Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Curtain Twitcher

• 01-03-2009 11:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭

Just looking for some opinions here, have a neighbor a couple of doors down from me and he's got some sort of issue.

We've all moved into a rural village and have been here for about two years, I was out having a few quiet pints watching the game with a few lads from the area last night.

I wouldn't be the most social person in fact I keep to myself pretty much but last night one of the local lads I know thru a few visits to the pub made an off the cuff comment about the guy who lives down the road, he basically said - what do you think of your man such and such, I said I've only spoken to him once and said I thought he was grand, but this guy told me that he didn't "like me" and had a problem so to say...

To say the least I'm a bit miffed at this as I don't actually know the guy apart from the really basic small talk stuff, and he knows the same about me etc... I think the best way is the direct root but is this the right thing to do or do I just put it down to a heads up from the local guy.

I'm fairly friendly with this guys (the curtain twitcher) next door neighbor and I think the curtain twitcher is playing "best friends" or something which is pathetic.

I'm a bit bothered as I dont want someone thinking they can gossip about me in this setting (small rural village).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

They are a feature in every small village, leave him go and piss off for himself, just ignore him. Not worth wasting your time worrying about it.

I could nearly guarantee that he's known as a nosy prick throughout the village (everyone knows who they are in the village i'm from) and no one pays any attention to them at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Every village has someone like this.

It's just a person, probably lives on their own without a lot of social outlets. As a result they form an opinion on absolutely everything and everyone.
    It's far more noticeable in small villages then estates and it's guranteed the locals know about this person so you're best ignoring him. The locals would say the same.

I'm wondering does the person also arrive late at mass and then walk to the front so everybody sees them. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Well your right, the fact that the guy said it to me speaks for itself.

The guy was actually in our company last night so I left the pub after I heard this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Agreed - no point in getting dragged into something childish, and you're better off ignoring him and not getting involved. Save yourself any future hassle :)