Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just sent this angry email....

• 24-02-2009 12:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭

To chours... the worst of all tv providers

To whom it may concern.

My name is *** ********- account number ********* , I wish to cancel my account with you.

I have been a customer of yours for over two years and in that time i have called you over SIXTY TIMES with problems regarding your service, thats almost once every fortnight on average.

This week alone i have called you 3 times because of the tv switching off. AND IT IS STILL OFF NOW!!!

I want my TV turned off now and dont you dare bill me for it either-I am sick of the shabby service from you and I will not be dealing with you again.Any attempt to bill me will be brought to court.

So was that too agressive?

Any changes anyone would have made???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

If you want your TV turned off, why not just hit the power button?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

Mena wrote: »

oh ha ha:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

You called 3 times because of the TV turning off, it is still off, and you are writing to them requesting it be turned off.

I confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Mena wrote: »

:D:D:D

You called 3 times because of the TV turning off, it is still off, and you are writing to them requesting it be turned off.

I confused.

im telling them to cancel my service- my channels been jumping on and off since friday and they are still billing me for it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

If I got that e-mail I'd bill you extra just to annoy you...but I dont work for them so you're safe :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

You realize that the customer service rep is going to open the mail and not give a shit whatsoever and be deeply distraught and affected by your rancour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I think the added underline will really hammer home your frustrations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Rory123

They are probably going to print that out just so they can throw it in the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I would have left out the astrixs. Now they won't know who emailed them or what your account number is. :(

Also, never ever email when angry as you only post a rant. A cool head will construct a much better letter of complaint. Document each and every incident that has occured. Request information as to WHY your TV signal fails. Gain the sympathody of the complaints department (:rolleyes:) rather then irk them. Don't ever threather legal action untill you are in a position to do so.
    Good luck!

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

This week alone i have called you 3 times because of the tv switching off.

I have so much fun walking past peoples houses with a universal remote control :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭dancingqueen

Well, it made no sense.......

Not writing it........?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

I think you should've been a lot more constructive and shown some integrity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Went through much the same problems with them as you describe. Think you will have to pay for another month as you have to give a months notice when cancelling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

im telling them to cancel my service- my channels been jumping on and off since friday and they are still billing me for it

By any chance have you allowed enough room for the air vents on the digital box ? If it's covered up then the unit will overheat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 AAARON

im having the exact same problem you have inspired me :) ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Abstar

OldGoat wrote: »
    I would have left out the astrixs. Now they won't know who emailed them or what your account number is. :(

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭anonymousjunkie

Awful awful service and customer service from that company. Can understand the frustration you feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

You reminded me I must cancel my direct debit with the ****ers before they try billing me again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

I think the "don't you dare" bit will make them cry.

Seriously, were people never taught to write a business letter in school? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Very shoddy excuse for a service provider tbh but i sincerely doubt your email to them will get you much of a response or even immediate action to your problem!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

To whom it may concern.

My name is *** ********- account number ********* , I wish to cancel my account with you.

I have been a customer of yours for over two years and in that time i have called you over SIXTY TIMES with problems regarding your service, thats almost once every fortnight on average.

This week alone i have called you 3 times because of the tv switching off. AND IT IS STILL OFF NOW!!!

I want my TV turned off now and dont you dare bill me for it either-I am sick of the shabby service from you and I will not be dealing with you again.Any attempt to bill me will be brought to court.

Sounds good. Needs moar expletives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Did you get through any of those times, or did you just get the usual "please wait" messgae, and hang up before talking to anyone?
    Eh... the right words are important. You use TV, when you should have said service. Anyone looking at this will wonder at you mental stability. They may also advise you to read your TV's manual to find out how to switch it off :D
    Again with the "turn my TV off" comment. If this is brought to court, I'm sure anyone in the gallery will have a giggle that you are bringing Chorus to court as they didn't "magically" turn off your TV for you.

Yes. Lots. Maybe saying "due to not getting the desired channels which I paid for, I'd like to cease my contract with yourselves, as you have not provided me with a satisfactory service"... as opposed to "switch off my TV or I'll bring you to court".

I'd say they're instiches lauging at that bit.

the_syco wrote: »
    Did you get through any of those times, or did you just get the usual "please wait" messgae, and hang up before talking to anyone?

got through to them and spoke to someone every time
    Eh... the right words are important. You use TV, when you should have said service. Anyone looking at this will wonder at you mental stability. They may also advise you to read your TV's manual to find out how to switch it off :D

ah i think they got what i ment lol

Again with the "turn my TV off" comment. If this is brought to court, I'm sure anyone in the gallery will have a giggle that you are bringing Chorus to court as they didn't "magically" turn off your TV for you.

i said i would bring them to court if they tried to bill me for channels that i dont have

I'd say they're instiches lauging at that bit.

im hurt:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Poloman

I would have left out the astrixs. Now they won't know who emailed them or what your account number is. QUOTE]

QUALITY! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Also, never ever email when angry as you only post a rant. A cool head will construct a much better letter of complaint. Document each and every incident that has occured. Request information as to WHY your TV signal fails. Gain the sympathody of the complaints department (:rolleyes:) rather then irk them. Don't ever threather legal action untill you are in a position to do so.
    Good luck!

