Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you find airsoft through boards?

• 11-02-2009 7:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭

Just a splinter thread from the IASRA one, did you find airsoft through boards, seems lots of people, myself included did, so just a poll to find out how many did.

Did you find airsoft through board 93 votes

Yes it was the first place i heard about it
    0% 0 votes
    No
    29% 27 votes
    I had an idea of airsoft before but really found out about it here
    23% 22 votes
    Other (please specify below)
    47% 44 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Well, i found it in other ways, but all the information, sites, locations, shops etc etc, all through boards.
    Boards is the single most informative airsoft site in Ireland. It wont be overtaken anytime soon either, simply because its the most open, most friendly, with plenty of Intelligent posting.
    Plus, its Independent, not associated with any sites or retailers, :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Tomazas

Masada wrote: »
    Well, i found it in other ways, but all the information, sites, locations, shops etc etc, all through boards.
    Boards is the single most informative airsoft site in Ireland. It wont be overtaken anytime soon either, simply because its the most open, most friendly, with plenty of Intelligent posting.
    Plus, its Independent, not associated with any sites or retailers, :)

Did they pay you to say all this? LOL nevermind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Like Masada, I too had an idea about airsoft since I discovered it whilst looking for M4 RAP paintball markers back in college. Then left it for a few years, and then discovered the boards forum and the rest is history as they say

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Tomazas wrote: »
    Did they pay you to say all this? LOL nevermind

No, but i am registered on all the other forums, and their Cr*p.,:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

A friend of mine bought an AEG at T4BB '07. I went to the retailer, bought an AEG and then found out about Airsoft Skirmishing.

I went Skirmishing and I found out about boards. To tell you the truth I have found out all I needed to know here.

I have signed up to other Airsoft forums and glance through them but boards.ie is where I always come back to.

Now leave me alone, I am getting teary just nostalgisising. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I was in college bored one day and stumbled accross this forum. I was a big user of the gaming forum and when i clicked here, i didnt know what was airsoft. Then I looked at the picture thread and my mouth watered.

I saw a picture of Shivas m16a3 with m203 and said there and then " This is for me"

I spent the next 4 days of college just reading all of the threads, started posting asking questions to which I got a load of cheery help. Asked about where i should buy my guns from and where to play and all the anwsers were here.

The next week I went into Eirsoft and bought a G36c, then my addiction started, a week later I bought a pistol. And I swore to myself I would get an m16 collection one day :D

I never thought id get so big into it. And spend so much money.

I then found the HRTA thread which was filled with lovely folks, and i went down to my first skirmish, introduced myself as DOC, the first people I met skirmishing?

Vtec, Paul Carey, Shiva, Defenderdude and cheeky monkey.

Its in my humble opinion, that boards is the sole reason for the progression of numbers for airsoft, but also for the influx of someone amazing people.

If it wasnt for boards I never would have met richie and tony, who i consider close friends now. And that all worked out well in getting me employment with them.

I never would have met the hawks, nor been invited to their team, and again make great friends.

I then, through boards, met a host upon host of people that are now friends, sound people and people i see on the weekly basis.

DOC
    Boards till I die

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Spetzcong

I was trying to find out what I should do with a couple of springers I'd smuggled into the country when I was a wee nipper, I figured that I should probably dispose of them seeing as I thought they were illegal, I found boards and within a day or so had placed an order for an AEG, a week or so later I went to my first skirmish at the original HRTA, met Paul and Mel, The Ghosts, The Contractors, Crazy Rabbit and a few other stalwarts from back in the day. I've never looked back to be honest. If it weren't for boards I'd never have discovered airsoft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Turncoat

Found airsoft while searching for paintball markers through google ads. Then I did a little search and stumbled into the airsoft IRC chat. Got non-stop advice fired at me for 15 mins and advised to have a look in the boards airsof forum.

Since then I've never needed any other place to ask for advice. My first AEG and GBB was bought after browsing the review section. I'm not gonna leave boards for some other forum plus I pay money for those shiny stars under my boards name:D and I can troll browse through other forums as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭spicymchaggis

found airsoft while travelin japan and saw what i thought was a paintball store in hope for upgrades for my tiberius 9, lo and behold it stocked fully auto aeg's, bolt action snipers and gbb and the droolin began. didnt start here but would have to say the reason my wages decorate the wall :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Gizmodeon

I was on boards or a long time before I knew about airsoft,
    and even though I MOD an airsoft forum, I'm still here posting away :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Necron99

Other my friend Dice found out about it first and got me hooked but I found a huge amount of info on it from boards.ie
    This was the first real place where the airsoft community got together as a whole to share informations, reviews and help promote or defend airsoft.

I've seen most of the other forums and none come close to the amount of user use as here.

and its still the first place I'd come to find out the goings on in the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Been on boards for years before Airsoft came about, never really posted much until one day I came across some airsoft threads in the shooting forum and later a thread in the forum requests forum to start a seperate airsoft forum, this was just before the CJA2006 came into being in Aug '06 and even then I never thought it would come to be this big with 5 sub-fora.
    Was later asked to be mod on here due to the fact that I was always on here, it used to be possible to read every new post most days, but not any more.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I've been proud to have Boards associated with this community. Long may it continue.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Yes. Used to post here all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I got into airsoft through the darker seedier side of airsoft namely at toys for big boys.

Now that I think back on it it was probably airsoft that lead me to boards when I went looking for replacement bbs for that piece of overpriced muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

NOIP tipped me off about airsoft in the pub one night after I was chatting about paintball. a went home and did a did a google-rummage. Ended up here.

Bought my first M4 here.
    Bought my first FAMAS here.
    Bought my second M4 here.
    Bought a tone of other kit here.

Started my team here.

Was one of the founding members of the IAA here.

... eventually found the Christianity forum on boards :p

All hail boards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

NOIP tipped me off about airsoft in the pub one night after I was chatting about paintball. a went home and did a did a google-rummage. Ended up here.

Bought my first M4 here.
    Bought my first FAMAS here.
    Bought my second M4 here.
    Bought a tone of other kit here.

Started my team here.

Was one of the founding members of the IAA here.

... eventually found the Christianity forum on boards :p

All hail boards!

Egads man don't tell them it was me that unleashed you upon the airsoft community :D

Knew about airsoft (well knew it existed at least)
    Knew about Boards (had no interest)
    CJA2006 happened (I paid no attention)
    Oisin Rang and explained it to me
    I Joined boards

TA-DA :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

N.O.I.P. wrote: »
    Egads man don't tell them it was me that unleashed you upon the airsoft community :D

Or the christians!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

My friend lived two mins from HRTA, we went there first.
    That's how we found it.

Buuut as mentioned before, i found out soooo much helpful stuff on here.
    I'd be lost without it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

Don't blame that on me, if the Christians find out they'll crucify me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Rooky1

I found Airsoft through 2 friends of mine at work just over 5 years ago!
    The only local site was Predator Combat Games in Northern Ireland.:rolleyes:
    Well worth the 280 mile round trip!!:D

Bought my first AEG from the guy that introduced me to airsoft before I had been to a shoot. I bought an ICS MP5 A4 with flashlight and laser.

My first shoot was awesome! :D:):D:)

I later found boards when it became legai in the South to Airsoft.
    It was the best place for information for the new sites opening up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭coys

I found it all here first used to own one of the cheap crappy springers i got in spain but twas here that i found the real stuff and i just got hooked.
    this place really is the home of airsoft in Ireland as all news goes here along with all the advice a noob like meself could ever need :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭G3-Nut

guys im in carlow, there is no other way i could find out about airsoft only for the net...fortunately, i fel in with the boards crownd before any other international forum...i have recieved more help from boards alone, if it wasnt for boards i either wouldnt be playing because i wouldnt know where to play airsoft, or becasue i would be buying from gadget shops:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭kevteljeur

I 'found' airsoft through a mate/colleague sending me a link (ironically, his mate sent him the link to get him to play; he still hasn't tried... ). But that was to the site of The Retailer We Cannot Name, and after I eventually got there when the shop was open (still a bit unreliable back then) he told me to look it up on Boards. Wouldn't tell me anything about it or anything else I wanted to know, just look it up on Boards.

In hindsight I find that ironic, since after that I located competing shops, and he got himself banned from here. Strikes me that Boards was and still is the number one location for getting into this, and finding out more about it, and making connections with fellow enthusiasts, which is one of the things I like most about it.

Anyway, I've met many of the people I've met here and stayed in touch too. Sometimes it's actually more fun than playing! ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

I first heard of Airsoft through ASI back in 2005 and registered and posted there a good bit.
    It was sometime later I discovered the boards airsoft forum and Robster The Lobster was born:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭hoplite

Friend of mine mentioned airsoft in passing and the two sites that got me going were boards.ie and hrta.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭extremetaz

I found the sport through boards as well, right at its very offset.

boards was the very first forum to discuss airsoft and has remained the highest profile medium since. any effort to change this will not only be folly but also utterly pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

found airsoft back in 96 while living in denmark ,looked it up about ayear later and found nothing here mainly asia and stateside but not much happening on the european scene intrest died down ,
    came across AI in easons going on 3 years ago and bought it started googleing and found asi the mods sent me here ,
    been posting and skirmishing since , bought my first aeg through boards ,found hrta on here the rest is history,

my doctor blames my insomnia on airosoft on boards Madnesssss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

extremetaz wrote: »
    boards was the very first forum to discuss airsoft.

Actually in Ireland ASI would be the very first forum for airsoft and I have gotten a hell of lot of useful information from there as well. Great bunch of guys up there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

gandalf wrote: »
    Actually in Ireland ASI would be the very first forum for airsoft and I have gotten a hell of lot of useful information from there as well. Great bunch of guys up there :)

he means in the republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Ah but aren't we a one island sport now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Just a splinter thread from the IASRA one, did you find airsoft through boards, seems lots of people, myself included did, so just a poll to find out how many did.

www.airsoftireland.com.

Found them just before/after the change in the law, and promtly found myself under fire in Pred. Kudos to the PCG team, really gave us a good first three days skirmishing(not in one go:)).

You shoulda seen me when HRTA was announced as opening the coming saturday. I nearly hit the roof:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Irish Trinity

Found out about it while googling "pellet guns" but the boards site came up...dont ask me how...and i saw the hrta thread. I nagged my dad for about a week to take me to hrta went there and found that i was too young because i was only 12 at the time:p so my interest died off for 2 years untill i was 14 and by then there was irish retailers so i bought my first gun off shiva and went to the new hrta and had some craic..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭extremetaz

gandalf wrote: »
    Actually in Ireland ASI would be the very first forum for airsoft

A slightly pedantic yet true point, however as Hive said, I did mean within the juristiction of our laws. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Well, I'd never even heard of airsoft until shortly before someone asked me to mod in here for a while, so I guess I'd have to say yes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭starwidow

I was introduced to Airsoft by a friend and never even head about boards untill i was playin for about 2 months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Viper Squad 1

I was googling paintball and came across Airsoft and a shop in Blanchardstown called MIA. Derek recomended boards as a good place to get info. Ironic...don't ye think:rolleyes:
    Marko:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

Other....

I knew about airsoft already but did not know of it's new found legality until I read it here. I saved a months wages and blew it all on my new legal toys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

I was made aware of the legality of Airsoft in the Republic on the ASI forums back in the summer of 2006. From there I found the boards Airsoft & Paintball forum :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I like to think that Boards.ie found Airsoft through us the players. :p

I remember when this forum had just one page of posts. Though I didn't sign up for a while afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭MaxForce

The first place I heard of Airsoft in Ireland was ASI. Through there I found a link to boards where there seemed to be much more southern based discussion going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭k99_64

Was on boards randomly and saw a advert for a m-4 on the front page, that started my interest and a combination of info on boards and Internets over about 3 months led me to buy some tac gear off airsofteire (i had the gun bag before the gun).

Then my TM m3 super 90 arrived and i fell in love. Defdude was good enough to give me many a lift to the hrta and whatnot and after one skirmish i was hooked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Busta Hyman

i knew of airsoft and had a ****ty springer i bought years ago for my nephew in spain for €15 found out it was sore ( shot myself after my wife said it would hurt another kid) decided i should keep it:D.
    saw the lads @ salute and the rest is history

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I guess my story is a bit different. Gandalf and Lemming kept sending me ever more disturbing pictures of guns they had bought. I thought a forum would stop them stalking me.

Fat chance.

DeV.

DeVore wrote: »
    I guess my story is a bit different. Gandalf and Lemming kept sending me ever more disturbing pictures of guns they had bought. I thought a forum would stop them stalking me.

Fat chance.

DeV.

Who's this feckin n00b?

Back before I had a sense of style or moderation, I had a hankerin for a desert eagle springer, after seeing the matrix.

Googled a bit and found this place, this was just after the cja2006 amendment, and we were all noobs, ah bless.

Soon after got a galaxy mp5kpdw, then an m4, these days you'd never have guessed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,595 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

This thread is the first I read about it on boards. -->

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054918270

Was in the shooting forum before this place was created. Shooting community couldn't wait to get it moved out of there... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭fasterkayote_

definitely not here, airsoft been in my country since 1990's and ive played a day way back 2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

o1s1n wrote: »

Was in the shooting forum before this place was created. Shooting community couldn't wait to get it moved out of there... ;)

That thread is hilarious. All the funny ideas floating around before airsoft was even made legal. Talk of orange tips, rental only AEG's and 'taking an eye out'. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

o1s1n wrote: »
    Damn right, bloody kids, gerrorf my lawn! :D