Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying Next Car, --->

• 16-02-2009 11:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭

Howya, i'm new 'ere and i thought i'd say hello first :)

The story is that i'm planning to buy my next car i couple of days time, im supposed to go to dublin on wednsday and make up my mind and maybe put a deposit on it. I just wanted to know ur opinion(reliability, handling etc) about two cars. They are both jap imports and they are both from the same dealer.(I picked dem 2 cars from dat dealer because they are rock standard with no mods just turbo timers and also he gave me the best terms on my focus in terms of part exchange coz i cudn't sell my car for months now...economic downturn:().
    Anyways... I can't make up my mind coz both cars hav some advantages over another one. The battle is between 98 Glanza 1.3 Turbo and 96 Lancer 1.8 GSR Turbo. Glanza is way cheaper to run in terms of tax and petrol and i love the color it looks mint, handling ????(good or bad???), besides it would probably be as quick as lancer due to weight difference (950kg against 1120kg approx).
    But Lancer has way nicer interior(i love the recaros+momo) its 4wd so it'll handle way better than glanza(i think??), it packs 180bhp, its not as common, but i don't really like the color and i assume insurance would be much higher(if they offer me a quote at all).
    My budget is about 5grand, dats my car + 2500e.
    I don't intend to modify the car except a back box and some nice wheels, as im not into going flat out all the time, but i like to have bit of power to back me up when overtaking :)
    Any opinions welcome, thanks guys ;)

Here's the pics
    Glanza http://cars.rte.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1155084

Lancer http://cars.rte.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1155014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Lancer all the way! Its Red compared to the white glanza that everyone has!!

More power as standard, better handling as standard, looks better as standard, and insurance probably wont be that much extra the Glanza is severely black marked at this stage compared to the Gsr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

GSR as well, will be a bit more expensive to run but its much cooler and practical.

Fella on adverts/donedeal that has a black GSR for sale, he's a nice fella and the car is mint.I was very interested myself but I cant get the money together.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/851808

Its has 220 brake and will get you to 60 in under 7, insurance ain't bad either.Axa quoted me 1600 third party, male 21, 1yr no claims, full irish.

Octavia VRS are worth looking at as well.

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1294921

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭pablosd

yeah i was actually considering Octavia VRS but there isnt a big choice around, the one you posted doesn't really convince me :rolleyes:, however i looked at passat's 1.8T and i found fairly mint looking one
    http://cars.rte.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1288650
    i think i'll give him a call.....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

out of the two i would pick the GSR. nice in red, 4wd and 200+ BHP to play around with. they are not great for tuning though.

im not a mad fan on glanza's but i have nothing against them either, and the one in the link you posted looks really well, standard and mint.

GSR may draw less attention from the guards too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

Passat looks nice, but doesnt touch a GSR.Doesn't have the power, handling or fun of the GSR, 4wd drive traction in them is suppose to be amazing.Red looks very good too, get an Evo VI bonnet and it will look like the alltime Tommi Makinen classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

pablosd wrote: »
    yeah i was actually considering Octavia VRS but there isnt a big choice around, the one you posted doesn't really convince me :rolleyes:, however i looked at passat's 1.8T and i found fairly mint looking one
    http://cars.rte.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1288650
    i think i'll give him a call.....

Looks like you bought the Passat then, lol:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭pablosd

no i didnt actually, it was sold when i rang him :( too bad it looked nice