Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Interclubs Cross Country

• 24-02-2009 2:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭

Has anybody got a time table for this Sundays interclub championships in Santry ?

Really looking forward to it. Especially looking forward to seeing Keith Kelly run. Hope he has a good one I'm going to predict the top 3 men as follows.

1) McCormack
    2) Kelly
    3) Mulvey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭brutes

Check this out on the entry form - mens at 3.15

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/Inter%20Clubs%2009%20Entry%20Form.pdf

Clonliffe website mentions Cragg and Boit (Won a lot last summer )....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

brutes wrote: »
    Clonliffe website mentions Cragg and Boit (Won a lot last summer )....

There'll be no Cragg, regardless of what they say on the site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Has anybody got a time table for this Sundays interclub championships in Santry ?

Really looking forward to it. Especially looking forward to seeing Keith Kelly run. Hope he has a good one I'm going to predict the top 3 men as follows.

1) McCormack
    2) Kelly
    3) Mulvey
    That would be a great result, and going on the RAS you may not be far off on that at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

There'll be no Cragg, regardless of what they say on the site.

I was thinking that myself. Haven't heard from him at all. Is he injured or taking a break ?

Yep could be a very good race, good course- Mccormack looked very strong in the Nationals in November. I had the pleasure of watching the front of the race ( whilst running a long long way back in the pack!) several times as they looped back around the course in Tramore.. He looked as easy as you can in cross country, although Im sure he was hammering it!

McCormack has yet to run this year, which suggest he may not run at all. Mark Kenneally is my tip for the win, as there isn't really anybody in standout shape, although the top 10 should be a complete toss-up. Ten names for the top 10, no particular order, as follows:
    Kenneally
    Lonergan
    Kelly
    Sean Hehir
    Mulvey
    Sean Connolly
    Turea
    Kirwan
    Christie(if he runs)
    Maher
    McAllister
    Murray

I'm there are more but it's relatively wide open.

The team title will go to Clonliffe, they have greater depth than anybody else, and unfortunately, Raheny don't seem to be as strong as they were last year. Perhaps there may be a surprise team but thats highly unlikely.

As for the ladies race, I think I may just have a nap for that one!

McCormack ran a low key BHAA race a couple weeks ago and waltzed around. Looked the part. As for the surprise team I'm going to stick my neck out and go DSD. May not win it but who knows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Sunjava wrote: »
    Mark Kenneally is my tip for the win............

I agree with you. He's in great nick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Unless McCormack picked up an injury in the last week or so he should be racing. My insider informant told me a few weeks ago that he would be racing it. The same informant who said Craigg wouldn't as he's still shaking off various injuries. I'll see how useful this informant is come Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

Will Mark Carroll run seeing as how he's in the country?

Last weekend he beat both Keith Kelly and Vinny Mulvey in Armagh and finished right behind Kelly in Ras na hEireann. Mixed it well with the Irish team in the Euros too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

Does anybody have more specific details on the race in santry this sunday march 1st? I'm interested in start times and distances. predictions on race winners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

I'm fairly sure I saw the winner the other night. Won't name any names so as not to jinx or add pressure, but when you see someone in incredible nick it can blow you away. Especially the contenders who are always in good nick anyway, but when you see one of those fellows in markedly better nick then usual.... It will take a magnificent performance to beat him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

Regarding the team grades - how are teams initially graded? And what are the rules for moving up or down a grade? I assume being in the top three promotes a team to the next grade, but is there a relegation rule?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Odds for the event available here:

http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_sports_level1&category=SPORTS&ev_class_id=22

(Accuse me of spamming but i am a regular poster here!)

Al Mac to win for me (not just cos he's my mate!) and nobdoy to touch Linda Byrne with no Britton or Deirdre Byrne.

Men's race is very interesting. Keith Kelly is essentially an unknown quantity. He was a really class athlete before injuries hit him so hard. He's obviously back is decent shape and from but it;s just so hard to predict what he is capable of over 12k. If you follow his really excellent blog (http://kelrock.blogspot.com/), you can see he is still having issues with his knee.

Anyway, I'll be out in Santry on Sunday and I'm really looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

By the by, I've had it confirmed that neither Christie nor Carroll will compete. Cragg is also a non starter (although never really expected to race anyway). This Jospeh Boit rumour, i have no idea of either way.

A McCormack [URL="javascript:void(0)"]3 - 1 [/URL]K Lonergan [URL="javascript:void(0)"]10 - 1 [/URL]M Kirwan [URL="javascript:void(0)"]66 - 1 [/URL]M Keneally [URL="javascript:void(0)"]3 - 1 [/URL]J McCallister [URL="javascript:void(0)"]16 - 1 [/URL]B Farrell [URL="javascript:void(0)"]100 - 1 [/URL]G Murray [URL="javascript:void(0)"]7 - 2 [/URL]M Hanrahan [URL="javascript:void(0)"]20 - 1 [/URL]P Matthews [URL="javascript:void(0)"]100 - 1 [/URL]K Kelly [URL="javascript:void(0)"]11 - 2 [/URL]G Thornton [URL="javascript:void(0)"]25 - 1 [/URL]R Yeates [URL="javascript:void(0)"]100 - 1 [/URL]V Mulvey [URL="javascript:void(0)"]6 - 1 [/URL]M Clohessy [URL="javascript:void(0)"]50 - 1 [/URL]J Eves [URL="javascript:void(0)"]100 - 1[/URL]

One or two random names there...Not a bad price for the jf's...wonder can you get it each way?

Linda Byrne [URL="javascript:void(0)"]1 - 3 [/URL]K Harty [URL="javascript:void(0)"]5 - 1 [/URL]M McCambridge [URL="javascript:void(0)"]7 - 1 [/URL]Aoife Byrne [URL="javascript:void(0)"]14 - 1 [/URL]A Huthinson [URL="javascript:void(0)"]18 - 1 [/URL]O O'Mahony [URL="javascript:void(0)"]25 - 1 [/URL]C Durkin [URL="javascript:void(0)"]25 - 1[/URL]

Favourite unbackable - McCambridge worth a punt?

pwhite587 wrote: »
    Odds for the event available here:

http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_sports_level1&category=SPORTS&ev_class_id=22

(Accuse me of spamming but i am a regular poster here!)

Al Mac to win for me (not just cos he's my mate!) and nobdoy to touch Linda Byrne with no Britton or Deirdre Byrne.

Men's race is very interesting. Keith Kelly is essentially an unknown quantity. He was a really class athlete before injuries hit him so hard. He's obviously back is decent shape and from but it;s just so hard to predict what he is capable of over 12k. If you follow his really excellent blog (http://kelrock.blogspot.com/), you can see he is still having issues with his knee.

Anyway, I'll be out in Santry on Sunday and I'm really looking forward to it.
    I'd nearly stick something on Keith Kelly . He seems to be really loving his running again , and fingers crossed his knee is ok for sunday which i'm sure it will be.

Mulvey not a bad each way bet also seems to be going really well .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭VR46

I'm fairly sure I saw the winner the other night. Won't name any names so as not to jinx or add pressure, but when you see someone in incredible nick it can blow you away. Especially the contenders who are always in good nick anyway, but when you see one of those fellows in markedly better nick then usual.... It will take a magnificent performance to beat him.

Since Paddy Power is taking bets please can you reveal some inside information?? please!!
    Help out a poor man in these times of recession

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 dpo

Why isn't Rosemary Ryan in the womens bettting?
    I thought she was running.

She has been added now

Womens Club Cross Country Champion
    Settled on Podium Result. Any Non Runner Rule 4 May Apply.

Linda Byrne 4 - 6
    R Ryan 5 - 2
    H Murphy 11 - 2
    M McCambridge 15 - 2
    K Harty 10 - 1

The tension.

The tension is unbearable.

