Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cigarette price increase.. Round two!

• 05-03-2009 9:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

I'm not a smoker any more because of the last round of price increases. I stopped because I can't afford to buy them now. I heard on the radio this morning that some cancer group is looking to push the price of cigarettes up over €10.

As a now non smoker, I find this bloody ridiculous. How long do you think it will be before these shower of muppets decide to abandon bullying the smokers of Ireland and move on to the drinkers and start lobbying for the price of pints to start increasing?

Do you support cigarette price increase? 236 votes

I am a muppet, I fully support this.
    0% 0 votes
    I'm a pretty cool dude, leave the smokers alone.
    56% 133 votes
    You can be ****ed if I give a ****.
    43% 103 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I'm a smoker, anything that gives me an incentive to stop smoking, or smoke less like the smoking ban in pubs did, is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,312 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Fags should be taxed higher.....

.... and so should cigarettes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Lots of people on dole + ridiculously expensive cigarettes = lots and lots of smuggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Ass wrote: »
    I'm not a smoker any more because of the last round of price increases. I stopped because I can't afford to buy them now.

You FOOOOOL! That's what they want you to do!

Hurry, run down the local newsagent and get 40 blue and a spanky new zippo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭gnxx

Surely this would lead to people buying more smuggled cigs?

At €10 a box, it would be cheaper for a smoker to fly to Europe for a weekend every couple of months to stock up on ciggies !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

i am a smoker please just ban them from general sale and let all the terrible addicts like myself get our cigarettes on a precription from the chemist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Fags should be taxed higher.....

.... and so should cigarettes.

Boom Boom!

Doesn't bother me either way.

Think of all the small children in Africa who'll be made unemployed due to the decrease in demand for their product though -its not just yourself you've to think of y'know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Im thinking theres some serious money to be made smuggling these in from eastern Europe. /quits job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

They can't put them up too high because it reflects the rate of inflation

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,575 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

If it reduces the amount of people who smoke on Grafton St then I'm happy. It's so crowded anyway, hate that I have to swallow some smoke and dodge some wans swinging, cigarette clad arm just to go to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

I'm just going to start paying the welfare tourists and non-nationals who
    fly in to collect their dole to bring me in cheap cigs. I might even swap
    them some swans for a few cartons of Marlboro.

All these increase will just increase the amount of money leaving the Irish
    economy as people source the products they want abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Make it €10 per packet, should reduce the number of absolute ignorant scum who throw their cigarette butts on the ground.

It's a filthy habit and they deserve cancer.

What a bloody ignorant responce
    Im a smoker and wish to god i didnt smoke, i hate it but i just cant seem to quit no matter how many times iv tried. I use the things on top of the bins when i see them but otherwise theres no where to put the butts.

Iv seen people close to me go through cancer and i swear to god you will never wish it on your worst enemy, what a bloody stupid and ignorance thing to say

Post Reported**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Make it €10 per packet, should reduce the number of absolute ignorant scum who throw their cigarette butts on the ground.

we don't all throw them on the ground. Still, for those that do throw a tiny piece of litter on the ground that will more than likely end up in a drain or be sweeped up, they deserve to die...don't you just love what the anti smoking campaign has come to?

Stop bullying smokers, leave us alone. It's our own business we don't bother you with it. You got your smoking ban in pubs, you got the price to 8 euro, you got it banned on public transport and work places, you don't have to put up with in your own house, no more passive smoking cos of these new laws and you pretty much got everything you want. And now you feel the need to rob us some more?

Jesus christ, **** off! I'm tired of listening to anti smokers and their self righteous crap! Let us to kill ourselves on our own and we'll stop when we bloody well feel like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

nuxxx wrote: »
    Report posted
    Yep I do love posting reports myself :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

Im a smoker and wish to god i didnt smoke, i hate it but i just cant seem to quit no matter how many times iv tried. I use the things on top of the bins when i see them but otherwise theres no where to put the butts.

Iv seen people close to me go through cancer and i swear to god you will never wish it on your worst enemy, what a bloody stupid and ignorance thing to say

Report posted

so if there's no bin close by its ok to litter:rolleyes:

why not put it back in your pocket till you find one? or is that too disgusting?

**Cough** **Wheeze**

If I ever catch up to one of you **goes for inhaler** non smokers I'm gonna kick you right in the... *out of breath* /sits down for a cigarette. Nevermind...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If an anti smoker is in the peak of fitness within their personal physical limits and they critique me I say fair enough. All too often they're not however. One rabid anti I know is as fat as hell and is in the early stages of type 2 diabetes. If he doesn't manage that and ease up on the excesive sugar intake, he'll die far quicker than even me as a smoker. As for "second hand smoke", I could just as easily suggest that if you're lungs and immune system is that weak, then you're the one in trouble not me.

As for raising the price. Yep its gonna happen. It's almost a given. It's an easy one to target as antis will back it to the hilt and the guilty smokers will not complain. I can see them removing them from the inflation index too. winner all around for the gov.

Only problem with raising the tax on any drug or restricting access is that the black economy will kick in to fill the void and people will be not too pushed about seeking that out. Personally I'm trying to kick the habit, but if this happened ten years ago, I can be sure that I'd by hooky ciggies from a bloke in the street.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

prendy wrote: »

why not put it back in your pocket till you find one? or is that too disgusting?

Have you no bad habits no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

I'd almost take up smoking again just so spite you, the self righteous non-smoker. GTFO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Wagon wrote: »
    we don't all throw them on the ground.

I never said ye did.
    Still, for those that do throw a tiny piece of litter on the ground that will more than likely end up in a drain or be sweeped up, they deserve to die...don't you just love what the anti smoking campaign has come to?

It's the thousands of tiny pieces of litter that accumulate daily on the streets that's the issue. It shows the ignorance and anti-social contempt they have for everyone else.

Okay, wishing them cancer was extreme, and being after hours that was crossing the line. But Jesus, it turns my stomach to see the ignorance bastards littering the place at every single bus stop.

And the likes of bus stops in housing estates do not have a daily road sweeper. The litter will stay there for months.

Quit the littering and I couldn't care less about smokers as long as they keep it to themselves and are taxing appropriately for the health costs down the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I quit about 4 years ago. The way I see it.

1) It's way too expensive to smoke.
    2) It's an unhealthy lifestyle which could shade 20 years off your life.
    3) It's banned in public places.. Having to go outside for a fag isn't my idea of comfort.

I feel a whole lot better since I quit.. I have more money.. I don't get stressed as much. Now's a good time as any to smoke. If the cost is killing you, switch to rollies and buy those filters. Would work out cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Report posted

If I'm to read CD's post correctly, I think its a suggestion that scumbags who throw butts on the ground deserve cancer - not all smokers.

Could have read it wrong though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I fully support this.

Might as well get as much money out of ye as possible.

Plus, the more expensive it is, the more of a detterent it is to start in the first place(god knows why people do, it's horrible).

Quit the littering and I couldn't care less about smokers as long as they keep it to themselves and are taxing appropriately for the health costs down the line.

So rather than bitch and complain about smokers, why not complain about people who litter instead? Why isn't there a bin at every bus stop? Not just for smokers but for everyone else as well?

Also, you can raise the tax as high as you want, it'll be wasted on the current health service.

Im not saying its ok to litter. Were you ever on a night out and dropped a can or beer bottle on the ground? Imagine the amount of cigerettes it would take to fill one of them up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

Surely if the price if cigs keeps rising and more and more people either stop smoking or do not start, the revenue generated on them by the government
    will almost be non existant ! Will all the anti-smokers and those that spend most of their time whinging and moaning like it when their taxes are raised AGAIN to cover the short fall !!!!:rolleyes:

So rather than bitch and complain about smokers, why not complain about people who litter instead? Why isn't there a bin at every bus stop? Not just for smokers but for everyone else as well?

