Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[split thread] How hard is it to run?

• 24-02-2009 2:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭

And so us mere mortals tend to assume that they are the norm. And they aren't - they are exceptional people. The norm is actually sitting on yer bum watching eastenders and most people go pale at teh idea of running a 10k. So our efforts are far from pathetic, be they 6 or 16 min miles.

(This should probably go in a separate thread because it's not about the original post at all)

There is a lot of excessive back-patting that goes on here. Someone explain to me how running slowly 3 times a week is more difficult than playing 5-a-side a few times a week (a lot of these normal people play golf/GAA/5-a-side/squash).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

cfitz wrote: »
    (This should probably go in a separate thread because it's not about the original post at all)

There is a lot of excessive back-patting that goes on here. Someone explain to me how running slowly 3 times a week is more difficult than playing 5-a-side a few times a week (a lot of these normal people play golf/GAA/5-a-side/squash).

OK I'll bite. Your slow isn't my slow. From sitting on your backside to running three times a week for (say) 30 minutes non-stop is an achievement and is commendable. Anyone who makes a serious effort to become a runner from a sitting start ought to be applauded. Just as those of us at the lower end of the running scale will applaud you guys that are knocking out good times.

And don't make me laugh, looking at the fitness levels of your average 5-a-side footballer or golfer :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

RoyMcC wrote: »
    And don't make me laugh, looking at the fitness levels of your average 5-a-side footballer or golfer :pac:

If Mr Average spends 3 hours playing a round of golf on Sunday morning, he has put as much time into his sport as a runner has doing 6 thirty minute runs during the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Its all down to effort levels, I spent a few years playing football its possible to go through the motions without really putting in the work in a team sport. If someone is playing 3 times a week thats great once its honest play and not just staning on the pitch for an hour a few times a week .
    With running its hard to cheat watches dont lie.

But anyone who puts time into their sport golf running football is all good :) . I was jsut a lazy footballer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

If Mr Average spends 3 hours playing a round of golf on Sunday morning, he has put as much time into his sport as a runner has doing 6 thirty minute runs during the week.

C'mon, how physically taxing is it to knock a ball about and plod after it, or better still, jump in one of those cart things? Or to run around a bit after a football and then have a breather while one of your mates does the same? Surely we're talking about stuff that's tough to do physically, not what takes time to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

shels4ever wrote: »
    Its all down to effort levels, I spent a few years playing football its possible to go through the motions without really putting in the work in a team sport. If someone is playing 3 times a week thats great once its honest play and not just staning on the pitch for an hour a few times a week .
    With running its hard to cheat watches dont lie.

But anyone who puts time into their sport golf running football is all good :) . I was jsut a lazy footballer.
    yeah thats it shels. i personally football train twice a week (and put it all in) and play on a sunday. still i find a 10k or 10m run much more of an exersion. as for walking round a golf course, this is a piece of piss and meant as relaxation not fitness (for anybody bar the obese). yeah you lose a few calories but not nearly as much as an hour long run.

RoyMcC wrote: »
    C'mon, how physically taxing is it to knock a ball about and plod after it, or better still, jump in one of those cart things? Or to run around a bit after a football and then have a breather while one of your mates does the same? Surely we're talking about stuff that's tough to do physically, not what takes time to do.

How hard is it to plod around the road for 30 minutes without having to use your brain? How tough a sport is comes down to what you put into it. Shels4ever said above that he was a lazy footballer, well there are a lot of lazy runners too...
    I think you are clearly just trying to stir **** here. what qulifies you to decide what is lazy and not lazy?

which is lazier someone who never runs, running a mile or some who runs 10 every day only running 5 one day?

what exactly do you do yourself apart from stir **** and try to undermine others?

how hard is it to run for 30 mins? alot harder than walking round a golf course for 3 to 4 hours.

not using your brain? thats the point of it. its a release from work and stress.

Define a lazy runner....

kennyb3 wrote: »
    I think you are clearly just trying to stir **** here. what qulifies you to decide what is lazy and not lazy?

The same thing that qualifies others to say what's fabulous, fantastic and a huge achievement. Just giving my opinion.
    what exactly do you do yourself apart from stir **** and try to undermine others?

