Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry Mallon! Get off the stage!

• 02-03-2009 12:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭

Just back from a comedy club gig in Cuba* Gerry Mallon was MC'n for Jason Bryne (who was awesome btw) and he actually died a death on stage tonight.

I have seen him support Tommy Tiernan, (more than once) Maeve Higgins and MC a good few comedy club gigs and he just never has anything funny or evn remotely humorous to say! He goes on with what would appear to be NO material except for a bottle of buckfast most of the time! and thinks its grand to torture us by winging it for half an hour or so!

Honestly! Tonight he started picking on an African student in the front row. Talking about terrorists (because he was muslim) and literally digging himself into such a hole that at one point someone heckled "give him a shovel". The man doesnt know when to stop. Sorry i love going to the comedy club, but he makes it painful...

Anyone in agreement....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

He's been coasting on the Tiernan connection for way too long. I saw him at Electric Picnic - ie, well away from the Galway scene - and it was pretty awful.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I totally agree, I can't stand him!

I thought an MC was supposed to warm up a crowd, not make them hostile.

He still thinks he's 17, going around with the bottle of Buckie and wittering on about sex. It's like listening to your pervy uncle the way he goes on.

I can't believe someone pays him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Das Kitty wrote: »
    I thought an MC was supposed to warm up a crowd, not make them hostile.

He still thinks he's 17, going around with the bottle of Buckie and wittering on about sex. It's like listening to your pervy uncle the way he goes on.

I can't believe someone pays him!

Precisely. I actually even said that last night, god i feel sorry for jason having to work up a crowd after that....

gerry had to start the show twice because of the deadpan silence that greeted him when he came out first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭galwaybabe

I agree that Gerry bombs (a lot) but, in fairness, if he wasn't around we would not have a comedy scene in Galway. He has put in trojan work over the years putting Galway on the comedy circuit. Credit where credit's due and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

I first came across Gerry Mallon back in 1997 for the Carrol's Comedy Club in the RTC. He was reasonably funny back then. Unfortunately I have seen him a few times since then and his routine just seems to be getting worse and worse.

I'm sure he does a lot of hard work behind the scenes but that's where he should stay I think :).

yeah he has done alot for the comedy club and the galway comedy festival and i admire that, i think its great , all the more power to him but i really think that should be his only involvement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

I don't understand why he hasn't just come off the MCing stuff and keep to organising and sticking up posters etc, cos he really is a bad comedian. Buckfast and sex, and the few times I have seen him at the comedy club, he pulls up the same jokes about his kids, calling them names and stuff that make the audience cringe for him...never seen someone heckled as much..I honestly think he's rubbish and should stick at what he's good at: being behinf the scenes..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 popeye's olive

Gerry is Gerry and brings some of the best comedians to Galway.He can be very funny and may over use his jokes but that is part of the brilliance of comedy club.I'm sure most people who go regularly have by now realised that comedy club without him would be nothing!
    Oh and Mohammed(sorry if that's spelt wrong) the Muslim guy was sitting front and centre and could have expected that he would have been picked on by one of the acts.
    Leave Gerry alone and find something better to complain about.

Gerry is Gerry and brings some of the best comedians to Galway.He can be very funny and may over use his jokes but that is part of the brilliance of comedy club.I'm sure most people who go regularly have by now realised that comedy club without him would be nothing!
    Oh and Mohammed(sorry if that's spelt wrong) the Muslim guy was sitting front and centre and could have expected that he would have been picked on by one of the acts.

if you had bothered to read my last post you would see that i said i acknowledge his contribution to the galway comedy scene and that is good but that should be his only contribution. and if you think gerry mallon is a decent comedian i suggest you get out more.

Welcome to Boards Gerry ;).

malice_ wrote: »
    Welcome to Boards Gerry ;).

ya see...now that made me laugh! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

Gerry mallon is a legend of the west of ireland commedy scene,the man will straight out tell you that he is not a stand up comedian,and he doesn't give a sh!t if you don't find him funny,personallly i think he is one funny bastid but only off stage....

I'll never foget his tears (of laughter) when we rang him from edinburgh to tell him we were going to burn his beloeved galway scarf which he had left behind.

Or the time on stage in cube when...eh no i wont tell that one on the internet! :D

Gerry keep doing what you are doing boss.

tossy wrote: »
    Gerry...will straight out tell you that he is not a stand up comedian
    So if he's not a stand up comedian why does he persist in doing stand up comedy? I'm not a brain surgeon and I wouldn't dream of taking a scalpel to someone's cranium!

Exactly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭ohnoigotsick

seen him once before a gig and he was brutal - that was 4 years ago and the mention of the bottle of buckfast on stage brought it all back to me.

he may do trojan work behind the schenes but perhaps as others have mentioned thats where he should stay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

That's a silly comparison,lots of people fancy themselves as being funny and their friends might encourage them by saying "god johnny you are fierce funny you should do comedy"

I doubt very much anyone has said that to you "Jesus malice that job you did on my brain was top notch and i didn't feel a thing,have you ever considered brain surgery,your talent is wasted"

He MC'ed in cuba and the GPO to keep the costs down by not having to pay for an MC,it was hard enough run the nights as it was,and if that helped get the acts to galway and keep the scene alive then i'm cool with that.

tossy wrote: »
    That's a silly comparison
    No, it's not. A bit extreme but not silly. Would you prefer if I substituted mechanic, plumber or electrician? The point will still be the same...

tossy wrote:
    He MC'ed in cuba and the GPO to keep the costs down by not having to pay for an MC,it was hard enough run the nights as it was,and if that helped get the acts to galway and keep the scene alive then i'm cool with that.
    Fair play to anyone who has the balls to get up in front of other people and he certainly deserves credit for his behind the scenes work, I don't think anyone's disputing that. But, considering he says himself he's not a comedian and judging by the responses on this thread, most people don't find him funny and most importantly, considering there must be a few quid available to get someone else to do the MCing, shouldn't he just let someone else do it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 scrotchels

maybe im in the minority here, but i think gerry is actually really funny,he has a devil may care style,he makes everyone feel relaxed and is very giving to all the acts that perform at the comedy club,ive been to clubs where even big name acts have had a tough time all because the mc created an antagonistic or edgy vibe in the club,thats somthing one could never accuse gerry of,he creates a fun/party vibe in the room and long may he shine....A true Galway legend!

scrotchels wrote: »
    he creates a fun/party vibe in the room

sorry I have to correct you there! when he mc'd for jason byrne a few weeks back, the silence was deathly! It was seriously cringey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 scrotchels

sorry but i cant let that go banshee bones because i too was at that gig and gerry did a great set that night,he may have created a bit of frission with the two muslim guys in the front but won them and the rest of the audience over,i think you are confused as to who got what reaction,Gerry got laughs,it was the opening act Giles Brody that played to silence and Jason Byrne bought the house down,somthing that wouldnt have happened had Gerry not gone back up after the opening act and got the room going again..You sound like you have some personal axe to grind with gerry and if he annoys you that much then just dont bother going,at the end of the day nobody goes to the comedy club just to see the MC.

oh is that why he had to restart his entrance twice? because the first reception he recieved was that fantastic? i dont have any axe to grind with gerry, like i said i think hes done sterling work for the galway comedy scene on the promotion side but that really should be all it is! I just think its sad what some people accept as comedy these days. and yeah the first open mic slot was dreadful but i tell you as far as me and the 4 or 5 people that came with me we were not impressed!