Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can't stand pregnant women!

• 14-02-2009 12:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Ok as the title says I can't stand pregnant women for some reason :confused: .
    It's something that's over come me in the last few months for no reason !
    Like when I hear someone say "oh I'm pregnant or so and so is pregnant" I think " you stupid girl (was going to use another word for girl but best not,this is how strongly I feel about it :( ) or why on earth would you be happy at somehing like that ?" .

And my best friend comes to me the other day and tells me she's pregnant and I just fell silent and changed the subject and I'm currently avoiding contact with her to which she is in bits over ! which is killng me to do but I can't seem to get over this dislike of pregnant women :(

Please bare in mind I DO NOT enjoy being like this or WANT to be like this before the mob jumps on me over what I'm saying ! :(
    What can I do to get over this viw on it ?

P.S I'm A guy and 21

Thanks for reading :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭dorothygale

You probably have some issue with it, deep down in your psyche. Kinda like Equus blinding the horses. Just a symptom of a bigger problem, I mean who doesn't like pregnant women?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Is it all pregnant women or people who you feel shouldn't be pregnant right now?
    I hope you're hiding it well because you could really hurt people's feelings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭MysticalSoul

It takes two to tango, so you thinking "you stupid girl" is not hardly fair now. Also, some people want to have children, which is between both parties involved. Have you considered talking to someone about it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Very strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,165 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Could you have feelings for your best friend, which you are now expressing by avoiding her?

Other than that, it just sounds like you need to grow up, you're still young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

In what way can't you stand them?

Is it because it's an obvious sign they have had sex? Is it familial issues of your own? Is it something that has been repeated often to you? Maybe it is a quirky phobia?

I'm not sure why you would think anyone else would be stupid for getting pregnant when it is clearly their life & their decision & has very little to do with you. Are you jealous? Put out?

You have to think more about what the underlying feelings are, I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭acid.rain

sounds like you have abandonment issues. maybe your mum left you at an early age or you have some deep-seated psychological issues with child-bearing women. maybe the thought of pregnant women and their changing bodies clashes with your studly image/idealism of womanhood in general

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭starchild

A friend of mine felt exactly the same way a couple of years ago, he was fairly distressed over this as the person who was pregnant was his sister whom he was very close to.

he looked into this and was told that although there doesnt seem to be a name attached to this condition it is very similar to tocophobia which is a fear of childbirth, some women and men do suffer from this

he was advised that the best way to counter this was to start spending small bits of time with his sister to get used to it and that in no time this feeling would leave him. Additionally he was told to look at the joy that a new baby brings to a family & his own feelings re pregnancy would naturally dissipate.

In his case it did but i would stress to the op that every case is different, this was not advice given by quaified people but friends of his. If the ops feelings are extremely strong i would suggest seeking professional help through his gp

best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hey :) OP here,thanks for replies.
    I mean who doesn't like pregnant women?

I’m lost at this :confused
    Is it all pregnant women or people who you feel shouldn't be pregnant right now?

No it’s just pregnant women in general,like for example when they get on a bus I’m on and if it’s kind of full and people get up and give their seat up it really annoys me because why should that person have to give up their seat just cause she got pregnant,it’s her that chose to get pregnant so she should have prepared herself for all the inconviences etc that come with it i.e sometimes having to stand etc and not be expecting people to help you out.

I don’t say anything to those around me that have got pregnant or are pregnant like my best friend who I’m sort of avoiding at the moment cause I see her as ..better not say actually.
    astrofool wrote: »
    Could you have feelings for your best friend, which you are now expressing by avoiding her?

Other than that, it just sounds like you need to grow up, you're still young.

No I don’t have feelings for her,well she is my best friend so I suppose I care a lot about her,known her al my life.

In what way can't you stand them?

Is it because it's an obvious sign they have had sex? Is it familial issues of your own? Is it something that has been repeated often to you? Maybe it is a quirky phobia?

I'm not sure why you would think anyone else would be stupid for getting pregnant when it is clearly their life & their decision & has very little to do with you. Are you jealous? Put out?

You have to think more about what the underlying feelings are, I think.

