Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Error or some kind of Dole fraud?

• 26-02-2009 7:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 28

Live on my own at the moment and havnt rented out to any non friends in the past,
    but last week got a letter (brown envelope / strip of sticky tape on the back) addressed to a non-national at my address. I didnt open it but it was locally postmarked and reminded me and im almost sure it was from the dole office (as my friend years ago got one and i got one same years ago)

I just put a strike through the name and address and wrote return to sender on it person does not live here, and An Post can look after it. (not sure if its legal to open post myself??)

Again today, get another letter (different name) but you can clearly see through the address label where it says Health Service Executive, and holding it up to the light you can make out supplementary welfare something, but there is a ref number and i can make out an address where it came from.

PArt of me thinks its just an error but is anyone else getting these letters addressed to other people at their homes??
    Im deffo going to write to the HSE in case someone is trying to use my address as some kind of fraud or something.

Anyone know who best to report this to ??

thks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Id have taken both to the local social welfare officer. Sounds like a scam to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

Be a devil. Keep the money, its what the Taoiseach would do ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I agree with Abigayle, get the feckers in trouble.
    We can't afford to be carrying anyone now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

I would ring the HSE instead of writing to them - open the letters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

one way to solve this OP..

BURN YOUR HOUSE DOWN!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 老大

one way to solve this OP..

BURN YOUR HOUSE DOWN!!

haha yeah, good idea ! :P

Ok opened it, and it was indeed from a walfare officer about someones claim for rent relief and supplementary welfare [wont go into detail too much]

Anyway i've wrote to the welfare officer enclosing the letter explaining that the person(s) dont live here and that my address isnt rented out and I didnt want my home to be in some way used to defruad the state :eek:

Case closed... for now :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

that sounds seriously scketchy! :eek:

keep us posted!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭ownknee

turgon wrote: »
    Be a devil. Keep the money, its what the Taoiseach would do ;)
    Ha ha ha...
    Not sure if this one would get away with that but certainly our previous Taoiseach might have thought about it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Its those non nationals ripping off our social welfare system again...

... or maybe just an address mix up.

dvpower wrote: »
    Its those non nationals ripping off our social welfare system again...

... or maybe just an address mix up.

Oh for Gods sake...if I hear another person giving out about non nationals again I might just get sick.
    While I have no doubt there are a number of non nationals scamming, I find it very hard to assume they are ALL scamming.
    No one batted an eyelid when these non nationals were doing work Irish people didn't want to do when times were good. But now the sh*t has hit the fan the non nationals are to blame for scamming the welfare system.
    I worked with non nationals & I have to say they would put us to shame, as much as we hate to hear it, it is actually true.
    Also I might add that there are enough Irish people who are scamming the welfare system even when you couldn't turn in the street but you would get hit with a job offer.
    Instead of concentrating your energy into discriminating against non nationals, why don't you ask why there isn't someone going around checking out people who are signing on & still working either full time or part time?
    And don't tell me it's not happening, it has probably never been as rampant as it is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

No no - their scam has worked perfectly.

They used to live at your address and legitimately claimed social welfare. But then they left and moved out of Ireland to another country. And now due to a clerical error, some paper work is still being sent to them at their old address.

What a scam!!!!!

Those geniuses.

Sorry - Those Geniui!!!!!!

You can never compete with these masterminds of welfare fraud. No way, no how!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

ownknee wrote: »
    Oh for Gods sake...if I hear another person

They need to scam sometimes, can't have Swan for dinner every night.

Instead of concentrating your energy into discriminating against non nationals ...

I didn't think my post needed the inclusion of a sarcasm tag. Looks like I was wrong.

Here we go again.

/can of worms opened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Abigayle wrote: »
    /can of worms opened

They're eating our worms as well ?

老大 wrote: »
    Live on my own at the moment and havnt rented out to any non friends in the past

Ok OP. So you've established that the people that the letters were addressed to didn't live at your address.
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    They used to live at your address ...

OP. You were wrong. They did live at your address. See.
    ...and legitimately claimed social welfare.

How do you know this s**t?
    But then they left and moved out of Ireland to another country.

Do you happen to have a forwarding address? Can you give it to the OP to forward on the mail to.

They're eating our worms as well ?

Ye. They use worm meat and various árse burning spices to make their own sausages.

We'll be left with nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

You don't happen to live at 123 Fake St., do you OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I worked with non nationals & I have to say they would put us to shame, as much as we hate to hear it, it is actually true.

I'm absolutley sick to death of tripe like that. Put us to shame??
    No they would not.They might put you to shame but the vast majority i worked with spent most of their time with a phone in one hand and a fag in the other waiting beside a corner so they could spot the foreman coming and pretend they were doing something. Any culchie working on a site would and regularly did in my experience sh1te from a height on them.

They might shame you in attendance rates, turning up every single day, some still out of their minds with drink or drugs. But when their mates all make sure they can get a couple of hours kip in a locked room while they cover for them then i suppose that makes it ok. To hell with health and safety when there's easy money to be made, right?