Mens Club Cross Country Champion Others on Request [EMAIL="support@paddypower.com?"]e.gif[/EMAIL]

Settled on Podium Result. Any Non Runner Rule 4 May Apply.A McCormack [URL="javascript:void(0)"]3 - 1 [/URL]C Cariss [URL="javascript:void(0)"]16 - 1 [/URL]D Flynn [URL="javascript:void(0)"]66 - 1 [/URL]M Keneally [URL="javascript:void(0)"]7 - 2 [/URL]J McCallister [URL="javascript:void(0)"]18 - 1 [/URL]B Farrell [URL="javascript:void(0)"]100 - 1 [/URL]G Murray [URL="javascript:void(0)"]7 - 2 [/URL]M Hanrahan [URL="javascript:void(0)"]20 - 1 [/URL]P Matthews [URL="javascript:void(0)"]100 - 1 [/URL]K Kelly [URL="javascript:void(0)"]11 - 2 [/URL]G Thornton [URL="javascript:void(0)"]25 - 1 [/URL]Sean Hehir [URL="javascript:void(0)"]100 - 1 [/URL]V Mulvey [URL="javascript:void(0)"]6 - 1 [/URL]M Clohessy [URL="javascript:void(0)"]50 - 1 [/URL]R Yeates [URL="javascript:void(0)"]100 - 1 [/URL]K Lonergan [URL="javascript:void(0)"]10 - 1 [/URL]M Kirwan [URL="javascript:void(0)"]66 - 1 [/URL]J Eves [URL="javascript:void(0)"]100 - 1 [/URL]Each Way Odds 1/5 places 1,2,3

2nd in National Intermediate 2 weeks ago being 66/1 and 1st, by around 30seconds being 100/1 is interesting :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 lunar racer

Kennealley is a cert,paddy powers hav pushed him out to 7-2 so lump on.
    keith kelly a great bet now e-w at 11-2
    Raheny will win the team title,all depends on clonliffe and Rahenys 4th scorer.
    As for the womens i think Linda Byrne should win but from a betting perspective Rose Ryan worth a punt at 5-2

I have some money on and am heading back down to the bookies now en route to Santry. I never normally bet but will throw a few quid on this.

I have McCormack each way. If I can gt McCambridge each way (sounds naughty ;)) I'll throw a few quid on her also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 lunar racer

McComack e-w is silly as he is only 5-2
    kenneally 4-1 now.

Clonliffe won Junior Men Team event. No other scores yet.

McCambridge won impressively, Byrne second.
    Rosemary Ryan DNS, injured after all.

Keith Kelly winning with a lap to go, I think Mark Kenneally 2nd. First 4 really spread out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

dpo wrote: »

Wow great run Maria!

All over, unofficial...

1 Keith Kelly
    2 Mark Kenneally
    3 Vinny Mulvey
    4 ? Andrew Ledwith??
    5 Chris Cariss

Clonliffe 4 home before Raheny's 3rd and 8 in top 22 (unofficial) so should have team title

got a text saying finishing order was:

1 Kelly
    2 Kenneally
    3 Mulvey
    4 Thornton
    5 Hanrahan

1) McCormack
    2) Kelly
    3) Mulvey

Well I got 2 of the top 3 right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Full results on athleticsireland.ie now.

Kelly was so tough, once he made his break Kenneally couldn't respond and close it. Mulvey was gutsy too to take bronze. Pre-race favourite McCormack was blown away by the pace and dropped out halfway while chasing down Mulvey and Thornton. Clonliffe dominated the team with 5th man in ahead of Raheny's 3rd. Lonergan ran a stormer although practically crippled and clearly struggling to be the 4th scorer and it emphased what cross country team racing is all about. The younger Raheny team just couldn't match them. Their day will come I'm sure.

McCambridge looked fantastic. For a distance runner she is in great nick, very conditioned and great strength, I wonder what her S&C is like. Linda Byrne had no answer to her but the level after that was disappointing with the masters women upstaging the younger ones, a worrying trend. Dundrum won the team with only 4 runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Just heard Greg Allens report on the radio. This chap Kelly is a real talent. Has been through the ringer with injuries for years. It would be great if he could go on a do something at international level. McCambridge is looking great for Paris in a few weeks.

