Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pump Etiquette

• 26-02-2009 1:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭

What is the correct Petrol pump etiquette ?

Some people just make my blood boil. Pulled in this morning at a station on the N7. Every pump is full ..... no probs.

Queue up behind a one of the full pumps. Each pump had a car behind.
    Now in my view as soon as you fill you shift you car to the door so you can pay ( if there is others waiting behind you)

Guy at pump 1, gets out fills and walks in , then decides he is hungry, orders a sandwich. ( i watched him) then decides he wants a coffee. So off he trots to make his coffee.

Still sitting here waiting and no manoveure space around. So i continued to watch him. Sandwich in hand and coffee. Then he pays and comes out.

Luckily the car in front of me pulled off. So i filled and then walked towards the door. Couldnt believe my eyes, they guys was sitting now in his car at the pump chomping on the sandwich and drinking his coffee. There was still a queue of cars.

I went in and paid and he was still sitting there on my way out chomping away at the pump.:eek:
    What an ****hole. :mad:

Some people have no sense at all.
    Am i just mad?:confused: or is there a certain amount of cop on you should use when filling up at a busy station....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

listermint wrote: »
    So i filled and then walked towards the door.

you didn't take your own advice and drive to the door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

What a prick! I guess no-one behind him beeped or told him to move?
    I always move the car as soon as possible (after paying, don't want to make them think I'm running away :D)
    You can park it again in a spot that doesn't obstruct anyone to go get your coffee/snacks and eat in leisure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

If possible, i'll move as soon as i've filled, then pay. That said, I tend to avoid stations with queues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Am i just mad?:confused: or is there a certain amount of cop on you should use when filling up at a busy station....

But at the same time you are paying for a product and service so may as well make the most of it;)

/hides from backlash/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I tried your suggestion once, I filled up, saw two cars behind me queueing in my rear view mirror, so I got back into my car and went to drive over to a parking space at the other side of the forecourt.

As I pulled out, an attendant with a big yellow illuminious jacket rushed over to my car (as I was driving), assumed that I was trying to drive off without paying, pulled open my car door and started roaring at me to get out.

So since that experience, I fill up, go in and pay and if I need anything else, I'll buy it and you'll just have to sit there and wait!

Darragh29 wrote: »
    I tried your suggestion once, I filled up, saw two cars behind me queueing in my rear view mirror, so I got back into my car and went to drive over to a parking space at the other side of the forecourt.

As I pulled out, an attendant with a big yellow illuminious jacket rushed over to my car (as I was driving), assumed that I was trying to drive off without paying, pulled open my car door and started roaring at me to get out.

So since that experience, I fill up, go in and pay and if I need anything else, I'll buy it and you'll just have to sit there and wait!
    My response to that would be a bit different - i'd continue to move the car after filling but i'd never go back to that garage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭boredatwork82

I have done taht a few times! Sometimes I have even sat down inside and availed of their dining facilities, whilst my car is parked at the pump.
    I didn't always do it, but got so fed up with people skipping the q for the pumps, and parking blocking pumps even though they weren't getting petrol/diesel. So I stopped showing consideration for others.
    I'll try to think to be more considerate in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

I would have flattened the guy, seriously.

I avoid stations with queues as well, I think in the last nine years I've had to queue twice, and in both cases I moved the car out of the way so the next guy could get in, it's only common decency. The guy in the OP sounds like a right prick.

Mena wrote: »
    On camera, yeah?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

I also move my jeep as soon as I've filled up, out of consideration for others. I wud of gave your boy in the OP a gud chewin...especially if it had of been early morning!

I see a lot of people who this though, quite amazing. This and the people who presume hazard lights are a licence to park where ever they feel like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

Aren't you supposed to leave your car at the pump until you've payed? I thought it was hard for the assistant to get a reading otherwise.
    If i want to get coffee or something. I'll fill, pay, move car, then go back to the shop.

I avoid stations with queues as well, I think in the last nine years I've had to queue twice, and in both cases I moved the car out of the way so the next guy could get in, it's only common decency. The guy in the OP sounds like a right prick.

To be honest, I think people in this country need to chill out, relax, calm down, what's the hurry??? There's still a bit of this Celtic Tiger "I'm in a hurry, get the fook outa my way" mentality, hanging around the country, and hopefully this recession will purge the last of that perspective off the land...

So what if you have to wait five minutes for someone to get a sambo and a coffee???

