Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

can you put converse runners into the washing machine???

• 27-02-2009 3:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭

well....can you???

do you need to take out the insoles??

what temperature should i wash um at??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Yep, you can indeed. Usually 40 degrees is grand, maybe 50 if they're really dirty. And if you put in the insoles yourself then take them out before you wash them. You probably don't have to, it's just me being paranoid, but sure better safe and all that jazz:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

You can but the glue will melt and the sides will start to come apart. You'll shorten the life of them a lot if you put them in the washer. Try them at a very low temperature or hand wash them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I've washed one pair of mine 3 or 4 in the washing machine and I've had them for 5 years :D do it on a fairly low temperature though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I'd usually put them in under a setting for woolens.

Avoid the spin dry unless you want to feck up your machines drum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

I've washed one pair of mine 3 or 4 in the washing machine and I've had them for 5 years :D do it on a fairly low temperature though

5 years? :o

Mine never last more than a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

My converse always fall apart after about 2 years, i've never washed them always been too afraid they'll fall apart. I just wipe the plastic on the outside with a flash kitchen clear wipe its just normally a blue colour with the bottoms of my jeans. With the material i just hand scrub it and they come up as good as new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭stupidfishy

Why would ya want to wash 'em at all??
    That's not dirt, it's CHARACTER!
    Well that's always been my excuse anyways.. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭degausserxo

Soap and cold water in the bathroom sink and you'll be graaaaand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Put the spin power on low

Thats the part that usually wrecks shoes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Shopgal

I put a cream pair in the washing machine before and they didn't really come out any cleaner. They went a big manky really so I ended up having to throw them out and get a new pair. So proceed with caution!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Lainabaina

My black converse boots came out just lovely after a go in the washing machine but they did fall apart after a while. I wore them til I had holes on both sides of each boot, the bit where it bends when you walk. Not sure if that's just something that happens to them regardless though...