Not much, I like to stick to my strengths.

personally i cant compliment enough anyone out there who runs, be it 1 or 100 miles who is trying to make a difference to improve their health and therefore lives. excessive back patting i think not. encouragement - yes!! do we need imbosils undermining peoples efforts? No.

Not much, I like to stick to my strengths.

and what would they be????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

This comes up every now and again...

There is a lot of back slapping and congratulatory stuff on here. But faster runners have it all come to them naturally and easily. For them "plodding" (another phrase I hate) for 30 mins a week would be lazy and pointless.

But the effort required by some people to "plod" those 3 or 4 miles might be the equivalent of the effort I put into 8 or 10 or that a talented middle distance runner puts into thier training (a point Daniels makes very strongly in his book). And when something doesn't come easy, when you feel like a fool doing it and the habits of a life time are telling you not to do it a little bit of support and congratulatory back slapping can be teh difference between running and vegging.

Different strokes for different folks - some people think that it's all a bit american and "go team, you're awesome!". For some it's a kick up teh bum and a lift when it's needed. No-one is right or wrong, just different opinions.

[mod hat on]
    Please keep this civil!

This comes up every now and again...

There is a lot of back slapping and congratulatory stuff on here. But faster runners have it all come to them naturally and easily. For them "plodding" (another phrase I hate) for 30 mins a week would be lazy and pointless.

But the effort required by some people to "plod" those 3 or 4 miles might be the equivalent of the effort I put into 8 or 10 or that a talented middle distance runner puts into thier training (a point Daniels makes very strongly in his book). And when something doesn't come easy, when you feel like a fool doing it and the habits of a life time are telling you not to do it a little bit of support and congratulatory back slapping can be teh difference between running and vegging.

Different strokes for different folks - some people think that it's all a bit american and "go team, you're awesome!". For some it's a kick up teh bum and a lift when it's needed. No-one is right or wrong, just different opinions.

[mod hat on]
    Please keep this civil!
    Thanks for moving the posts, felt bad for hi-jacking the previous thread. Apologies if i came across as uncivil to cfitz, but to me he is contributing nothing positive and is undermining others efforts rather than actually having a proper discussion.

I am not personally offended but kind of felt his comments were an attack agaginst the forum and the people on here. all of whom seem to get on very well and are extremely helpful and supportivie.

yeah thats it shels. i personally football train twice a week (and put it all in) and play on a sunday. still i find a 10k or 10m run much more of an exersion. as for walking round a golf course, this is a piece of piss and meant as relaxation not fitness (for anybody bar the obese). yeah you lose a few calories but not nearly as much as an hour long run.

Thats great, There are also 100's of people like me who would count 2 nights 5 -a-side as enough exercise for a week when you head to the bar after for a few beers...Once you put the work in then its all good, I know i put prob 10 times the work into running then i did in football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

There is a lot of excessive back-patting that goes on here.

Does this bother you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭another world

honest encouragement is better than saying you´ve done a great job when really you are way within your comfort zone. For example, on this forum a lot of people know what level other people are running at so it should be easy to tell them, honestly, whether they have been training good or bad, lazy or pushing it etc. But complementing an advanced/intermediate runner when they are just going through the motions and need to push it won´t help them in any way other than make them more comfortable.

But, one of the main things I see in this forum is the comradship and mostly honest encouragement and that really does push people on.

Ps. not really sure what the point of this thread is...

Does this bother you ?

Not much. I'm all for encouragement. I just think that sometimes people here sort of get comfortable at a lower level than they're capable of achieving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭blind_hurler

Sure it's very hard to compare sports..

From doing nothing to being able to run for 30mins non stop should be congratulated
    from there to improving your PB should be congratulated and it's nice to hear a well done
    from people that know what it means to run

When you play and train with a team you are pushing yourself against the guy next to you, when you play matches there's a lot of back slapping.. "great score" or "great block" or a kick in the a*** if you need it to try harder...

As for golf it can be a lot longer a walk if you can't hit the ball straight and hitting the ball straight is the main thing golfers are trying to do and the walking as an exercise is a bonus IMO

As the quote goes "fail to prepare, prepare to fail" no matter what sport it is :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

I think what this whole thing boils down to is what do you define as "excessive back patting".

If somebody goes from doing nothing to running 25 minutes three times a week, fair play to them I say. At the same time they probably dont deserve a parade and a medal.

