Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How often do you use Fr.Ted quotes?

• 25-02-2009 7:02pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭

I finished a glass of wine yesterday and said 'MORE DRINK' to my flatmate in a Fr. Jack voice, and em went to get more drink.

Only then I realised, (It was a drunken epiphany!) how often I use quotes from Fr. Ted, i.e. all the time.

It's a testiment to the show that you still hear things form it so often, seeing as it was on over TEN years ago now. Do you say Fr.Ted quotes alot?

Here's a good ould one ....
    Ted: What was it Jack used to say about the needy? He had a term for them.
    Dougal: A shower of bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I think up my own things to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Do you say Fr.Ted quotes alot?

That would be an ecumenical matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Not very. Use the word "feck" alot. But that's just as a result of being Irish.

http://www.feck.net/splange/ftquote.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

I finished a glass of wine yesterday and said 'MORE DRINK' to my flatmate in a Fr. Jack voice, and em went to get more drink.

Only then I realised, (It was a drunken epiphany!) how often I use quotes from Fr. Ted, i.e. all the time.

It's a testiment to the show that you still hear things form it so often, seeing as it was on over TEN years ago now. Do you say Fr.Ted quotes alot?

Here's a good ould one ....
    Ted: What was it Jack used to say about the needy? He had a term for them.
    Dougal: A shower of bastards.

I don't know midlandmissus you big bollocks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

I don't know midlandmissus you big bollocks.

You leave me alone. I could have you killed. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

When I can't remember someones name.

Fr. Andy Riley,
    Fr. Desmond Coyle,
    Fr. George Byrne,
    Fr. David Nicholson,
    Fr. Declan Lynch,
    Fr. Ken Sweeney,
    Fr. Neil Hannon,
    Fr. Keith Cullen,
    Fr. Ciaran Donnelly,
    Fr. Mick McEvoy,
    Fr. Jack White,
    Fr. Henry Bigbigging,
    Fr. Hank Tree,
    Fr. Hiroshima Twinkie,
    Fr. Stick Bubblecart,
    Fr. Johnny Hellzapoppin' ,
    Fr. Luke Duke,
    Fr. Billy Ferry,
    Fr. Chewy Louie,
    Fr. John Hoop,
    Fr. Hairy Cakelinum,
    Fr. Ebula Conundrum,
    Fr. Peewee Stairmaster,
    Fr. Tight Head Lips,
    Fr. Jemima Racktouey,
    Fr. Jerry Twig,
    Fr. Spodo Komodo,
    Fr. Canabrana Lammer.

Father Todd Unctious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I love my Brick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

you hear them in work a bit, well i do because in social settings it is more commen place to have sligtly more commen interests while in work people are from all sorts of like, like we have fisher, drinker, boater, golfer, tenniser, waster, gamer, cooker, ect but Fr ted is universal irish comdy and its something (almsost) everyone gets a chucke out of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I've had my fun and thats all that matters.

/picks ear hole with key

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 mcerc

Down with this sort of thing............careful now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Carlotta

Oh, worse than Hitler. You wouldn't find Hitler playing jungle music at 3 o'clock in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I don't normally quote Father Ted because it's not as ingrained into me as it is most, but by coincidence I do happen to have a quote in my facebook status... weird. Boards is now reading my mind. This isn't good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

phasers wrote: »
    I think up my own things to say

What you talkin' about Willis? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,759 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If someone's said something thick and needed some explaining:
    "These cows are small... these cows are far away..."

Same situation reversed, when I've been thick:
    "Oh..... right, so Ted...."

I tend to use Simpsons quotes more.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

Q. How often do you use Fr.Ted quotes?

A. that would be an ecumenical matter

I do use "down with that sort of thing" quiet a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Father Ted: I'm not a fascist, I'm a priest. Fascists dress in black and go around telling people what to do, whereas...priests...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I've had my fun and thats all that matters.

/picks ear hole with key

I used that in a post recently, and in another I called everyone a shower of bástards.

I regularly use them when not internetin'. Theres a quote for everything tbh.

"Now to roide Mrs Kelly"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭ilovecars

there was an episode one time about a sheep i forget now, but when the scandal was revealed the audience said "(intake of breath while saying awh) fcuckin hell. myself and my hubby always sayin it.. and "down with this sort of thing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

I tend to use down with that sort of thing and careful now when i see a rally. . . I love i had my fun and that's all that matters remember reading something on here about some bloke Farting in his girlfriends 7up bottle and saying that to her when she opened it and got a blast of it in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Bertie Ahern-"No no! The money was just...resting in my account!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭ilovecars

oh another one is when there's some trouble or whatever.. jeez whats next "driveby's in the night"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Abigayle wrote: »
    "Now to roide Mrs O'Reilly"

Fixed that for ya.

I'm such a nerd. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

When someone can't remember something:

"You were wearing your blue jumper"

Or when it's raining heavily:

"They've taken in the roads"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Father Ted: I'm not a fascist, I'm a priest. Fascists dress in black and go around telling people what to do, whereas...priests...