The vast majority of the time there is a bin at the bus stop.
    Smokers keep dragging away at their cigarette until the bus pulls right up and they don't want to lose their place in the queue by walking 3 meters to the bin and just drop it on the ground.

It's ignorant how they think that that is socially acceptable.
    nuxxx wrote:
    Were you ever on a night out and dropped a can or beer bottle on the ground? Imagine the amount of cigerettes it would take to fill one of them up

Trying to point the finger at other groups and saying they are worse does not in any way condone that behaviour for smokers.

Seriously, I think we should be allowed to spit on smokers who drop their cigarettes on the ground. That's how ignorant it is.

Sounds like a fair and proportional response.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

Have you no bad habits no?

yes i have many but littering isnt one of them.
    Im not saying its ok to litter. Were you ever on a night out and dropped a can or beer bottle on the ground? Imagine the amount of cigerettes it would take to fill one of them up

well it sounded like you were using the fact that there were no bins in close proximity to justify the littering.
    and no i would never drop cans or bottles on the ground, im not 6.

im not even anti smoking but i DETEST littering.

anyway this is off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Jamfan

Word is on the street that the 50c rise in the last budget has actually caused a €1m per day loss in revenue. The final straw has broken the camel's back. People are no longer willing to take a Mohammed Ali sized glove - fisted with indifferent aplomb - up the ass. I for one will certainly take measures to defend my integrity.

Raising excise on tobacco and alcohol would be very foolhardy because it will wipe out all sales and thus revenue:

who knows how much % x 0 = 0

lower percentage of excise x good exchange rate = actually expensive, but cheap for Paddy. Sames thing as the booze cruise between Germany and Sweden.

Has anybody actually caught any of our 'let them eat cake' TDs shopping in the North, by the way? They probably send their emissaries... in state-sponsored chauffeur-driven Mercs. lol

Trying to point the finger at other groups and saying they are worse does not in any way condone that behaviour for smokers.

Seriously, I think we should be allowed to spit on smokers who drop their cigarettes on the ground. That's how ignorant it is.

Sounds like a fair and proportional response.

Thats EXACTLY what your doing. Your a NON SMOKER complaining about smokers.
    I think i should be allowed be spit on people who do heroin, or alcoholics and winos who dump cans and glass on the ground. No wait i dont, i actually acknowledge they have a bad addiction. Thing your not relising is the majority of smokers DONT want to smoke and everytime i drop a butt on the ground i do feel slightly bad about it so i pop them into a drain on the kerb.

Tell ya what, next time you see a smoker dumping a butt on the ground, go over and spit on him. You`ll find your days pretty long walking around in continuous circles around busy high streets spitting on people, aswell as having your face swelled up like a balloon

the majority of smokers DONT want to smoke

I don't want to smoke. I accomplish this by not walking into a shop and handing over €8+ to get a small object that I light and put in my mouth which will eventually lead to the shortening of my life as a whole. I find it much easier to not do those things. Smokers claiming they can't stop are weak and should be treated accordingly.

No wait i dont, i actually acknowledge they have a bad addiction.

What has addiction to nicoteen got to do with throwing litter on the streets of Dublin ? If mothers need to change their babies are they entitled to throw used nappies on the street ? Nope, the addiction/need defense is not acceptable.
    everytime i drop a butt on the ground i do feel slightly bad about it so i pop them into a drain on the kerb.

No problem with people who throw butts directly into sewers.
    Read my first post, it says "on the ground", and that includes on the road hoping that the rain will wash them away.

I'm not saying that smokers are the sole cause of litter in Dublin, certainly chewing gum is equally as bad and worse to clean up. But dropping ciggarette butts on the street has become far too tolerated in my opinion.