The OP's point is purely academic anyway, if I go to, say for example, pump number 6 in a forecourt, and put in 20 Euro of petrol, and move the car immediately to another parking space to allow someone else fill up, and they now move to pump number 6, if I go inside and get in a queue for a sandwich and a coffee, and assuming I'm going to pay for the whole lot together (petrol, sambo and coffee), the guy sitting outside at pump number 6 now, still cannot start filling up his car until I've cleared my 20 Euro transaction at the till, for that particular pump...

I accept that some stations have two tills now, one for food and one for fuel or other stuff bought in the shop, but the majority of ones I use have only one till...

To be honest, I think people in this country need to chill out, relax, calm down, what's the hurry??? There's still a bit of this Celtic Tiger "I'm in a hurry, get the fook outa my way" mentality, hanging around the country, and hopefully this recession will purge the last of that perspective off the land...
    That's all well and good when it's your own time. Unnecessarily delaying others will always be rude. That said, I do agree with what you're saying about people's attitudes in general - the Celtic Tiger turned a lot of people into pigs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

I always leave my car at the pump after filling then pay.
    Just in case the next customer's fuel gets added to my bill by accident before I've paid.

Anan1 wrote: »
    That's all well and good when it's your own time. Unnecessarily delaying others will always be rude. That said, I do agree with what you're saying about people's attitudes in general - the Celtic Tiger turned a lot of people into pigs.

But the fact remains that if I move my car after filling up, the person who uses the pump next cannot dispense fuel from that pump until I clear my transaction at the till.

In such an instance, if there is a queue of 4-5 people queueing at the till JUST TO PAY FOR FUEL, leaving out any issue of sandwiches or such stuff, the person outside who has parked at the pump that I've just moved away from, will just have to wait, it's that simple.

Often there are no parking available parking spaces on a forecourt. So what should I do in that instance if I want a sambo and have just filled up with petrol???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Now in my view as soon as you fill you shift you car to the door so you can pay ( if there is others waiting behind you)

Some pumps won't pump until the previous pump has been paid for by the previous pumper.

Pump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

On camera, yeah?;)

I guess we just interpreted the incident very differently. I saw it as an attempted assault and would have reacted. Not actually having been there, that's all I have to go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

IMO construction workers are usually the worst for doing this as they seldom travel alone. Until the last of them have their grub, vehicles stay put at the pumps. Will not be such an issue for the foreseeable future.

While people should chill out in general, common courtesy and consideration for other users, wouldn't go amiss either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Mingey

So what if you have to wait five minutes for someone to get a sambo and a coffee???

I disagree. Why should you have to wait out of someone elses inconsideration? It takes all of 2 seconds to move away from the pump if there is a queue behind you. Then you can take all the dilly-dallying time you like in the overpriced shop on no one elses time but your own. A lot can be said for consideration for others.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

But the fact remains that if I move my car after filling up, the person who uses the pump next cannot dispense fuel from that pump until I clear my transaction at the till.

Is there a technical reason for that. I would have thought they could pump away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

On camera, yeah?;)

Surely you could argue self defense? Someone pulling open your car door could easily be seen as an a attack that warrants action.

I've never had an issue driving to park after filling up.

In such an instance, if there is a queue of 4-5 people queueing at the till JUST TO PAY FOR FUEL, leaving out any issue of sandwiches or such stuff, the person outside who has parked at the pump that I've just moved away from, will just have to wait, it's that simple.

But if your already moved, he can start filling up as soon as you pay. if theres a que of 4 or 5 people those 4 or 5 30-45s add ons turn into 2-3 minutes extra for the last guy.

Stare at the wall for 3 full minutes, it's quite a while. Thats on top of the few minutes it takes each person to fill up. Then add on anyone that gets food and other things.

If you think people here are in a hurry, go to Germany and watch the hand waving and beeping that goes on if someone takes too long overtakign on the Autobahn and is in the way for 5 seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Not true... 3 Buttons per pump on the console we used when I worked in a petrol station. and one 'clear' button

Green: pump is lifted, green light beeps and flashes. I take a look, and if all is ok, authorise the pump. While they fill, solid green, when they hang up the pump, flashes again. During the fill if I hit green button I can follow the amount being put in.

Orange: Recall. If someone uses the pump after you have, but you haven't paid for it yet, they pump away as normal. Hit orange at any stage to see the previous amount. (only room for 1 transaction previous)

Red: Stop Pump while in use

Clear: When the transaction is finished, I hit clear to clear it from the system.

This was an older system not attached to the cash drawer, but I assume they're still similar.

Having said all that though, leave the car at the pump. Anyone who ever moved their car got chased, most of them were grand about it but you'd have people getting offended as well. Cant really blame the guy for opening your door.

Yeah, real tough :rolleyes: He wasnt a right prick, he was doing his job..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

I always leave my car at the pump after filling then pay.
    Just in case the next customer's fuel gets added to my bill by accident before I've paid.

Me and my friend were in an almighty rush one day and I filled up, drove on, he filled up and when I got to the till, me and my friend had too split the 85 pound sterling bill! (im sure he got more fuel than me that day! the chancer!)

Stee wrote: »

Having said all that though, leave the car at the pump. Anyone who ever moved their car got chased, most of them were grand about it but you'd have people getting offended as well. Cant really blame the guy for opening your door.

How would you have time to react then get to the guy in the 5 secs it takes to start the car and then another 2 or 3 to move forward 10 yards?

If they are legging it they are not goign to stop for some guy shouting at them.

Not really, no. It's like grabbing a suspected shoplifter before they leave the shop. They havnt stolen anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

I can't see what the problem is to be honest. If someone's taking their time, they're taking their time. If they want a coffee, let them get their coffee. If you don't have time to wait, you can go somewhere else. Until they've paid for the petrol and other purchases and moved off, there's nothing you can do. Really, so why stress about it?

So what's the problem? Don't like how it works? Fine. Go somewhere else, where they don't incur these delays. Otherwise just accept that it's how it is. This is like bitching about a full carpark at a shopping centre to be honest.... You'll be moaning about people taking too long to do their weekly grocery shop next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭jackal

Not true, all they have to do is tap a button and let you fill up, you dont have to wait for the previous transaction to be settled.
    Often there are no parking available parking spaces on a forecourt. So what should I do in that instance if I want a sambo and have just filled up with petrol???

Go without. You're not going to die of hunger by the look of ya. :p

Stekelly wrote: »
    How would you have time to react then get to the guy in the 5 secs it takes to start the car and then another 2 or 3 to move forward 10 yards?

If they are legging it they are not goign to stop for some guy shouting at them.

Not really, no. It's like grabbing a suspected shoplifter before they leave the shop. They havnt stolen anything.

Have seen plenty of people pulling runners and their ignition keys are perfectly accessible if you open their drivers door. You can tell when someone is pulling a runner (yes by stereo-typing them), so you try and stop them.

If you see someone getting into their car and driving away from the pump but you're unsure whether its a runner or not, you still go for the car, shouting/standing in their way/whatever. You'd be surprised at the amount of people who drive off and genuinely forget to pay for petrol.

You have a point with the shoplifter comparison, but you're not accusing anyone of stealing, just "reminding them they have to pay"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Not by pulling the door open when the guy was parked and obviously not doing a runner.

You have a point with the shoplifter comparison, but you're not accusing anyone of stealing, just "reminding them they have to pay"

Pulling open their door and shouting/grabbing their keys, is well beyond a friendly reminder.

Is this not what cctv is for anyway?

WindSock wrote: »
    Not by pulling the door open when the guy was parked and obviously not doing a runner.

Pulling open their door and shouting/grabbing their keys, is well beyond a friendly reminder.

Ok, well I don't really want to go too far into before I say anything offensive. But lets say there are a certain group of people and 90% of them will try anything to get away with paying. With them, and only them, I'd pull the door open and take keys.

Anyone else it'd be out to them, calling/shouting/standing in their way, maybe not taking such a full on approach. In my place we didnt have CCTV for a number of years and, when we got, it couldnt even read the reg :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

:confused::rolleyes:
    Mingey wrote: »
    I disagree. Why should you have to wait out of someone elses inconsideration? It takes all of 2 seconds to move away from the pump if there is a queue behind you. Then you can take all the dilly-dallying time you like in the overpriced shop on no one elses time but your own. A lot can be said for consideration for others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭sneakyST

Never mind this taking your time business......where did the new thing come from where people Q ten feet back waiting for a pump to become free, thus causing a jam out onto the roads, instead of picking a pump and waiting at it........

I drive around them and go to a pump....they go nuts......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'll leave the car at the pump while I'm paying, mainly just so that it doesn't look like I'm robbing it ! It'll only take me about 10 seconds to pay, I don't think anyone minds waiting that long.

If I've to buy something else (that isn't beside the till) then I'll pay for the petrol, move the car, and go back in.

Dave! wrote: »
    If I've to buy something else (that isn't beside the till) then I'll pay for the petrol, move the car, and go back in.

That's my method too but more because I never buy much in the service stations apart from petrol. They're kinda pricey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

does cctv put the money in the till somehow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Getting Petrol is like going to the toilet.

Some people get in and get out as quick as possible.

Others like to bring the paper with them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Slig

Jesus its getting worse:eek:, you are complaining about people because of the way they use a petrol pump? It will be, at most, 2 or 3 minutes. Do you think there should be a limit on how much a person should be putting in their tank aswell? anything over €20 is just been inconsiderate to other people.

If there is a queue at a petrol station then either live with it or move on to another one, your time isnt that valuable!

Slig wrote: »
    Jesus its getting worse:eek:, you are complaining about people because of the way they use a petrol pump? It will be, at most, 2 or 3 minutes.

So you didn't read the first post then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I just go to one of the places that still has people on the pumps. I also normally have a quick chat with them too. To top it all off it's the cheapest place around.

If I'm somewhere where I have to get out to pay I'll leave the car there, I don't mind waiting a few minutes I'm never long, I don't buy anything big in those places, maybe a bar if I see a nice one.
    Also I know one where the parking is awkward, depending on the direction your facing and the pump your at, you would have to either drive behind the station(where lorrys are normally parked) or out onto the road and around. Not really worth it, also for some reason in that place there's more people that park there than people that use the pumps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,123 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Is it really so much of an issue? I usually get my petrol at Texaco Lucan, which is the petrol station with (I've been told) the biggest turnover in the country and I rarely have to queue more than 2 minutes before a pump becomes available. Most of the time I don't have to wait at all.

Now don't get me wrong here, going in to the petrol station (while keeping a pump occupied) to have something to eat / drink on the premises is plain wrong obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

you didn't take your own advice and drive to the door?

Love the quick wit :rolleyes:, However as this lad was in the car, i had no space to go around... i went in and paid, i didnt get a sandwich get a coffee.. i just paid. and he was still there when i came out....:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

Like other have said already, i never get diesel in anywhere i think will be busy. I try to get it on a Sunday evening or some mid week evening when im on the road after evening rush hour.

I do however leave my car where it is until i pay, but its to the till and pay, id move again and park elsewhere if i wanted anything in the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

You know what? Maybe it's just me getting old, but personally there are a dozen other issues concerning me in the world today that I'd get more irked over.

Did the theft of said guy of five minutes of your time seriously incapacitate you to go about your daily business? Did it prevent you from performing a vital heart-transplantation?

I'd wager than it didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Also perhaps everyone is missing the point here.

They guy wasnt just paying, he was doing a little shop for food while there and then eating for-mentioned food at the pump with a queue behind him. I mean COME ON! which everway you paint in he was an ****hole.

Also from some comments here i think people believe the tills have technology from the 80's. The tills can handle multiple transactions and unless its old tom's fill up and go station down in ballymoreuseless it does not add transactions together:rolleyes: so NO your not going to pay for other peoples petrol.

Remember the amount , Remember the Pump Num and go in.. Sorted!!:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Also perhaps everyone is missing the point here.

They guy wasnt just paying, he was doing a little shop for food while there and then eating for-mentioned food at the pump with a queue behind him. I mean COME ON! which everway you paint in he was an ****hole.

Also from some comments here i think people believe the tills have technology from the 80's. The tills can handle multiple transactions and unless its old tom's fill up and go station down in ballymoreuseless it does not add transactions together:rolleyes: so NO your not going to pay for other peoples petrol.

Remember the amount , Remember the Pump Num and go in.. Sorted!!:cool:

Why were you in so much of a rush?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

My personal favourites are the people who block access to a pump or two while they do their shopping, and don't buy any fuel at all.

I've seen it a few times over the last while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

I go to the pump get out, fill the car, go in to the shop, pay for my fuel, back in my car and exit, no buying food, no reading papers, no talking about third world dept to the cashier.

I have found that anytime I have ever moved away from the pump and then went in to pay there's massive confusion from the cashier and it usually ends up you leave the place doubting they recognise your cars fuel as being payed for and they will call the boys in blue. I wish they had credit/laser card payment options at the pump, so much handier, provided ofcourse women were not allowed use them ;)

event wrote: »
    does cctv put the money in the till somehow?

Does harrassing decent customers make them want to come back? Whats it theres for in the first place?

Your treatign all customers like thieves because a tiny minority steal

Lots of people in supermarkets (especially small ones and the likes of Lidl and Aldi that dont use baskets) use their own bags or boxes wile they are shopping. If security started grabbing them and searchign them while walkign around how many will come back?

You havnt stolen anything till you leave the premises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

What about the herberts who drive into the queue for the car wash and then walk into the garage shop to buy the carwash and maybe stop and shop for the usual jambons and red top rags. Numpties of the highest order.

(Luckily I wouldn't let a garage carwash near my motor).