Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

b18c conversion

• 03-03-2009 10:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

im just after getting someone to put a b18c teg engine into my 97 ek4 reusing my s4c gearbox and clutch
    but a teg flywheel, when we took it for a spin up the road the clutch broke up into bits wrecked my starter,clutch and put a hole in my gearbox
    im just wondering does anyone no why this would happen
    thanks
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Contact Tuning Factory - www.tuningfactory.ie

Edit - just read somewhere else that they don't do conversions anymore! ? Track Day Performance would be able to do the job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭reverandkenjami

I would've assumed the clutch would need to be replaced to handle the extra power from the B18? :confused: Maybe ask over in the Modified forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Moved to modified cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

should have got an uprated clutch for a start

you must have ragged it up the road without gently testing it first?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

draffodx wrote: »
    should have got an uprated clutch for a start

you must have ragged it up the road without gently testing it first?

you have to rag a civic just to get her going let alone do some speed in her...

oh wait... VTEXXX KICKED IN YOO!!!!!!

nevermind....

lucky it didnt break his neck. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

your clutch is not designed to take 200bhp!

what you need to do now is get onto john stone, i thinks its jstone racing or something but i cant check as im in work!

www.dtdirl.com

over there too, he has a dedicated forum, or at least he is a frequent poster so you will get him handy there.

@ SIR : whats up with you? you post pure crap some days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

kceire wrote: »
    your clutch is not designed to take 200bhp!

what you need to do now is get onto john stone, i thinks its jstone racing or something but i cant check as im in work!

www.dtdirl.com

over there too, he has a dedicated forum, or at least he is a frequent poster so you will get him handy there.

heres his profile over on dtd - http://www.dtdirl.com/forums/member.php?u=1532

His website doesn't seem to be up yet.
    @ SIR : whats up with you? you post pure crap some days.

some days!? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 gero69

I didn even get to drive the car ye man drove it,
    he drove it hard enough but we had 2 to see if d engine woz ok,
    we put a teg clutch in it,will it be ok to use,im puttin an s4c box back on it or will i have to get an s80

gero69 wrote: »
    I didn even get to drive the car ye man drove it,
    he drove it hard enough but we had 2 to see if d engine woz ok,
    we put a teg clutch in it,will it be ok to use,im puttin an s4c box back on it or will i have to get an s80

S80 with LSd would be good if possible.
    standard integra type R clutch and flywheel would also be ok for your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

im just after getting someone to put a b18c teg engine into my 97 ek4 reusing my s4c gearbox and clutch
    but a teg flywheel, when we took it for a spin up the road the clutch broke up into bits wrecked my starter,clutch and put a hole in my gearbox
    im just wondering does anyone no why this would happen
    thanks
    Yep sounds like you kept the standard the clutch and like kceire said theres no way in hell its taking 200hp, in short like the lads said get over to DTD you will get tons of help, talk to Crazyeyes too he has just done a 18 conversion on his EK4
    S.I.R wrote: »

nevermind....

Cop on man its getting old now

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,211 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

S.I.R wrote: »

nevermind....

If you have nothing good to say, then say nothing at all!
    People are really tiring of your nonsense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

Is the Flywheel ok?

Was The Clutch new?

Was it aligned correctly?

Was everything torqued up correctly?

Was the clutch releasing properly?

Clutches don't denigrate for no reason

Is the Flywheel ok?

Was The Clutch new?

Was it aligned correctly?

Was everything torqued up correctly?

Was the clutch releasing properly?

Clutches don't denigrate for no reason

all that makes no difference tbh
    he used a standard clutch from a 150bhp car and gave it 200bhp, it simply cannot handle it.

the standard EK4 clutch is ok on standard power, but at the bear minimum when carrying out performance mods to en EK4 then a DC2 integra type r clutch and flywheel is the minimum upgrade you should do.

but the B18 engine, will not last pi@@ing time on a B16 clutch as prooved during the test drive.

all that makes no difference tbh
    he used a standard clutch from a 150bhp car and gave it 200bhp, it simply cannot handle it.

the standard EK4 clutch is ok on standard power, but at the bear minimum when carrying out performance mods to en EK4 then a DC2 integra type r clutch and flywheel is the minimum upgrade you should do.

but the B18 engine, will not last pi@@ing time on a B16 clutch as prooved during the test drive.

Sorry thought he used the integra clutch my bad.

no probs man, hopefully he does this time. ;)

ye used a teg clutch and flywheel,everything running grand now thanks!!
    Except its still running on my ek4 ecu, its a 98 engine, he never told me if i needed a new dash loom,Do i?? or will i just get a teg ecu,

ye used a teg clutch and flywheel,everything running grand now thanks!!
    Except its still running on my ek4 ecu, its a 98 engine, he never told me if i needed a new dash loom,Do i?? or will i just get a teg ecu,

im not 100% sure on what ecu will work with your set up, best bet would to get a remapable stand alone system to get the best from the conversion imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

kbannon wrote: »
    If you have nothing good to say, then say nothing at all!
    People are really tiring of your nonsense!

*yawn* i find its easier myself to just state the obv rather then educate as nobody can be proven wrong everyone is right 100 % of the time.

the fails always make me rofl so i aspire to have a laugh, even if its just me and everyone else with a sense of humor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

S.I.R. sent on a weeks break

MODEDIT:
    No point in hurling abuse at S.I.R., now that he's banned. :D
    No point in hurling abuse at all, actually ...so don't

post edited

@Op

Honda ecus can be remapped using both emulators like Moats are easily the most hacked and open Ecu of any car.

To be honest im surprised the ecu runs a different engine correctly with a factory Map. If it runs well with fuel and timing correct and you are happy with the current power levels you should be fine. (shows you what i know)

Try the US Forums if you want differing opinions on remapping for more power.

If i was having a car remmaped for more power at the wheels the 15pc (rough est) extra power avialable with E85 is well worth considering. There are issues around cold start.

Alri, i tried it wit d sir ecu and it didn seem to great,so i got a 97 teg r one and it seems to be way better,im gettin a lend of a 98 spec one but its ment to have different plugs but i dont no yet,

Well if the above is the case the car doesn't fuel correctly or have the correct timing which makes sense plus its asking for unnecessary trouble.
    (broken cat, nct failures, EGT, Detonation, Lean Misfires, crap fuel economy,lost power)

Options are
    Get an Ecu For the B18c
    Get the current Ecu remapped

alri i myt just get it remapped,

Well thats all i need to no for now i think
    thanks lads:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO