Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

There is a rich persong among us..

• 02-03-2009 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭

In a PI thread that im not linking to.. but is there, an individual that had over 1K month mortgage and among other financial issues was looking for advice.

Some anonymous boardsie sent a cheque to the OP to pay for the mortgage for a month!

Heartwarming imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Fair play rich boardsie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭livvy

should rename the thread to: There is a rich and generous person amongst us ... there are probably lots of rich but maybe none as generous !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

wow ... that is really admirable!

Well done rich boardsie! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

snyper wrote: »
    In a PI thread that im not linking to.. but is there, an individual that had over 1K month mortgage and among other financial issues was looking for advice.

Some anonymous boardsie sent a cheque to the OP to pay for the mortgage for a month!

Heartwarming imo.
    That's all a bit mad! Hope the OP was genuine !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Some truly amazing people out there. Who needs a god when people like this have such big hearts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Wow.
    That really makes me reconsider my dismal outlook on humanity.
    Good stuff Boardsi€!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

That rich boardsie is a god. I am in awe of them. They are brilliant and because of their existence on this planet we are all better for our lives.

Enough to get a tenner off them??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Aren't you supposed to teach people to fish instead of giving them fish?

Something about fish anyway....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Some anonymous boardsie sent a cheque to the OP to pay for the mortgage for a month

Probably the Bank Of Ireland tiger robbers trying to get rid of their loot before the ones in custody squeal on them !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

You know what gets rid of richers. Burning lower case T's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Oh shucks, ye caught me.

It was me, on my alternate account, I'm not that generous really, I lend loads of people money, then charge huge interest and break their thumbs if they don't pay.

Allways nice to be appreciated though, thanks lads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

Give someone a fish, and you feed them for a day,
    teach someone how to use the internet, and they wont bother you for weeks. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

*Moves over to PI asap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Mhmm...weetabix

dsmythy wrote: »
    That rich boardsie is a god. I am in awe of them. They are brilliant and because of their existence on this planet we are all better for our lives.

Enough to get a tenner off them??

hes ok, but hes no bowl of special k!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

give a man a fish he eats for a day, give him a fishing rod he eats for life.
    ..albeit only fish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Mhmm...weetabix

give a man a fish he eats for a day, give him a fishing rod he eats for life.
    ..albeit only fish.

Says you!

sp97_010_med.jpg

Squirrel fishing FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I wonder how long before someone starts a thread about the newest scam from some other country thats catching on here? I imagine the nigerians/romanians will be blamed.
    Did the person post a pic of themselves with hands outstretched or better still a kitten crying to get more sympathy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Heartwarming imo.

Sent them a cheque for 10,000, but wants them to wire back 9,000 of their own money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Build a man a fire he's warm for a few hours.
    Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Build a man a fire he's warm for a few hours.
    Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.

Whilst the man who sets him alight burns for eternity!

/accusing point to audience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Thats really nice :).................i wonder........

IVE A €5000 PM MORTGAGE!!!!HELP ME MASKED MONEY GIVER!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

What about that thread were RedXIII was going to get some woman a job and was going to help her out. This thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Can anybody lend me 10 euro till pay day ?

ok . Bro can you spare a dime ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

latchyco wrote: »
    Can anybody lend me 10 euro till pay day ?

ok . Bro can you spare a dime ?

I know it was recently linked to but..

In a PI thread that im not linking to..

Why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

Has my cheque bounced yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Wow! Very nice of the boardsie... Just shows there are nice people in here :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

connundrum wrote: »
    I know it was recently linked to but..
    Nice to see there is still room for comedy in these recessionary times .....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

livvy wrote: »
    should rename the thread to: There is a rich and generous person amongst us ... there are probably lots of rich but maybe none as generous !

I agree, I thought we were going to lynch a banker:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Arathorn

I read that thread, I didn't buy the stry at all, but I don't think you're allowed say that on PI. A fool and his money are soon parted.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

give a man a fish and you feed him for a day
    teach a man to fish and your customer now becomes a competitor :mad:

that's a bit random all right , the cynic in me thinks it's conscience money ;)

but maybe it's someone trying to pass it forward or repaying a debt or banking up some karma :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

idiotic,

what happens next month when that person still cant pay their mortgage?

another beggin letter to another board.

fish quotes n stuff

my fave is

If you cant feed yerself, Fcuk off and die.
    its not my problem you fail at life

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

So the Nigerians have found PI.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

What happens when the fishing stocks are depleted? Cannibalism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

idiotic,

I fully agree with this, what a waste of €1,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

hes ok, but hes no bowl of special k!

ok the fact i knew wat u were doing there shows me how sad i am;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Pathetic.

You're living in a modern world, not the fúcking stone ages.

and if you ever had financial trouble you'd only know how beneficial it is to have a month free of worry while you try and sort something so please..stfu.

Is this true then?

Seems all a bit .. fishy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Is this true or did the person just create a feel good story on PI to help cheer people up and make people on boards feel all warm and fuzzy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Was going to make a similar point, if not a little less analagously.

So basically (without reading the thread) somebody spent beyond their means (a rarity in Ireland these days, perhaps why Rich Boardsie chose to help?) and was rewarded for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

I for one welcome our new financial do-gooder overlord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Heartwarming imo.
    idiotic,

fish quotes n stuff

my fave is

Wreck wrote: »
    I fully agree with this, what a waste of €1,000.
    ClioV6 wrote: »
    Pathetic.

You're living in a modern world, not the fúcking stone ages.

and if you ever had financial trouble you'd only know how beneficial it is to have a month free of worry while you try and sort something so please..stfu.

The best & the worst of boards(ies) all in one thread.

Yet I still can't hope that some of the cynical misery guts on here find themselves in the sh*t some day & wishing some kind soul would give them a helping hand.

big b wrote: »
    The best & the worst of boards(ies) all in one thread.

Yet I still can't hope that some of the cynical misery guts on here find themselves in the sh*t some day & wishing some kind soul would give them a helping hand.

Look, I'm very much in favour of charity and helping out your fellow man, but basically all that has happened here is a postponment of the inevitable. Unless the boards benefactor is going to bank roll this person for the foreseeable future, their problems have not gone away and chances are that in a month's time they will be in exactly the same predicament. If you think that makes me a cynical misery guts then fair enough.

Thank for wishing financial misery on me though, very heartwarming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Spare Change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Wreck wrote: »
    Look, I'm very much in favour of charity and helping out your fellow man, but basically all that has happened here is a postponment of the inevitable. Unless the boards benefactor is going to bank roll this person for the foreseeable future, their problems have not gone away and chances are that in a month's time they will be in exactly the same predicament. If you think that makes me a cynical misery guts then fair enough.

Thank for wishing financial misery on me though, very heartwarming.

Your lack, sorry,your posts lack of humanity is matched by your lack of attention to detail.
    I said I couldn't wish it on anyone.

Chances are just as good that the act of kindness could buy the helped person enough time to re-organise their situation. It has cost the rest of us nothing, yet some still want to piss all over it. Sad.

I said I couldn't wish it on anyone.

Fair enough, you implied that you wanted to wish financial hardship on me but couldn't because you're too good a person - three cheers for you!

Chances are just as good that the act of kindness could buy the helped person enough time to re-organise their situation.

I'm not going to get into some internet row over this, I don't agree with this, and thus I believe the gift of €1,000, while undoubtedly well-intentioned, could have been put to far better use.