A few litter wardens with on the spot fines would actually be profit making in my opinion. Just stake out a few of the major bus stops in the city centre in rush hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Im not a smoker (ok, very casually, when im drunk, or its a cigar) but youd think with times being as tough as they are they would cut people some slack and stop trying to be their mothers? Or is this really all about forcing poor people onto the barest necessities? People get addicted to these things though - so its like the government is trying to drive them into poverty.

Overheal wrote: »
    Im not a smoker (ok, very casually, when im drunk, or its a cigar) but youd think with times being as tough as they are they would cut people some slack and stop trying to be their mothers? Or is this really all about forcing poor people onto the barest necessities? People get addicted to these things though - so its like the government is trying to drive them into poverty.
    Addiction is not permanent. Addiction can be overcome therefore the government aren't forcing them to do anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Im a smoker and wish to god i didnt smoke, i hate it but i just cant seem to quit no matter how many times iv tried.

I smoked for 36 years and finally stopped.
    Know how you feel friend.
    I was that guy too who couldn't quit no matter how many times he tried.
    Now I am saying that if I can do it anybody can because I was the most addicted smoker in the world in my tiny messed up back to front dumbass smokers mind at least.

Cold turkey was not easy but it worked.
    It is the only way.
    My recommended quit therapy ;

Bite your lip, grin and bear the withdrawal for 3 days and nights.
    Just do it.
    Do not smoke during this time no matter what.
    After 72 hours the withdrawal stops.
    Then you start feeling good.
    You will never look back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

From a government 'make money' point of view, raising the price of ciggies even higher is really dumb.

They should lower it a little, so that more people buy cigarettes here, thus creating more tax revenue.

Obviously, from a health and moral standpoint, this would be madness, and also obviously, the more people smoke, the bigger the problems long-term, with the effect on healthcare and all.

But since 'long-term' and 'thinking ahead' is not a thing this government does well, it doesn't matter right now.

I'm glad I gave up smoking...Best thing I ever did.

You'd more than likely get the head knocked off you and you'd well deserve it. What you've said there is a bit of a joke. Rapists, murderers, pedophiles, drug dealers, thives, alcoholics ruining their families lives, people who go beating up others for the craic are worse but yet you'd rather single out the smokers. Why? Because it's easier.
    yes i have many but littering isnt one of them.
    im not even anti smoking but i DETEST littering.
    Same here. And you'll find that a lot of smokers are the same and put the fag ends in the bins. But just like Creeping Des, the government and most anti smokers you're once again just blaming the easiest group. In everyday society, smokers are the least of your concern. Which of the following are you more likely to do?

- go up to a random junkie and say that he has a **** habit and tell him to get himself sorted out
    - go up to a random smoker and tell him the same thing?

Anti smoking is essentially just become another easy outlet for people with the biggest mouths. You couldn't give a **** about our health (which is grand). You just want something to complain about and brand someone with a habit you don't agree with as a villian (which isn't okay).

So I strongly oppose the tax hike because I'd rather for once you bastards didn't get your way and you might shut up and leave us alone for a while. I don't care if you don't like smoking, but I do get very angry when people insist on shoving their opinion down my throat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The government doesn't want anyone to give up smoking. They assume that smokers will "cough up" whatever the price is.

When cig sales dropped after the last budget, they didn't think that it was because people had given up, and immediately blamed it on smugglers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

ejmaztec wrote: »
    The government doesn't want anyone to give up smoking. They assume that smokers will "cough up" whatever the price is.

When cig sales dropped after the last budget, they didn't think that it was because people had given up, and immediately blamed it on smugglers.
    This was my point, Quaz. Thanks EJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I'm all for the price increase because I'm a miserable b*stard who's only source of joy is seeing other people, in this case smokers, become more miserable than I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Everything will see a tax increase but to put them over €10 is lunacy. As highlighted this will promote smuggling. Stupid cancer people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

As a non smoker i detest it and find it filthy. Fair enough its your body,do what you like but i hate walking down the street and you get stuck behing someone who is smoking and you get it blown back in your face. Or on exiting most bars and clubs having no other choice to walk through a cloud of smoke.

