Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what do the new gatso vans look like ?

• 01-03-2009 7:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭

i saw a white van today with rear windows tinted and a flashing orange and red LED lights on the back, no visible hole for the lens, are these the new gatso vans or just some construction workers who fancied up their new van

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

They have 08D White Transit vans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

i saw a white van today with rear windows tinted and a flashing orange and red LED lights on the back, no visible hole for the lens, are these the new gatso vans or just some construction workers who fancied up their new van

That might be highway maintenance or traffic light installers/maintenance.
    Would think that the guards would have blue lights with possible red.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

The one i saw on the outer ring road in Waterford the other night was a plain white high roof transit. No markings whatsoever. 08D reg on it

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,211 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I recently saw an unmarked 08-D white high roof transit (which thankfully for me flashed a merc about 200m ahead). It was along the N4 inbound opposite the Foxhunter at about 11pm.
    When I was close to it (and within the speed limit :D) I could easily see the camera looking out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Crafty feckers! For those who know it there is a halting site on the dual carriage way as you are leaving Limerick city heading towards Ennis/Galway direction. The site is just inside the end of the 60kmph zone and the boys park their van outside the halting site. No one is going to look twice at a transit van sitting outside a halting site! Pure luck that I copped the camera as I passed by as the boys had the back door open doing something with it.

Keep an eye out for it (white transit) and also for the 02 G reg silver mondeo that the traffic corp in Ennis are currently using.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Here's the numbers of a few...
    08-D-61808
    08-D-61810
    08-D-61831
    08-D-61843
    08-D-61846
    08-D-61850
    08-D-61856
    08-D-61857

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

M1 Motorway (Northbound)...enough said really :mad:

gatso2ew9.jpg

gatso1zc6.jpg

(and not an 08 van either!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭cul-2008

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    They have 08D White Transit vans.

They're not all 08 D Transits just so you know. I was caught speeding in Limerick city just before Christmas by a 99 D citroen gatso van...didn't even realise it was one, because like many others, I was looking out for the gleaming 08 D transit!

Got my letter, complete with a lovely photo, on Christmas Eve.. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

There are a couple of 99 D transits, one green and one blue. The tell tale sign is the roof vent and the power socket on the side of the van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

Bond-007 wrote: »
    There are a couple of 99 D transits, one green and one blue. The tell tale sign is the roof vent and the power socket on the side of the van.

Id say once you see a power socket on the side of the van it will be too late, TBH!

The marked Transit Gatso Vans 08 have the typical tinted windows at the rear, also with the speed camera sign...

earlyswerver_UK_Speed_Camera_Sign.png

...something like that up in the top right corner I think.

On the sides it has the standar flourescent yellow and blue stripe, also the garda crst in large (unusual) just above the stripe and the Garda.ie and garda confidential markings tec.

donvito99 wrote: »
    The marked Transit Gatso Vans 08 have the typical tinted windows at the rear, also with the speed camera sign...

earlyswerver_UK_Speed_Camera_Sign.png

...something like that up in the top right corner I think.

On the sides it has the standar flourescent yellow and blue stripe, also the garda crst in large (unusual) just above the stripe and the Garda.ie and garda confidential markings tec.
    The unmarked ones are completly unmarked apart from the air vent in the roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Merjock

On a slightly different note, some time ago I spotted a Garda with a hand-held speed-gun operating in what appeared to be a Tesco car park, pointing it towards a nearby suburban road. Is this legal?
    Surely they are not allowed to operate speed traps from what is, essentially,
    private property? Would this hold up in Court?

Merjock

It will.

They often use my yard to run speed checks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

Can they do that in you yard or could you ask the to leave?

Heres a bad pick found via google

73958.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Why cant we rip off the UK model and insist all Gatsos / fixed or mobile are highly visible :mad:

*Tripper* wrote: »
    Can they do that in you yard or could you ask the to leave?
    They actually asked if I minded them being there.

I have no objections as they do a good job at keeping the speed down.

Bond-007 wrote: »
    They actually asked if I minded them being there.

I have no objections as they do a good job at keeping the speed down.

At least no one parks blocking your drive way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

cul-2008 wrote: »
    They're not all 08 D Transits just so you know. I was caught speeding in Limerick city just before Christmas by a 99 D citroen gatso van...didn't even realise it was one, because like many others, I was looking out for the gleaming 08 D transit!

Got my letter, complete with a lovely photo, on Christmas Eve.. :rolleyes:

Where were you caught in Limerick?
    I m in Limerick and I never seen one of those Berlingo Vans.
    I didnt even know that we have Gatso here in Limerick.
    Will have to be carefull from now on. :(