Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

7 MILLION Stolen!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Yea, but I bet it wasnt real money. I mean we all know there isnt any of that in the banks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

pipsqueak wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0227/kilteel.html

Unreal, Anyone else think BOI are a disgrace?????:eek:

how is that BOI's fault?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pipsqueak

How the fvck does one employee walk into the Bank Of Ireland on College Green at 2am leave his celica outside and fill it with 7 million euro cash??
    I mean wtf!!! what does 7,000,000 euro even weigh??:eek:

how is that BOI's fault?

Whos fault is it if isnt boi?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭zeusnero

how is that BOI's fault?

they let an employee walk in one morning and withdraw 7 million euro - surely someone in the bank must've thought it stange - what about their security staff...what the hell were they upto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Maybe they wrote him a cheque.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

The armed gang?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

How the fvck does one employee walk into the Bank Of Ireland on College Green at 2am leave his celica outside and fill it with 7 million euro cash??

True. But better still, why not get angry at the gang who held a family hostage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The scumbags that beat up the employees wife, kidnapped her and their baby and wouldn't release them 'til the guy handed over the cash.

If your partner and baby have been held to randsom you're hardly going to say no.

Wagon wrote: »
    True. But better still, why not get angry at the gang who held a family hostage?

oh i am but am still raging that boi let some lad walk in to a vault in dublin centre and at 2am and walk out with 7 million!

where were the security measures??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

"The official, who is in his 20's"

How the hell would he get the keys to the loot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Kazu

to have 7 million in a bank and no security guard at night :rolleyes::rolleyes:

for an employee to walk into a bank and take 7 million

the employee did the right thing to look after his family in the end

whats stopping any bank of Ireland employee taking money and then taking the next plane out off the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mountain

http://www.oenb.at/en/rund_ums_geld/euro/banknoten/500euro/500_euro_banknote.jsp

a 500 euro note weighs 1.1gm, 14,000 notes in 7 million, so it weighs 15.4 kilograms...

doesnt seem very heavy,
    are my maths correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

I know it's trendy to criticise the banks, but are they really the ones to blame here?

And sure the gang who beat a woman are only doing it cos of the recession.

Unbelievable.

mountain wrote: »
    http://www.oenb.at/en/rund_ums_geld/euro/banknoten/500euro/500_euro_banknote.jsp

a 500 euro note weighs 1.1gm, 14,000 notes in 7 million, so it weighs 15.4 kilograms...

doesnt seem very heavy,
    are my maths correct?

so they were all in 500 euro notes?? what were you doing last night sir?? hmm:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭carlowguy32

why would the employee get them that amount, why couldnt he just get about €20,000 and say thats all he could get, do the raiders actually know what he can get, i wouldnt know what to do in his position and feel sorry for him and his family to be put through that but to hand over 7million is crazy, hope they catch the scum, they will probably retire off this as its fairly big and might never be caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭wilson10

When you see the obcene salaries, bonuses & pensions being paid at the top you have to wonder what do these people do to earn this kind of money. They certainly don't appear to have much regard for the safety of their staff.

The technology is all there to avoid this sort of theft taking place. No one person should have access to this kind of money. Apart from the loss of the money it places individuals and their families in grave danger. It should take 2 or 3 people to enter codes to open the safe where large amounts like this are concerned. It's a no brainer.

It seems to be a case of "easy come, easy go".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

doesnt seem very heavy,
    are my maths correct?

Wrong you would not lift 7 million by yourself - chances are its was mostly 20s and 50s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I know it's trendy to criticise the banks, but are they really the ones to blame here?

Unbelievable.

Yeah, it's all Stephen's fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

why would the employee get them that amount, why couldnt he just get about €20,000 and say thats all he could get, do the raiders actually know what he can get, i wouldnt know what to do in his position and feel sorry for him and his family to be put through that but to hand over 7million is crazy, hope they catch the scum, they will probably retire off this as its fairly big and might never be caught

I assume they had inside information of some sort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Tbh, he must had being high up in the bank and had access to the money. Thats why the gang targetted him. The security guards are probably more trained on keeping unknown intruders our rather then staff they know.