Have you been reading my sig?! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Mmcd

If a Fr Ted quote has anything remote to do with the conversation it must be said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭bluemachaveli

How much did ya pay for the "insert item here" "insert name here"?

(E.G.)
    How much did ya pay for the door Ted??

I could have gottin ya one for half that!

It just came off in my hand Ted, SHODDY WORKMANSHIP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 sunshine007

SHUT THE FECK UP!!!!

Any one for a cup of tea?? Go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on go on............................................................go on go on go on go on.............. ya will ya will ya will ya will ya will!!!

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Fixed that for ya.

I'm such a nerd. :(

Hmm. I think he gave Mrs Kelly one before Mrs O'Reilly then? Duno where I got that from. Fúcking legend all the same. When he comes out without the pantaloons on.. Lols.

My fav bits are with Tom. When he shoots the crow, and another is when he robs the post office. And before he does he says to his dog "An' you shurrup!"

Fúcking class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Abigayle wrote: »
    I used that in a post recently, and in another I called everyone a shower of bástards.

I regularly use them when not internetin'. Theres a quote for everything tbh.

"Now to roide Mrs Kelly"

I find that i use them without even realising it anymore. The next generation of young 'uns are going to be using the auld lingo without even knowing it.

Fuppin backstards.

ARSE BISCUITS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Siobhers

You will address me by my proper title you little b0llocks

even when it has nothing to do with the convo im having! :D

and "i could have you killed" in response to anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 HiTecRedneck

'Ted, I'm goin mad!'

'Hairy Japanese bastards!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Elonex

I do use the 'Ahhh Gwan' one a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

I find that i use them without even realising it anymore.

Same here! Thinking about it, I'd say hardly a day goes past when I don't use a Fr. Ted quote. They have so many uses! Examples:

If you happen to be in the "frilly section", say quietly: "Oh great. We're in bras".

If someone asks do you want tea: "feck off cup!".

If someone is swearing incessantly: "Dougal! Have you been reading those Roddy Doyle books again?"

If someone mentions Mass: "Oh great!!! Mass! Fr. Alton Crosby is doing it, I'm a huge fan of his...." etc etc

If you need to tell someone where the bathroom is "The old heh-heh is...."

If you're going a bit mad: "Ted? I'm going mad."

If someone doesn't remember something: "You were wearing your blue jumper!"

If you are a girl watching football :P: "Go. On. My. Son."

If you need to apologise: "I'm SO, SO sorry!"

If there's a lull in conversation: "What's your favourite humming noise?"

If you lose your job: "Sack me? I made the BBC! I'm Henry Sellars!!!!" < jumping out the window is optional >

When you find a solution to a problem: "Yes. We put the brick on the accelerator."

If you're losing an argument, fight back with: "Just feck off!!!!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

all the time. even as recently as last night!

Used to work at a nightclub and we were cleaning up and someone came up looking for drink and i simply went

"I'm sorry the bar is closed."

(then died laughing at how funny i was, nobody else got it)

So i guess its really only funny when someone quotes you back! :pac:

Haha, yeah I get great personal satisfaction when someone answers my "down with this sort of thing" with a "careful now" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

I have turned into a walking Father Ted quote machine these days. Constantly quoting it, consciously or subconsciously.

Completely satisfying when someone returns the compliment too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

The Chinese, a great bunch of lads.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    The Chinese, a great bunch of lads.
    You're right there, Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Vain wrote: »
    That would be an ecumenical matter.

YES!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Are you sure you won't have one father? There's cocaine in them!!

What??? Mrs. Doyle-

Ah, no. Not cocaine. What are those little things called. Ah yes...

Raisins.

Oi. Captain Darling!! Fupp off you... you... you grasshole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

"well i'm very cynical as you know, ted"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Mmcd

This thread is so boring Im gonna fall asleep
    Its like I drank some Dreamy-Sleepy-Nightie-Snoozy-Snooze :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Sometime when someone tries to wake me up when I'm only half asleep I pretend to be talking in my sleep.

Can I've a vowel please Carol....
    Put your clothes back on Carol, I can't concentrate...

giggsy664 wrote: »
    Are you sure you won't have one father? There's cocaine in them!!

What??? Mrs. Doyle-

Ah, no. Not cocaine. What are those little things called. Ah yes...

Raisins

<3 's thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Ride me sideways was another one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Switch on More 4 riiite now......

"OH GOD I FORGOT THE RECORDS TED!"

Ha! Fr. Purcell "I knew a woman once, but she died.....!":D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

that would be an ecumenical matter >

used in meetings to pass the buck to someone not present / or to managers

i can do you up a salad

> when someone wants something quick , and i can only give them a quick half assed but workable solution .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭the boss of me

Ha! Fr. Purcell "I knew a woman once, but she died.....!":D

"That's mad Ted"