I dont think rising the prices will stop people smoking, if someone is addicted badly enough they will always find a way to feed their "habit" so to speak.

Rapists, murderers, pedophiles, drug dealers, thives, alcoholics ruining their families lives, people who go beating up others for the craic are worse but yet you'd rather single out the smokers. Why? Because it's easier.

No, because the topic of the thread is about smoking. :rolleyes:

It's always gas when people roll out those sort of wild statements to defend their behaviour. I bet there's plenty of people who see smokers throwing their ciggarettes on the ground and like me have silently (or not so silently) labelled them as anti-social scum.

But trying to correct the fact that I have probably dragged this thread off-topic..... huge crippling price increases in cigarettes are definitely welcome.

It's always gas when people roll out those sort of wild statements to defend their behaviour. I bet there's plenty of people who see smokers throwing their ciggarettes on the ground and like me have silently (or not so silently) labelled them as anti-social scum.

But trying to correct the fact that I have probably dragged this thread off-topic..... huge crippling price increases in cigarettes are definitely welcome.

I was trying to say what the real problems with soceity are.

But of course, you choose what you want to hear.

Tell you what, yeep making your self rightous **** stained posts and impress those same twats who agree with you and turn on the roll eyes and question someones intellegence when they make a valid argument. Sure, that's pretty much anti smoking in a nutshell isn't it? Condescend to those who don't do waht you want them to. Conratulaions, you're at least doing that well.

I was trying to say what the real problems with soceity are.

But of course, you choose what you want to hear.

Tell you what, yeep making your self rightous **** stained posts and impress those same twats who agree with you and turn on the roll eyes and question someones intellegence when they make a valid argument. Sure, that's pretty much anti smoking in a nutshell isn't it? Condescend to those who don't do waht you want them to. Conratulaions, you're at least doing that well.
    Calm down man,

Go have a cigarette or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Ass wrote: »
    I'm not a smoker any more because of the last round of price increases.

That's why I support it.

As a drinker yourself, put yourself in the position of paying over 10 euro for a pint because other people don't like seeing you drunk...

Its a bit odd really if ya think about it. Who are you or anyone else to have a say in something you are not involved in...

These price hikes are getting out of control... Its only going to lead to worse things as the government now knows they can get away with robbing people blind (even more so then usual...)

Calm down man,

Go have a cigarette or something

Not a bad idea :o

Zangetsu wrote: »
    Its a bit odd really if ya think about it. Who are you or anyone else to have a say in something you are not involved in...

Who said I'm not involved.
    It's the littering that sickens me, and I see it every morning, lunchtime and afternoon from all walks of life. I see it at traffic lights, people with perfectly good ashtrays flicking their ciggarettes out the window out of pure laziness and ignorance.

You don't see people drinking cans of bulmers then throwing them on the ground before getting on the bus at 8am. You don't see shop workers on the doorstep chugging down a heineken before fecking the can on the street and walking back in.

The only people who like / tolerate smokers behaviours, are other smokers.

Who said I'm not involved.
    It's the littering that sickens me, and I see it every morning, lunchtime and afternoon from all walks of life. I see it at traffic lights, people with perfectly good ashtrays flicking their ciggarettes out the window out of pure laziness and ignorance.

You don't see people drinking cans of bulmers then throwing them on the ground before getting on the bus at 8am. You don't see shop workers on the doorstep chugging down a heineken before fecking the can on the street and walking back in.

The only people who like / tolerate smokers behaviours, are other smokers.

I know many many many non smokers who couldn't give a **** if I smoke... Sorry :(

The litter is a bit stupid indeed but its not just cigarettes, its everything! If you really want that to end petition for more litter bins as people do use them (for the most part) if they're around...

Just don't go ****ing with other peoples money because you have a problem... Thats my point anyway... I'm off to go buy some horrably overpriced cancer sticks now, I'm going to enjoy them and if theres no bin around I sure as hell ain't gonna put that stinky **** in my pocket!