If he had access to that level of cash he oblivious knew the security system in place and was known to as a high level staff member to security. If your wife and kids are in danger i'm sure you could come up with a cock and bull story quick to justify being in work after hours.

I agree that banks need to improve their security system so no one member can access so much. It might prevent gangs from targetting staff members in these Tiger raids (i think thats the name).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Mary D

That's not bad for a night's work. How did they know this amount of money was available??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

7 million is a lot for any bank to have in notes.

Normally, bank officials do not hold the keys. They are held by the porter and a manager, which changes every week or sometimes every day.

Bank security is not 24 hours on the premisis itself, it is monitored from a centre. If someone has the codes and keys, then there is no reason for security to be alerted. They don't have lazer beams and sensors everywhere... pfft!!!

Vaults are normally timelocked, due to open at 8:30 in the morning or whatever they are set for.

Bank employees are trained for this type of thing, they are told to cooperate with the criminals. You cannot put a price on someones life. :)

If the proper procedures were taken out, then this would not have happened, saying that, someone knew he had the keys, someone didn't set the time lock, someone knew there was a lot of money there at the time. I guess there is more to this than you think. Someone on the inside I would guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

oh i am but am still raging that boi let some lad walk in to a vault in dublin centre and at 2am and walk out with 7 million!

where were the security measures??

Yeah there's no denying that, it seems odd alright.

Why did you highlight that part? What about threatening to kill her along with a child and elderly lady and taking off with 7,000,000 euro? The whole bloody thing is bad, not just the beating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

doesnt seem very heavy,
    are my maths correct?

If it was all in €500 note's then that money is unusable. It would arrouse too much suspicion.

I am thinking all in 50's. I know if I was robbing a bank like they did, I would warn whoever yer man is that it better be all 50's or I will kill his Family. Then I would kill them all anyway, and all my accomplices. Can't be having witnesses now can we.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

If it was all in €500 note's then that money is unusable. It would arrouse too much suspicion.

I am thinking all in 50's. I know if I was robbing a bank like they did, I would warn whoever yer man is that it better be all 50's or I will kill his Family. Then I would kill them all anyway, and all my accomplices. Can't be having witnesses now can we.

I like were your head is at...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

jayzus, the money's insured, and even if the bank thought it strange, what were they gonna do, say 'sorry your family's f*cked, we're keeping our money'??? Get the family safe then worry about getting the money back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

sure it was probably bail out money lying around the floor after a fat cat money fight:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭wilson10

If the money is insured then insurance companies should stipulate certain security precautions that must be taken which obviously were not in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Its ok I seen this on an episode of CSI, its actually the owner of the bank trying to collect the money off the insurance. God bless you Gil Grissom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Seems that nobody criticises the crooks for getting huge "salaries" from their banking "business" activities during a recession.

wilson10 wrote: »
    If the money is insured then insurance companies should stipulate certain security precautions that must be taken which obviously were not in this case.

Obviously??? Do the insurance companies require perfect security measures? Does anybody here know what the security measures were?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Unreal, Anyone else think BOI are a disgrace?????:eek:

Yes. Who do they think they are getting robbed. The bastards.

I assuem all similar robberies are the fault of the companies?

Kazu wrote: »

whats stopping any bank of Ireland employee taking money and then taking the next plane out off the country

Whats stopping any employee of any company that has access to lareg sums of money?

Obviously? Do the insurance companies require perfect security measures? Does anybody here know what the security measures were?

Obviously this gang knew the "security" measures.

Whole thing reeks of an inside job

Stekelly wrote: »
    Yes. Who do they think they are getting robbed. The bastards.

Oh so your world its ok for a bank to have lax security measures? :rolleyes:

I'd imagine they had an idea what he could get at. I doubt they just followed a random bank employee home and targeted him.

