Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fast food places.... are you ever worried..

• 20-02-2009 10:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭

That someone might have spit in your burger?

Yea, this is a serious question,

I stopped eating McDonalds or any fast food or take away for that matter after I imagined that someone might do that.

I mean think... you work a minimum wage job, some *** drives up, doesn't even bother to get his/their *** out of the car, and wants food. Are you really going to be hygienic? wash your hands after you take a leak? you might even spit in one of the burgers.... I don't know, ever since I got that thought I haven't been able to eat a bigmac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

dont be a prick to the staff and you'd be grand id imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Who does that except for revenge?

Like Teletextpear said, don't be a dick to staff. It wouldn't worry me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

I've always found people who work in fast food places to be cool, so never worried about it.
    On the other hand, snobby restaurant staff seem a lot more likely to stick your dessert spoon up their ass before they put in on the table in front of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

Who does that except for revenge?

Like Teletextpear said, don't be a dick to staff. It wouldn't worry me.

Someone might be having a bad day, Mcdonalds stuff doesn't even see you, you just drive up pay and pick up the food.

How about hygiene? is that controlled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I spit on cows......so it doesn't matter where you eat.....you're eating spit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

I used to work in a fast food restaurant many years ago and no way would I eat the food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I wouldn't worry much, you need to come up against dodgy food every so often it will make your gut and immune system stronger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I've never heard of it being done "just for the craic".

However, from what I've heard from delivery drivers in some of the "better" places in South Dublin, if you bite the hand that feeds by becoming a non-tipping regular, you will get your food messed with and sometimes in quite unpleasant ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

Nobody ever died from a snot in a burger. And it's only disgusting if you know it's there. Roll on the good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Archeron wrote: »
    I've always found people who work in fast food places to be cool, so never worried about it.
    On the other hand, snobby restaurant staff seem a lot more likely to stick your dessert spoon up their ass before they put in on the table in front of you.

Agreed. I'd trust McDonalds or Burger King. I know plenty of chefs who work in hotels and restaurants that think they're bloody gods gift and do not take well to people complaining. At least in a fast food joint you get something simple and it tastes the same most times unlike a meal in a restaurant which is usually more complex and can be fecked up by these ego jumped up prats.

(Also Im not saying all chefs are like this just that some are and you are more likely to get their backs up in a fancy spot than a fast food joint)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 john77

even the layout of the kitchens in McDonalds & Burger Kings is a lot more transparent than those of restaurants where the chef is often hidden away behind double doors. In a lot of them, you can see the person putting the burger together for you. personally, i'd have no qualms re the hygiene in the fast food chains

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

CyberGhost wrote: »
    I stopped eating McDonalds or any fast food or take away for that matter after I imagined that someone mght do that.

I stopped eating McDonalds once I realised how shıt it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

McDonalds and BurgerKing have been sued many times about all sorts of things. They are careful about basic hygiene and someone would be sacked and possibly be given criminal sentences for doing untoward.

Its Paddy and Mary's deluxe batter burger and chip shop I worry about.

And being a dick to anyone in the hospitality game is going to end up with you suffering some kind of hygienically based mishap. This includes air hostesses.

I am always as polite as I can to hospitality staff, including air hostesses, and it pays. I was on a flight from dublin to New York, and the guy next to me and I ordered a G & T together. Both our glasses were damaged and leaked gin, he complained and demanded to speak to the pilot, and an argument ensued. I, politely, asked for another, and the Air Hostess(who was about 50 and still a looker) replaced it and gave me a free one, meanwhile the guy next to me was offered a glass of free champagne with the dinner, and then he spent the next 3 hours in the loo. I suspect Eye Drops were used in the making of the champagne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

When i was ordering my food from MacDonald in Grafton street i seen there results for the health inspector behind the counter , there it was blue tacted to the wall and it said 40% with a little frowning face , http://www.decodeunicode.org/en/u+2639/data/glyph/196x196/2639.gif

the fact they weren't clean was one thing , but to show the result about 2 feet away from the Q was something else

mikemac wrote: »
    Any mates I know who have worked for these places don't get minimum wage.
    It's maybe 40 euro plus all the delivery fees so maybe 2 euro per delivery. It all adds up.

And how many deliveries are you assuming they do per hour on average? It'd have to be quite a few at e2 a pop to cover minimum wage, fuel etc.
    mikemac wrote:
    I pay delivery fee so imo I've already paid the driver, he can feck off looking for a tip!