All i hear is "Oh the molvanians are so much better than us". ARE THEY BOLL O X. Thats submissive defeatism and its pathetic.

To repeat a famous line Where's your fkn pride?

Thank you, end of rant.

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Any culchie working on a site would and regularly did in my experience sh1te from a height on them.

Are you trying to say that culchie builders are better then Dublin builders?

/leaves thread with spoon in hand

Are you trying to say that culchie builders are better then Dublin builders?

/leaves thread with spoon in hand

Of course we are. We built dublin. If the dubs hadn't kept slowing us down and robbing our tools we'd never have needed foreigners in the first place.

Of course we are. We built dublin.

I always suspected that culchies were to blame for the state of the place.

We might have built the kip but we're not daft enough to live there

@Daroxtar Location: Meath, but from Sligo
    Bit of an immigrant yourself by the look of it.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Damn Connaught people.
    Cromwell should have sent them all to hell.

Damn Connaught people.

I'm a native migrant. Not a flag waving colonist who missed the boat home circa 1922.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Terry wrote: »
    Damn Connaught people.

wait.... whats Connaught then?

I'm absolutley sick to death of tripe like that. Put us to shame??
    No they would not.They might put you to shame but the vast majority i worked with spent most of their time with a phone in one hand and a fag in the other waiting beside a corner so they could spot the foreman coming and pretend they were doing something. Any culchie working on a site would and regularly did in my experience sh1te from a height on them.

They might shame you in attendance rates, turning up every single day, some still out of their minds with drink or drugs. But when their mates all make sure they can get a couple of hours kip in a locked room while they cover for them then i suppose that makes it ok. To hell with health and safety when there's easy money to be made, right?

All i hear is "Oh the molvanians are so much better than us". ARE THEY
    BOLL O X. Thats submissive defeatism and its pathetic.

To repeat a famous line Where's your fkn pride?

Thank you, end of rant.

My pride is very much in tact, thank you for asking. I expressed an opinion, my opinion from my experiences working with nationals & non nationals & what I wrote is not sugar coated for the benefit of my rant, it is indeed true.
    While I accept you had a different experience & therefore a different opinion, I don't accept your lack of manners by cursing in YOUR rant. By all means post your opinion but you're only showing your own ignorance by using that kind of language in that context.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Wait...what was this thread about again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

How do you know this s**t?

Because I am the evil genius immigrant! Muuhhhahaahhaaaa!!!

I was just putting it out there dvpower - most likely explanation really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

BACON...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    BACON...
    Mmmmm breakfast roll

DINO RIDERS!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Thread needs more cake..

My pride is very much in tact, thank you for asking. I expressed an opinion, my opinion from my experiences working with nationals & non nationals & what I wrote is not sugar coated for the benefit of my rant, it is indeed true.
    While I accept you had a different experience & therefore a different opinion, I don't accept your lack of manners by cursing in YOUR rant. By all means post your opinion but you're only showing your own ignorance by using that kind of language in that context.

No bother so. If you're happy to be shown up by them then i'm quite happy that you dont accept my choice of language. Thank god you only had to read it. I dread to think of the damage that would have been caused to your ears if you ever heard this kind of horrific language in real life.
    Btw, this is the after hours forum. For somewhat more Politically correct forums with more delicate language i suggest looking in the soc.section

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Slightly off-topic, but are you, by law, permitted to open somebody else's mail in Ireland? I know it's a criminal offence in many other countries, including the UK and the States... Anyone know the position here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭shezzie

to the OP

this is a major scam...i work for an post and yes it is very illegal to open anyone elses mail no matter what the reason genuine or not you can get fined and or jailed for it...

i work in social welfare and finacial services section and know this to be a big scam in some cases some people have had to go to the police as they received dozens of these letters. in some cases soc wel and h s e have investigated people with so many claims going to one address.be careful..

my advice would go to your local post office and ask for an MP58 form this is a form for all mail enquiries,include a letter with the names of those involved so far...you dont know what else they could be using your address for..by law we have to deliver every letter sent as we dont know who does or doesnt live at addresses or who does/doesnt want what letters so unless you do something productive you may still get them..

i dont believe every foreign national can be tagged with the scammers tag though from my experience they are the most rude, abusive and physically threatening. yes irish definately have their moments. but there alot of very nice hard working foreign nationals too that should be remembered too.

good luck OH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 老大

shezzie wrote: »
    to the OP

this is a major scam...i work for an post and yes it is very illegal to open anyone elses mail no matter what the reason genuine or not you can get fined and or jailed for it...

i work in social welfare and finacial services section and know this to be a big scam in some cases some people have had to go to the police as they received dozens of these letters. in some cases soc wel and h s e have investigated people with so many claims going to one address.be careful..

my advice would go to your local post office and ask for an MP58 form this is a form for all mail enquiries,include a letter with the names of those involved so far...you dont know what else they could be using your address for..by law we have to deliver every letter sent as we dont know who does or doesnt live at addresses or who does/doesnt want what letters so unless you do something productive you may still get them..

i dont believe every foreign national can be tagged with the scammers tag though from my experience they are the most rude, abusive and physically threatening. yes irish definately have their moments. but there alot of very nice hard working foreign nationals too that should be remembered too.

good luck OH

Thks Shezz,

didnt get more letters since last one, and the HSE didnt write back to me yet. (although i wouldnt expect them to come back until late this week at the earliest anyway).

