Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Het Nieuwsblad: Predictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭mr. pleasant

good call.

both boonen and pozatto have already shown something this year. looks like gilbert builds his form to peak a little later compared to last year.

i think boonen will win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Hadn't realised they changed the name. The Het Volk (semi-classic) was always the start of the classics season. My favourite kind of racing. Bring it on.:pac::pac: Outside bet for Gert Steegmans

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Neither Gilbert nor Pozzato are on the start list at the moment.

Boonen obviously is the one to watch, but half of Quickstep could win this, such as Devolder and De Jongh. Steegmans is lining out for Katusha and this is a race that might suit him. Would also be keeping an eye on Matti Breschel and Flecha. I like Milram's Niki Terpstra too. Only 24 but he's going to start winning big races in Belgium soon.

Oh and An Post-Sean Kelly will be there to.

Can't wait. Spring races in Belgian are probably my favourite part of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I found a provisional list...
    http://www.bikeworldnews.com/index.php/2009/02/23/omloop-het-nieuwsblad-2009-provisional-start-list/

Gilbert and Pozatto are on it. Where are you reading?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Raam wrote: »
    Where are you reading?

Cyclingnews.

D'oh, and now I just realised that I was reading the start-list for Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne, which is on the next day.

So, yes Gilbert and Pozzato are racing. Rabobank's Nick Nuyens is definitly in with a shot too.

I hadn't realised An Post were in it. Do they have a chance of getting a good result?

They're in K-B-K as it turns out.

el tonto wrote: »
    Can't wait. Spring races in Belgian are probably my favourite part of the season.
    From memory, I think if you were a pro then this type of cycling would be right down your field:)
    A touch of the old Gilbert Duclos-Lasalle me thinks.

Sorry Raam but like myself I don't think we would have the physique to battle these Belgian roads! Probably wouldn't be able to get the heart beat up as it would be too cold:eek: ( I suffer from similar heartbeat issue ref other post;))

sy wrote: »
    From memory, I think if you were a pro then this type of cycling would be right down your field:)
    A touch of the old Gilbert Duclos-Lasalle me thinks.

Sorry Raam but like myself I don't think we would have the physique to battle these Belgian roads! Probably wouldn't be able to get the heart beat up as it would be too cold:eek: ( I suffer from similar heartbeat issue ref other post;))

EH? You mean I'm nothing like that Ballan fella at all?!

Sorry not Italian enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭sean_d

sy wrote: »
    Outside bet for Gert Steegmans
    Think the Het might be a wee bit hilly for him, but definitely an outside chance for the flatter KBK on Sunday.

Hard to see anyone getting past Boonen, Pozzato or Gilbert, but as a long shot I'd like to see Matt Breschel of SaxoBank to get away in a break, or Devolder going on the rampage.

The Belgian Classics are definitely my favorite races of the year, sure the cycling season is over once Paris-Roubaix and Scheldeprijs Vlaanderen is over in mid-April :rolleyes:

What about Chavanel as an outside bet? I've always liked him as a rider.

Depends too on the weather. Not sure if Chavanel would like the wind and rain but yes I really admire him as a rider. Other dark horse is Devolder. Boonen looked very strong in California but still think he is planning his season around Flanders or Roubaix. Thats not saying he wont go for it on Saturday if he his feeling good.

Didn't Chavanel take a big solo win in the rain at one of the Belgian races last year? I vaguely remember a picture of him crossing the line completely soaked on an awful day.
    Love his racing style, but I think the biggest obstacle to him winning is probably his own team this year. Maybe they'll give him a chance to race for himself in a few of the smaller races in return for supporting Boonen later...in which case, backed by QuickStep he'll be a formiddable challenger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Well, seeing as all the likely contenders have been discussed, I'm going to stick my neck out and say I think Burghardt will do well (he's my dark horse pick) -will be rooting for Sylvain Chavanel though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Does anyone know where I can watch it on the web for free?

el_tonto's gaff. He subscribes to cycling.tv right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

el_tonto's gaff. He subscribes to cycling.tv right?

Ok, everyone at Tonto's place. I will bring the Belgian Beer and the Mussells/Chips combo :P

You're more than welcome. Can't log in to cycling.tv today, so hopefully that will resolve itself by the weekend.

Cycling Weekly's top ten...
    1 Sylvain Chavanel (Quick Step)
    2 Greg Van Avermaet (Silence-Lotto)
    3 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Columbia)
    4 Martijn Maaskant (Garmin-Slipstream)
    5 Nick Nuyens (Rabobank)
    6 Philippe Gilbert (Silence-Lotto)
    7 Filippo Pozzato (Katusha)
    8 Andreas Klier (Cervélo Test Team)
    9 Leif Hoste (Silence-Lotto)
    10 Gerald Ciolek (Milram)

Then they list all these as outsiders...
    • Tom Boonen, Stijn Devolder (Quick Step)
    • Dmitriy Muravyev (Astana)
    • Hervé Duclos-Lassalle (Cofidis)
    • Arnaud Gerard, Gianni Meersman (Française des Jeux)
    • Aleksandr Kuschynski (Liquigas)
    • Maarten Tjallingii (Rabobank)
    • Gert Steegmans (Katusha)
    • Stuart O'Grady (Saxo Bank)
    • Roger Hammond, Jeremy Hunt, Thor Hushovd (Cervélo)

They are really keeping their options open :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Always tough this time of year to predict but I reckon Van Avermaet has real chance - I think he's a smashing talent...

Outside bet (in event of bunch sprint) I'll have a pop at Ciolek.

Is it not on Eurosport ?

Funkyzeit wrote: »
    Is it not on Eurosport ?

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

You're more than welcome. Can't log in to cycling.tv today, so hopefully that will resolve itself by the weekend.

did you just invite the internet around to your gaff?

brave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Dura Ace

There will be links posted on the website www.cyclingfans.com for watching the race online. I've watched the Tour of Mallorca, Tour du Haut Var, etc., through the website this year so far. You can watch some really obscure races through this. I managed to see Tro-Bro Leon last year.

niceonetom wrote: »
    did you just invite the internet around to your gaff?

brave.

Ye behaved yourself last time, so....

Well, except for the one lout at gave you a broken bike and asked you to fix it for him :)

And he spilt beer EVERYWHERE

That was true too... he fair wrecked the gaff!

To be fair, he's a damn good cyclist though. So I guess that makes up for it.

It's the only reason we put up with the other behaviours

Can't believe we all forgot about Thor!