Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is Jacob?

• 15-02-2009 10:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭

Hey with the new season revealing a heck of a lot, do you think any new light has been shed on this question?
    My guess is that he is either Locke (for the physical similarity) or Jack (for the similar name)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

Good God I hope he's not the latter in you spoiler!

I don't think he/she is anyone person but an amalgamation of energy/feeling. Perhaps the island has it own conscience?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 constipatinator

There is no Jacob. It's all just been an elaborate hoax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

There is no Jacob. It's all just been an elaborate hoax.

Quite.... :rolleyes:

Stop trolling dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭hick

it's vincent :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭theram

How many Jacob threads do we need Mods?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭brennaldo

Hey with the new season revealing a heck of a lot, do you think any new light has been shed on this question?
    My guess is that he is either Locke (for the physical similarity) or Jack (for the similar name)

it cant be either of them........
    remember in a recent episode, the one with the hydrogen bomb, well that was set back in the 50's, richard mentioned something about jacob (or else just took notice) and im pretty sure jack wasnt born back then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

brennaldo wrote: »
    it cant be either of them........
    remember in a recent episode, the one with the hydrogen bomb, well that was set back in the 50's, richard mentioned something about jacob (or else just took notice) and im pretty sure jack wasnt born back then

hmmm true... I just don't think they would have kept his identity a secret like they have if we didn't come across him before :confused:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

This is just speculation so I'm not tagging any of this.

I still think if it's anyone it's Desmond. Locke and Jack are all booked up. We probably could take a reasonably good guess as to the shape both their future character arcs will take and becoming Jacob isn't one of them. Desmond's destiny and purpose remains a mystery though.

It makes a lot of sense when you think about it. Jacob doesn't appear to have a body, hence the reason he uses Christian. With the developments this season it makes sense that Jacob is a time traveller. Who else is a time traveller? Desmond. A consciousness time traveller at that. We've already heard that Desmond is "special". He can change things, he has free will and is not condemned to the causal loop that everyone else is stuck in.

So at some point in the future Desmond's consciousness is lost in time or his body is destroyed. He becomes Jacob and sets about trying to change things or perhaps ensuring that certain things happen. That's his destiny.

In fact, maybe Jacob isn't the only consciousness that's been lost in time. Remember Faraday's experiment-gone-wrong? What if the whispers are all related to this?

Anyway, it's just a theory that I've had for quite a while.

Afraid I can't agree with that one purely and simply as in 308 Flashes Before Your Eyes Hawking tells Desmon he'll never do anything special and pushing that button is the greatest thing he will ever do

Check it out and skip to 4min 45sec http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J20BoYrc1gQ

Jacob could be hanso or vincent or walt or xyz and the other we've no evidence he's anyone tis but mere speculation, I'm willing to bet we haven't met him yet, although that may go agaisnt script writing 101 for the big twist. I shall ponder longer

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

hick wrote: »
    Afraid I can't agree with that one purely and simply as in 308 Flashes Before Your Eyes Hawking tells Desmon he'll never do anything special and pushing that button is the greatest thing he will ever do
    I don't think Miss Hawking knows everything. And even if she does, she says that pushing the button is the only "truly great thing". Maybe she disagrees with what Jacob is doing. I mean who is Miss Hawking? Is she good or bad? Hawking is working with Ben who is possibly holding Jacob captive. Remember the circle of ash? And Jacob's plea of "help me" to Locke? Why would Ben want to contain Jacob?

Hawking is clearly a fatalist. She tells Desmond that he can't change the past. But he CAN change the past and has done so already. Fate verus free will has been a major theme in the show. And if anyone is the embodiment of free will it's Desmond. He's a time traveller, he's "special", he can change the past. Perhaps Hawking and Ben represent the fate side and see Jacob and free will as dangerous, a threat to whatever the causal loop is leading to. Where as Jacob/Desmond is trying to stop it from happening.

true we don't know if Hawking is good or bad but she had no problem not defending ben with the lying comnment although you could still argue that ben could end up on the side of good, you make a good point on the fate vs free but I still believe we're being alll made to think it's one of the group, but this show is all about subversion

try these for fun: but for those that want to remain in suspence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Jack is indeed his own father.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

I reckon he has no physical form,I would compare it to the film IT,the town is controlled by some dark force that feeds on children,o entice the children it takes a physical form shapeshifting into different people and creatures including a clown,to scare them,making them veunrable and bringing them to its lair,I think Jacob in lost is a similar presence,its like the the voice of the island or the islands physical presense,do you remember Jack see's his father early on walking around,and then later on in the cabin with claire,Eko follows his brother Yemi to do a final task,but when dying realises it is not his brother,Hurley sees thaty gay Dave,these to me are this Jacob character,he or it is taking forms familar for the characters to make them do his/its bidding.....................just my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

If Jacob has no form but he have something to do with the whispers or is the latter just adrenalin fuelled paranoia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭jackdaw

Seriosuly it's
    Aaron

jackdaw wrote: »
    Seriosuly it's
    Aaron

is it feck.... it's
    the dude with the red converse that all the scffolding fell on in 308 flashes before your eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I'm Jacob lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭gearstick

jacob is not one of the major characters in the show such as jack, locke, etc. ben has said in an interview that it is someone who was already on the show but didnt have a speaking role so they're all out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

gearstick wrote: »
    jacob is not one of the major characters in the show such as jack, locke, etc. ben has said in an interview that it is someone who was already on the show but didnt have a speaking role so they're all out

woof woof... does that count as speaking?

well i dont count it as speaking, and he also said he doesn't think we will ever see jacob in a speaking role, so unless dogs suddenly learn to speak, you might be on to something there

gearstick wrote: »
    Emerson was probably referring to Rob Kyker, the Lost prop master, who was the stand-in for Jacob in the cabin scene.

RodKyker2.jpg

250px-3x20_Jacob_portrait.jpg

As I said earlier, I think if it HAS to be someone we've already met, then Desmond fits the bill. But I honestly think all these Jacob=x theories are nonsense and that he's a new character that we've yet to meet. The fact that they used Kyker as a placeholder would seem to prove this.

Emerson was probably referring to Rob Kyker, the Lost prop master, who was the stand-in for Jacob in the cabin scene.

As I said earlier, I think if it HAS to be someone we've already met, then Desmond fits the bill. But I honestly think all these Jacob=x theories are nonsense and that he's a new character that we've yet to meet. The fact that they used Kyker as a placeholder would seem to prove this.

i disagree, Emerson said it as if we have seen this character before as an extra or something, not just the guy who stepped in for the scene (are you sure about this btw?). and saying that he's a new character contradicts what Emerson was saying in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

sure how would emerson know who jacob is, when the actors are only told the bare minimum? he certainly wouldn't be told something as massive as who jacob is. i reckon he could be jack, locke or desmond, but i hope, and it's more likely, that it's someone we haven't seen before.

i'm dying to find out more about jacob; i really hope we get more info about him this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

yea they definitly wouldnt have said it to a prop guy.. he was just a prop himself.... should keep the jacob thread because its one of the biggest mysteries of the whole show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

God knows why but I really want him to be some hundreds of years old unstuck-in-time crazy eyed pirate. :D Ya never know!