Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The whole Jade Goody thing is just plain wrong (calm down)

• 19-02-2009 2:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Everyone at this stage knows whats going on with this girl - while I cant imagine whats she's gonig through i jsut cant shake the feeling that this whole media thing is just f*ckin sick.

She is selling her own death. she is putting her last few moments of life up for sale. I don't buy the whole 'doing it for her kids' excuse because thats rubbish. This girl has been on the media hunt since she left that poxy show, her agents have put her face on just about everything.
    she has whored herself countless times to products just to get her face out there.

but this? and while we all have to listen to it on the news about her wedding and celebrities playing a gig for her etc i get the feeling nobody gives a shit.

i dont like to read nasty comments about her but this is the lowest thing she could ever slump to, i am actually half expecting doctors to say 'we have found a cure, she's not dying after all!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Nice one. Let express our disgust about her overexposure by creating a thread in the busiest forum of one of the busiest sites in the country.

Ignore her and she will go away, kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭beth-lou

She emphatically denied that she is going to be filmed while dying today.
    I think you must be reading the red tops.
    After her wedding, the cameras are off, apart from a possible interview with Piers Morgan.

Very sad indeed for her kids and for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

I think it's fascinating. I want a to see a live feed from her hospice bed showing the last seconds before the light fades out from her eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Everyone at this stage knows whats going on with this girl - while I cant imagine whats she's gonig through i jsut cant shake the feeling that this whole media thing is just f*ckin sick.

She is selling her own death. she is putting her last few moments of life up for sale. I don't buy the whole 'doing it for her kids' excuse because thats rubbish. This girl has been on the media hunt since she left that poxy show, her agents have put her face on just about everything.
    she has whored herself countless times to products just to get her face out there.

but this? and while we all have to listen to it on the news about her wedding and celebrities playing a gig for her etc i get the feeling nobody gives a shit.

i dont like to read nasty comments about her but this is the lowest thing she could ever slump to, i am actually half expecting doctors to say 'we have found a cure, she's not dying after all!'

Is that you Max?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

No, her wedding will be the last thing filmed for her show and i'm pretty sure that happens well before she dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Tbh, if i was in her position i'd definitely be thinking that a million quid would go a long way towards helping my kids out. It's the people buying the pics/story that are the sick fucks.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

grizzly wrote: »
    I think it's fascinating. I want a to see a live feed from her hospice bed showing the last seconds before the light fades out from her eyes.

Get some fuckin class dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

OP, have you got kids?

If you have kids, you'll do anything for them. If that means selling your soul, your death; fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

beth-lou wrote: »
    Very sad indeed for her kids and for her.

but not for society as a whole.. :P

jim o doom wrote: »
    but not for society as a whole.. :P

the whole media frenzy is though. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The only time I see Jade goody is when I'm walking past the newspaper rack. Stop reading tabloids, and watching tabloid tv if you hate it, and it's queen so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Good riddance to her, she personifies all that is wrong with modern (western) society and humanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Sleipnir wrote: »
    OP, have you got kids?

If you have kids, you'll do anything for them. If that means selling your soul, your death; fine.
    I have kids but would not do what she does. Why? I hear you ask. Because I am not a attention grabbing little no skilled slapper that would do anything to be in the papers.

That. is. all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

m83 wrote: »
    No, her wedding will be the last thing filmed for her show and i'm pretty sure that happens well before she dies.

Normally I'd agree, but this IS Jade Goody!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

m83 wrote: »

Eh, hello? Spoiler tags.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

She has been whoring herself out her whole life. Do you think if she was single and had no kids she wouldnt be doing the same thing?
    Cancer is a tradegy for anyone, but using it for personal gain is just sick imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

funk-you wrote: »
    Get some fuckin class dude.

I was being satirical about how the media has got this woman in it's lens and will not stop until the bitter end. Although it's more a sad mirror on society as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I think it's kind of class to make money out of your death.
    When I go I want rightmove.ie logos plastered all over my coffin as it's lowered into the dark, cold, soil. :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

She has been whoring herself out her whole life. Do you think if she was single and had no kids she wouldnt be doing the same thing?
    No it's not. Let her off, if some ones dyeing they get a free pass in my book and they can reap all the rewards of a slow death (whatever they are).

It's not like she's going to get to enjoy them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Karma is a bitch. Shilpa Shetty must be having a great year :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

I think the media are being so brazing about it because she has done just about everything to be a 'celeb'

this has set the bar for talentless whoring. sell your death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

funk-you wrote: »
    Tbh, if i was in her position i'd definitely be thinking that a million quid would go a long way towards helping my kids out. It's the people buying the pics/story that are the sick fucks.

-Funk
    The man speaketh the truth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

Who in their right mind would be thinking about personal gain when they are going to be dead in a few weeks? Thats Jade Goody, a selfish human being of the highest order.

I think the media are being so brazing about it because she has done just about everything to be a 'celeb'

this has set the bar for talentless whoring. sell your death.

Eh, she's not selling her death, just her wedding.

I watched a programme about a very famous graphic artist on More 4 the other day showing his disssent into MS. Same thing really.

Besides the media have fed off her for long enough, as have the public, so if she wants to get a bit extra for her kids, then good for her.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 801 ✭✭✭jobucks

I really think people shouldn't keep knocking her. Sure she's "whored" herself out for years as you say (and been very sucessful off the back of it) But the reality is the girl probably won't be here this time next month, and why not just carry on as she always has, she's doing what she always has done, what she's obviously comfortable with and if it helps her to get through her last few weeks and puts a bit of money aside for the kids then I think she deserves a round of applause.

Plenty of prominent people have spoken out about their fights with cancer,(Bobby Robson-Daily Mail, Eric Danes - OK mag(greys anatomy),Kylie- redtops and various mags, Patrick Swayze-The washington post, and the enquirer!!.. and numerous others) but maybe because they spoke to the broadsheets and the classier magazines then its not seen as the same thing. Jade Goody talks to the red-tops and celebrity magazines and its seen as a bad thing.

I read somewhere yesterday that the amount of women going for smear tests in the UK & Ireland has gone up by 16% in the last 2 months... surely this has got something to do with the publicity Jade Goody has invited... Good thing? It has to be! I myself was prompted to go for a smear test last month off the back of it along with 3 other of my friends (obviously not with them :) ) maybe for them it was subconsciously linked to hearing all these stories about Jade Goodies fight with cancer, maybe not. Either way its something Women should be aware of and I think they all pretty much are now.

Get off her back the woman is dying

Rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Every time we write a post about it, even to castigate her - somewhere, Jade and Max are laughing a little.

/that probably includes my post too. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Good riddance to her, she personifies all that is wrong with modern (western) society and humanity.

Wow as if terminal cancer is not bad enough, she's also responsible for our banking mess too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

I'll be tuninig in just to make sure she's dead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 801 ✭✭✭jobucks

tech2 wrote: »
    Who in their right mind would be thinking about personal gain when they are going to be dead in a few weeks?

Any / Every parent who wants to make sure their kids are looked after when they're gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

I was listening to Max Clifford being interviewed about Jade during the week. It was hilarious.

Interviewer: So, Max, why is Jade doing this?

Max: To make as much money as she can to support her two beautiful little boys so that they can continue to have the opportunities she never had.

Interviewer: Has she told the boys she's dying?

Max: Well, she said she has tadpole (fnarr, fnarr) in her tummy that are making her sick but they need to be brave. They're amazing little boys. I was there when she told them that she might be going to heaven and they took it all on board and asked some very good questions. I've gotten to know them very well recently and they're amazing children.

Interviewer: What are their names again?

Max: Erm, Billy and Bobby or som'et?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

jobucks wrote: »

Get off her back the woman is dying

Rant over

We're all dying, but most of us aren't selling it to tabloids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Plenty of prominent people have spoken out about their fights with cancer,(Bobby Robson

Stopped reading here.

How you can even remotely compare a gentleman like Bobby Robson with a.........thing like Jade Goody is beyond me tbh

she's also responsible for our banking mess too.

Same culture of greed and do anything/ step on anyone to make more money regardless of how it makes you look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

In fairness to her, she has been a good mother. I mean, when her sons are growing up if they take a long look at exactly what their mother did, they can do the exact opposite. Shouldn't be too hard since the majority of her life has been documented by channel 4. It's like they've compiled a log of everything you shouldn't do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

We're all dying, but most of us aren't selling it to tabloids.

Yea but Im pretty sure no one would buy that kind of story

Day 23556486

Today I woke up and had some toast,

Then I went for a BM

Afterwards I looked out the window for a bit..

00112984 wrote: »
    Max: Erm, Billy and Bobby or som'et?

Good man:pac:

Bet Kerry Katona's kicking herself that she didn't think of it first.

Max: Well, she said she has tadpole (fnarr, fnarr) in her tummy that are making her sick but they need to be brave. They're amazing little boys. I was there when she told them that she might be going to heaven and they took it all on board and asked some very good questions. I've gotten to know them very well recently and they're amazing children.

What? So she told them she had tadpoles inside her and they then put forward some very positive questions to her after taking it all on board. How old are they? Sounds messed up.

At least the money this makes will pay for their future psychological rehab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Any / Every parent who wants to make sure their kids are looked after when they're gone

This has little to do with finacial support for her kids.

As soon as she was diagnosed with cancer she jumped to the papers/magazines. A little bit of me thinks she and her agents were happy the cancer was there for media coverage and money but as long as it was cured. but now we know it cant be.

when people here are saying she is only selling her wedding - are you blind?
    - exlusive magazine interviews, countless newspapers, multiple documentaries and so on.

this was all chased after from her people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Twilightning

Isn't this the woman that gained media attention from being racist? What has she contributed to society as a whole? Why should I care she has cancer and is going to die? The truth is that I really couldn't care less and I haven't a notion as to why other people do aswell.

To me, this whole story is about as entertaining and relevant as plucking some homeless bloke up off the street, putting his face on the front of every newspaper in the country with the headline "HOMELESS MAN IS DYING FROM HUNGER" and selling it off. There's nothing special about him, he didn't contribute anything to society, yet people are going to eat it up anyway.

The general populace is beyond me sometimes, although nothing surprises me anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

shes worth millions for f**ks sake, my parents brought me up on f**k all money. She bought a 130,000 car not so long ago she wasnt thinking about her kids futures then was she?

Bet Kerry Katona's kicking herself that she didn't think of it first.

Don't worry, she'll come up with some other wierd and fatal disease that's even more gruesome just to top Jade:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I have kids but would not do what she does. Why? I hear you ask. Because I am not a attention grabbing little no skilled slapper that would do anything to be in the papers.

Nope your right there, your even less talented than that.

I think most parents wouldn't want their deaths repeated over and over again on Living.

Isn't this the woman that gained media attention from being racist? What has she contributed to society as a whole? Why should I care she has cancer and is going to die? The truth is that I really couldn't care less and I haven't a notion as to why other people do aswell.

To me, this whole story is about as entertaining and relevant as plucking some homeless bloke up off the street, putting his face on the front of every newspaper in the country with the headline "HOMELESS MAN IS DYING FROM HUNGER" and selling it off. There's nothing special about him, he didn't contribute anything to society, yet people are going to eat it up anyway.

The general populace is beyond me sometimes, although nothing surprises me anymore.

+1, post of the day!

Guys just stop reading the tabloids wiil ya.
    They are not filming her death.

They want to, but she won't let them.
    The girl at least has some dignity.

Don't worry lads, this isn't the end of Livings coverage of Jade.

She will be appearing as a guest on "Most Haunted" soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

What do you gain by beign rich when your dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Wow as if terminal cancer is not bad enough, she's also responsible for our banking mess too.

Excellent! :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

stovelid wrote: »
    Ignore her and she will go away, kids.

That appears to be a given, no?

Look, at the end of the day while i was never a fan of her she did what countless other couldn't and that is to get paid to be what most of us are, in the grand scheme of world celebrity, a nobody.

If she can wants to do this to get money for her kids, then let her ****ing do it, it's how she has been able to support them till now so no point in taking away from her the only thing that she was really able to do.

Which was be in your face and get a reaction.

The irony is that nobody makes anyone watch the show, or buy the magazines. It's all free choice at the end of the day.

You don't like what she does? Who gives a ****!