Kelly ran an aggressive race and just about deserved his hard earned victory. A very gutsy run from Mark Kenneally in 2nd. The two Hamburg Marathon bound Mulvey and Thornton were 3rd and 4th. A fabulous run from Chris Cariss in 6th place considering he hasn't done an ounce of speedwork since last October because of health issues.
    What a pity that there were five athletes I saw running around the outside that could have been in the top 15 if they had ran in the race. Also, what a disgrace that out of 11 teams in the mens, 7 of them were from Dublin. I don't think there was one team from Munster. It's not acceptable.
    There was a poor turnout in the womens race where there was an over 35 in 3rd place, an over 45 in 4th place and a 39 year old in 5th place. Again, disgracefully, only 1 team from outside Dublin and no team from outside Leinster.

Tingle wrote: »
    McCambridge looked fantastic .............but the level after that was disappointing with the masters women upstaging the younger ones, a worrying trend. Dundrum won the team with only 4 runners.

Yeah McCambridge was amazing, I didn't get to put my bet on her either so my head is melted about that. The women's results shocked me a little as has been said vet athletes in 3rd, 4th and 5th is worrying.

Mens race was great. I'm horse from cheering Kelly, I was delighted to see him win but what a great run from Keneally he just wouldn't give up.

I thought the mens junior race was great also, the top 3 were throwing surges in constantly, great to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭limerickleader

Yeah, I agree re womens race. i was surprised when i saw how small the field was at the startline and according to the results less than 40 finished. Fair play to Maria though, she dominated that race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭PainIsTemporary

Phenominal run by Maria, destroyed the field. Absolutely delighted for her. One of the most down to earth, approachable and nicest people you'll ever meet. Great run altogether.

And well done to Keith Kelly too. Ran to win and as tough as nails, especially when you consider injury/niggle he had a few weeks back. Mark Kenneally was unlucky. Hope he'll eventually get his individual Cross-Country gold, he well deserves it.

As for those Paddy Powers odds??? Jasus there were some fierce funny calculations there!!! Would be interesting to compare the Paddy-Powers top 10 [according to the odds] to the actual. Hope they got fleeced :D:D Anyone putting money on Maria or Keith would have made a fair penny.

Well done to all involved. Organisation was phenominal and atmosphere was electric. Well done Clonliffe for hosting a quality event. Roll on Euro Cross in Dublin09 [would be nice to be on the starting line:D]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I got a few bob back thanks to an each way on Kelly but I went with Keneally for the win. I wanted to put each way on Mccambridge but they only had her to win :mad: but I still came out 24.50 on top :D I never bet big ;) well at least anymore, not since I got fleeced in the sports spread (Golf) :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭PainIsTemporary

2nd in National Intermediate 2 weeks ago being 66/1 and 1st, by around 30seconds being 100/1 is interesting :confused:

They got that one wrong anyway:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭violator13

Some great running and racing but a real poor turn out. Proves most of the runners in the big road races are non club fitness runners. Something needs to be done to get these people into clubs and racing cc.

violator13 wrote: »
    Some great running and racing but a real poor turn out. Proves most of the runners in the big road races are non club fitness runners. Something needs to be done to get these people into clubs and racing cc.

There are plenty of people already in clubs in Connaught and Munster, yet not one team entered from there. I know that my own club rightfully wouldn't tolerate not having a team in the National CC Championship. The same thing happens in the National Road Relays. Relays are a brilliant team event and very enjoyable. Every team member is important. Yet, there will be very few teams entered from outside Dublin.
    The turnout today was particularly bad both in terms of competitors and spectators. The course for the 2009 Europeans was used. Great venue. Good weather. What more can be done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mrak

There are plenty of people already in clubs in Connaught and Munster, yet not one team entered from there. I know that my own club rightfully wouldn't tolerate not having a team in the National CC Championship. The same thing happens in the National Road Relays. Relays are a brilliant team event and very enjoyable. Every team member is important. Yet, there will be very few teams entered from outside Dublin.
    The turnout today was particularly bad both in terms of competitors and spectators. The course for the 2009 Europeans was used. Great venue. Good weather. What more can be done?

Part of the problem this year is the amount of races in the calendar. With the recession charities are understandably turning to road races more often for fund-raising which means that there are 2 races on any given weekend within a few miles of home. Though individuals might be interested in going to the nationals, it's hard to persuade a full team to go - especially when you know you will be making up the numbers well at the back of the field.

