Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JP Poker - Sean Jethi Memorial Team Event - Sunday March 8th - Est €10,000

• 23-02-2009 4:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭

JP Poker Team Event
    March 8th & 9th
    Venue: Molloys Pub, Tallaght

Teams of 5 players
    €100 & €20 reg per player, €600 per team.
    Max 20 Teams

This tournament will be played as STT not MTT, and no two players from the same team will ever play against each other. In each round all players will play one heat against one player from each team in their group. At the start of each round the team captain will select which heat each player will play in.

The payout will be as follows
    1st 50% Est €5000 or €1000 Each
    2nd 25% Est €2500 or €500 Each
    3rd 15% Est €1500 or €300 Each
    4th 10% Est €1000 or €200 Each

There will be a total of Two rounds.
    Round 1
    Final

Round 1
    2 Groups of 10 Teams
    Top 5 teams from each group qualify to the Final.

Final
    10 Teams

Points scoring system
    1st Place 15 Points
    2nd Place 12 Points
    3rd Place 9 Points
    4th Place 7 Points
    5th Place 6 Points
    6th Place 5 Points
    7th Place 4 Points
    8th Place 3 Points
    9th Place 2 Points
    10th Place 1 Point

In addition to the points scoring system, players also earn bonus chips for the Final in Round 1.
    1st Place 5000 Chips
    2nd Place 4000 Chips
    3rd Place 3000 Chips
    4th Place 2000 Chips
    5th Place 1500 Chips
    6th Place 1000 Chips
    7th Place 750 Chips
    8th Place 500 Chips
    9th Place 250 Chips
    10th Place 0 Chips

E.g. Player A win his Round 1 heat.
    1st Place 5000 Bonus chips for the Final

Starting Chips
    Round 1 5000
    Final 5000 & Bonus Chips

Blind Structure
    20 Min all the way
    25-50
    50-100
    75-150
    100-200
    150-300
    200-400
    300-600
    400-800
    500-1000
    600-1200
    800-1500
    1000-2000 (Frozen Until Finished

Charter
    1. Who is running the event: JP Poker
    2. The purpose of the event: commercial
    3. Sunday 8th March Molloys Pub, Tallaght
    4. Registration 1.00pm and Start time 2pm
    5. Any prerequisites: member of club
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number: at the door Max 100 Runners
    7. Type of Tournament: NL Hold’em Freezeout
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc: Buy In €600 per team. No Rebuys
    9. Cost of registration; €100 per Team Inlcuded in Buy In
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund: 100% Prize Pool Paid Out
    10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments, if so, how much. None
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool: None
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. None
    13. Starting Chips: Above
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts.: N/A
    15. Blind levels Above

16. Blind timeframes: 20 Mins
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc): Above
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill: Yes Dealers of very high quality
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules: Roberts Rules of Poker
    20. Is there a tournament director: JP Mc Cann
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say: TD
    22. Are there are cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered.

€1/€2 Cash games raked at €6 pp/ph
    Lowest cash rake in Ireland

Sng's
    €20 & €2
    €30 & €3
    €50 & €5
    €100 & €10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Guys as this years event is capped at 20 teams it is a case of 1st come 1st served.

When I say 1st come I mean deposit paid before the event to secure your place or arrive 1st thing on the day.

The reason I'm doing this is that at last years event it was capped at 36 teams which were all confirmed and I also had an additional 5 reserve teams. Only 3/4 of these teams paid deposits and than only 20 teams turned up to play with many more not traveling to play as they thought the event was sold out.

If you are interested in playing this you can pay your deposit at any of my pub games for a full list check out www.jppoker.ie. I will also be running sats for the Irish Open in the Jackpot from this Saturday and you can leave your deposit there (but just remember to Pm).