Ye, a letter with his head plastered all over it will confuse them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

To whom it may concern.

would of included a " EPIC FAIL " picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Why bother asking was the e-mail too strong when you have already sent? F all you can do about it now anyway! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

i said i would bring them to court if they tried to bill me for channels that i dont have
    What you said, and what you meant were two different things. I suggest writing the letter when you're cooled down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

ah I'm guessing his email did not have asterixs but he put them into his post so that people on boards do not have his personal details. lol@you :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Hope you sent the mail at least to the right location, because Consumer Issues is that way -> Clicky, or Cable & Digital TV, I would even have accepted Personal Issues

Dear Blah blah,

Blah blah blah, not doing it for me anymore, blah blah blah, can barely turn me on, blah blah blah, even when they do it doesn't last long.

Frustrated in Tipp

Ye, a letter with his head plastered all over it will confuse them.

I think HE would have Getafix'd everything for free and without leaving you under any Oblix'ation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Bad idea emails are.

Much more affective to go to a chorus employee and punch them in the face whilst calling them a c*nt.
    Instant gratification.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

That company are the most cúntish, fúckwankery company in operation in Ireland.

Their customer service people are idiotic fúckwits, every single one of them, and I've dealt with about forty of them.

They don't give a shiney shíte about their customers, as long as they are bleeding money from you, you can fúck off to hell for all they care.

"Customer Care" my round hairy hole.

Absolute, grade A bastards of the highest order.

NTL, Chorus, UPC, whatever the fúck they are calling themselves at this point in time.

Fúcking ****.

Cúnts is the only word to describe them.

I fúcking hate them.

Bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

To whom it may concern.

Service issues and quality of service breakdown is covered in the TandC's. It always is. All you really did was send an email that somebody will delete. Most companies keep absolutely NO log of emails and it's normally the worst way to contact them, unless it is the SOLE way to contact them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

kingtut wrote: »
    ah I'm guessing his email did not have asterixs but he put them into his post so that people on boards do not have his personal details. lol@you :rolleyes:

Jaysus, nothing gets past you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Agreed. Companies tend to ignore emails. Letters cancelling the direct debit are the only thing they pay attention to.

If they ignored all your 60 phone calls, what makes you think theyre' going to pay any attention to this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Des wrote: »

Their customer service people are idiotic fúckwits, every single one of them, and I've dealt with about forty of them.

They don't give a shiney shíte about their customers, as long as they are bleeding money from you, you can fúck off to hell for all they care.

NTL, Chorus, UPC, whatever the fúck they are calling themselves at this point in time.

Fúcking ****.

I fúcking hate them.

Bastards.

Whopper rant! Gave me satisfaction just reading it!!!

cúntish fúckwankery idiotic fúckwits shiney shíte fúck hell hairy hole bastards fúck Fúcking **** Cúnts fúcking Bastards.

Good man Des, now don't hold back, get it off your chest, say what you mean and don't beat around the bush. Vent that spleen & hurl that vitroil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

Good man Des, not don't hold back, get it off your chest, say what you mean and don't beat around the bush. Vent that spleen & hurl that vitroil.

I haven't had a good spleen venting in ages :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Don't forget to post their reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Six of One

Can't ... stop ... laughing ... :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Angry emails are for wimps. Ring them and tear them a new set

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Jaysus, nothing gets past you!

*cough* You just made me inhale my tea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Mcfast

cant stand fcuking chorus, more of these letters should be sent!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭grahamo

You should have sent them this e-mail :D:D

This a copy of a complaint letter that was actually received by NTL according to our sources.

Dear Cretins,

I have been an NTL customer since 9th July 2001, when I signed up for your 3-in-one deal for cable TV, cable modem, and telephone.

During this three-month period I have encountered inadequacy of service which I had not previously considered possible, as well as ignorance and stupidity of monolithic proportions. Please allow me to provide specific details, so that you can either pursue your professional prerogative, and seek to rectify these difficulties - or more likely (I suspect) so that you can have some entertaining reading material as you while away the working day smoking B&H and drinking vendor-coffee on the bog in your office.

My initial installation was cancelled without warning or notice, resulting in my spending an entire Saturday sitting on my fat arse waiting for your technician to arrive. When he did not arrive at all, I spent a further 57 minutes listening to your infuriating hold music, and the even more annoying Scottish robot woman telling me to look at your helpful website.... how? I alleviated the boredom to some small degree by playing with my testi*les for a few minutes - an activity at which you are no-doubt both familiar and highly adept.