Lax security measures? He works works for the bank and has keys/security codes etc .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

7 million would weigh **** all.

If you know they're lax you know what they were. What were they?

I'd imagine they had an idea what he could get at. I doubt they just followed a random bank employee home and targeted him.

Lax security measures? He works works for the bank and has keys/security codes etc .

The point is ONE person should not have access to a bank at 2am in the morning, ONE person should not have all the security codes and keys.

If ONE person can bypass all these systems then i think the Boi security is lax

Obviously this gang knew the "security" measures.

Whole thing reeks of an inside job

Bollix. The easiest way to do a bank is to get someone on the inside to help you. The easiest way to do that is to beat his partner in front of him and then drive her and his kid off in a car.

What would you do, get all John McClane on it or shut your ****ing yapper and get the guys the money?

Internet jackasses crack me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

doesnt seem very heavy,
    are my maths correct?

Assumptions are the mother of all ****ups...

Dragan wrote: »
    Bollix. The easiest way to do a bank is to get someone on the inside to help you. The easiest way to do that is to beat his partner in front of him and then drive her and his kid off in a car.

What would you do, get all John McClane on it or shut your ****ing yapper and get the guys the money?

Internet jackasses crack me up.
    yea me too!:rolleyes:

So I take it any company/person/legal entity that loses money in any way are a disgrace for not preventing it?
    Or is this a specific anti-BOI run we're on?

So I take it any company/person/legal entity that loses money in any way are a disgrace for not preventing it?
    Or is this a specific anti-BOI run we're on?

This discussion is about The Bank Of Ireland. One of the two main financial institutions in Ireland. They hold Hundreds of millions in cash in their vaults regulary. we are not discussing the cash box in a 2 euro shop!!

yea me too!:rolleyes:

You must get a daily laugh then.

Managers of banks will have keys, alarm codes etc. Thats about all the gang needs to know. The success lies in placing all the work in the hands of the victim, in this case the poor bastard who watched his bird take a beating and then get driven away with his kid.

The vast majority of branches will NOT have night security for the same reason they don't have day security. It's not a requirement, not a deterant to an ARMED gang and would do no good to anyone other than taking the wrong action and possibly getting someone killed.

There lock down and alarms are more than enough to stop most people in their tracks should then try a B+E on a bank after hours.

To do this kind of job, all you need to do is watch a few of the staff and thats about it.

Dragan wrote: »
    You must get a daily laugh then.

Managers of banks will have keys, alarm codes etc. Thats about all the gang needs to know. The success lies in placing all the work in the hands of the victim, in this case the poor bastard who watched his bird take a beating and then get driven away with his kid.

The vast majority of branches will NOT have night security for the same reason they don't have day security. It's not a requirement, not a deterant to an ARMED gang and would do no good to anyone other than taking the wrong action and possibly getting someone killed.

There lock down and alarms are more than enough to stop most people in their tracks should then try a B+E on a bank after hours.

To do this kind of job, all you need to do is watch a few of the staff and thats about it.

Dragan Can you please answer my earlier point about one person having access to the bank cash vaults at 2am in the morning? Im asking do you believe their security measures were adequate/bearing in mind the spate of tiger kidnappings lately?

This discussion is about The Bank Of Ireland. One of the two main financial institutions in Ireland. They hold Hundreds of millions in cash in their vaults regulary. we are not discussing the cash box in a 2 euro shop!!

Ok so, lets talk about similar kidnappings. I dont remember them involving €2 shops.

How about talking about the bank of Ireland that was fleeced last night??

Dragan Can you please answer my earlier point about one person having access to the bank cash vaults at 2am in the morning? Im asking do you believe their security measures were adequate/bearing in mind the spate of tiger kidnappings lately?

How come you arent callign the security company a disgrace for not thinkign it strange that the alarms are beign switched off at 2am?

How about talking about the bank of Ireland that was fleeced last night??

Fair enough. Wouldnt want to ruin your rant with logic and compassion.