Teams resevered at the moment
    1: Team Jethi
    2: Team Flushdraw
    3: Team Cue Club

Teams that have expressed an interest in playing this are:
    4: Jackyback
    5: Spoofingjam
    6: Rag2gar
    7: The Clamper
    8: Team Dave Masters Motors
    9: Jim Smith aka Team Mafia

Please note that no deposit has been paid on any of the above and this is only an interest list at the moment.

I will hold the top 3 team seats until 1pm on the day.

Please keep in mind alot of my regular players will also want to play this and will probably pay a deposit before the event so if your serious about playing this YOU NEED TO PAY IN ADVANCE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Hi JP,

Can you just clarify this for me plese..

JP Poker Team Event
    March 8th & 9th

Do you expect this to continue on the Monday, and if so, what time are you talking becuase i might find it difficult getting to Tallaght both days.

Cheers

Tony

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

I'll throw my name in the ring if any teams are stuck for a player. This sounds like a bit of fun and Sean was a great lad. A really nice way to honour his memory.
    T

Flushdraw wrote: »
    Hi JP,

Can you just clarify this for me plese..

JP Poker Team Event
    March 8th & 9th

Do you expect this to continue on the Monday, and if so, what time are you talking becuase i might find it difficult getting to Tallaght both days.

Cheers

Tony

Sorry Tony,

Thats a typo, I copied and pasted last years game which was a Two day event. It will only be on Sunday 8th March.

I take it you'll be defending your title?:) If so can you bring it along with you.

Jp

6 teams deposits paid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

looking forward to this game. see you all sunday.

Paul Coyle is looking to get on to a team if anyone is interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

JP Poker wrote: »
    Paul Coyle is looking to get on to a team if anyone is interested

if paul will play on my team i will be delighted, please get him to call me to confirm
    thanks
    Derek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭thepokerroom

might need 1 more for the mafia team....
    if paul will play on my team i will be delighted, please get him to call me to confirm
    thanks
    Derek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭doke

thanks
    Derek

Paul's a confirmed addition to our team.

doke wrote: »
    Paul's a confirmed addition to our team.

JP
    our team is

Paul Coyle
    Larry Szanto
    Dara Kearney
    Clamper-Derek Williams
    Damo72

Can you let me know how i can make a payment for the team, online perhaps would be great or do you have a pre reg system on your website?

otherwise, you can take it that we will be there

thanks

Derek

JP
    our team is

Paul Coyle
    Larry Szanto
    Dara Kearney
    Clamper-Derek Williams
    Damo72

Can you let me know how i can make a payment for the team, online perhaps would be great or do you have a pre reg system on your website?

otherwise, you can take it that we will be there

thanks

Derek

Hi Derek,

I've no pre reg system on my website (must look into that).

I'm in Trinity Sports Club in Donaghmeade tonight and Molloys, Tallaght tomorrow Friday and Saturday.

Paul Coyle normally plays on a Thursday night so maybe he can drop it in.

Alternatively just get there on Sunday before 1pm as I'll keep your place until that time with out deposit.

Jp

Hi Derek,

I've no pre reg system on my website (must look into that).

I'm in Trinity Sports Club in Donaghmeade tonight and Molloys, Tallaght tomorrow Friday and Saturday.

Paul Coyle normally plays on a Thursday night so maybe he can drop it in.

Alternatively just get there on Sunday before 1pm as I'll keep your place until that time with out deposit.

Jp

THANKS JP

VERY HELPFUL

DEREK

Hi JP,

Yeah we'll be defending our title...The team for this year is

Tony Baitson (Flushdraw)
    Fergus Atkinson (Babymaker6)
    Mick Stevens (Mickste)
    Mick Graydon (BIGMICKG)
    Marc McDonnell (AKQJ10)

Tony

Just to let everyone Know a few teams have dropped out.

So you should have no problem with just turning up on the day.

Also there are a few players turning up that don't have full teams so i'd imagine there might be some teams made on the day.