The thing is on this forum I have not seen a lot of that tbh i.e. if somebody comes on and says they have started running they might get a few "well dones" but nobody really goes overboard imo. Not really excessive back patting.

I do think as a society standards have slipped a bit though in many areas. I ran my first marathon last October, Im 22, not in bad shape and it took 4 hours 15 minutes. I sometimes wonder how much of an achievement that was? It was an achievement no doubt and one Im quite proud of but when I tell a lot of people they think it is something extraordinary or really impressive.....Im not so sure personally.

Now In three or four years time if Im still running, if Im putting in 60-80 mpw and run a marathon under 3 hours, that will be a pretty good achievement imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Well firstly this is a running/tri forum not a 5 aside footy or golf forum. So leading on who said its harder and again who cares its a running forum and excessive back patting :D, its all about encouraging and building a community with one main goal, to run. I agree runners can be lazy, I was guilty of this last week while on holidays and sure you yourself missed alot of days due to a cough, sick or a lazy runners excuse not to run, I've used this excuse in the past myself. And what is to be gained by being so negative against your fellow runner :confused:

I know i put prob 10 times the work into running then i did in football.

I ll second that shels. i still play but 1 and half hours running is a different beast to a footy match.

taking up this running made me realise i wasnt near as fit as i thought.

and you are right its all about individual levels and personal goals

I just think that sometimes people here sort of get comfortable at a lower level than they're capable of achieving.

Thats a bit of a broad sweeping statement is it not ?

Everybody is capable of going quicker but you sometimes have to balance a hobby with your family/work. So 30 minutes 3 times a week in between rearing 5 kids and working 50 hours might be a huge achievement.

I'm all for the positive vibes of this site. Now come on give us a hug:D

And what is to be gained by being so negative against your fellow runner - BINGO woddle!!

kind of what i wanted to say but didnt have the brain to

Woddle wrote: »
    Well firstly this is a running/tri forum not a 5 aside footy or golf forum. So leading on who said its harder and again who cares its a running forum and excessive back patting :D, its all about encouraging and building a community with one main goal, to run. I agree runners can be lazy, I was guilty of this last week while on holidays and sure you yourself missed alot of days due to a cough, sick or a lazy runners excuse not to run, I've used this excuse in the past myself. And what is to be gained by being so negative against your fellow runner :confused:

Well I don't think I was negative towards any particular fellow runner. I didn't suggest that I wasn't lazy either, I was just responding to a comment by Amadeus about how any running is better than what most people do.

RR -Now come on give us a hugbiggrin.gif

I think you will have to take our friend cfitz out of the freezer first!!:pac:

Thats a bit of a broad sweeping statement is it not ?

Well I said 'people', not 'everyone'. There's no hug icon here but if I beat your 5k PB this summer I'll have one for you :)

RR -Now come on give us a hugbiggrin.gif

I think you will have to take our friend cfitz out of the freezer first!!:pac:

I'm all for the hugs and high fives.

Well I said 'people', not 'everyone'. There's no hug icon here but if I beat your 5k PB this summer I'll have one for you :)

ha ha. I'll have to work on lowering that so, don't want to set the bar too low for ye ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Woddle wrote: »
    its all about encouraging and building a community with one main goal, to run.

Or throw or jump or walk or vault or putt or hurdle (not just running here lads, remember we are all one big happy Athletics/Running/Triathlon forum) - should add cycle or swim too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Not much. I'm all for encouragement. I just think that sometimes people here sort of get comfortable at a lower level than they're capable of achieving.

If they do, I doubt its because of the ethos of the board. When a newbie comes on and starts running from zero, they are encouraged and given direction by many here, and indeed have a few motivational tools to make them stick around and keep it up (1000 mile challenge springs to mind).

But thats not the end of it, there's races, teams, times to be bettered, miles to be put on the clock, and before you know it you've gone from a newbie running three times a week, to someone who thinks about their diet, running gear, future races, is running more often, in short someone who is improving as a runner. I think this board is good at welcoming and encouraging newbies, who then join in more as they grow as runners.

Can't really see too much of anyone being "comfortable at a lower level than they're capable of achieving.", sure we're far too competitive for that!

