Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Zappa Plays Zappa

• 21-02-2009 7:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭

Anyone else trying to get tickets for their show on the 19th of june in vicar st? Their website says they are playing on that date, but ticketmaster doesn't have tickets for sale yet! I sent ticketmaster a mail and they never got back to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 johnny12345

HI, ticketmaster dont know anything about it, Vicar st (aitken prod)dont know anything about it! I booked a trip to germany to see them and cant get the tickets for that gig it was meant to go on sale this morning???? Just have to keep checking every morning if you hear anything let me know thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Passenger

Nothin' on Aiken's website either. Will Vai be touring with him again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭ZappaFrank

I got tickets to see them in Manchester! Still lots available! But still nothing on vicar st. really hope it goes a head. looks like it will be the last show of their tour, and if last time is anything to go by, this time would be special.

No Stevie Vai this time. Ray White is special guest!

tickets on sale this friday morning on ticketmaster from 9

ZappaFrank wrote: »
    No Stevie Vai this time. Ray White is special guest!

Bummer. Will still check it out this time though.

i'd much rather Ray White over Vai any day. Pity Ike isn't with him. But i heard Gail doesn't like Ike.

The Vicar street tickets are 60euro, i got tickets to see them in manchester for £27! shocking difference.

The Vicar street tickets are 60euro

That is beyond ridiculous. e60 for a gig like this is extortionate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Got tickets for this today, £59.13 :eek:

Definitely expensive but should be good - the last gig at Vicar St (with Vai) was a blinder.

Maybe the price disparity between the UK gigs and the Dublin gig is down to the venue size? Vicar St is very "intimate" with the tables arranged on the ground floor. It also is last gig on the tour so hopefully they have a blow-out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Passenger wrote: »
    That is beyond ridiculous. e60 for a gig like this is extortionate.

I spent $160 to see the opening night of the You Can't Fit It Onstage Tour back in October in Chicago. Incredible show.

Soundcheck
    Small Venue (250 seats)
    Poster (which I got autographed after the show)
    Download of the show

I met Dweezil afterwards and asked him 'when are you coming back to Dublin?' He said 'we're going to try next summer'.

He is a man of his word.

I got my seats for June, and really looking forward to seeing him at Vicar St again.

Pity this gig isn't part of the You Can't Fit It Onstage Tour! Still i am getting to see them twice so i can't complain.

Any day I get to see Dweezil play is a good day.

Really looking forward to seeing them again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭rowlandbrowner

60 euro is a disgrace. I’m not going to launch into an aimless, off topic rant but I can’t justify spending that amount of money for any gig. It’s obscene. Pity, I would have otherwise attended and probably enjoyed this.

The Celtic Tiger may be dead, but rip-off Ireland lives on !!

The tickets are nearly have the price in the UK.

Don't know if you guys heard but i don't think there is any special guests this tour. ZPZ have recruited a new unknown singer. I was a little disppointed to hear Ray White wasn't touring with them, but i am over that now.

I seen them in Germany a few weeks ago, it was excellent, the percussionist had to go back to America so the band was striped right back, as dweezil said at the start of the gig its like a good teenage garage jam! it was abit of a more rocky guitar set list which suited me, the new singer was very good a youngish guy from LA was his first night and had only a week or so to learn about 20 zappa songs which was an achivement in itself.i booked a flight away on the same night as vicar st by mistake even have tickets for the gig, not as painful cause i seen them on this tour, and apperently ray white just went awol, i read that somewhere,anyway enjoy the gig.

sounds good, thanx for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

dammit, I always forget to look in this section! Only remembered cos was talking to ZappaFrank on another forum.

Anyhoo, I'll be there too, with my German mate (who could be the sinister little midget with a bucket & a mop :eek:)

Been reading elsewhere that the tour is going down really well so far, new singer seems to be doing ok.
    Slightly disappointed there's no alumni in the line-up, but it'll be a great show I'm sure. Really looking forward to the guys -and Scheila- doing their stuff.

What's the deal once you're inside- is there an opportunity for a smoke or do you have to kipper yourself before you go in?

Not too sure of the smoking area in vicar st but i am sure they are the same as any other place in dublin and you'll be allowed to smoke somewhere! But why would you wanna leave???

I have been reading reviews on the gigs so far and the tour sounds great. They've also lost their keyboard guy too, so i am expecting a real stripped down combo!!! I heard they are giving a guitar away each night! But does anyone know if there is a download available afterwards? I'm seeing them in manchester on wednesday so i guess i will know soon enough!

Not too sure of the smoking area in vicar st but i am sure they are the same as any other place in dublin and you'll be allowed to smoke somewhere! But why would you wanna leave???

I have been reading reviews on the gigs so far and the tour sounds great. They've also lost their keyboard guy too, so i am expecting a real stripped down combo!!! I heard they are giving a guitar away each night! But does anyone know if there is a download available afterwards? I'm seeing them in manchester on wednesday so i guess i will know soon enough!