You know I think that may have something to do ith it, it may be the act of getting pregnant that makes me see them as ..again better not say what way I see them.
    Used to think is it cause I’m jealous but I certainly don’t want one at all at my age .
    You make some good points.
    acid.rain wrote: »
    sounds like you have abandonment issues. maybe your mum left you at an early age or you have some deep-seated psychological issues with child-bearing women. maybe the thought of pregnant women and their changing bodies clashes with your studly image/idealism of womanhood in general

Nope no abandonment issues had a normal upbringing,yea actually now you say about their changing bodies that dos actually get on my nerves ,the hold of their back and always putting their hands on their stomachs and people having to be all nice and happy for them so they don’t get upset, why should people be putting themselves out when the person chose to get pregnant so as I said they should be ready for all the inconveniences etc that come with it and not be expecting others to be facilitating them.

starchild wrote: »
    A friend of mine felt exactly the same way a couple of years ago, he was fairly distressed over this as the person who was pregnant was his sister whom he was very close to.

he looked into this and was told that although there doesnt seem to be a name attached to this condition it is very similar to tocophobia which is a fear of childbirth, some women and men do suffer from this

he was advised that the best way to counter this was to start spending small bits of time with his sister to get used to it and that in no time this feeling would leave him. Additionally he was told to look at the joy that a new baby brings to a family & his own feelings re pregnancy would naturally dissipate.

Good points ;) about the spending time with someone who is pregnant, my friend wants me to be the child’s godfather if she keeps it, she hasn’t got many people to be there for her, doesn’t really talk to her parents and the bf isn’t on the scene anymore so she’s turning to me for help and support which I so so so badly want t give her but can’t seem to get over this stupid feckin hurdle!! 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

I would like to have kids but I hate the thought of being a pregnant woman and getting totally obsessed by the 'condition'.

While I would not dump my friends over it, I do also have little tolerance for the pregnancy monologue and long suffering attitude that a lot (but not all) women go on with.

You do strike me as the kind of guy who would not even give up a seat for an elderly person.

SarahSassy wrote: »
    I would like to have kids but I hate the thought of being a pregnant woman and getting totally obsessed by the 'condition'.

While I would not dump my friends over it, I do also have little tolerance for the pregnancy monologue and long suffering attitude that a lot (but not all) women go on with.

This is another thing of what I'm saying ! they expect everyone to be intrested etc cause of them being pregnant
    SarahSassy wrote: »

You do strike me as the kind of guy who would not even give up a seat for an elderly person.

I do that all the time..it's one thing I can't stand is seeing people stay sitting on a bus when there's elderly people standing !

The only people I know who reacted to pregnancy like that were gay men. I mean, they liked the idea of babies but talk of pregnancy and childbirth grossed them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Keith186

LOL that's a strange dislike...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭K_P

The thing is, most people who give up their seat on the bus or seem happy for pregnant women do so because they want to or they are happy for them. I don't think pregnant women EXPECT any of these things or would be put out if random people weren't hugely interested in their pregnancy.

Is it part of a wider dislike of women maybe? Do you feel women have an easier ride in life and get special treatment, particularly when pregnant? Does the dislike extend to babies or is it just pregnancy?

K_P wrote: »
    The thing is, most people who give up their seat on the bus or seem happy for pregnant women do so because they want to or they are happy for them. I don't think pregnant women EXPECT any of these things or would be put out if random people weren't hugely interested in their pregnancy.

Is it part of a wider dislike of women maybe? Do you feel women have an easier ride in life and get special treatment, particularly when pregnant? Does the dislike extend to babies or is it just pregnancy?

Why would random people be happy for the pregnant woman ?
    Nope nothing to do with islke of women or thinking they hav an easy ride etc.
    And no it's just pregnant women ot when they actually have their children.
    I'm really trying to think why they get on my nerves and posters are making some great points and giving great opinions too,thank you :)

No offence mate, but while yeah you may have issues, I honestly just think you should get over yourself.
    Look.You're never going to be pregnant (obviously).You are entitled to dislike the whole pregnancy condition as much as you like, but to be quite honest, it's not about you.If it makes your friend happy to see you, then you put a face on, pretend you're happy and then continue the conversation. The point is that it's not about you.Since you never have to endure the condition yourself, it should never be a major issue.
    You say you're only 21. At some point in your life you may enter a relationship with someone you love and decide you want kids.So the someone you love maybe eventually becomes pregnant.And....what do you do? What if she wants to have a family, and you don't because you "don't like pregnant women"?One of the biggest things in life is procreation. You don't have to gush over people who are pregnant, you don't even have to stand up and give your seat (though that reflects on you, not on the pregnant woman).Its one thing to be 21 and having a low opinion of people your age getting pregnant.What are you going to feel like in say 10 years when a lot of girls you know are pregnant because they want a family, and their partners want it too?????
    It just sounds like you're a bit immature, and slightly selfish tbh.And maybe underneath it all, hurt that your friend got pregnant, because maybe you do like her, or maybe you think that she's not the kind of person to go out and do something like that at this age. That's something you've got to work out for yourself, but if you're a decent person, you'll go find her, congratulate her, and be a friend.You don't have to enter enthusiastically into all the pregnancy stuff, but the least you can do is say congrats.
    I don't go in for women who are over the top about their pregnancies (its like parents who never stop going on about how wonderful their kids are) and I'm a woman.But sometimes, it's just not about you, and you need to at least appear happy for them, regardless of how you feel.