And that's exactly the type of attitude that results in your food getting messed with :D
    mikemac wrote:
    Anyway, it's not like the guy declared his job to his insurance company, lets hope he doesn't hit anyone as he is uninsured

How is that relevant to anything in this thread?
    mikemac wrote:
    I've not worked in fast food but been a barman in several places. And been accused of watering down drinks, lol it doesn't happen. And if it does happen it's some seedy dump and you shouldn't be there in the first place

It may not happen in places such as Ron Blacks, Cafe En Seine and such other bars, as their prices are at their peak (most likely) and they could never get away with it. For the studenty-type places, and other "ordinary" clubs, it certainly does happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

In fairness, they shouldn't be delivery drivers if they're not making enough. Its no excuse to mess with peoples food.

I'd imagine places like McDonalds gets hundreds upon hundreds of customers a day, staff would really have to go out of their way to mess with everyone's food, unless you pissed them off of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Kenno90 wrote: »
    ]

the fact they weren't clean was one thing , but to show the result about 2 feet away from the Q was something else

And if it was not on the wall, you would be the first one to sue them for conspiracy to commit a fraud.

Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Dean820 wrote: »
    In fairness, they shouldn't be delivery drivers if they're not making enough. Its no excuse to mess with peoples food.

Damn right they don't and I'd say many of them would be too honest even if they wanted too. I worked as a barman and even times when I really wanted to **** with someones drink cause they were being an ignorant prick I still couldn't. It's easy to say you'd do it but actually going through with it is different.
    On the other hand, delivery drivers are another part of the hospitality industry and if you regularly order from them tipping the driver (who is often the same person) will get you prefrential(sp?) treatment the same as you'd get from a waitress or a barman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I worked in a lot of resturaunts and fast food resturaunts. You would be surprised at how some people can treat food. I have often said "you are hardly going to serve that to someone... are you?"

Some people simply do not have the mentality for working with food. Some do not have the cop on. They do not have the basic hygene to work with food.

Problem is, a lot of minimum wage jobs employ people who do not care for food, they do not have a passion for it, they really only care about the money (This can not be said for everyone of course).

Some companies I have worked for wouldn't supply the basic training.

Would I worry about somebody spitting in my burger? No. That is malicious. Would I be worried about getting food poisoning from eating a burger because they are ignorant and don't have a clue about hygene? Yes!!!

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Damn right they don't and I'd say many of them would be too honest even if they wanted too. I worked as a barman and even times when I really wanted to **** with someones drink cause they were being an ignorant prick I still couldn't. It's easy to say you'd do it but actually going through with it is different.
    On the other hand, delivery drivers are another part of the hospitality industry and if you regularly order from them tipping the driver (who is often the same person) will get you prefrential(sp?) treatment the same as you'd get from a waitress or a barman.
    Yep, you're right in saying that good tippers who are regular customers get preferential treatment, while those who are regulars and bad tippers get royally screwed over.

The difference being a delivery takes 10-20 mins depending on the distance(I don't know any that would deliver further?), while a pint only takes a minute and you can serve multiple customers at the same time. Delivery drivers are stuck to one at a time, often getting little from delivery charges to cover the fuel costs and other expenses so rely on tips more.

It is a hospitality service and a damn convenient one at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I never tipped the delivery driver. I never noted any bad in the service. The prices are stated, they are paid, why pay more?

We have this discussion every couple of weeks, it is an endless argument. There is no end to it. Sorry. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Twilightning

We're in a recession. I don't think anyone would risk their job at this stage by putting a greener in yer Big Mac. :pac:

I never tipped the delivery driver. I never noted any bad in the service. The prices are stated, they are paid, why pay more?

We have this discussion every couple of weeks, it is an endless argument. There is no end to it. Sorry. :)
    Well, if you don't notice it then no harm done, eh? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 bluesguitar

I've worked in a few different service jobs not as much fast food but hotels bars etc and to be honest most people wouldnt bother! U would have to be an awfull arrogant prick for someone to spit in ur food or whatever! But if they do IMO you deserve it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Don't really care what they've done.

if it still tastes good and I don't get sick from it then who gives a fúck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Archeron wrote: »

Worked in two chippers, in one case I was manager (wow) anyways never have I ever compromised food hygiene over a cúnt of a customer and none of the staff I worked with done it either.
    The whole spit in burger thing is just an American thing. I've had people who personally I hate come into me on said places and i'd still keep a level of professionalism (eg not spit in their food, stamp on it on the floor etc).