Tingle wrote: »
    Or throw or jump or walk or vault or putt or hurdle (not just running here lads, remember we are all one big happy Athletics/Running/Triathlon forum) - should add cycle or swim too!
    Do we have many walkers here, Would actually like to see what their training plans are like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭ekevosu

Well I don't think I was negative towards any particular fellow runner. I didn't suggest that I wasn't lazy either, I was just responding to a comment by Amadeus about how any running is better than what most people do.

I just read amadeus's comment there and I took from it that he was talking about the average person who doesn't partake in any sport apart from couch surfing, not that runners are inherently better than other sports people.

I find running a lot different to other sports I've played, much like swimming is a lot different fitness wise and playing soccer versus rugby or hurling are different in the types of fitness although they share similarities.

You can't compare the effort levels people put in unless you are the person participating or have played the different sports. I had always thought running / swimming was much easier before i actually tried them myself. Once you've tried them for long enough they become easier and then your goals need to be set higher. You've been running for a while so its coming easy to you now but for someone who has just started its still taking huge effort for something that might be second nature to you. Just like if you tried to swim a mile nonstop (not sure if your a swimmer) you might find it an incredible effort whereas someone like hunnymonster might not see it as a major effort if they had done it.

If they do, I doubt its because of the ethos of the board. When a newbie comes on and starts running from zero, they are encouraged and given direction by many here, and indeed have a few motivational tools to make them stick around and keep it up (1000 mile challenge springs to mind).

But thats not the end of it, there's races, teams, times to be bettered, miles to be put on the clock, and before you know it you've gone from a newbie running three times a week, to someone who thinks about their diet, running gear, future races, is running more often, in short someone who is improving as a runner. I think this board is good at welcoming and encouraging newbies, who then join in more as they grow as runners.

Can't really see too much of anyone being "comfortable at a lower level than they're capable of achieving.", sure we're far too competitive for that!
    Sure thats why everyone has to watch their back at races, were all out to beat each other... I'm in the best spot at the back of the field gives me so many targets to aim at ;)

ekevosu wrote: »
    I just read amadeus's comment there and I took from it that he was talking about the average person who doesn't partake in any sport apart from couch surfing, not that runners are inherently better than other sports people.

I find running a lot different to other sports I've played, much like swimming is a lot different fitness wise and playing soccer versus rugby or hurling are different in the types of fitness although they share similarities.

You can't compare the effort levels people put in unless you are the person participating or have played the different sports. I had always thought running / swimming was much easier before i actually tried them myself. Once you've tried them for long enough they become easier and then your goals need to be set higher. You've been running for a while so its coming easy to you now but for someone who has just started its still taking huge effort for something that might be second nature to you. Just like if you tried to swim a mile nonstop (not sure if your a swimmer) you might find it an incredible effort whereas someone like hunnymonster might not see it as a major effort if they had done it.
    well said. is the hunnymonster even a person, doing that 1000 mile challenge like she is in my car!!

Do we have many walkers here, Would actually like to see what their training plans are like.

I'd hazard a guess and say no. We have only about a dozen walkers in Ireland and half of them (literally) are world class!! Walkers are a strange bunch in many ways and most of them good. Their training is savage though, I'd imagine your top walker in Ireland would have the 1000 mile challenge sewn up already as I'd imagine they walk up to 200k a week! To think Rob Heffernan can walk a 20k in 1:19:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

I'd hazard a guess and say no. We have only about a dozen walkers in Ireland and half of them (literally) are world class!! Walkers are a strange bunch in many ways and most of them good. Their training is savage though, I'd imagine your top walker in Ireland would have the 1000 mile challenge sewn up already as I'd imagine they walk up to 200k a week! To think Rob Heffernan can walk a 20k in 1:19:eek:

There is one guy I see on the track in the Mardyke here in Cork (sorry don't know his name) but you only get a sense of just how fast he is going when you see they guys striding out to stay with him.

Tingle, are walkers especially prone to certain injuries? Their hips must really take some punishment?

and knees ?

There is one guy I see on the track in the but you only get a sense of just how fast he is going

I was passed by a female walker in one race i ran. Not am i only been beaten by the women bu they beat me walking too ;)
    They really do move .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Golf is not a sport. It's for fathletes.:)
    Running is a very relative thing. I consider myself to be a lazy runner. I don't bother sticking to a schedule any more. I almost have to make an appointment with someone to get out the door running. Having said that, when I get out with a few pals, I really enjoy myself. I also do two evenings per week coaching and that keeps me ticking over.
    As an aside, and just to show that there are good athletes in other sports, I remember the old SUPERSTARS thing that used to be on annually. There was an 800 metre race and Barney Rock was sprinting up the home straight with Andy Ripley ( English rugby player ). They both crossed the line in 2 minutes flat.
    As any of the coaches on here will tell you, there is a time when encouragement brings on an athlete. Nothing wrong with a pat on the back and absolutely nothing wrong with a bit of self praise.

There is one guy I see on the track in the Mardyke here in Cork (sorry don't know his name) but you only get a sense of just how fast he is going when you see they guys striding out to stay with him.

Thats probably Rob Heffernan you see, he is from Cork.

Don't know about injuries but I'd imagine they would have have problems with hips, don't know too much about the specifics of walks (despite being forced to do it on a training course once, it was hard work). They get 'normal' injuries too like Nathan Deakes who missed the Olympics due to pulling a hamstring of all things in training before the Games, probably showed how fast he was going.

Golf is not a sport.

Now we all should agree on that!!! Second only to horse racing in my list of least favourite 'sports'.

Darts ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

How about this.

Next time you go for a run around your block/neck of the woods etc and pass other runners, walkers, cyclists.. instead of focusing on your pace, time, objective focus consciously on the other people you see.

What is your immediate thought about them?

You spot 3 girls power walking, chatting pumping arms moving slowly
    You spot a 50+ year old man with an ipod running at a slow clip
    You spot a 50+ year old man running at a fast pace with the dog on a lead
    You spot a very athletic girl in her 20s walking hands on hips gasping for breath
    You spot a couple of burly rugby looking guys jogging along chatting
    You spot your mom out for a walk with her friend
    Its raining and you are doing a 20 mile lsr and having a tough time of it, you pass a woman twice (running in the opposite direction) on the same run, she is moving much faster than you
    You spot a very red faced extremely overweight man jog for a few seconds and stop, jog stop walk a bit etc...
    You spot a fit looking gorgeous member of the opposite sex briskly walking the dog
    You 'pass' a famous who is athlete jogging easy on your tempo run route
    etc...etc...etc.......................

How many like those do you pass on your run everyday?
    How many of those did you visualise while reading?
    Which ones?
    Do you care?

Personally, no what you may think about those out getting their exercise I feel that we are all driven by essentially the same stuff. Love and the self praise for doing it. The feel good energy of doing it.

You could say you run because you love running, well don't you run because you love how running makes you feel? You love yourself.

So, whether people are loving themselves or learning to love themselves more, it is exactly this attitude to get up and do it that I love. These are the ones not making the excuses.

We all value the self praise, this Forum is an example of that block, is that neck of the woods you run around. Its that mutual respect of the attitude, irrespective of ability, the love of what you do and the love of yourself.

It is why you are drawn to it. :)

You love it :)

Darts ;)

Darts doesn't get incessant media coverage or more state funding than all other Irish sports together so its not so bad in my book. Now if it got into the Olympics, thats would be a different matter.........Gold Medal GBR, Silver Medal NED, Bronze Medal..sorry no other countries entered.

This is starting to become the Cfitz Inspired Grinding My Gears Thread:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

There is a lot of excessive back-patting that goes on here.
    Does this bother you ?

I've been thinking about this recently, how IMO people are possibly too positive in their feedback and hence not constructive enough. Smiled when I saw it here today, but don't know which thread it originated from, so apologies if I'm off topic.

I can think of 3 recent examples, where I think constructive criticism might have been better than all the 'great running' posts that were received.

1 - A run consisting of a race followed by a long difficult run home. Lots of 'this will stand to you', 'strong running' etc. The result: the runners were fatigued and demotivated for about a week afterwards. Not ideal if you ask me. I think a few months ago I'd have said something, but on this occasion with all the 'back-slapping' I didn't want to put a downer on it...

2 - Somone does a tempo run and there are lots of 'great runs' 'you're flying' and I'm reading it thinking - that's too slow! based on the persons usual training times and target race times. Just because someone runs faster than you doesn't mean it's a great run. If bekele runs 35mins to beat me in a 10k I'm not going to say 'great run' just because he's beat me, I'll take him to hospital for tests.

3- Someone runs a race a few minutes slower than they should be doing - again lots of back slapping. Fair enough you don't want to kick someone when they're down but maybe constructively pointing out that the person should not have done a race the week before or a long run the day before might be more constructive?

Of course this only stands if people are running for PBs. If they are running for other reasons, well then perhaps the back slapping is appropriate. I'm in favour of encouragement and positivity, but constructive criticism has a place too. Most people in the first post on their training logs specifically request feedback...

I remember last summer a load of vets I know training together and one of then was ahead of the rest every session and everyone was saying to him the whole time - 'you're flying'. At the National vets track champs at the end of the season they all beat him. He was livid. He proably overcooked it, but the fact that they were all patting him on the back, while they were lying in the grass, really got to him, didn't speak to them for 2 months, but all is well again now!

I've been thinking about this recently, how IMO people are possibly too positive in their feedback and hence not constructive enough. Smiled when I saw it here today, but don't know which thread it originated from, so apologies if I'm off topic.

I can think of 3 recent examples, where I think constructive criticism might have been better than all the 'great running' posts that were received.

1 - A run consisting of a race followed by a long difficult run home. Lots of 'this will stand to you', 'strong running' etc. The result: the runners were fatigued and demotivated for about a week afterwards. Not ideal if you ask me. I think a few months ago I'd have said something, but on this occasion with all the 'back-slapping' I didn't want to put a downer on it...

2 - Somone does a tempo run and there are lots of 'great runs' 'you're flying' and I'm reading it thinking - that's too slow! based on the persons usual training times and target race times. Just because someone runs faster than you doesn't mean it's a great run. If bekele runs 35mins to beat me in a 10k I'm not going to say 'great run' just because he's beat me, I'll take him to hospital for tests.

3- Someone runs a race a few minutes slower than they should be doing - again lots of back slapping. Fair enough you don't want to kick someone when they're down but maybe constructively pointing out that the person should not have done a race the week before or a long run the day before might be more constructive?

Of course this only stands if people are running for PBs. If they are running for other reasons, well then perhaps the back slapping is appropriate. I'm in favour of encouragement and positivity, but constructive criticism has a place too. Most people in the first post on their training logs specifically request feedback...

I remember last summer a load of vets I know training together and one of then was ahead of the rest every session and everyone was saying to him the whole time - 'you're flying'. At the National vets track champs at the end of the season they all beat him. He was livid. He proably overcooked it, but the fact that they were all patting him on the back, while they were lying in the grass, really got to him, didn't speak to them for 2 months, but all is well again now!

+1 .
    You do get some of that but it can be good and bad. I think i've been guilty of some posts too for example my run on Sunday it was a 10 mile easy run jsut happened to be a lot faster then my last 10 but it wasnt really related as that was 6 months ago. Nothing great about the run it was jsut an easy 10 but for me it was good to see the progress even if i know i'm capable of going faster.

Everyone knows themself what they want out of a particular session etc and its hard to gague from reading a log if its good bad ...

The best advise i've had was when I put up my planned marathon schedule and it was torn apart all the holes were found in it and it really put me in my place. (in a good way).

For new people into the sport i dont think you can be too critical main thing for most is to enjoy the running . I still remember been told I let my team down by running a poor leg in an XC relay when I was 12.. So people need to be welcomed in. You can be critical but constructive critisim is so much better then a pat in the back.

Plus If I bekele I wouldnt care what time he ran, you'd never hear the end of it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

In the original post I was talking about people who don't do any exercise and I stand over the idea that 20 mins run / walking 2 or 3 times a week is a whole lot better than watching TV and does deserve some cheerleading. As for how running compares to other sports I saw a t shirt once that said "my sport is so hard it's your sports punishment..."!

But I do see where RF is coming from, although I'm not sure if the pointless "good job"s are all that common. What you need from this board changes as you gain speed or experience - beginners might need more encouragement but faster guys might need more constructive criticism. And a sub 3 marathon runner doing a poor tempo run is still going to be moving 2 or 3 minutes a mile faster than a 60 minute 10k runner so from teh slower runners perspective it was a good run!