Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sport in Templemore

• 22-02-2009 9:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24

Hey Guys,

Just wondering what sports teams are on offer in Templemore. I'm well aware of the strong Gaelic football team and certainly this would appeal provided I get in for May. Is there a male soccer team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Hurling, Rugby and Gaelic Football afaik.. maybe they do Athletics too..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Alias B

eroo wrote: »
    Hurling, Rugby and Gaelic Football afaik.. maybe they do Athletics too..

No basketball team!???????:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Alias B wrote: »

I don't know! Maybe ye should fire off an email to the College?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭northside girl

Alias B wrote: »

I know there is definitely a girls basketball team. They are actually doing quiet well at the moment one of the instructors was saying. Haven't heard anything about a lads team but I'm sure there probably is one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 booms mcd

You name it they have it. basketball, soccer, gaa.
    They may even set up a team if you can find enough interested.
    In short there is no shortage of teams and of course the top notch athletics track in the town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Alias B

booms mcd wrote: »
    You name it they have it. basketball, soccer, gaa.
    They may even set up a team if you can find enough interested.
    In short there is no shortage of teams and of course the top notch athletics track in the town

Yeah, i wasnt sure if the bball teams were competing anymore. I heard the girls team had to fund themselves at this year's intervarsities!!!! Nasty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

May intake is probably the worst to get to play hurling and gaelic football as the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon are just finished, from what I've heard there does be a good few "friendlies" during the summer tho between phase 1's and teachers/phase 3's and other local teams so you will have a chance to get noticed for next seasons teams;

Good 9 hole golf course there also, the college and the club usually do a good deal on the membership fee upto the end of the following year allowing for the fact that you will be down there at such intervalled times;

Also as mentioned there is a good track in the town if that is your thing but you cant beat going for a run out passed all the massive houses on the Cloone run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭punchestown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Whats the gym like in Templemore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭BrandonFlowers

the gym is quite good but rumour has it its only open nights a week now with cutbacks etc, when i was there it was open every night and for an hour before class every morning.

not sure whether the 2 day thing is true as i'm on phase 2 but a i said the gym caters for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

The gym is good but when i was there there wasn't enough feckin machines to go around, i was always waitin on a machine being free. Machines - treadmills and weights. then again there was 280 in my phase
    I ended up opting for circuit training and/or boxing workouts both of which were excellent at getting you fitter and more confident

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭D22

the locust wrote: »
    boxing workouts both of which were excellent at getting you fitter and more confident

Do the college provide after hour boxing classes? or was this outside the college?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

there was boxing i think on 1 night defo, maybe two a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭steve196

Best sport of them all is the elbow training of black weights in eddie joes.;)