Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why do men do it girls

• 19-02-2009 10:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭

why do men leave the toilet seat up? and pee on the seat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Why don't women put the seat up when they're finished. To teach ye to put the seat up :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

I dont.
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Is that not contradictory kinda????
    We either lift the seat and pee, then leave the seat up, or
    we leave it down and pee on the seat!!!

Personally I always lift, pee and then put down the seat and lid. I can't have it any other way!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

There are many companies doing self closing seats now but if you really what to know. Its not easy aiming a fire hose but they should have they maners to clean up after them

My mum thought me well. Additionally, never leave bleach in a toilet over night with the seat down. Its not mens urine that causes a seat to go yellow. Its the gas which comes off the bleach and reacts with the paint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

just get a toilet like the french and squat for everything.

or better yet get one of those japanese toilets that give off a fireworks display as soon as you flush, they have motors in them to raise/lower the seat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Meh on the first one tbh, sometimes I do it and other times I don't.

On the 2nd one, it really pisses me off. You'd expect it to happen in a club where everybody is wasted.....but it happens in work when people are sober (I hope). It really makes my blood boil. If it didn't make me look like a perve and I heard someone doing it.......I'd look over the cubicle and be like "Oi you, nnnnnnnnnnnooooooooooooooooooooooo" and then slap them. :) Either that or when I get in there ahead of them the next time, take a dump on the seat and see how they likes them apples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Passenger

Why do women expect to be accommodated by Men by having the toilet seat left down??

It's an exhausted Cliche at this stage that women always seem to wheel out when they feel like it.

Why don't men expect women to have the courtesy to put the seat back up when they are finished??

I've never quite figured out the operational procedure involved with these....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

why do men leave the toilet seat up?

We need it up, you need it down. Why are girls so rude and never put the seat up? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

In college where I have my ensuite bathroom (oh yes, living it up) I'll leave the seat whatever way I was using it at the time, but at home or anyone's house that wasn't all male, I'll generally leave it down because I like a quiet life...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

Because all men are bastards...and guess what? Women love bastards.:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Why?

Because i'm an asshole.
    Because i'm mysoginistic.
    Because I want to see you bent over.

But most importantly, the biggest one, because of the utter satisfaction threads like this give me after a good toilet seat pee :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

we may do that the odd time , but women aren't perfect either , I'm sure there are plenty , plenty things women do that men just hate

women-drivers-08.jpg

I'm sorry I couldn't resist:o:o:o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭KateF

Eh thats kind of obvious is it not? I don't think they'd do it on purpose. Just laziness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Kenno90 wrote: »
    we may do that the odd time , but women aren't perfect either , I'm sure there are plenty , plenty things women do that men just hate

women-drivers-08.jpg

Jaysis, slaggin the wimmens leaving the jacks seat down is one thing........slagging them driver skills is a whole new pile of crap that even I'm not going to get involved in. Brave (dead) man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Firstly not all men follow the same peeing etiquette.
    Secondly :eek::eek::eek: is my response to this thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

because we know all women secretly wish they had won the lottery of life and where born a man, leaving the seat up is a nice reminder of another convenience this world has afforded our species :D;)

Passenger wrote: »

Man you have balls for posting something like that in this forum! Let the slaps commence*

*grabs popcorn and settles in for the show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Reillyman

Wtf? I can't see the problem with leaving it up, men don't complain about why women leave it down do they?? Surely its not that hard to put it down if need be??

Reillyman wrote: »
    Wtf? I can't see the problem with leaving it up, men don't complain about why women leave it down do they?? Surely its not that hard to put it down if need be??

It makes sense to leave it down, simply because everyone needs it down at some point, men Need it up almost as much as they need it down, women always need it down.

Therefore, Leave it down.

It makes sense to leave it down, simply because everyone needs it down at some point, men Need it up almost as much as they need it down, women always need it down.

Therefore, Leave it down.

ah well if we're going to go down the route of 'therefore' and possibly even a little 'QED' then I'll have to disagree...

