Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your insurance like

• 24-02-2009 9:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Insurance is a big thing when your starting out, just wondering how other people have found it.

Mine
    Price: €820 (only me driving it)
    Car: 96 opel corsa 1.2L
    Licence: 1st year
    Me: 24yrs female

I was quite happy with that, I got it just before the new year. Now I'm getting a different car (corsa failed the NCT and it turned out cheaper to buy a new car rather than fix it) it's a subaru vivio 658cc, still have to get the insurance sorted on that, hopefully it should be low(the tax is a bit over €100)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

I was absolutely delighted with my insurance when I got it.

Cost: €520, just me on the car
    Car: 97 Nissan Micra, 1.0L
    Licence: had my full licence 2days when I got it
    Me: 19yr old girl

I was amazed at how little it cost. My older sister is 25, driving about 6 years and her insurance is only about €100 cheaper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭DancingDaisy

Mine just seems so expensive now...

Cost: €1300, just me
    Car: 97 Renault Megane, 1.4L
    Licence: First Learner Permit, had it about a day
    Me: Was 21yr's, Female

That was in July and was the cheapest quote I got. Everyone else was quoting about €2000.

Just to add it in:

Fully Comp, in my name, car is petrol, and about 1000 km a year, only learning still!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Burtchaell

You can't just compare quotes like that... There are too many things affecting what it could be.

Is the car hybrid
    how many miles a year you drive
    year etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Burtchaell wrote: »
    You can't just compare quotes like that... There are too many things affecting what it could be.

Is the car hybrid
    how many miles a year you drive
    year etc.

Ye, I just thought it would be interesting, I'm not really comparing. I've just been thinking about insurance lately and thought people might like to show off if they got a good deal or complain if it was loads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Burtchaell

Ah right! Just thought id point it out!:D

M 18
    Named driver
    1.2 Ford Fiesta
    about 300-500 i think
    Full Licence

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Male, Hyundai Getz 1.1ltr, started off at 1000e when I first got the car, one years no claim bonus and full license now brings it down to 635e.

Insurance has always been fully comp and in my name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Beau x1

Price: €1800 (mom main driver, me secondary..my own car though)
    Car: 03 SEAT Cordoba
    Licence: 0 years permit
    Me: 17 years old male.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Price; €849 (Mam main driver, dad and me named)
    Car; 2000 Citroen Xsara 1.4
    Me; 17 year old male
    License; Was on a brand new learner permit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Thumpette

480 yoyos

00 1.4 corolla
    Just gotmy licence in Nov
    Me as main driver with my bf named
    I'm 26 female

Used insure.ie... found it very good.

• Moderators Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Just to give a bit of an idea to ye of how my insurance has changed over my first 3 years of driving.
    When I started off I was on my parents car:

Price: €1800 (named driver)
    Car: 2Ltr 04 Honda Accord (it was new at the time)
    License: Provisional
    Me: 18 at the time, and not a tap of experience

Then my own car:

Price: €1800 (fully comp)
    Car: 1.4Ltr 00 Honda Civic
    License: Full
    Me: 19 (1 year NCB as a named driver)

Next year (changed company)
    Price: ~€1500
    Car: Same
    License: Same
    Me: 20 (2 years NCB, 1 on my own insurance and 1 as a named driver, though the insurance company took this as 2 years NCB)

This year: (changed company again, only got quoted €50 less with my previous company, though using the same insurance company as my parents use saved me about €200 I believe)
    Price €1050
    Car: Same
    Me: 21 (3 years NCB)

Moving on to a 4 year old 1.9Tdi A3 now, looks like my insurance might be about €1000 - €1200 when I renew.

Ill drop under the €1000 mark some day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

€2860 :mad:

Full Comp (just me)
    1.3lt Lancer
    Car value €1500
    Full Licence (just got it)
    Male - 18

Due for renewal in a month or two, hopefully it'll come down a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Orla K wrote: »
    Insurance is a big thing when your starting out, just wondering how other people have found it.

Mine
    Price: €820 (only me driving it)
    Car: 96 opel corsa 1.2L
    Licence: 1st year
    Me: 24yrs female

I was quite happy with that, I got it just before the new year. Now I'm getting a different car (corsa failed the NCT and it turned out cheaper to buy a new car rather than fix it) it's a subaru vivio 658cc, still have to get the insurance sorted on that, hopefully it should be low(the tax is a bit over €100)

Which insurer are you using Orla?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

price: 600(mum main driver me named)
    car: 1ltt polo
    shiney new learners permit
    me 21 almost 22 at that stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Which insurer are you using Orla?

hibernian. Why do you ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Orla K wrote: »
    hibernian. Why do you ask?

Thanks Orla. I'm looking to insure my first car (a 97) on my first LP, but I'm a lot older than you so it will be interesting to see what they quote me.

Age has to have some good points!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Jwacqui

€600 Fully Comp
    Female
    Full licence (had it 2months at the time)
    2006 Fiat Punto 1.2litre
    2years NCB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I hate you all now :(

Male
    learner permit
    2000 Fiat Punto 1.2
    TP/F/T
    €2000

Own policy / Own car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Beau x1

Lads, if you take a look at my insurance up there (1.4L 03 Seat Cordoba)..what can I expect to get back if I pass my test in 4 weeks?

Beau x1 wrote: »
    Lads, if you take a look at my insurance up there (1.4L 03 Seat Cordoba)..what can I expect to get back if I pass my test in 4 weeks?
    So all thats changing is you will have a full license?

Maybe know couple of hundred or so off. Maybe €1600. Its really just up to the insurance company though, different companies dish out better. I know FBD are recently renewing peoples quotes for more then the previous year.

Its all about the NCB IMO. And then being older.

Good luck with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Cutie18Ireland

Last year with Quinn
    Price: €1109 (3rd party)
    Car: 99 Nissan Micra 998cc
    Licence: provisional
    Me: 20 female

This year with Zurich
    Price: €450 (fully comp)
    Licence: Full
    Me: 21 female
    1 yr NCB

Last year with Quinn
    Price: €1109 (3rd party)
    Licence: provisional
    Me: 20 female

This year with Zurich
    Price: €450 (fully comp)
    1 yr NCB
    Quinn screwed you in your first year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭ahmed89

Mine
    Price: €1600
    Car: 99 1.4 daewoo lanos
    Licence: full licence just got it
    Me: 19 male

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

Insured as named driver on mothers policy (fully comp).

First car: 99 Ford Focus 2.0L
    Price: €800

Second Car: 01 BMW 320D
    Price: €825
    Licence: Learner Permit

Was looking for quotes for the bmw on my own policy and got quoted 4 grand. I think I'll stay named driver for the rest of the year and look into picking up a smaller engined car to build up my NCB

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

male 17 on learner permit.
    peugeot 307 1.4 turbo diesel
    quinn direct on my own €2600
    that was for fully comp with the car valued at €6000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

24 year old male/

1.4 litre 00 Punto
    Started at 1.9k as a named driver, TPFT with Prov/Permit
    Now at 800 with full license and two years NCB as named, trying to get lower on renewal this year.

650cc bike,
    1.2k on a Provisional. Which is funny considering in terms of speed and acceleration it would smoke anything under 30k euros on the road.

€842 fully comp just me, on my provisional

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Rayne

Mine
    Price: €790 fully Comp (including road assist and car content insurance!)
    Car: 99 1.4 Nissan Almera Sports (My baby!)
    Licence: full licence (only had it 4 months tho for renewal)
    NCB: 2 Years

Due for renewal is August, 3 years no claims and 0ne years full licence!
    Was messing about with quotes online other day
    ranged from €530 - €1200

Its unfair and completely varied when you are in you late teens and 20's!

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

Here's an update. Cancelled the insurance on the bmw and bought myself a 1.4 focus hatchback to get my own policy started.

Licence: Learner Permit
    Car: 05 1.4 Focus Hatchback
    Price: €1600 tpft or €2300 fully comp (Highest quotes were 3500-4000 fully comp!!)

Going with TPFT until I pass my test. Sucks to go from paying 800 fully comp on a 2 litre bmw to double that on a 1.4 for tpft but sure I guess most people get screwed for first insurance policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭tomister

ok here we go

Starting off:

Male 19
    No claims: A big fat 0!!
    Car: Daewoo Lanos 00 1.4l
    Insurance TPFT - €1454!!

Now:
    Licence: Same
    1 yrs no claim
    Car: Opel Astra 01 1.4L
    Insurance: Full Comp - €1424

Insured with Axa

Reason for so little difference is cos i went fully comp and my new car is much more powerful than my old one!