OP, you keep saying you don't want to write "the word" that you view pregnant women as being. Is it whore? or something along those lines? Do you see all pregnant women as whores (or whatever the word you are hinting at) or just the ones who are pregnant without being married? If you saw a women in her mid-30's who had been married for a few years, had a stable home life and she was pregnant, would you have the same feeling?

Do you consider all women who have sex to be whores? Are you a virgin? If not, do you see the girls who were you sex parteners as being whores?

One more question: Do you have a sibling who is much younger? IOW, was your mother ever pregnant when you were plenty old enough to understand all about the birds and the bees, possibly after you reached puberty? Anyway, some questions for you to think about...

I can understand the part you mentioned about pregnant women behaving as if the world revolves around them and their pregnancy (and I say that as a women who has two kids.) Some women do become a bit self-absorbed when expecting. It's probably biological.

But the other things you said...I'm not sure what they are about. I think there is something very deep going on there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

So do you think those negative thougts about your mother as she would have
    gotten pregant or els you would not have exsisted.

• why should that person have to give up their seat just cause she got pregnant,it’s her that chose to get pregnant so she should have prepared herself for all the inconviences etc that come with it i.e sometimes having to stand etc and not be expecting people to help you out.

I was brought up to offer my seat to those who need it more than myself, whatever the reason, whether they're elderly, on crutches, pregnant, carrying a heavy bag, whatever. What does the reason matter?

You seem to see pregnancy as something that has nothing to do with you. You wouldn't be here if your mother hadn't got pregnant. The human race would cease to exist if nobody got pregnant. You seem to forget that it takes a man AND a woman to make a baby. I'm getting a strong sense of misogyny from your post, tbh.

Hi OP here,

Some really good ponts being made I really appreciate them and the time given to post,giving me something to think about as to why I feel like this.
    Got to clear this up I do not have a hatred of women it's nothin to do with that at all.
    This is something that has just come over me in the last few months I was never feeling like this before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

You're jealous of the attention they get. Get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭starchild

hi op, i think from my earlier post its clear that i am not belittling your feelings on this but i just felt i had to reply to your comment re giving up your seat on a bus.

All i can say is imagine your friend who is say heavily pregnant getting on a bus, wouldnt you like to think someone would have the common decency to let her sit down. Its nothing to do with being pregnant, its good manners to let someone who may be feeling discomfort to have a chance to rest themselves when you are young and able bodied enough to stand for a journey without any discomfort to you whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

You're jealous of the attention they get. Get over it.

Bull****. It goes deeper than that.

This is very strange. The best way i can see you get past this OP is if you actually hang out with your friend. Pregnancy isn't easy and there's loads that can go wrong. You probably know this yourself. Being around her will help you understand what goes on and understanding something is how you get to grips with things.

To me, i don't think it's the actually act of getting pregnant that irritates you. It might be more that fact that some pregnant women can be complete bitches and expect the world to fall at their feet and do everything for them. The thing to remember here though is 99% of the time though, those people were like that before they got pregnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

how strange.
    OP i can only speak for myself,but i know the reason i'd be more tolerant of pregnant women complaining/being tired/being moody because i understand how crap their feeling(from being sick or having heartburn) and that not only are they hormone crazy but they're probably terrified at the huge life-altering thing they are embarking on. Maybe they did decide to get pregnant,maybe they didn't. But if every girl decided not to, we'd go extinct.
    I'm only now realsing how hard pregnancy is on the human body as a close mate is pregnant. bless her,she's trying to keep her spirits up , but being in and out of hospital is killing her. So people around her trying to make things just a tiny but easier means a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭laurak265

You don't sound very nice mate. I had a baby and i know what it feels like. I got sick for 9 months solid. I didn't plan it, my ex wanted me to stay with him but a baby wouldn't stop me leaving him!! Anyway i still couldn't justify killing the baby and i kept it. Its not nice being pregnant and i remeber standing on the luas all the way from city centre to tallaght so fair play to anyone who gives up their seat from a pregnant woman cos no one did it for me. Its a very tiring process..the baby saps your energy to use it to devope a whole other person not to mention the weight from the from neary knocking ya over!!

