enjoy it covered, then what's the problem?

We're not exceptions. I know just as many lads who don't pull it back as do.

kraggy wrote: »
    You're missing my point.

Who says you have to pull your foreskin back for sex to enjoy it? If he or I enjoy it covered, then what's the problem?

We're not exceptions. I know just as many lads who don't pull it back as do.

no you're right, you don't. But the point of the OP is that something that shouldn't cause pain is causing the OP pain - that's how I read it anyway.

People do differ. Technically the foreskins primary function is to protect the sensitivity and lubricate the glans(head) of the penis. It retracts during sex to expose the sensitive nerve endings in the glans to the contact of the vagina. It also apparently acts like a seal that protects the lubrication in the woman too.

Personally if I didn't have the head exposed I would feel pleasure in the foreskin itself but compared to the head? The only comparison I could think of is foreskin forward =2 retracted = 10. Add on a condom and unretracted? I honestly wouldn't even bother. I would liken it to my eyes and eyelids. Sure I can sense strong light if my eyelids cover my eyes, but to see I would need to open them.

People do differ though so what works for me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Your glans will be very sensitive if your foreskin rarely comes down. THe bath would be a good place to mess around with it.

Sounds like you need to be circumcised, its not as bad as you think. There are a few good threads on this site, and would advise you check these out.

Actually you don't know that. Just because someone has a toothache, it may need a filling not extraction. The circumcision route should be the last option given it involves surgery, a general anaesthetic, recovery time of a few weeks and removes erogenous tissue. A doctor can make that assessment and even there I would research more to make an informed choice. No point removing a fair amount of erogenous penile tissue for no good reason, if it can be avoided.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Might regret posting under my name but how bad.

Im in a similar position with op. I cant retract my forskin without pain. My ex gf just pulled it back one day and the sensitivity of the head was actually unbearable.. Havent done since, and then the hygenic factor of it aswell annoys me. (I do my best to get under their but its not easy) so Im gonna consider getting circumsized this summer because whilst I enjoy sex and havent had any problems I feel like Im missing out somewhat

<snip> Basically bathing your friend in very warm water every day for 15 mins or so, while gradually retracting the foreskin, a bit each time (day by day, week by week), may very well sort out the problem. It did for me anyway, although it took about 6 - 8 weeks.

Since showers rather than baths are the norm these days, the lack of warm water (pampering it as much) on a continual basis, can tighten things up for those with this problem.

This problem can be resolved with a little bit of time and a gentle touch. If your girlfriend told you, she is probably quite comfortable talking to you about things, perhaps she could help you out with the problem gently and over time. If she hasn't run away by now, you got a good one, hold on to her. Don't get circumcised get down with her.

Thank you folks for your help
    cleared things up for me,

Im thinking that its partially a psychological thing preventing me from going through with it.
    I mean its not painful, just weird...ok maybe a little painful
    I've got to get more hands on practice as suggested, hopefully I can get it to do that
    and I will try and update you--- if you are interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Sinall

My ex boyfriend had a similar problem. He also found sex quite painful as any movement that made the foreskin pull back, even a tiny bit, was very sore for him.

He had some procedure done where the foreskin was eased back (he seemed to think this was done chemically) and found that helped for a while. Then he was circumcised and was a new man! He was absolutely delighted with himself and couldn't believe it had made such a difference.

It also changed the shape of his penis as well - prior to the circumcision he didn't have the usual "mushroom" style head, it sort of went in at the top - seemingly it had been restricted by the foreskin. He was sore for a few days after the circumcision and then was fine.

He regrets now that he put off going to the doctor for years. It's always worth mentioning it to your GP and seeing what they think.

It's really amazing the lack of knowledge on this subject by young lads, Myself included, so I thought I'd tell you my story to put your predicament in context.

Anyway forgive my grossness but here goes!

When I was 16/17 I had no idea the foreskin was meant to retract all the way back.
    I used to have cheese quite a bit and I used to find cleaning down there to be a nightmare.

I masterbated regularly and even had a girl or two give the lad a tug on occasion and still I went around blissfully unaware that things weren't right.

Anyway one night in a nightclub (and this is gonna sound ridiculous) a girl sat on my lap while I was erect and whatever the hell way she did it my foreskin peeled over the head. I managed somehow to keep a straight face, excused myself and ran full belt for the jacks.
    I expected to see blood gushing out of some ghastly penis wound but instead all I saw was a big red head and some floppy skin hangin half way down my shaft.
    At that moment I wouldve preferred the wound. I thought my banjo string had snapped. I thought I'd broken my penis. I thought that god had struck me down with the rarest of penis diseases. A fly on the wall of that nightclub cubicle would of seen a broken man. A man desparately tryin to reposition the skin on his penis back to the way he thought it was meant to be.

The next day I woke up with my penis looking more or less how I remembered him but I still had this problem of the skin rolling back. Needless to say I was on the internet within minutes and was so relieved when I discovered that it was nothing unusal (although the manner of discovery may have been somewhat odd)

Was it painful? To be fair the initial rip was far from pleasant but after that the lad swelled up a bit and was fairly numb. Plus I had a beer or two in me at the time. What I will say is I've never had an issue with cheese to this day since. All in all a good trade I'd say.

Anyways OP I thought I'd let you know you are not alone and that whenever it does roll back at least you won't be caught unawares (like I was).

On a side note I think there's alot to be said for just stretchin it out yourself (the bath idea is a good one) and I'd see any kind of surgery as a last resort.

OT: Lox I'm one of those O-Type hunter gatherers whose GF has transpired recently to give a good dose of thrush to. (the cream works wonders folks, not a big deal at all) I had been blaming her and it's been great leverage altogether. Breakfast in Bed and the whole lot! Given your post and my cheesy history however I'm starting to wonder if I may have been the culprit. :eek: