Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

stupid people standing in parking spaces

• 11-02-2009 2:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭

This may appear minor considering the state of the country but hear me out. The other day my husband and myself crossed the border to go to asda in enniskillen ( i cant afford to be patriotic). now it was saturday afternoon and the place was PACKED, we drove around the carpark for 15 - 20 minutes looking for a space when eventually we spotted a woman loading up her boot with groceries and we thought "great, that will do nicely" the lady even told us she wouldnt be a second which was nice and considerate. she no sooner had the arse of the car out of the space but this skanger runs over and stands in the spot. Now my husband is very quiet and reserved, ive never seen him hit the roof, but he started to turn like the incredible hulk does before he blows his top. He told the "lady" that she couldnt stand there, to which she replied "yeah? ye gonna stop me?". The car she was holdin the spot for was no where to be seen. Very slowly my hubbie began to inch the car towards her, and she totally called his bluff, just stood there tauntin him, still he rolled the car. As it grazed off her knee she roared "you crazy bastard, who better watch it" she then spat on the car and ran off. In the end i went into the store on my own because he was afraid to leave the car in case they came back. I mentioned this to a security guard in asda and he says its a really common issue and there have been loads of rows over spaces, he said he remembered one mother putting a 5 or 6 year old standing in the space to reserve it! what is it about people who think they are sooo important to behave like this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Paragraphs people! Paragraphs and spaces, it makes reading so much easier.

Appreciate the post and the time doing it but its hard on these old eyes! I'm getting on in age! lol
    Bums like me are going blind. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭livindadream

thats a joke!!! if that happened at my local tesco there'd be a riot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Thats pretty low. Youd think security would stop that from happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"First car come, first car served".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

20 minutes to get a parking space and then all that hassle. I'll stick with dunnes - crazy Northies I can do without.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Some lad in a wheelchair rolled into a non-handicap space once to try and hold it for his likewise, handicapable mate. Those lads have their own spaces specially reserved - they ain't getting one of mine!

"No dice Ironside," I muttered under my breath and using my bumper nudged him firmly off the spot into the trolley bay. The clatter of metal on metal was particularly satisfying!

1-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Ebonyellie wrote: »
    This may appear minor considering the state of the country but hear me out. The other day my husband and myself crossed the border to go to asda in enniskillen ( i cant afford to be patriotic). now it was saturday afternoon and the place was PACKED, we drove around the carpark for 15 - 20 minutes looking for a space when eventually we spotted a woman loading up her boot with groceries and we thought "great, that will do nicely" the lady even told us she wouldnt be a second which was nice and considerate. she no sooner had the arse of the car out of the space but this skanger runs over and stands in the spot. Now my husband is very quiet and reserved, ive never seen him hit the roof, but he started to turn like the incredible hulk does before he blows his top. He told the "lady" that she couldnt stand there, to which she replied "yeah? ye gonna stop me?". The car she was holdin the spot for was no where to be seen. Very slowly my hubbie began to inch the car towards her, and she totally called his bluff, just stood there tauntin him, still he rolled the car. As it grazed off her knee she roared "you crazy bastard, who better watch it" she then spat on the car and ran off. In the end i went into the store on my own because he was afraid to leave the car in case they came back. I mentioned this to a security guard in asda and he says its a really common issue and there have been loads of rows over spaces, he said he remembered one mother putting a 5 or 6 year old standing in the space to reserve it! what is it about people who think they are sooo important to behave like this?
    Disgraceful. What kinda person would slowly creep towards her in the car??
    You put the boot down and see how far you can send her with a good smack.
    Double points if she lands in the trolley bay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭greenman09

Was in tallaght tesco b4 xmas. Some foreign guy thought he'd stand in a space for his friend. Gf was driving told him to move. Said he wasnt moving. Sticking to her guns she said im not moving ye can fcuk off outta they way. 30s silence and the guy moves. Was bit wary bout him doing anything when we were in shoppin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

It was all an elaborate ploy by your husband to get you to leave him in the car so he wouldn't have to traipse around the shop with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Ebonyellie

kmick wrote: »
    20 minutes to get a parking space and then all that hassle. I'll stick with dunnes - crazy Northies I can do without.

She "lady" in question didnt have a northern accent, sounded like a louth one to me

if ya just reversed into them, how much trouble would ya get in?

their argument would be.. eh, i was bein an idiot standin where cars drive holdin a space.

mine would be, sorry judge, i didn't see a car where i was reversing into, i honestly didn't expect to find a girl standing in the middle of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I. Would. Have. Gone. Crackers.

Id have turned the parking space into a crime scene. Mad bítch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

...........to go to asda in enniskillen..........

Next time, park in tesco - it's only over the road and usually has loads of spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

You should have run the bitch over.

Then she'd have had her own wheelchair spot wherever she went in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Why was she making all the fuss?

She clearly qualified for use of one of the handicapped spots?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

This may appear minor considering the state of the country but hear me out. The other day my husband and myself crossed the border to go to asda in enniskillen ( i cant afford to be patriotic).
    Obviously a lot of other republicans 'can't afford' it eather. Competition for resources, in this case a rectangle of tarmac, will cause conflict like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Ebonyellie

Húrin wrote: »
    Obviously a lot of other republicans 'can't afford' it eather. Competition for resources, in this case a rectangle of tarmac, will cause conflict like this.

And i'll do it again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Perhaps the lady thought that she was in her car when she walked into the space, and only realised some time afterwards that she had in fact left her car at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

i wa[SIZE=-1]s working in a cafe a few year[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]s ago and one xma[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]s eve my bo[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]s[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]s reali[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]sed he'd forgotten to pick [/SIZE][SIZE=-1]something up at the ca[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]sh and carry. being xma[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]s eve he wa[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]s worried he wouldnt be able to get a parkin[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]g [/SIZE][SIZE=-1]space when he came back [/SIZE][SIZE=-1]so made me [/SIZE][SIZE=-1]stand in the [/SIZE][SIZE=-1]space for about half an hour while he wa[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]s gone. i wa[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]s not be[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]st plea[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]sed.

no one tried to run me over tho, which wa[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]s a plu[/SIZE][SIZE=-1]s[/SIZE][SIZE=-1].... :D
    [/SIZE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Serves you right for taking money out of the economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Today car parks.

Tomorrow the six counties.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Was she singin

"Ive got 4 Black Spaces - each of them a Jew-ell" ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

hubby should have shouted "hi-ho silver" and dropped the hammer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Awww you should have seen them in Blanch just before Christmas. We got there at 8:30am, go a great space for a LONG day of shopping.

We went back to the car twice to offload bags into the boot and all the people circling the car park would get very excited about the potential space.

It was mild pleasure to see their faces turn into a frown :( when you shake you head. :)

Around and around you go, where you stop nobody knows! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭bloo

That sounds like a very annoying situation.

At least you had the opportunity to say something to her - What gets me is the stupidity and lazyness of certain drivers who seem incapable of parking their car actually within a parking space, either parking between 2 spaces, or just dumping the car almost sideways so no one else can park next to them. grrrrrr etc etc :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

if ya just reversed into them, how much trouble would ya get in?

their argument would be.. eh, i was bein an idiot standin where cars drive holdin a space.

mine would be, sorry judge, i didn't see a car where i was reversing into, i honestly didn't expect to find a girl standing in the middle of it
    Thats genius. You could probably get away with that.Judge would probably throw it out, blamin her stupidity. Try it and let us know how you get on!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

whats even funnier is peoples apparent problem with using multi store car parks... they would rather drive around the plaza for ages blocking the whole place up looking for spaces and there would be over 1000 free space in the multi......irish people:rolleyes: