Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Justin Hawkins at XMusic

• 19-02-2009 2:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭

Hiya all

Justin Hawkins of "The Darkness" fame will be popping out to us with his new band "Hot Leg" next Sat 28th Feb for a couple of hours, to demo some gear, sign autographs and maybe more.

Should be good crack. They'll be here from 12-2pm.

Cheers

Mick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I just saw on the website it says "sponsored by Cornford amplification"! :eek:

Does that mean you're gonna be selling Cornfords now? Do you have a Harlequin? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭fish-head

Smiler wrote: »
    sign autographs and maybe more.

Maybe more?

Like 'looking for someone who likes long walks on the beach for companionship and maybe more'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

fish-head wrote: »
    Maybe more?

Like 'looking for someone who likes long walks on the beach for companionship and maybe more'?

"Hi Justin, you remember how you had it all and you ****ed it all away, could you just explain what the thought process was there?"

Doctor J wrote: »

"Hi Justin, you remember how you had it all and you ****ed it all away, could you just explain what the thought process was there?"

LOL

Maybe he's coming over to work on the website also, that could be the "maybe more...". :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Smiler

Dord wrote: »
    I just saw on the website it says "sponsored by Cornford amplification"! :eek:

Does that mean you're gonna be selling Cornfords now? Do you have a Harlequin? :)

Maybe.

We'll see how this goes as he's using their amps now.
    See what the interest is like.

We can get them if you want one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

As far as i know the lad had a cocaine problem and left the band so he could get away from the temptations when on the road with all the lads.

Pretty valid reason imo.

That doesn't explain the Eurovision. When Black Sabbath were ****ed on coke they made Vol4 and Sabbath Bloody Sabbath. Eurovision?

Yea he may have made better music on the coke, but im sure the guy would rather not be a coke addict!!

Eurovision song was PANTS!

Being off coke doesn't mean you have to suck balls, you know? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Awesome guitar player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Patricide wrote: »
    As far as i know the lad had a cocaine problem and left the band so he could get away from the temptations when on the road with all the lads.

Pretty valid reason imo.

Pffft give the man his drugs back... He needs to get his life back on track...

Don't worry Justin, I'll sort ya out (for one of those amps...)

Dord wrote: »
    LOL

Maybe he's coming over to work on the website also, that could be the "maybe more...". :pac:

Any help would be appreciated......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mattfender

i love playin the black shuck riff...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Zangetsu wrote: »
    Pffft give the man his drugs back... He needs to get his life back on track...

Don't worry Justin, I'll sort ya out (for one of those fake pansy ass lookin boogie amps...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Heh, this Homer quote popped into my head when I read the the first post;
    Homer: You're right, Marge. Just like the time I could have met Mr. T at the mall. The entire day, I kept saying, 'I'll go a little later, I'll go a little later...' And when I got there, they told me he just left. And when I asked the mall guy if he'll ever come back again, he said he didn't know. Well, I'm never going to let something like that happen again!

Don't do a Homer folks :pac:.

DeadSkin wrote: »
    Heh, this Homer quote popped into my head when I read the the first post;

Don't do a Homer folks :pac:.

Thats just like someting I'd do... :o:(

mattfender wrote: »
    i love playin the black shuck riff...:pac:
    Im the exact same, so catchy. Rolls off the finger!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Patricide wrote: »
    Im the exact same, so catchy. Rolls off the finger!!

That first album is class. All that stuff is nice to play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

id like to see some cornford amps in there alrite, that would be splendid

I think i actually will go to that for the laugh, i passed my driving test the other day, it will be something to drive to even though ill get lost over the new roads at the red cow intersection/roundabout/mess

-=al=- wrote: »

I think i actually will go to that for the laugh, i passed my driving test the other day, it will be something to drive to even though ill get lost over the new roads at the red cow intersection/roundabout/mess

Go down the m50, take a right off the exit after tallaght northbound, avoid the spaghetti junction! Congratz btw!

i go through clondalkin and come out around the Ibis hotel area, i know theres one bit that goes on the motorway and one that goes past the redcow, and the lanes merge into 1 and its confusing as hell, im sure it isnt, but i know ill end up on the wrong one

Ah sure getting lost and ending up in inchicore is half the fun :P

Try getting off the M50 at the Ballymount exit, that's the way I go. Avoid the Red Cow altogether.

Then follow this....

Directions.jpg

yeah i think thats the best way, i got onto the m50 from going the wrong way last time i went out there

it'll be grand nevertheless, sure im legal to drive anywhere i want now :cool:

and since yer here, have u got any roland ev-5 expression pedals there in stock? there nowhere to be found in town

yeah i think thats the best way, i got onto the m50 from going the wrong way last time i went out there

it'll be grand nevertheless, sure im legal to drive anywhere i want now :cool:

and since yer here, have u got any roland ev-5 expression pedals there in stock? there nowhere to be found in town

EV-5's? Yep we've a few here.
    PM me if you want one put by for ya.

Mick

very cool, I'll prob pick one up next week so

Don't suppose theres any jobs there either!? :)

No probs.

Not my department so I dunno, sure send a copy of your CV to info@xmusic.ie and I'll pass it on to the people in the know.

Mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭Phoenix3

Can you develop WEBSITES?

Why that would be nice, just sent it there

and yea i made my own .com site funny enough :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mattfender

this will never be let go...will it :confused::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Justin Hawkins, dats cool

I've had Josh Ritter, Kasabian, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Altan and oh yeah the Blizzards in my store, let me know when ye catch up ex-music shop.
    And are website works lol :D

Mark
    {name removed}

pity you've no electric guitars or amps on it! :P

We are adding those as I speak, if people let us know what they want, we will do our best to match thomann on price and send them a paypal invoice and they would probably have it within 2 to 6 working days.
    Plus our delivery is only €6

Fail...

fail.jpg

Kids these days ey? :P