We also have 2 teams that will be playing with just 4 players but will still be paying the full €600, any team that whats to do this can but one player in round 1 with be playing 2 games at the same time and if your team qualifies for the final a different player will have to play 2 games at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭BIGMICKG

so how many teams are u expectin jp? im trying to work out how much ill get when we win ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

BIGMICKG wrote: »
    so how many teams are u expectin jp? im trying to work out how much ill get when we win ;)
    I have never tasted a super nova b4 , but im gonna enjoy chewing this 1 up .

DAMO72 wrote: »
    I have never tasted a super nova b4 , but im gonna enjoy chewing this 1 up .

We're open to sidebets fishface Damo!

Ok i want €100 on me at 100/1 to be out first. :D

FFS Damo...Lets keep it realistic...Thats about an even money shot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Hi JP,

Yeah we'll be defending our title...The team for this year is

Jay O Toole (Jayminator)
    Mick Stevens (Mickste)
    Mick Graydon (BIGMICKG)
    Marc McDonnell (AKQJ10)

Tony

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭boba_fett3099

hey anybody looking for a space on a team for sunday PM me. Cheers

sory Damo but i already have 200/1 on being 1st out myself,

super donk

FFS Damo...Lets keep it realistic...Thats about an even money shot!
    Ok i'll take it at even money , Deal or no Deal , LOL:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭hatedajacks

Tony,I will talk to the lads later but pretty sure we would like a nice side bet v yur team. Really like our chances.
    Myself
    Spencerjames
    Pabloh
    Nutpeddler
    kpnuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Tony,I will talk to the lads later but pretty sure we would like a nice side bet v yur team. Really like our chances.
    Myself
    Spencerjames
    Pabloh
    Nutpeddler
    kpnuts

Winners here IMO

ok lets get serious here for a minute Damo

you are on my team and i expect a result from all my players

you were hand picked, as were Doke and P Coyle and Larry so lets keep our focus on the big 1

forget that super nova platinum gold star Mick whatever his name is and forget the fact that he has an amazing record in S N Go's, thats all online crap where everything is rigged anyway, stars look after their own

focus on being there at the heads up point for each table, become Mr Rock, solid play, only go for gold with premium hands only, get the chips in while you are ahead, shove, thats all we can ask for

make the opponents pay to see your monster hand

bet when you are in front
    fold when you are behind
    go for table domination

end of lesson

oh and by the way, anyone not on our team shouldnt be reading this, ok

Derek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Hi JP,
    Originally, we were fielding a team but not there 11 of us going to Cheltenham on Sunday for the week so its a definate non runner. Sorry we cant be there to support it.

Connie

Myself
    Spencerjames
    Pabloh
    Nutpeddler
    kpnuts

FFS Kev....will you take your team down! No-one else will turn up coz thats a super strong team you have there and everyone else is wasting their time. As Jay says, we're looking at the winners IMO. No pressure, but you're defo the favourites and anything less than 1st place will be a disappointment. i just hope you can live up to the expectations of being strong favourites and not let it get to you. Good luck, although you shouldnt need luck with a team as strong as that...just wow.

I've a little sick feeling but i'll take a side bet with you. I'll need 7/4 though :)

ok lets get serious here for a minute Damo....blah blah blah.......become Mr Rock, solid play, only go for gold with premium hands only..blah blah blah

I lol'd for 5 minutes at this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

Really looking forward to this. Should be great craic. A few pints will go down well also. Anyone want to play props during the tournie? :)

FFS Kev....will you take your team down! No-one else will turn up coz thats a super strong team you have there and everyone else is wasting their time.

Hatedajacks
    Ector
    The Chief
    The General
    Chinese Raymond

Better Tony?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

Tom Kitt lost a prop bet, he's gonna turn up wearing ugg boots

Pabloh wrote: »
    Really looking forward to this. Should be great craic. A few pints will go down well also. Anyone want to play props during the tournie? :)

What do you have in mind for props Paul?
    Hatedajacks
    Ector
    The Chief
    The General
    Chinese Raymond

Better Tony?