The rescheduled installation then took place some two weeks later, although the technician did forget to bring a number of vital tools - such as a drill-bit, and his cerebrum.

Two weeks later, my cable modem had still not arrived. After several further telephone calls (actually 15 telephone calls over 4 weeks) my modem arrived ... a total of six weeks after I had requested it, and begun to pay for it. I estimate that the downtime of your internet servers is roughly 35%... these are usually the hours between about 6pm and midnight, Monday to Friday, and most of the useful periods over the weekend.

I am still waiting for my telephone connection. I have made 9 telephone calls on my mobile to your no-help line this week, and have been unhelpfully transferred to a variety of disinterested individuals, who are it seems also highly skilled bollock jugglers.

I have been informed that a telephone line is available (and someone will call me back), that no telephone line is available (and someone will call me back), that I will be transferred to someone who knows whether or not a telephone line is available (and then been cut off), that I will be transferred to someone who knows whether or not a telephone line is available (and then been redirected to an answer machine informing me that your office is closed), that I will be transferred to someone who knows whether or not a telephone line is available (and then been redirected to the irritating Scottish robot woman.... and several other variations on this theme.

Doubtless you are no-longer reading this letter, as you have at least a thousand other dissatisfied customers to ignore, and also another one of those crucially important testicle-moments to attend to. Frankly I don't care, it's far more satisfying as a customer to voice my frustrations in print than to shout them at your unending hold music. Forgive me, therefore, if I continue.

I thought BT were sh*t, that they had attained the holy piss-pot of god-awful customer relations, that no-one, anywhere, ever, could be more disinterested, less helpful or more obstructive to delivering service to their customers. That's why I chose NTL, and because, well, there isn't anyone else is there?

How surprised I therefore was, when I discovered to my considerable dissatisfaction and disappointment what a useless shower of bastards you truly are. You are sputum-filled pieces of distended rectum - incompetents of the highest order. British Telecom - **** though they are - shine like brilliant beacons of success, in the filthy puss-filled mire of your seemingly limitless inadequacy.

Suffice to say that I have now given up on my futile and foolhardy quest to receive any kind of service from you. I suggest that you do likewise, and cease any potential future attempts to extort payment from me for the services which you have so pointedly and catastrophically failed to deliver

- any such activity will be greeted initially with hilarity and disbelief - although these feelings will quickly be replaced by derision, and even perhaps a small measure of bemused rage.

I enclose two small deposits, selected with great care from my cats litter tray, as an expression of my utter and complete contempt for both you, and your pointless company. I sincerely hope that they have not become desiccated during transit - they were satisfyingly moist at the time of posting, and I would feel considerable disappointment if you did not experience both their rich aroma and delicate texture. Consider them the very embodiment of my feelings towards NTL, and it's worthless employees.

Have a nice day - may it be the last in you miserable short life, you irritatingly incompetent and infuriatingly unhelpful bunch of tw*ts,

Yours psychotically

John Doe [editor's note: name changed to protect the innocent]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Oh The Humanity

To whom it may concern.

Your TV and your service are not the same thing!

The service is the signal you recieve from Chorus and the TV is the actual physical equipment there in your living room.

Just the way you've worded it there sounds funny, as if you are blaming the service provider for a poultergeist in your telly box or soemthing!

Anyway, just do as I did with them. I never signed up for a Direct debit with them, so they had to invoice me every month, I always let it be about 3 months in arrears, and would pay a month or two just as they started threatening to cut me off.

[They will never get around to cutting you off anyway, the whole company is shambolic] When there was problems with the picture freezing etc I would phone up irate and make them credit my account.

With Chorus its nearly always the broadcast thats at fault their end and if they realise you know that, they will credit you.

Never give them direct debit or credit card details, let them waste their money sending out letter after letter and bill after bill to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Well at least we know more about you than we did before:D

Grahamo, well put. Ever though of taking up producing letters of complaint under contract? I reckon you could make a few bob on the side:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

To whom it may concern.

Aaah yup.

Hit for Woodies and purchase a cheap doorstop.

Build up fairly good pressure in the cackpipe, nice fermenting kind of stuff,wandered into the service provider's main office and sought out the washroom nearest the "executive suite".

After checking if the coast was clear and inserting the doorstop,swiftly hit for the nearest sink and unload the full caboosh into it, full pressure, 100% N1,plenty of spread.

Quick swipe,hike up the strides, and stroll leisurely out the door.

Beats any old e-mail I say.

Bit of a risk,but hey, anything worth doing is.

If you are really feeling brave, an miniature Irish flag on the turd is a nice gesture.

happy days.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Fúcking ****.

I fúcking hate them.

Bastards.

They do have the FAI and Setanta on their tails keeping up their standards..

A few weeks ago, both televisions switched off in my house on a Tuesday just like that. One courtesy call later, the next available engineer visit was 7 days later. 7 days..