I certainly wouldn't be leaving while the band are on stage! Actually, was reading they're not taking an interval on this tour, so it probably doesn't matter.
    Yeah, musos seem to drop like flies from ZPZ! Scheila must be a busy girl, her jobs keep piling on. I'd have loved to see the band when Napoleon was doing his stuff, but there seems to be a busy revolving door in operation. kinda like when Frank himself was touring!
    Not long to wait now, hope you enjoy manchester, ZF :)

Lads seen ZPZ in Manchester last night! Amazing show! They are playing friday night(thats tomorrow) in vicar st, do yourself a favor and go!!!

Seats in the second row of tables in front of Scheila.

Jumping in the shower now and then heading into town.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Does anyone know if there is a support act? I'm proabably going to be looking to get there for about 8, but if there was something before I may head in earlier.

This was my third Zappa plays Zappa show (with three different lineups) and it was incredible.

Really enjoyed the energy of the band with the new singer. Very strong 'white boy blues' voice with a more modern edge. Ben through in some beat-boxing, scat and a chorus of Bruse Springsteens Pink Cadillac that got a laugh (and a wtf look ) out of Dweezil.

Scheila Gonzalez is absolutely an amazing multi-instrumentalist/singer. She os truly the glue that helps hold the band together and give it that 'Zappa' sound

Dweezil is honestly one of the coolest guys to ever grace a stage. just completely laid back, but in charge the entire time.

I'm flying to Chicago to see ZpZ with Dream Theater in August, and I can't wait.

I saw ZPZ in Manchester on wednesday night, the Band where amazing. Unfortunitly for me there lacked an atmosphere mainly to the audiance and the venue!

But Friday night i witnessed a different atmospere completely, and i feel ZPZ did too. The crowd in Dublin were awesome and the band fed off this! Dweezil was really up for this one. He chatted between songs, told us stories, and threw in a few "irish" ad-libs in songs. Each band member excelled in their solos. Pete Griffin is an amazing player and deserves alot of praise! Scheila blow us all away. Joe looked in extreme pain during his drum solo, pushing himself to his limit. Ben stole Pound for a Brown with his vocal improv. Jamie gave Dweezil a run for his money with his solos. And i still don't know How Billy plays the way he plays!

Dweezil thanks so much for the two amazing shows i have seen this week. Dublin will always stand out as one of my favorite gigs. Please come back to Ireland soon! As you can see the word is getting out there, you just need to keep pushing it, and we'll help!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FSCHcs4-5V0

Here are a few pictures.

Looks like you were on the other side of Vicar Street from me. I was at table14 in front of Schiela.

I am still buzzed from that show. Can't wait to see them again in August in Chicago.

I was infront of Pete, got his set list after the show.

Lucky you going to see them in Chicargo! Whats the audiance like over stateside?

Twas an awesome gig alright.

Proper musicians, amazing setlist, and such friendly people too.

Got a nice snap of me (relatively speaking) with Dweezil, chatted with him & some of the band for a couple of minutes.

Not many would have the patience - or humility- for that after a 2.5 hour full on gig, a really nice touch.

I was infront of Pete, got his set list after the show.

Lucky you going to see them in Chicargo! Whats the audiance like over stateside?

Last show that I saw them in the States was opening night for the You Can't Fit it Onstage Anymore tour and it was very similar to the Dublin crowd. Very 'interactive'. lol

This show in August is ZpZ opening for Dream Theatre, so it is going to be a different sort of crowd. Don't really know what to expect.

Last show that I saw them in the States was opening night for the You Can't Fit it Onstage Anymore tour and it was very similar to the Dublin crowd. Very 'interactive'. lol

This show in August is ZpZ opening for Dream Theatre, so it is going to be a different sort of crowd. Don't really know what to expect.

They deserve to be big enough that they don't have to open for anyone!

Although, selfishly, I hope they don't outgrow Vicar St size gigs - you can't beat that up close & personal feeling.

I would love to see them in again Vicar St but without the seats! Would be great to be about to dance and freak out!

actually, I didn't mind the tables. maybe that's cos the one to my right had only 1 person & the one behind me was empty!
    Not much of a dancer, although I have my moments! But I had plenty room to freak out, and loads of room to give standing ovations - something I did a lot that night!

Without the tables, I'd probably hang back away from the inevitable crush. So for old rockers like me, maybe the tables ain't so bad. :)

By the way, did you see how often the various band members made eye contact with people in the audience? I think that would be lost to some extent without the tables too.

I know Frank use to play to seated audiances, he'd advice to sit down and enjoy the show. And this does suit most european audiance, but i don't think it does Dublin.

Feck what am i saying lol ZPZ at Vicar St was still one of the best gigs i have seen!

I'm Dying to see if it's mentioned on Dweezils Blog!

I know Frank use to play to seated audiances, he'd advice to sit down and enjoy the show. And this does suit most european audiance, but i don't think it does Dublin.

Feck what am i saying lol ZPZ at Vicar St was still one of the best gigs i have seen!

I'm Dying to see if it's mentioned on Dweezils Blog!

Yeah, I've been checking too, but no update yet. He hasn't posted in a while so I guess we'll get an overview of the whole European tour when he does get round to it. But Dublin seemed to be as good for the band as it was for us, so it'd be cool if we got a mention!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

Good to hear such positive comments about the show. I'll be seeing them supporting Dream Theater in Montreal :)