Other posters: :P no i dont live at 123 fake st ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Because I am the evil genius immigrant! Muuhhhahaahhaaaa!!!

"Immigrants, I knew it was them, even when it was the bears I knew it was them!"

No bother so. If you're happy to be shown up by them then i'm quite happy that you dont accept my choice of language. Thank god you only had to read it. I dread to think of the damage that would have been caused to your ears if you ever heard this kind of horrific language in real life.
    Btw, this is the after hours forum. For somewhat more Politically correct forums with more delicate language i suggest looking in the soc.section

It's not that my ears are sensitive because believe me I use language like that everyday. Look I owe you an apology so I'm sorry.
    It's called having a crap week & if a random person on the street made accidental eye contact with me I would probably have ranted at them.
    Luckily enough for the random strangers I looked demented enough for them to keep a safe distance.
    And in my fit of self pity & anger I didn't bother looking to see what forum I was in, even if I had I probably would have gone off the deep end anyway.
    So hopefully no hard feelings & if I sound a bit too uppity in future feel free to let me know.

ah big hug ownknee, having one of those weeks myself and its only monday..i know its not the thread but big hugs to you:):)does that make it any better

Strangely enough it does! After reading some of the other posts on other forums though I feel like a bit of a git for giving out.
    Ah well theres always one isn't there.

thats what "boards" is for to me - opinions both sides - we all have those days so respect :)another hug for the road:)

It's not that my ears are sensitive because believe me I use language like that everyday. Look I owe you an apology so I'm sorry.
    It's called having a crap week & if a random person on the street made accidental eye contact with me I would probably have ranted at them.
    Luckily enough for the random strangers I looked demented enough for them to keep a safe distance.
    And in my fit of self pity & anger I didn't bother looking to see what forum I was in, even if I had I probably would have gone off the deep end anyway.
    So hopefully no hard feelings & if I sound a bit too uppity in future feel free to let me know.

No bother at all. I've been guilty of similar offences here in the not to distant past. And wasn't that quick in apologising either. And got my wrists slapped too! Respect to you, and if you do loose the plot about something, shure what harm? Nothin like a good loud roar to ensure calm and quietness follows. Anyway, best get back on topic before powers that be react and infract. :)

thats what "boards" is for to me - opinions both sides - we all have those days so respect :)another hug for the road:)

Thanks for that & sure have one yourself...
    Theres opinions & theres spending too much time on my moral high horse. Anyway we'll stop talking about it before someone cracks up!:p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

http://www.anpost.ie/AnPost/MainContent/Customer+Service/cust-howwehelp.htm#wrong_address
    If you are receiving mail for someone else, please let us know and we will try and resolve it.

Why is this happening?

* There may have been a previous occupant at the address who has not redirected their mail or changed their address.
    * By law we have to deliver the mail to the stated address (not the named person).

Solution: Return the item to us.

* Mark the item ‘Return to sender’ and put it into a Post Box.
    * If it is convenient, please help us by putting it through the correct letterbox. If this happens frequently, please let us know and we will try to resolve it.
    * You can re-post the item in a Post Box, or give it to your Postperson

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Mena wrote: »
    Slightly off-topic, but are you, by law, permitted to open somebody else's mail in Ireland? I know it's a criminal offence in many other countries, including the UK and the States... Anyone know the position here?
    Yes it's illegal here

Postal and Telecommunications Services Act, 1983
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1983/en/act/pub/0024/sec0084.html
    84.—(1) A person who—
    [GA]

( a ) opens or attempts to open a postal packet addressed to another person or delays or detains any such postal packet or does anything to prevent its due delivery or authorises, suffers or permits another person (who is not the person to whom the postal packet is addressed) to do so, or

( b ) discloses the existence or contents of any such postal packet, or

( c ) uses for any purpose any information obtained from any such postal packet, or

( d ) tampers with any such postal packet,

without the agreement of the person to whom the postal packet is addressed shall be guilty of an offence.

No bother at all. I've been guilty of similar offences here in the not to distant past. And wasn't that quick in apologising either. And got my wrists slapped too! Respect to you, and if you do loose the plot about something, shure what harm? Nothin like a good loud roar to ensure calm and quietness follows. Anyway, best get back on topic before powers that be react and infract. :)

Right well thanks for accepting the apology...not many people would be big enough to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Yes it's illegal here

Postal and Telecommunications Services Act, 1983
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1983/en/act/pub/0024/sec0084.html

Cheers. I looked for an hour and couldn't find it. I blame.. uhm.. The poor diet the swans have...

Damn gypsies/travelers/polish/knackers/junkies/The-Citizen (delete as applicable)