Where there is a difference between the use of the current user and the next user, a change must be made between uses. Whether this change is made at the beginning of the next use or the end of the current one has no effect on the work done, so in this case the choice of leaving up or down is moot.

Where there is no difference, a change after use (either up to down or vice versa) by the current user could potentially lead to a second totally unnecessary change by the next user.

Therefore, leaving it in it's current state is the best method. *

*all of the above is rendered untrue, once the additionally work involved in getting grief from womenfolk is factored in, therefore leave it down =P

Rule of thumb - Don't argue with women! Leave the toilet seat down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Pikasso

I don't get it.
    Women find it up then they put it down.
    Find it down then they don't have to do anything.

What's the problem?
    Is it that they're complaining of 2 seconds activity of having to put it down again?

The world is in financial crisis - is this a genuine problem? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

I don't understand how people don't put the lid down before flushing.

Next time you feel like doing an experiment leave the lid up, hold your hand about over the bowl (about 4 inches over the lid level) and flush. You'll feel moisture spraying up as the loo flushes.

It icks me out when i see toothbrushes, etc stored next to a loo that is regularly flushed with the lid up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 bluesguitar

I will probly get eaten for this lol but why do women get so annoyed bout this? I've lived with a few girls and they've never had a prob! once or twice I've heard it from a friends gf whom we lived with! To which I said you have to put it down I have to put it up so were quits! Didnt go down well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭tangerinepuppet

OP, I love that you marked this thread important! ;)

Most men are commenting on the seat up/down problem, but I would be more bothered about the sprinkling that happens with the tinkling. Whoever wets it should dry it IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

I dont give a crap about the position of the toilet seat, all i care about is that it is dry after. Feck it when i was in college i didn't even have a toilet seat where i lived!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

350 years ago a Treaty was signed between the sides of Good and Evil. They had been at war for many centuries, the loses on both sides had been great. They met in a final battle to decide once and for all who shall rule All of Existence. But, the forces unleashed during this battle were just too great and threatened to rip the Universes apart.

As such, the Commanders of both armies met at the center of the battlefield and signed an accord that established rules of conduct for this hidden war. They could no longer directly interfere with the Destiny of Man without a direct cost from the other side. Every action, for Good or Evil, could be met with the same level of action from the opposing side. Each time the side of Truth chose to do something Good, they had to accept that this would allow the side of Lies an action of equal Evilness! And vice versa.

Most people have forgotten this vital part of human history, it has been wiped from our minds as we simply would not be able to deal with the full weight of this knowledge....however, unknowingly do we still play out this battle through the sacred art of Toilet War.

Each side has their own weapons....men have leaving the seat up , peeing on the seat and that lovely after curry smell that leaves you wretching. Women leave the seat down, put those odd towel things on the flower around them and have, of course, the unflushed tampon attack.

It is said, that some day, for one split moment, exactly half of the toilets in the world will have their seats up, half shall have theirs down and then the world will know either happiness or despair.

The most interesting thing is that both sides truly believe the other side to be Evil.

And thats why men leave the seat up.

Disclaimer : Loosely ripped from "The Night Watch" by Sergei Lukyanenko.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

id have no problem putting the toilet seat down after men if it wasnt for the fact that some seem to have no control of where theyre peeing & i dont really want their pee on my hands.. (yes ive seen it all the way up on the top of the seat :confused:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

OP, I love that you marked this thread important! ;)

Most men are commenting on the seat up/down problem, but I would be more bothered about the sprinkling that happens with the tinkling. Whoever wets it should dry it IMO.

Im a man and I have to say your 100% right on that on, people should clean up after themselves.

Unfortunately for your argument I've been into many toilets where there was pee on the seat and guess who was in there last... a woman. seriously ladies if your worried about hygiene cover the seat in tissue(it saves you hovering over the seat and peeing on it without realizing), I know many women who tow this argument about men peeing on seats without realizing they sometimes do it themselves.

Personally I like to leave a toilet the way id like to find it... clean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭VERYinterested

This is an interesting one, I'm male ftr. I remember leaving the seat up after use (but clean of any tinkles) in my brother's house. I remember my sister in law giving me evils, but I hadn't ever come across this major phenomenon before. So I didn't know what her problem was and furthermore how could she see through walls. Anyway I asked my brother what the problem was and he told me of my faux paux. He was in my house a few weeks later and she has him well trained, he left the seat down in my loo, only problem was he left it down while he peed. I thought to myself, I'd rather visit a loo with a clean seat up than a wet seat down, maybe I'm simplifying the issue too much.

Lately I have discovered another situation. I live in a house there are three males and one female. We males always endeavour to keep the seat clean but it can be left up or down, no biggie, once it's clean. But I notice lately when I lift the seat to pee, the underside of the seat at the front is wet :confused: and I asked the lads how they were managing to do this, were they double jointed and both swore innocence. After much research we discovered it was the female of the species that was causing this with an obviously overactive turbo jet action! Karcher would be proud of this power. To rub salt in the wound, we often would get our fingers wet lifting the seat so as this female wouldn't have to sit on our pee. So, it's not always lads that wet the seat, and I have also been informed that a lot of ladies will not actually sit on the seat but try peeing by 'knee trembler' method and there will inevitably be some friendly fire on to the seat. So ladies, it's not always evil men that drench the seat, I think a seat up approach would at least give better odds that it will be clean when it is put down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

This is a male post; but in relation to the peeing on the seat thing - if my OH is to be believed (and she is);- she tells me the WOMENS jacks in both her job (in a bank) and in any public (ladies of course again) toilet she's ever used, there is generally pee all over the seat..

now I refuse to believe men are constantly and regularily going into (especially how busy ladies jacks seem to be in pubs) ladies toilets to pee on the seats.. which means the ladies are probably "hovering" over the seat and doing it themselves.

So I mean in fairness - leaving the seat up if it's clean isn't a problem - and if the ladies in public toilets are doing it as well.. finger pointing doesn't seem exactly fair!

Although it is KNACKER if yer peeing on the seat in yer own home and not cleaning it up..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

We cant do both, can we? We keep it up to not pee on the seat. And we keep it up for obvious reasons, mostly we pee, occasionally we crap. men living with men would do this all the time.
    which means the ladies are probably "hovering" over the seat and doing it themselves.

Yep. To avoid the germs on the seat they dont sit on it, and end up peeing all over the seat. Its a vicious circle I tells ya.

Women are gross!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

jim o doom wrote: »
    This is a male post; but in relation to the peeing on the seat thing - if my OH is to be believed (and she is);- she tells me the WOMENS jacks in both her job (in a bank) and in any public (ladies of course again) toilet she's ever used, there is generally pee all over the seat..

now I refuse to believe men are constantly and regularily going into (especially how busy ladies jacks seem to be in pubs) ladies toilets to pee on the seats.. which means the ladies are probably "hovering" over the seat and doing it themselves.

So I mean in fairness - leaving the seat up if it's clean isn't a problem - and if the ladies in public toilets are doing it as well.. finger pointing doesn't seem exactly fair!

Although it is KNACKER if yer peeing on the seat in yer own home and not cleaning it up..

I'd well believe about seats in the womens jacks being full of pee, yes it's gross, so yes it's womens fault and women who are being gross. At home you'd assume a woman wouldn't have to hover on her own toilet seat :confused: so it would most likely be the men who are peeing on the seats and not cleaning up after themselves there.

I'd agree with others in saying that women shouldn't complain about the seat being up or down. Personally I think the toilet looks more presentable with the seat down, but wouldn't freak about it being up. I don't mind the lid then being up or down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Moonbaby wrote: »
    I've never quite figured out the operational procedure involved with these....:o

Just don't shit in the ones with a tap, and you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Why does it matter? Can women not use the toilet if the seat is up? Id agree that peeing on the seat and not cleaning up afterwards is manky but tbh if the seat was up Id just use it anyway. Hate touching toilet seats.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

wow - you really have little to be worrying about :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

I can't believe the amount of whipped males in this thread, are you really afraid of arguing with the women in your lives? Jesus Christ, men.

I've never had a woman complain about the position of the toilet seat anywhere I've been, and if they did, I'd swiftly tell them where to go.

ccosgrave wrote: »
    I can't believe the amount of whipped males in this thread, are you really afraid of arguing with the women in your lives? Jesus Christ, men.

I've never had a woman complain about the position of the toilet seat anywhere I've been, and if they did, I'd swiftly tell them where to go.

lol, or exert absolutely minimal energy, have a quiet life and leave the crazy people to it... I'm not careful about leaving it down, though I usually would out of habit, but I wouldn't argue about it...

*looks back at thread*

woops...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

I actually rather himself leaving the seat up - then he aint spillin onto it ;)

I can't believe the amount of Balls shown from the males in this thread,not only are you not afraid of arguing with the women in your lives? but you even take on an argument with a whole forum of women... fair play lads
    FYP...:D
    Id get yourself checked out, never herd a women complain... you could be deaf. go seek medical advice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

What I don't understand is how some women still manage to still get p!ss on the seat while sitting down ?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

<i>I can't believe the amount of Balls shown from the males in this thread,not only are you not afraid of arguing with the women in your lives? but you even take on an argument with a whole forum of women... fair play lads</i>

My apologies, of course! I forgot arguing on the Internet is the ultimate display of manhood.

<i>I can't believe the amount of Balls shown from the males in this thread,not only are you not afraid of arguing with the women in your lives? but you even take on an argument with a whole forum of women... fair play lads</i>

My apologies, of course! I forgot arguing on the Internet is the ultimate display of manhood.

nope, buts its still entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

if you dont want pish on the toilet seat, put it up when youre done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

What I can't quite understand is how something so tiny, insignificant and petty came to class the male female gender divide :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Well in most relationships it is the woman who cleans the toilet and having to constantly
    clean up your partners piss will make you loose respect for them and not find them
    or their pissing penis as sexy.

"If you sprinkle while you tinkle,
    be a sweetie and wipe the seatie
    ."

Also it's a lot more convenient for men to urinate,
    woman have to undo more clothing and pull down underwear, which takes longer.
    Add in the extra inconvenience of having to put the seat down after a man has just
    walked in, unzipped pulled his hose out and pissed, shook and put it away, I can
    understand why some women get irate at the unfairness of the difference in
    the physicality of pissing.

Blokes already have it easier, so why should they expect
    the seat left up to make it easier for them again esp as it makes it more awkward
    on the woman they are living with and susposedly love ?

Esp as women due to having a womb have smaller bladders then men
    and there for statistically usually need to empty them more often.

For those of you with kids, here's how I learned to pee straight as an arrow.

Mammy threw a wine bottle cork into the toilet bowl. I had to aim at it and for everytime I hit it I got 20 p. (or a Horsie as I called it).

It worked and I rarely hit the seat if I accidentally leave it down, which in itself rarely happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

For those of you with kids, here's how I learned to pee straight as an arrow.

Mammy threw a wine bottle cork into the toilet bowl. I had to aim at it and for everytime I hit it I got 20 p. (or a Horsie as I called it).

It worked and I rarely hit the seat if I accidentally leave it down, which in itself rarely happens.
    Who had to take the cork back out?

We (Men, yes with a capital M), pee on the seats because we are optimists. We believe, despite all historical evidence to the contrary, that we will succeed in our business without mess or fuss.

As for leaving it on the seat, well that one's obvious. It's PEE. I mean, it's disgusting. I'm certaintly not touching it.

I hope this was helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Kenno90 wrote: »

women-drivers-08.jpg

Note the lack of skid marks...