Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TAKE AIM teams cup

• 11-02-2009 7:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭

TAKE AIM Magazine would like to present the TEAMS CUP.
    It is a one day knock out tournament to be held on March 1st at Rathbeggan Airsoft in Meath.
    8 Teams of 10 men will battle it out over three rounds to win Irish Airsoft’s first trophy.

The winning team will get an engraved plate on the cup as well as a gold engraved medal for each player in the winning team. Players from the second place team will all receive silver engraved medals and the third place team will get the bronze.

The teams have been picked and are as follows: The Ghosts, The Contractors, ATF, Viper Squad, ATS, FRAG, AON and Band of Hawks.

All participating players will have guns tested before gaming begins and are subject to spot tests. All teams must be on site at 10 am, at which time the draw will take place to see who will face who.
    Gaming will start at 10.30 am sharp. Participating players will only be charged 15 Euro for the day.

All spectators are welcome and the tournament will be featured in issue 4 of TAKE AIM Magazine.
    Don’t miss what will surely be a spectacular day of gaming!

Sorry to all other teams who may have missed out. We are hoping to hold this tournament every six months and next time round we’re hoping to up the number of teams from 8 to 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭spicymchaggis

lookin forward to it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭starwidow

It's about time i got a medal for being great :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Looking foward to what will be a collosul event.

I'd encourage spectators to come along and have a look, it sohuld give a good insight for new and current players into how exactly teams operate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Spetzcong

Is it time to start trash talking the other contenders yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Ghostwarrior

No, thats a pre and post match event followed an internal thrashing and giggle at humours events that took place i.e. someone ripping the trousers and sitting in some thistle's....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

someone ripping the trousers and sitting in some thistle's....

Damn you, I was trying to keep that a secret until the day of the competition.:(

GET OUT OF MY HEAD:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭A.O.N

Looking forward to this cup lads, heres to Take Aim for starting a much needed competition!

A.O.N's first meeting is monday so we havn't practised or ever played together as a team, not to mention the fact that its been months since any of us have played outdoors. Add to that the fact that none of us have ever been to the Rathbeggan site. This is going to be a good test for our team!

Fair play lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Airsoftcrazy

hey guys good luck to all going to the competition

A.O.N wrote: »
    Looking forward to this cup lads, heres to Take Aim for starting a much needed competition!

A.O.N's first meeting is monday so we havn't practised or ever played together as a team, not to mention the fact that its been months since any of us have played outdoors. Add to that the fact that none of us have ever been to the Rathbeggan site. This is going to be a good test for our team!

Fair play lads.

As a good and wise friend of mine always says to me

" A yeah getting the excuse in early"

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭ravey

No excuses! We are here every weekend right up to the Cup Competition.
    So get yer asses out here and get to know the lie of the land.
    He who prepares gets the biscuit! or somthin like that :P
    Sunday sounds like we are gonna be busy but we have space tomorrow. I think! Anyway, its an ideal time to check the place out as the leaves will be coming on the trees fairly soon and its good to see whats ahead of you!

RATHBEGGANAIRSOFT
    (DUNNOHOWTODOLOGO):o

As a good and wise friend of mine always says to me

" A yeah getting the excuse in early"

:P

Yup, lol!

ravey wrote: »
    No excuses! We are here every weekend right up to the Cup Competition.
    So get yer asses out here and get to know the lie of the land.
    He who prepares gets the biscuit! or somthin like that :P
    Sunday sounds like we are gonna be busy but we have space tomorrow. I think! Anyway, its an ideal time to check the place out as the leaves will be coming on the trees fairly soon and its good to see whats ahead of you!

RATHBEGGANAIRSOFT
    (DUNNOHOWTODOLOGO):o

Thats the plan, we will have to get a squad down to have a wee game! Sounds great down there!

A.O.N wrote: »
    Thats the plan, we will have to get a squad down to have a wee game! Sounds great down there!

pop over tomorrow *insert sinister smiley face here*

If only we had the time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 the devilsace

Hey all only new to the sport but really enjoying myself playing it. i am a member of the a.o.n and we cant wait to prove how good we are even tho were only a new team we will prove doubters very wrong :D mwahahahahahahha
    evil laugh :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭A.I.M

thats the spirit good stuff :) it should be a good day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 the devilsace

yeah it deffo will be a good day it will be my first comp so it should be very intresting

talk soon

Team formed, squad picked, here we come!

I have to ask is there any rules being put out regarding ammo limits, and who will be marshalling the game( assume rathbeggan marshalls)

Reason I ask is, I think to promote the play and difference that Team's bring, ammo limits ( ideally midcaps only) would up the skill factor immensly and the winners could be truely worthy.

I do have reservations by the amount of boxmags and the like that will be present ( going on by what i see some of these teams and their players using week in week out) And I feel it would just take away from the event.

I know its for a bit of craic, and to promote airsoft and that. But gathering some of the most well known teams, gives an opportunity to see airsoft at a level not seen enough during weekend skirmishes.

Is there any rulings set out for the game? Or is it just going to be a regular skirmish Sunday with teams?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭The Warehouse

I have to ask is there any rules being put out regarding ammo limits, and who will be marshalling the game( assume rathbeggan marshalls)

Reason I ask is, I think to promote the play and difference that Team's bring, ammo limits ( ideally midcaps only) would up the skill factor immensly and the winners could be truely worthy.

I do have reservations by the amount of boxmags and the like that will be present ( going on by what i see some of these teams and their players using week in week out) And I feel it would just take away from the event.

I know its for a bit of craic, and to promote airsoft and that. But gathering some of the most well known teams, gives an opportunity to see airsoft at a level not seen enough during weekend skirmishes.

Is there any rulings set out for the game? Or is it just going to be a regular skirmish Sunday with teams?

Some teams wouldn't be equiped for all that man. Not only speaking on behalf of our team.

some good points there DOC we still have a few things to sort out and your comments will be taken into consideration and yes it is for a bit of craic but it is a competition so dont take it too lightly lads
    yes the rathbeggan lads will be marshals plus one or two of us and if anyone else wants to put their hands up for the job :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭The Warehouse

We will pop in and do a bit of marshalling if you like Al/Ian!

fair play lads i'll take ya up on that ;)

lookin forward to this, as for the above as the warehouse said not everyone is equiped for a midcap loadout and if i lug an 249 around i think box mag cant be argued, my speed and mobility is hindered, though if your talkin about a team full of stubbys with cmags it yeah it would be a tad annoyin but its their money. so any limitations set on this weekends games? hopefully have my video recorder for then :D

Perhaps I just assume every team would have midcaps, I dont even mind high caps, I just know I'm going to get annoyed, because im going to come up against boxmags : /

I'm not particularly fussy, I hope the game just shows teams ina good light tactically and behaviour wise which I think it will and it should be fascinating.

Are there any rules on having subs for the comp?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭fasterkayote_

Plus 1 to DM, ammo limit, midcaps and no boxmag to aeg rifles is a good twist. tactical game will set this meeting a level higher than regular weekend skirmish.
    ---this is only my personal view.

TAKE AIM CUP
    MARCH 2009
    RATHBEGGAN AIRSOFT

9:00 GATES OPEN
    REGISTRATION OPEN
    PLEASE REGISTER COMPLETE TEAM OF 10 TOGETHER
    PLEASE HAVE YOUR TEAM PREPARE FOR GAMING AND CHRONOGRAPH TEST

9:30 CHRONOGRAPH OPEN
    TEST TO 1 JOULE LIMIT NO FPS
    ALL AEG’S TO BE USED IN CUP MUST BE TESTED
    ALL PASSED AEG’S MUST CARRY A SAFETY TAG

10:00ORIENTATION
    REGISTRATION CLOSED
    TEAM CAPTAINS ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR REGISTERING THEIR TEAM ON TIME.
    PLEASE HAVE YOUR TEAM ASSEMBLE QUIETLY IN THE MAIN TENT FOR ORIENTATION

10:30 START GAME 1 & 2
    ALL GAMES START ON TIME
    DELAYS WILL RESULT IN REGEN DEDUCTION

11:15 START GAME 3 & 4

12.00 START GAME 5 & 6

13:00 START GAME 7 & 8

14:00 START GAME 9 & 10 SEMI FINAL

15.00 START GAME 11 3rd & 4th PLAYOFF

16:00 START GAME 12 FINAL

17:00 PRIZE GIVING

RULE OF PLAY

1, Standard Hit Rules will apply. This means any Hit on any part of the body. Body armor,gun and helmet hits count. Hits from friendly fire count. Hits from all grenades and ground fire devises count.
    Ricochets do not count. Repeated hits through tree’s bushes and long grass counts as a hit.
    Failure to acknowledge hits will result in regen deduction or removal from the game. Within 3 meters (10 feet) a bang rule is applied. To bang kill somebody you must have them dead in your sights or touch them to avoid dispute.

2, Each team will be allowed 10,000 BB’s per game. Teams will be asked to declare all BB’s to the game marshal at start of game. Teams will be subject to random spot inspections. Teams found in breach of BB limit will be subject to regen deduction or forfeit.

3. All AEG’s must be tested and marked prior to game start. Gamers must comply with spot check on AEG’s at all times. AEG or battery failure in game will be the player's responsibility; if an AEG fails in game the gamer may retire and return with repaired or replaced AEG or battery with game marshals permission. Gamer may seek repair or replacement in game but must obey hit rule.

4.Hit players must return to a Regen Point and notify the regen marshal of their number and team. Failure to notify marshal will result in regen reduction. Dead player must leave game zone but must not return to safe zone until directed to by the game marshal (gamers are asked to stay back far enough so as not to interfere with a game in play). Hit players communicating the position of an enemy player or the actions of the opposition to team mates will be subject to regen deduction or dismissal. Dead men don't talk

6. Violence or un-necessary physical contact May result in the removal of a player from the game. Any serious Breaches will result in eviction from the premises and notification of the authorities.
    Gamers who
    Any player who has been removed cannot be replaced during a game.

Marshals.

1. Each game will be marshaled by at least one Game marshal. two regen marshals and any number of hidden marshals (hidden marshals will have a white cross on their black glove. If you see a raised hand with a white cross stop shooting that player).

2. A player from each team competing is asked to volunteer for marshal duty in a game not involving their team.

3. Each game must have a minimum of three marshals and a maximum of six.

4. Dissent towards marshals or site staff may result in eviction from the premises

We shall see you there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

A.I.M wrote: »
    Repeated hits through tree’s bushes and long grass counts as a hit.

What is meant by Repeated hits?

someone could count repeated as two hits, someone else as 17.

Could lead to many disputes.
    Would it not just be a Hit is a hit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Dar

TEST TO 1 JOULE LIMIT +-10% NO FPS

?

aeg's are tested in joule's not fps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Bernie Mac

I really think that is up to the marshalls more than anything else wouldnt you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

aeg's are tested in joule's not fps

But the law is a strict 1J with no allowances.

Bernie Mac wrote: »
    I really think that is up to the marshalls more than anything else wouldnt you think?

I would think a hit is a hit.
    Would avoid confusion.

But then again it's not my site nor my competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭BioHazRd

I would agree here - it would make life a lot simpler by saying a hit is a hit. I dont think I have come across anyone yet who used the "but I was behind a bush" defense after being peppered, and I don't think I would like to either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭A.T.F

see you guys there

The Airsoft Tactical Force

I would think a hit is a hit.
    Would avoid confusion.

But then again it's not my site nor my competition.

There is alot of gorgse bushes and what not in the site tho and you can riddle them all you want and nothing will get through them....but on that note if it was a real 5.56 round you would be dead :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭BioHazRd

There is alot of gorgse bushes and what not in the site tho and you can riddle them all you want and nothing will get through them...

thats absolutely fine - if they dont get through - it's not a hit, but if one gets through and makes contact, that SHOULD be a hit

BioHazRd wrote: »
    thats absolutely fine - if they dont get through - it's not a hit, but if one gets through and makes contact, that SHOULD be a hit

Absolutly! a hit is a hit, is a hit! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Toherinator

any time i have been playing at Rathbeggan and i have riddled bushes out of it with people behind them they never seem to come out of it with their hand up, ovibiously because they havn't been hit by a bb. Technically they would be dead if it were real but it is airsoft after all. So i would say that your only hit if a bb actually hits you and not if somebody riddles the bush your behind. Same kind of thing applies if you walk out of range of the AEG in the clear open, technically you would be dead but this is airsoft most players wont take a hit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Viper Squad 1

We're looking forward to seeing you guys on Sunday.
    BRING IT!!:cool:

Absolutly! a hit is a hit, is a hit! :p

Indeed.

buuuut, the rule says repeated hits.

Should really just say hits.

It would Avoid people like me pointing out the smallest of flaws and annoying you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭mafiaboy

looking at this and im buying a m500 shorty as a back up... how many teams are showing up... i know we (A.T.F) are going to be there TO KICK SOME ARSE are you gonig to be there to feel it... lets get on...

we have 8 teams of 10 men for sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭mafiaboy

8 teams happy day can you tel us who they are... fingers cross one of them is the contractors..

as far as i know and i could be wrong
    ATF
    Vipers
    Contractors
    Band Of Hawks
    Aon
    Ghosts
    ATS
    And i think the rathbeggan team

the last team is frag not the rathbeggan lads you got the rest right :)

should make for an interestin day then :D