Anyway i think you need to cop on to yourself. Your not much of a friend to your friend with your behaviour and i hope to god you don't get anyone pregnant cos you won't be much use to anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

Why ? 08 wrote: »
    Like when I hear someone say "oh I'm pregnant or so and so is pregnant" I think " you stupid girl (was going to use another word for girl but best not,this is how strongly I feel about it :( ) or why on earth would you be happy at somehing like that ?" .

OP are you attracted to any of the following:

1. 'bad' smells
    2. destruction, aggression or violence.
    3. gadgets, machines or large infrstructural projects?

laurak265 wrote: »
    You don't sound very nice mate. ...
    Anyway i think you need to cop on to yourself. Your not much of a friend to your friend with your behaviour and i hope to god you don't get anyone pregnant cos you won't be much use to anyone.

Laura this is unfair. The OP is repentant and does not wish to think as he does.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i am completely with you on this. i dont think pregnant women should be let out side the house.

there is something completely disgusting and revolting about their big bellies. they seriously turn my stomach

If you are having such a phycial reaction due to your tocophobia I suggest you see a dr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

And my best friend comes to me the other day and tells me she's pregnant and I just fell silent and changed the subject and I'm currently avoiding contact with her to which she is in bits over ! which is killng me to do but I can't seem to get over this dislike of pregnant women :(

Please bare in mind I DO NOT enjoy being like this or WANT to be like this before the mob jumps on me over what I'm saying ! :(
    What can I do to get over this viw on it ?

P.S I'm A guy and 21

Thanks for reading :)

dude im exactley like you, i wont even give up a seat on a train for somebody pregnant, its their own fault, i just think its horrible in every dimension, your not alone

Seeing pregnant women is also a big fat reminder that there are consequences to having sex. OP do you have sex and do you have mature conversations about contraception with the women you sleep with? Do you have anxieties about getting someone pregnant and getting "trapped"?

Or do you not have much or any sex and hate reminders that other people are out there, blatantly doing it all the time?

You say you don't have a problem with babies or people having children in general. You just need to remind yourself that people having babies includes being pregnant and is absolutely normal human behaviour, and it's not for you to judge whether they "should" be having them or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭*Lees*

i am completely with you on this. i dont think pregnant women should be let out side the house.

there is something completely disgusting and revolting about their big bellies. they seriously turn my stomach

Wow!!! Nothing pink and fluffy about you girl!!!
    The human race would be extinct if people didn't get pregnant!! I think pregnant women are beautiful and i think it's amazing. Ever feel a pregnant womans belly and feel the baby kicking inside? How could you say it's revolting????? :rolleyes:
    To those of you who say you wouldn't give up your seat on the bus for a pregnant woman because it's their own fault! Would you feel as disgusted with the man who got her pregnant?? You all have issues, seriously, it's not normal to think like this!! It's really a reflection on you as people rather than the pregnant person!! I would wonder what type of upbringing you've had!!!

OP, i think you need to try and get over this for the sake of your friend! You say she is your best friend, if so you should be there for her no matter how you feel about her 'condition'! You say she has no one else, how could you avoid her?? Thats awfull...

*Lees* wrote: »
    The human race would be extinct if people didn't get pregnant!! I think pregnant women are beautiful and i think it's amazing. Ever feel a pregnant womans belly and feel the baby kicking inside? How could you say it's revolting????? :rolleyes:
    To those of you who say you wouldn't give up your seat on the bus for a pregnant woman because it's their own fault! Would you feel as disgusted with the man who got her pregnant?? You all have issues, seriously, it's not normal to think like this!! It's really a reflection on you as people rather than the pregnant person!! I would wonder what type of upbringing you've had!!!

OP, i think you need to try and get over this for the sake of your friend! You say she is your best friend, if so you should be there for her no matter how you feel about her 'condition'! You say she has no one else, how could you avoid her?? Thats awfull...

Been following this thread and I've seen "pregnant is beautiful" etc etc what's so beautiful about it might I ask ? what can be beautiful about something that will cry,scream and cost a fortune and have you wrecked forever ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

So when or if you ever get pregnant you'll stay indoors for nine months?

Good luck with that :rolleyes:

dude im exactley like you, i wont even give up a seat on a train for somebody pregnant, its their own fault, i just think its horrible in every dimension, your not alone

Fault?!

lol, you make it sound like they've gotten themselves into some awful predicament or terrible situation.

They're only babies, ffs.

There is a lot of joy in being a parent, I will never say it can't be hard work but there is a
    lot of love, joy and enjoyment.

If a person doesn't want to be a parent then fine and fair enough but it is possible to
    be child free with out disparaging other people.

IF you are having issues mentally/emotionally/phyicall due to being around a cleary pregnant person then you have issues you need to see a gp about.

It is basic common decency to give up your seat to someone who is more in need of
    it then you are, not matter how they came to be that way.

Because she doesn't agree with you saying that being pregnant is great ?
    I think pregnant women are beautiful and i think it's amazing. Ever feel a pregnant womans belly and feel the baby kicking inside? How could you say it's revolting????? :rolleyes:

Again just cause this is what you think doesn't mean that it's what everyone should feel like,you like it others don't,personally I can't see what is great about it or beautiful about it.

I can see where the OP is coming from here with his friend,she should have been prepared for the risk of getting pregnant and now she has she thinks she can just turn to him for support and comfort cause she wasn't careful,it's not his fault she's in that condition so he shouldn't have to be there to pick up the pieces either !

The OP never said his friend was expecthing him to be her sole support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

OP, I think you're just young and freaked out by the whole idea of pregnancy. I'm sure everyone is at some point, you just seem to have a slightly more extreme reaction than most.

IMO, when you think about it a lot, reproduction can seem fúcked up. Really fúcked up. But at the end of the day, it's a part of life, and life is pretty fúcked up and confusing. What makes it less so is others to be there for you in times of need. Go be with your friend. She needs you. Don't think of her as a pregnant woman, think of her as the best friend you've always had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

embee wrote: »
    Fault?!

lol, you make it sound like they've gotten themselves into some awful predicament or terrible situation.

They're only babies, ffs.

i hate children, i despise them, and it is awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

No,it was the way it was said, I think was what *Lees* meant.
    What about rape victims that decide to, or have to go full term? It still their fault?
    It's common decency you selfish prick.
    Next time you get the chance, go get the snip. God forbid you ever get a girl pregnant. You'd be on the first bus out. thats if you dont get rid of it first.

i hate children, i despise them, and it is awful

Do you hate your mother for carrying you for nine months and delivering you, or is that the convenient exception to the rule?

There's nothing whatsoever awful about children. There are, however, a lot of things that are awful about adults. Somewhere along the line, some of us just get broken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭*Lees*

No, not because she doesn't agree with the fact i think pregnancy is beautiful! I said there was nothing pink and fluffy about her because she said pregnant people should not come out of the house for 9 months and they are 'revolting'!! :rolleyes:
    Again just cause this is what you think doesn't mean that it's what everyone should feel like,you like it others don't,personally I can't see what is great about it or beautiful about it.

Well personally I don't think it's normal to be disgusted with pregnant women!! I honestly think anyone who thinks like that needs to get their head checked!! I understand people who don't want kids, but even they surely would have some respect for a pregnant woman.
    I can see where the OP is coming from here with his friend,she should have been prepared for the risk of getting pregnant and now she has she thinks she can just turn to him for support and comfort cause she wasn't careful,it's not his fault she's in that condition so he shouldn't have to be there to pick up the pieces either !

The OP didn't say if his friend is careful or not!!! She could have been on the pill for all we know. No it's not his fault she got pregnant and nowhere in his post did he mention having to pick up the pieces for his friend!!! He has basically said he has been avoiding her! That's not what friends do!! If she was walking across the road and got knocked down and lost her leg, should he not speak to her because she wasn't being careful!!! :rolleyes: Ok, not comparable situations but for you.. maybe!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

embee wrote: »
    So when or if you ever get pregnant you'll stay indoors for nine months?

Good luck with that :rolleyes:

i wont be getting pregnant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Princessa

Its probably because you're not ready for a kid and you're dreading that maybe a woman one tell will be telling you that she is pregnant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

laurak265 wrote: »

Actually, to counterpoint, the OP has acknowledged that he has an issue and wants to get over it very specifically for the sake of his friend, so that he can help her out.

Or are you only reading the posts that appeal to the former angry preggers person in you?

I am a woman I must say I do find the look of pregnant stomachs disgusting. I keep it to myself of course as is only polite. When I saw the picture of that woman with the octuplets pregnant in the paper last week I had to stick a post it over the picture so I could read the rest of the page.

A lot of the attitudes OP has I had when I was younger too. My father was a vitriolic mysogenist and engendered a hatred for women and shame of womanly things in us all (3 girls) that we believed was perfectly normal so I totally understand OP's thinking, although I know its wrong.

When people say 'pregnancy is beautiful' it makes me cringe. Anyway, thinking on it the way I am and the way OP is really are the attitudes you would expect a teenage boy to have. I think if the father or someone brainwashed him to hate females then that explains it. Not everyone was brought up in a 'normal' home (ie. one where kids are taught women are worth as much as men) These attitudes are very familiar to me.

I wonder if OP's attitudes stem from something like this...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Being honest, I can't really see the physical beauty of pregnancy either. I admit I do think the way life starts as a single sperm and grows in the womb is pretty fascinating stuff and I wouldn't be revolted by it but it's more out of scentific reasons that I'd amazed at the whole process. I can't see the beauty of puking in the mornings and acting like the psycho bitch from hell for no reason occaisionally for 9 months while you gain weight and sweat frequently and get back pain, all capped off with squeezing a bloody, screaming human being from your vagina.

And you have a good chance of ****ting yourself in the process too.

We can't all see the glow of pregnant women. Some of us are just complete monsters and think they're just fat. And what's wrong with hating kids? I hate them too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭VeryBerry

OP, if you truly want to get past this feeling of disgust about pregnant women I think you need to identify what it is exactly that disgusts you (because its not all that clear from what you said). Then have a very serious think about where these feelings are coming from. Reading through your posts, and drawing on what others have said, a number of things struck me. Correct me if I'm totally wrong, but to sum up, it seems to me that you can't stand pregnant women because;
    1. You see them as sluts or slags (or whatever word you didn't want to write) - their pregnancy is a clear reminder that they had sex.
    2. You are disgusted by the actual physical aspect of a pregnant woman's body (when you mention touching their bellies, holding their backs etc.)
    3. You resent the "special treatment" you perceive pregnant women are getting (e.g. getting seats on trains, people being more sensitive to their emotions, people being happy for them).
    4. You think that pregnant women themselves expected people to treat them this way, and that expectation annoys you.
    5. And you particularly resent this special treatment because you believe the women chose to become pregnant, so they chose all the associated inconveniences and are not entitled to special consideration.
    6. Finally,you don't believe that pregnancy is anything to be happy about. It seems to me that you think nothing good can come of it.
    If I've gotten any of those right, I think you need to sit down and have a good think about a few things;
    • Your attitudes towards sex and women: Do you consider sex in general a natural thing, or something wrong and dirty? Do you thing all women who have sex are sluts/slags? Or only the ones who get pregnant? Or just the ones who are young and unmarried? How do you feel about your own mother conceiving and carrying you?
    • Your attitude towards womens physical bodies: is it the size of pregnant women that disgust you? Do you have the same feelings about obese people? Is it the fact that there is a baby in there (this is quite freaky admitedly - and I'm pg myself!)
    • Your feelings towards how vulnerable people in general should be treated. You seem to feel a strong sense of injustice that a certain groups of people are being looked after in a special way or rewarded for something you feel they don't deserve. How does this related to other aspects of your life? Do you have insecurities or jealousies that you haven't been treated as you deserve?
    (Interestingly I think its not neccesarily pregnant woman themselves that are more vulnerable - its the unborn baby. I think people go out of their way to take special care of pregnant women, because in a way, they're actually taking care of the unborn baby - not only the woman.)
    • Finally - take a look at your life view in general. You don't see pregnancy as something good. What are your views on children in general? On life in general? Maybe your feelings are representative of a deeper negativity re: the world and life as a whole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I'm sorry I haven't read everything but could it be related to some kind of alpha-male tendency in you that makes them seem like (for lack of a better phrase) 'damaged goods'?? That maybe you resent that they have become pregnant by someone that isn't you???

Just a thought- I could be a mile off the mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

This is another thing of what I'm saying ! they expect everyone to be intrested etc cause of them being pregnant

I do that all the time..it's one thing I can't stand is seeing people stay sitting on a bus when there's elderly people standing !

I can understand it. Im a Dad and could never understand the attention lavished on the mother at the exclusion of the Dad.

Its like as if junior had nothing to do with him.