Yeah thats far batter..If you could just squeeze Jay O Toole in there, it would be the ultimate fish pool!

AKQJ10 wrote: »
    Tom Kitt lost a prop bet, he's gonna turn up wearing ugg boots

Err - that's his normal footwear these days. Something about how it's like walking on kittens...

BIGMICKG wrote: »

Looks like its going to 16 teams

connie147 wrote: »
    Hi JP,
    Originally, we were fielding a team but not there 11 of us going to Cheltenham on Sunday for the week so its a definate non runner. Sorry we cant be there to support it.

Connie

No probs Connie,

Thanks for getting back to me.

FFS Kev....will you take your team down! No-one else will turn up coz thats a super strong team you have there and everyone else is wasting their time. As Jay says, we're looking at the winners IMO. No pressure, but you're defo the favourites and anything less than 1st place will be a disappointment. i just hope you can live up to the expectations of being strong favourites and not let it get to you. Good luck, although you shouldnt need luck with a team as strong as that...just wow.

I've a little sick feeling but i'll take a side bet with you. I'll need 7/4 though :)

I'm a bit disappointed in you Tony, ffs your defending Champions.

l

Myself
    Spencerjames
    Pabloh
    Nutpeddler
    kpnuts
    let me see now , tony you reckon that these pretenders are gonna take this down.
    You must be delusional my friend , Ive been getting lessons from the clamper and im unstopable , so its only fair to warn you now . It's mine i tell ya , all mine

I'm a bit disappointed in you Tony, ffs your defending Champions.

l
    Myself
    Spencerjames
    Pabloh
    Nutpeddler
    kpnuts
    let me see now , tony you reckon that these pretenders are gonna take this down.
    You must be delusional my friend , Ive been getting lessons from the clamper and im unstopable , so its only fair to warn you now . It's mine i tell ya , all mine

Its ok, Alex Ferguson knows what i'm talking about.....yis would never make good managers or captains the pair of ya!

Just bumping this....hopefully we get a good few teams turning up. There'll be lots of players turning up on the day without teams, so just everyone come along and form your own teams there and then..pretty sure everyone will get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

myself
    ray masters
    graham masters
    terry packham
    tbc either.... chris cooke/eoin ollin/eoin mccann

BRING IT ON.
    someone should do a little book.

Way too early

Paul Coyle
    Larry Szanto
    Dara Kearney
    Clamper-Derek Williams
    Damo72
    Tony Baitson (Flushdraw)
    Mick Stevens (Mickste)
    Mick Graydon (BIGMICKG)
    Marc McDonnell (AKQJ10)
    Myself
    Spencerjames
    Pabloh
    Nutpeddler
    kpnuts
    pppspecial wrote: »
    myself
    ray masters
    graham masters
    terry packham
    tbc either.... chris cooke/eoin ollin/eoin mccann

someone should do a little book.

OK this is how i'd price it up between the 4 teams..

Dara's biatches 5/1
    Creme de la creme 5/6
    Cash Game donks 7/4
    The Hasbeens 3/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭SpencerJames

OK this is how i'd price it up between the 4 teams..

Dara's biatches 5/1
    Creme de la creme 5/6
    Cash Game donks 7/4
    The Hasbeens 3/1

tbh id get on daras team at that price. also 7/4 is a great price for us.....lol cash game donks, we're all tourney players now. gl

also way to early. not happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Good craic at this today, decent turnout with 14 teams - Hopefully Carl and Dave finish well to get me some cash.

Sick

AKQJ10 wrote: »
    Sick

puke.gif

results please?

We were clubhouse leaders on 43 points...With 2 tables left, grey haired Vinnie and his oldie buddy were 3/4 handed. Both needed to win to pip us by a point..........they obv both won.

We finished 2nd :(