When an average club-runner-35-minute 10k man is trying to decide what to do on a sunday - spend the day driving to Dublin to come in the last 20 of the national XC's or turn up at the local road race and be home with a 50 euro of voucher prize within 2 hours it's always going to be hard get many to choose the former.

AAI permits are supposed to prevent congestion around the times of AAI events but I don't think this is happening, and there are still plenty of unapproved races going on. For example in the west there was Kilconeiron on Sat and Adare on Sun - Adare in particular being a high quality race with a big tradition. Plus Ballycotton is on next week so many runners mightn't fancy a hard 12k race a week before a target 10-miler.

got a text saying finishing order was:

1 Kelly
    2 Kenneally
    3 Mulvey
    4 Thornton
    5 Hanrahan

Have to say I was very happy with the results of that

Smashing race in senior mens yesterday, really exciting , great to see Kelly back, and very good standard, albeit with a few heads missing . Maria Mc was amazing and streets ahead, she could run a super marathon if thats her plan..
    Its very disappointing that no Connacht/Munster team entered - maybe the weaker counties should have an option - or be required to by AAI?? to enter in a county team into the interclubs ( !) .. just to get the interest levels and numbers up- as mrak said an average 35 min 10k man has to feel on top of his game to show up and want to run these races- but with a team interest more likely to do so..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

The same thing happens in the National Road Relays. Relays are a brilliant team event and very enjoyable. Every team member is important. Yet, there will be very few teams entered from outside Dublin.

The National Road Relays take place in Raheny every year. It's basically a North Dublin match. I don't see why any club outside Dublin would bother supporting it.

cfitz wrote: »
    The National Road Relays take place in Raheny every year. It's basically a North Dublin match. I don't see why any club outside Dublin would bother supporting it.

I suppose there is an argument for moving it around the country to save some clubs the pain of traveling each year.

It's a great event though for the clubs who do compete. Personally I love it as the course is the same every year so it's a good way of assessing your fitness based on previous years. There are also records kept for the different legs so this is also a great incentive for some lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

cfitz wrote: »

I think this attitude is fairly common among a lot of clubs in Ireland and a reason why the club scene is not as strong as it should be. Clubs and their athletes aren't taking responsibility and supporting their sport. People whinge and moan about this committee or that committee and give about the AAI and when a fantastic setup is put together like yesterday they don't bother turning up. I used to be like this and be very selfish and all about myself and moan about this and that. I suppose the club I joined in the past few years changed that and I understand what a real athletic club is about and what can be done. Don't get me wrong, while I love the club I'm in there are still some things that could be better but at least they are ambitious and try make things happen. Our rivals down the road in Raheny are of a similar ilk and the ambition of both clubs drive the sport in North Dublin on. Rathfarnham, Crusaders, DSD, Donore all support the sport too. It comes to the track and field league and you see these same clubs pulling teams together and at worst entering and at best being very competitive.

All the Dublin clubs have strong leaders who drive the teams forwards and practically force their athletes to compete. Its the way it should be. I can't understand how a decent club athlete will forego their national championship for their club for a mickey mouse road race (Ballycotton would be an exception). Runners and athletes are a lot more selfish these days and the days of the 'club man' (or club woman) are gone. Inter-clubs brings out something special in a club.

As ever in these things when change is required sometimes it works better from the bottom up, maybe the clubs and their athletes should get the finger out.

Its not always a venue thing either. Last year in Belfast 12 of the top 16 teams in both the mens and womens were Dublin based. Its funny because relatively speaking Dublin clubs have low membership levels yet they get their athletes out. I'm not from Dublin so have no loyalty to Dublin athletics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

Well 83 people finished in the Senior mens race yesterday. Whether that's a relatively poor turnout or not, it's hardly a sign of a problem. Surely the important thing at the National Seniors is that the top individuals turn out? No matter how you dress up the team competition with grades, the only real interest (from a team point of view) is going to come from clubs that be competitive at the top. In the clubs in my county and the surrounding counties, to be competitive they would have to have all their top runners healthy and in form to be in any way competitive. So I don't think it's reasonable to demand that they send teams. As long as they send their top athletes, they're doing their bit.